Eligibility for Health Care Programs - Seriously Disabled

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: January 6, 2016
Document ID: 1034

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction on health care eligibility for those pensioners who are recognized as seriously disabled under the Veterans Health Care Regulations.

Policy

General

  1. Seriously disabled is the term used to describe those Veteran pensioners or civilian pensioners whose extent of disability, in respect of the aggregate of all of their disability assessments under the Pension Act and the Veterans Well-being Act is equal to or greater than 78%. A portion of the disability assessment must be related to a disability incurred or aggravated while serving during World War II or the Korean War in order for the individual to be eligible for treatment benefits, the Veterans Independence Program and/or Long Term Care as seriously disabled.
  2. Seriously disabled may also be used to describe those flying accident pensioners, Newfoundland Special Award pensioners, or Red Cross pensioners whose extent of disability is equal to or greater than 78%. These eligibility groups may access treatment and supplementary benefits; however, they are not eligible for Veterans Independence Program and/or Long Term Care.
  3. Effective August 28, 2001, the Veterans Health Care Regulations were amended to provide access to health care benefits to those individuals whose extent of disability is equal to or greater than 78% (defined as seriously disabled). Health care benefit access for these seriously disabled pensioners is based on need; it is not a requirement that the need be related to a pensioned condition.

Treatment Benefits - Any Health Condition

  1. Pensioners, as described in paragraphs 1 and 2 of this policy, who satisfy the criteria to be recognized as seriously disabled are eligible to receive treatment benefits in Canada for any health condition, to the extent that such benefits and services are neither available to them under a provincial health care system; or if the cost of such benefits and services is not recoverable from a third party. See policies entitled Requirement to Access Provincial Programs and Costs Recoverable from Third Parties for more information. 

Supplementary Benefits

  1. Pensioners, as described in paragraphs 1 and 2  of this policy, who satisfy the criteria to be recognized as seriously disabled are eligible to receive supplementary benefits if they are in receipt of the following treatment benefits authorized by Veterans Affairs Canada:
    1. any medical, surgical or dental examination or treatment provided by a health professional; or,
    2. the provision or maintenance of any surgical or prosthetic device or aid, or any home adaptations to accommodate the use of the device or aid.

Veterans Independence Program

  1. Veteran/civilian pensioners who satisfy the criteria to be recognized as seriously disabled are eligible to receive the services of home care, ambulatory health care, and home adaptations, or intermediate care in a community bed, to the extent that such services or care are not available to them under a provincial health care system, or if the cost of such benefits and services is not recoverable from a third party (see policies entitled Requirement to Access Provincial Programs and Costs Recoverable from Third Parties for more information), if:
    1. they are resident in Canada; and
    2. an assessment indicates that the provision of those services will assist them to remain self-sufficient at their principal residence or that the provision of care is necessary for health reasons.

Long Term Care - Any Health Condition

  1. Veteran/civilian pensioners who satisfy the criteria to be recognized as seriously disabled are eligible to receive the cost to them of chronic care received in Canada in a community bed, to the extent that the chronic care is not available to them under a provincial health care system, or if the cost of such care is not recoverable from a third party. See policies entitled Requirement to Access Provincial Programs and Costs Recoverable from Third Parties for more information. 

Accommodation and Meals Contribution

  1. Veteran/civilian pensioners who satisfy the criteria to be recognized as seriously disabled are not required to pay the cost of accommodation and meals while in receipt of adult residential care, intermediate care or chronic care when the cost of that care is payable, in whole or in part, under the Veterans Health Care Regulations.

References

Pension Act

Veterans Well-being Act

Veterans Health Care Regulations

Requirement to Access Provincial Programs policy

Costs Recoverable from Third Parties policy 

Date modified:

Admissibilité aux programmes de soins de santé – Pensionnés atteints d’une déficience grave

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 6 janvier 2016
Numéro du document : 1034

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique énonce les directives concernant l’admissibilité aux soins de santé des pensionnés reconnus comme étant atteints d’une déficience grave en vertu du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants.

Politique

Généralités

  1. L’expression « atteint d’une déficience grave » est l’expression utilisée pour décrire les anciens combattants pensionnés ou les pensionnés civils dont le degré d’invalidité, compte tenu de l’ensemble de leurs évaluations d’invalidité au terme de la Loi sur les pensions et de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, est égal ou supérieur à 78 % d’une invalidité totale. Une partie de l’évaluation de l’invalidité doit être liée à une invalidité survenue ou aggravée au cours du service pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ou la guerre de Corée pour que la personne soit admissible à des avantages médicaux, au Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants ou au Programme de soins de longue durée pour personnes atteintes d’une déficience grave.
  2. L’expression « atteint d’une déficience grave » peut également être utilisée pour décrire les pensionnés à la suite d’un accident d’aviation, les pensionnés titulaires d’une attribution spéciale (Terre-Neuve) ou les pensionnés de la Croix-Rouge dont le degré d’invalidité est égal ou supérieur à 78 %. Ces groupes d’admissibilité peuvent avoir accès aux avantages médicaux ou supplémentaires; toutefois ils n’ont pas droit aux services du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants ni aux soins de longue durée.
  3. Les modifications apportées au Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants, qui sont entrées en vigueur le 28 août 2001, permettent aux personnes dont le degré d’invalidité est égal ou supérieur à 78 % (définies comme atteint d’une « déficience grave ») d’avoir accès aux avantages pour soins de santé. L’accès aux soins de santé pour les anciens combattants pensionnés atteints d’une déficience grave est fondé sur les besoins. Il n’est pas nécessaire que le besoin soit lié à un état indemnisé.

Avantages médicaux – toute affection

  1. Les pensionnés qui, selon les définitions données aux articles 1 et 2 de la présente politique, satisfont aux critères leur permettant d’être reconnus comme étant atteints d’une « déficience grave » peuvent recevoir des avantages médicaux au Canada à l’égard de toute affection, dans la mesure où ils ne peuvent les obtenir au titre de services assurés dans le cadre du régime d’assurance-maladie d’une province et si les coûts de ces avantages ou services ne peuvent être remboursés par un tiers. Voir les politiques Obligation de recourir aux services provinciaux et Recouvrement de coûts auprès de tiers pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. 

Avantages supplémentaires

  1. Les pensionnés qui, selon les définitions données aux paragraphes 1 et 2 de la présente politique, satisfont aux critères leur permettant d’être reconnus comme souffrant d’une « déficience grave » peuvent recevoir des avantages supplémentaires s’ils reçoivent l’un des avantages médicaux suivants autorisés par Anciens Combattants Canada :
    1. tout examen médical, chirurgical ou dentaire ou tout traitement fourni par un professionnel de la santé;
    2. la fourniture ou l’entretien de tout appareil chirurgical, de toute prothèse ou de toute aide et de toute adaptation au domicile nécessaire pour permettre son utilisation.

Programme pour l'autonomie des anciens combattants

  1. Les anciens combattants pensionnés et les pensionnés civils qui satisfont aux critères leur permettant d’être reconnus comme souffrant d’une « déficience grave » peuvent recevoir des soins à domicile, des soins de santé ambulatoires et des services d’adaptation au domicile ou des soins intermédiaires dans un lit en établissement communautaire, dans la mesure où ils ne peuvent les obtenir au titre de services assurés dans le cadre du régime d’assurance-maladie d’une province et si les coûts de ces avantages ou services ne peuvent être remboursés par un tiers (voir les politiques Obligation de recourir aux services provinciaux et Frais recouvrables d’une tierce partie pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements), si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :
    1. ils résident au Canada;
    2. une évaluation montre que la prestation de ces services les aidera à demeurer autonomes à leur résidence principale ou que la prestation de ces soins est nécessaire pour des raisons de santé.

Soins de longue durée – toute affection

  1. Les anciens combattants pensionnés et les pensionnés civils qui satisfont aux critères leur permettant d’être reconnus comme étant « atteints d’une déficience grave » sont admissibles au paiement de ce qu’il leur en coûte pour recevoir des soins prolongés dans un lit d’un établissement communautaire au Canada, dans la mesure où ils ne peuvent les obtenir au titre de services assurés dans le cadre du régime d’assurance-maladie d’une province et si les coûts de ces avantages ou services ne peuvent être remboursés par un tiers. Voir les politiques Obligation de recourir aux services provinciaux et Frais recouvrables d’une tierce partie pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. 

Contribution en matière d’hébergement et de repas

  1. Les anciens combattants pensionnés et les pensionnés civils qui satisfont aux critères leur permettant d’être reconnus comme étant « atteints d’une déficience grave » ne paient aucuns frais d’hébergement ou de repas lorsqu’ils reçoivent des soins en résidence pour adultes, des soins intermédiaires ou des soins prolongés, lorsque le coût de ces soins est payable, en tout ou en partie, aux termes du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants.

Référence

Loi sur les pensions

Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans

Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants

Politique intitulée Obligation de recourir aux services provinciaux

Politique intitulée Frais recouvrables d’une tierce partie

Date de modification :