The Sacrifices and Achievements

The Six Nations-Mississauga War Memorial at Veterans' Park in Ohsweken, Ontario commemorates the reserve's war-dead and honours those who served and survived.

More than 200 Indigenous soldiers were killed or died from wounds during the Second World War. Indigenous people earned a minimum of 18 decorations for bravery in action.80 They participated in every major battle and campaign, including the disastrous Dieppe landings and the pivotal Normandy invasion. They also served in one of the worst imaginable theatres, Hong Kong, where just under 2,000 members of the Winnipeg Grenadiers and the Royal Rifles of Canada became prisoners of war of the Japanese. Included among them were at least 16 First Nations people and Métis, nine of whom died from wounds or illness.81

For many, the adjustment to army life had been jarring. One Veteran from British Columbia explains that the volunteers from his reserve, including himself and 10 brothers and cousins, expected military service would involve hard work. But most of their initial experiences were astonishing:

Some of them had never seen a railway train. Everything was new to them. The big ships carrying them over were new. They didn't know too much about Europe . . . all they knew was trapping.82

Indigenous soldiers returned to Canada with incredible memories and mixed emotions. Along with the horrors of war, they carried the pride and elation of having helped free captive peoples. Additionally, Indigenous participants came home with a taste of different lifestyles, particularly of Great Britain, where months, and in some cases years, had been spent training. Apparently this cultural exposure worked two ways:

Like their comrades, Canadian Indians in the forces experienced everything from British pubs to brussels sprouts to the Blitz. In both World Wars . . . Canadian Indians were often regarded with curiosity and fascination by the British public. As well as memories of Britain, some of those of Indian ancestry . . . brought home British war brides.83

Cpl. Huron Brant of Ontario's Bay of Quinte Band was decorated with the Military Medal in Italy in 1943. One year later, he was shot and killed during an attack near Rimini. Brant was one of the more than 200 Indigenous soldiers who gave their lives in the war. (Capt. Frank Royal / Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA - 130065)

As in the previous war, Indigenous peoples actively contributed to the war effort on the home front. In British Columbia, many First Nations members joined Pacific Ocean defence units, which patrolled and surveyed the coast for signs of Japanese invasion. Across the country, Indigenous men and women worked in war factories and increased agricultural production on their reserves. First Nations peoples also contributed some reserve lands, which were used for airports, rifle ranges and defence posts.

In the Yukon, members of the Vuntut Gwitchin Band (at the time known as the Old Crow Band) became pen pals with a group of English orphans. The correspondence began when the children wrote thank-you notes to the band for the money it sent following German air raids. The orphans also expressed their gratitude during a BBC radio broadcast.

In 1943, King George VI showed his appreciation for the leadership and loyalty demonstrated by four bands by awarding British Empire Medals to the chiefs of Ontario's Nicikousemenecaning Band (formerly called the Red Gut Band), British Columbia's Kitkatla Band, Manitoba's Norway House Band and the Vuntut Gwitchin Band.

Canada's Indigenous population donated their own money; raised additional funds by holding auctions, raffles, sports days and special dinners; and collected all manner of relief items. At war's end, the Indian Affairs Branch noted the donation of over $23,000 from Canadian First Nations bands plus additional, unknown amounts that had been sent directly to the Red Cross, the British War Victims Fund, the Salvation Army and similar charities, along with gifts of clothing and other items.

Once again, the efforts of Indigenous men and women at home and abroad had reinforced the traditions of sacrifice and achievement in wartime.

Date modified:

Les sacrifices et les réalisations

Le Monument commémoratif de guerre des Six-Nations-Mississauga dans le Parc des anciens combattants à Ohsweken, en Ontario, rappelle la mémoire des membres de la réserve morts au cours de la guerre et rend hommage à ceux qui ont servi et survécu.

Plus de 200 soldats Canadiens autochtones furent tués au combat ou moururent de leurs blessures au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Les Autochtones gagnèrent au moins 18 décorations pour bravoure au combat.80 Ils participèrent à toutes les principales batailles et campagnes, y compris le désastreux raid de Dieppe et l'importante invasion de la Normandie. Ils servirent aussi sur l'un des pires théâtres imaginables, Hong Kong, où près de 2 000 membres des Winnipeg Grenadiers et des Royal Rifles of Canada devinrent prisonniers de guerre des Japonais. Parmi eux se trouvaient au moins 16 membres des Premières Nations et Métis, dont neuf succombèrent à des blessures ou à la maladie.81

Pour plusieurs, l'adaptation à la vie militaire fut un choc. Un ancien combattant de la Colombie-Britannique explique que les volontaires de sa réserve, y compris ses 10 frères et cousins et lui-même, croyaient qu'il faudrait travailler très fort au cours du service militaire. Mais leurs premières expériences furent renversantes :

Certains d'entre eux n'avaient jamais vu un train. Tout était nouveau pour eux. Les grands navires qui les amenèrent outre-mer étaient aussi nouveaux. Ils connaissaient peu de choses de l'Europe ... tout ce qu'ils connaissaient, c'était la trappe.82

Les soldats autochtones revinrent au Canada avec des souvenirs incroyables et des émotions diverses. En même temps que les horreurs de la guerre, ils apportaient avec eux la fierté et la joie d'avoir aidé à libérer des peuples captifs. Ces Autochtones revinrent en outre avec l'expérience de styles de vie différents, particulièrement avec celui de la Grande-Bretagne où, pendant des mois et, dans certains cas, pendant des années, ils s'étaient entraînés. Apparemment, cette exposition à une autre culture eut des conséquences pour les deux côtés :

Comme leurs camarades, les Indiens canadiens firent nombre d'expériences : les pubs britanniques, les choux de Bruxelles jusqu'aux bombardements. Au cours des deux Guerres mondiales ... les Indiens canadiens firent souvent l'objet de la curiosité et de la fascination des Britanniques. Outre leurs souvenirs de la Grande-Bretagne, certains de ces Indiens ... ramenèrent des épouses de guerre britanniques.83

Le caporal Huron Brant de la bande de la baie de Quinte, en Ontario, a été décoré de la Médaille militaire en Italie en 1943. Un an plus tard, il fut tué au cours d'une attaque près de Rimini. Brant fut l'un de plus de 200 Autochtones canadiens qui donnèrent leur vie au cours de la guerre. (Capt Frank Royal / Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-130065)

Tout comme au cours de la Première Guerre, les Autochtones contribuèrent activement à l'effort de guerre au pays. En Colombie-Britannique, ils furent nombreux à se joindre aux unités de défense des côtes du Pacifique. Ces unités patrouillaient et surveillaient les côtes pour déceler des signes d'une invasion japonaise. Partout au pays, des Autochtones, hommes et femmes, oeuvrèrent dans les usines de guerre et travaillèrent pour accroître la production agricole sur leurs réserves. En outre, des membres des Premières Nations offrirent les terres de certaines réserves pour installer des aéroports, des champs de tir et des postes de défense.

Au Yukon, des membres de la bande Vuntut Gwitchin (connue à cette époque comme la bande Old Crow) commencèrent à correspondre avec un groupe d'orphelins anglais qui leur avaient fait parvenir des lettres pour les remercier de l'argent qu'ils avaient reçu après les raids aériens allemands. Les orphelins exprimèrent aussi leur gratitude au cours d'une émission radiophonique de la BBC.

En 1943, en reconnaissance du leadership et de la loyauté de quatre bandes, le roi George VI décerna la Médaille de l'Empire britannique aux chefs de la bande Nicikousemenecaning, en Ontario (autrefois la bande Red Gut), de la bande Kitkatla, en Colombie-Britannique, de la bande Norway House, au Manitoba, et de la bande Vuntut Gwitchin, au Yukon.

Les Autochtones du Canada donnèrent leur argent et levèrent des fonds supplémentaires en organisant des ventes à l'encan, des tirages, des journées sportives et des dîners spéciaux; ils ramassèrent toutes sortes d'articles de secours. À la fin de la guerre, la Direction des affaires indiennes rapporta que les bandes du Canada avaient donné plus de 23 000 $, sans compter les montants qui avaient été envoyés directement à la Croix-Rouge, au Fonds britannique des victimes de la guerre, à l'Armée du Salut et à d'autres associations charitables semblables, ainsi que des dons de vêtements et d'autres articles.

Encore une fois, les efforts des Autochtones canadiens au pays et à l'étranger ont renforcé leur tradition de sacrifice et de réalisations en temps de guerre.

Date de modification :