Olympic and Paralympic Games military connection

Corporal Dominic Larocque

Dominic Larocque. Photo: Soldier On

There is a long relationship between sports and military service in our country. Canadians serving in the First and Second World Wars and the Korean War often took part in 'games days' and other official and unofficial athletic contests. This military/sport connection has continued in the post-war years. Not surprisingly, some of these ‘soldier-athletes’ have worn both a military uniform and an Olympic athlete’s uniform for our country. You can read some of their stories by exploring this website.

The origins of the Paralympic Games are closely tied with military service. In the years after the Second World War, some Allied service men and women who had been seriously injured in duty began turning to sport to help in their rehabilitation. This modest beginning has grown into the worldwide competition the Paralympic Games are today.

The peace and freedom we in Canada enjoy today is only a dream in many of the countries that compete in these international games. These privileges are ours because generations of Canadians, like the people mentioned here, have defended them over the years.

Olympians 1900–1919

Canadians with a military connection who took part in the Olympics from 1900–1919.

Olympians 1920–1949

Canadians with a military connection who took part in the Olympics during 1920–1949.

Olympians 1950–present

Canadians with a military connection who took part in the Olympics from 1950 to present.

Paralympic Games background

The origins of the Paralympic Games have their roots in the Second World War.

Paralympians

Canadian Veterans who have taken part in the Paralympic Games.

Soldier On Program

Using sport to improve the quality of life of current and former Canadian Armed Forces personnel who have suffered major injuries.

Date modified:

Les militaires et les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques

Corporal Dominic Larocque

Dominic Larocque. Photo : Sans limites

Au Canada, les sports et le service militaire vont de pair depuis longtemps. Les Canadiens qui ont servi durant la Première Guerre mondiale et la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ainsi que pendant la guerre de Corée, ont souvent pris part aux journées sportives et à d’autres épreuves d’athlétisme à caractère officiel et officieux. Le lien entre les sports et le service militaire s’est poursuivi dans les années de l’après-guerre. Fait peu étonnant, certains des soldats-athlètes ont porté l’uniforme du service militaire ainsi que celui des athlètes olympiques pour représenter le pays. Nous vous invitons à lire leur biographie en parcourant ce site.

Les origines des Jeux paralympiques sont étroitement liées au service militaire. Dans les années qui ont suivi la Seconde Guerre mondiale, des militaires alliés, hommes et femmes, ayant été gravement blessés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions sont devenus des adeptes du sport pour mieux assurer leur réadaptation. Ces débuts modestes ont mené à la tenue de compétitions d’envergure mondiale que sont les Jeux paralympiques d’aujourd’hui.

Au Canada, la paix et la liberté dont nous jouissons ne sont qu’un rêve pour bien des pays qui prennent part à ces compétitions internationales. Ces privilèges nous appartiennent parce que des générations de Canadiens, tels ceux dont nous faisons l’éloge, ont combattu pour leur préservation au fil des ans.

Les Olympiens 1900-1919

Les Canadiens ayant un lien militaire qui ont pris part aux Olympiques entre 1900 et 1919.

Les Olympiens 1920-1949

Les Canadiens ayant un lien militaire qui ont pris part aux Olympiques entre 1920 et 1949.

Les Olympiens 1950 à aujourd’hui

Les Canadiens ayant un lien militaire qui ont pris part aux Olympiques depuis 1950 jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Origine des Jeux paralympiques

L’origine des Jeux paralympiques remonte à la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Athlètes des Jeux paralympiques

Les vétérans canadiens ayant pris part aux Jeux paralympiques.

Le programme Sans limites

Ce programme utilise les activités sportives pour améliorer la qualité de vie des militaires actifs et retraités des Forces armées canadiennes qui sont atteints de blessures importantes.

Date de modification :