The Canadian Red Cross

The Canadian Red Cross is a well-known organization that has long helped those in need. Its history is intertwined with our country's military efforts and many Canadians volunteered with the Red Cross during the war years. Canadian servicemen and servicewomen greatly appreciated the support offered by the Red Cross, whether at home, on the front lines, in prisoner-of-war camps or in rest areas away from the fighting.

The Red Cross' roots in Canada date back to the Northwest Rebellion in 1885. Dr. George Sterling Ryerson was the regimental surgeon of the battalion that later became known as the Royal Grenadiers. To try to protect the wagons carrying his medical supplies from attack, he needed a way to distinguish them from wagons carrying army equipment. He took two red pieces of fabric and sewed them into the shape of a cross on a white cotton cloth, creating one of the very first Red Cross flags seen in our country.

Dr. Ryerson would go on to found the first overseas branch of the British Red Cross here in Canada in 1896. The new organization would soon be offering aid during a military conflict when the South African War erupted in 1899. Dozens of Red Cross branches quickly sprang up across the country to collect money, clothing and food supplies to take to South Africa to help the sick and injured. School children volunteered too, putting together parcels for those serving so far from home.

This overseas branch of the British Red Cross officially became the Canadian Red Cross in 1909. It would not be long before the new organization was called upon to help those affected by military conflict. The First World War raged from 1914 to 1918 and the organization undertook many relief efforts. Red Cross volunteers across Canada knitted socks and sweaters, and sewed bandages and bed linens to be sent to war-torn Europe. They also raised large sums of money for supplies to aid those affected by the fighting. The Canadian Red Cross also played a central role in establishing and supporting hospitals for those injured in the war, like the Duchess of Connaught Red Cross Hospital in Maidenhead, England.

The Canadian Red Cross again rose to the challenge when the Second World War broke out in 1939. Indeed, almost three million Canadians were active Red Cross members by the end of the conflict.

There was a trained, uniformed Canadian Red Cross Corps, as well as ‘junior clubs' for youth. One of their major efforts was offering medical aid and some of the comforts of home – be it food, warm clothing or books – to those affected by the fighting. They held quilting parties to make blankets and sent parcels containing knitted clothing, blankets, sweets and cigarettes to soldiers overseas – especially those being held in prisoner-of-war camps.

The Canadian Red Cross raised large amounts of money to support members of the military and civilians in need by holding fundraising events like dances and concerts. They also arranged entertainment like movie nights and picnics for wounded servicemen recuperating in local hospitals.

Canadian Red Cross volunteers also used their skills to help make up for the shortage of medical workers at home by driving ambulances, assisting nurses, training individuals in first aid, running blood donor clinics and providing medical aid as needed. They also supported local hospitals by donating beds and medical supplies. The volunteers were also quick to respond to fires, floods and other emergencies in their communities.

Tens of thousands of women played a huge role in the Canadian Red Cross during the war. Hundreds even served with the organization overseas, doing many of the tasks their fellow members performed back home, as well as other things like helping civilians affected by the fighting, supporting the families of military members, and staffing hostels and canteens for military men. Canadian Red Cross personnel also served in Newfoundland (which was not yet part of Canada at that time), helping injured seamen whose ships had been torpedoed on the Atlantic Ocean.

The Second World War came to an end in 1945, but that was not the end of the work for the organization. Thousands of ‘war brides' (European women who had married Canadian servicemen) and their children sailed across the Atlantic to their new homes in Canada after the war – and Red Cross volunteers were on the ships with them to help.

The Canadian Red Cross continued its service during the Korean War of 1950 to 1953. They sent medical-social welfare teams to Korea, and they played a role in prisoner-of-war exchanges between North and South Korea.

The Canadian Red Cross continues to help Canadians and those in need beyond our borders whose lives are disrupted by war and natural disasters. Indeed, Canadians working with the Red Cross are still serving in war zones today in places like Iraq and Afghanistan. For more information on the Canadian Red Cross, please visit the Canadian Red Cross Web site.

Date modified:

La Croix-Rouge canadienne

La Croix-Rouge canadienne, une organisation reconnue qui vient en aide aux gens depuis longtemps. Son histoire est étroitement liée aux efforts militaires du Canada, et bien des Canadiens ont fait du bénévolat pour la Croix-Rouge lors des années de guerre. Les militaires ont grandement apprécié son appui, tant au pays et sur les lignes de front que dans les camps de prisonniers de guerre et les aires de repos loin des combats.

Les origines de la Croix-Rouge au Canada datent de la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest en 1885. Le docteur George Sterling Ryerson était le chirurgien régimentaire du bataillon connu plus tard sous le nom de « Royal Grenadiers ». Afin de protéger les chariots transportant ses fournitures médicales contre les attaques, le Dr Ryerson devait les distinguer des chariots qui transportaient l'équipement de l'armée. Il a donc pris deux morceaux de tissu rouge et les a cousus en forme de croix sur une toile blanche pour créer un des premiers drapeaux de la Croix-Rouge au pays.

Le Dr Ryerson a ensuite fondé la première section étrangère de la Croix-Rouge britannique au Canada en 1896. Cette nouvelle organisation offrirait bientôt son aide lors d'un conflit militaire, la guerre d'Afrique du Sud, en 1899. Des dizaines de sections de la Croix-Rouge ont rapidement vu le jour partout au pays dans le but d'amasser de l'argent, des vêtements et de la nourriture pour les apporter aux malades et aux blessés en Afrique du Sud. Les élèves étaient bénévoles aussi et préparaient des colis pour les soldats partis au combat.

Cette section de la Croix-Rouge britannique est officiellement devenue la Croix-Rouge canadienne en 1909. Elle a rapidement été appelée à venir en aide aux victimes d'un autre conflit militaire. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, de 1914 à 1918, la Croix-Rouge canadienne a entrepris plusieurs mesures humanitaires. Des bénévoles de l'organisation dans tout le Canada ont tricoté des vêtements et ont cousu des bandages et des draps pour les envoyer en Europe, qui était ravagée par la guerre. Ils ont aussi amassé de grandes sommes d'argent pour aider les victimes des combats. La Croix-Rouge canadienne a grandement contribué à l'établissement et au soutien d'hôpitaux pour les personnes blessées à la guerre, comme l'Hôpital de la Croix-Rouge Duchess of Connaught à Maidenhead, en Angleterre.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne était encore au rendez-vous lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale a éclaté en 1939. En effet, trois millions de Canadiens étaient des membres actifs de l'organisation vers la fin du conflit.

Il y avait aussi un Corps de la Croix-Rouge canadienne, dont les membres étaient formés et en uniforme, ainsi que des clubs pour les jeunes. Une de leurs principales fonctions était d'offrir des soins médicaux et du réconfort, que ce soit de la nourriture, des vêtements chauds ou des livres, aux personnes touchées par les combats. Ces groupes piquaient des courtepointes pour les soldats à l'étranger et envoyaient aux militaires, surtout aux prisonniers de guerre, des colis contenant des vêtements tricotés, des couvertures, des friandises et des cigarettes.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne amassait des fonds pour les soldats et les civils en coordonnant des activités de financement, comme des soirées dansantes et des concerts. Elle organisait des soirées de cinéma et des pique-niques afin que les militaires blessés qui récupéraient dans les hôpitaux locaux puissent se divertir.

Les bénévoles de la Croix-Rouge canadienne se rendaient utiles en comblant le manque de travailleurs médicaux au Canada : ils conduisaient des ambulances, aidaient les infirmières, enseignaient les premiers soins, organisaient des collectes de sang et fournissaient des soins médicaux au besoin. Ils apportaient aussi leur soutien aux hôpitaux en donnant des lits et des fournitures médicales. Les bénévoles étaient toujours prêts à intervenir en cas d'incendies, d'inondations et d'autres urgences dans leurs collectivités.

Des dizaines de milliers de femmes ont énormément aidé la Croix-Rouge canadienne pendant la guerre. Parmi ces femmes, des centaines ont même servi à l'étranger, à accomplir plusieurs des tâches que leurs paires assumaient au Canada. De plus, elles aidaient les civils touchés par la guerre, apportaient du soutien aux familles des militaires et travaillaient dans des auberges et des cantines pour les soldats. Le personnel de la Croix-Rouge canadienne était aussi présent à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, qui ne faisait pas partie du Canada à cette époque, offrant son aide aux marins blessés dont les bateaux avaient été torpillés dans l'océan Atlantique.

En 1945, la Seconde Guerre mondiale a cessé, mais le travail de l'organisation n'était pas terminé. Des milliers d'« épouses de guerre », ces Européennes qui ont épousé des militaires canadiens, et leurs enfants, ont traversé l'Atlantique vers leurs nouveaux domiciles au Canada. Ce sont les bénévoles de la Croix-Rouge qui voyageaient avec eux.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne était encore présente pendant la guerre de Corée, de 1950 à 1953. Elle a envoyé des équipes de service médico-social en Corée et a participé aux échanges de prisonniers de guerre entre la Corée du Nord et la Corée du Sud.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne aide toujours les Canadiens et Canadiennes, ainsi que les personnes dans le besoin à l'extérieur du pays qui sont victimes de guerres et de catastrophes naturelles. En effet, il y a encore des Canadiens qui travaillent pour la Croix-Rouge dans des zones de guerre comme l'Irak et l'Afghanistan. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur la Croix-Rouge canadienne, visitez le site de la Croix-Rouge.

Date de modification :