Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Vision Care (POC 14)

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: July 5, 2019
Document ID: 1056

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction on the provision of appropriate vision care benefits to eligible clients. Vision Care benefits and services are aimed at preserving, maintaining, and correcting vision, and assisting with clients' vision care needs.

Policy

Eligibility

  1. Benefits are available in accordance with the eligibility criteria outlined in Eligibility for Health Care Programs – Eligible Client Groups, and the specifications set out in the VAC benefit grids and/or other Departmental guidelines/directives.
  2. Benefits fall into the following categories:
    1. Eye Examinations
    2. Ophthalmic Tests & Procedures
    3. Intraocular Lenses
    4. Eyeglasses, Contact Lenses, Lens Tinting and Coating
    5. Laser Surgery
    6. Sunglasses
    7. Special Vision Care Equipment
    8. Low Vision Aids
    9. Other Vision Care Benefits and Services

Providers

  1. Vision care services are available from providers licensed to provide the vision care required in the province in which the client receives the treatment.

Holistic Health

  1. When a client holds disability benefits entitlement for the loss of one eye, or the loss of vision in one eye, VAC will provide full POC 14 coverage with respect to both eyes. The Department recognizes that the loss of one eye presents a significant disadvantage to a client. Therefore, it is vital for the client to maintain health and vision in the remaining eye.

Benefit Grids

  1. Guidelines (including approved frequency limits, and requirements for pre-authorization where applicable) for vision care services are located in the Vision Care benefit grids.

Eye Examinations and Ophthalmic Tests and Procedures

  1. VAC provides for major or routine eye examinations, minor eye examinations, and ophthalmic tests as prescribed by approved health professionals, and based on criteria set out in the benefit grids and/or other departmental guidelines/directives.
  2. Ophthalmic tests may cover a range of examinations of the eye. Some examples include Biomicroscopy, Ophthalmoscopy, Tonometry and Visual Field Testing.

Intraocular Lenses

  1. Intraocular lenses are available to all eligible clients who require cataract surgery, when they are prescribed by an appropriate health professional (usually an ophthalmologist). These lenses replace the cataract lens, enabling the patient to regain vision in the affected eye.
  2. VAC will cover the costs for intraocular lenses as prescribed by an appropriate health professional. The Department may also assume the costs of providing foldable intraocular lenses and procedures to insert them, where the coverage of such costs is not available to the client in the province of residence

Eyeglasses, Contact Lenses, Laser Surgery

  1. VAC will provide for eyeglasses or contact lenses that are necessary for the correction of vision and are prescribed by an approved health professional, as provided in the benefit grids and/or other Departmental guidelines/directives.
  2. Where the Department covers the cost of contact lenses, this coverage will apply to necessary procedures, items and fees associated with the use of contact lenses.
  3. The frequency limit applicable to eyeglasses applies to each medical condition the client may have. Therefore, the Department may authorize more than one pair of eyeglasses for a client who, for example, requires one pair for reading and second pair for distance viewing, where a bi-focal lens is not seen as a viable option by the prescribing health professional.
  4. Laser surgery may be considered on a case-by-case basis if it is medically supported as the most appropriate intervention, in lieu of eyeglasses or contact lenses, for example, where normal eyeglasses are not an appropriate intervention, given the client’s occupation or essential activities.

Lens Tinting and Coating

  1. VAC will authorize lens tinting or lens coating procedures when they are specified in the prescription, as required in the benefit grids and/or other Departmental guidelines/directives.

Sun Protection

  1. Clients may be eligible for a separate pair of non-prescription sunglasses or prescribed tints, if they are required for protection from the sun, as a result of a medical condition diagnosed by an approved health professional. Such conditions may include albinism, cataracts, corneal dystrophies or severe corneal scarring, among others. 
  2. If the prescriber indicates that a client who wears corrective lenses also requires protection from sunlight, either the lens coatings or clip-on sunglasses must be used for this purpose. For clients who wear contact lenses, either non-corrective sunglasses to be worn in conjunction with contact lenses, or the lens coatings identified or clip-ons for the client’s back-up pair of eyeglasses may be provided.

Special Vision Care Equipment

  1. VAC may authorize special vision care equipment as prescribed by approved health professionals, and as provided in the benefit grids and/or other Departmental guidelines/directives. 

Low Vision Aids

  1. Individuals with low vision have less than normal vision even with the most accurate conventional prescription available. It is recognized that it is important for clients with vision loss to receive specialized equipment, and any required assistance in its use, in order to maintain a full and independent life.
  2. Low vision aids must be prescribed by approved health professionals, low vision clinics or the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB).

Other Vision Care Benefits and Services

  1. Organizations such as the CNIB provide services such as in-home assessments to determine the client’s level of independent functioning, specialized counselling, orientation to blindness, communications skills, ongoing maintenance, and certain costs associated with the use of guide dogs (including nutrition and veterinary treatment). 
  2. The provider organization will determine if a client is capable of benefiting from its services.  Where these services are recommended, the Department may cover the cost of those services not covered under provincial/territorial health insurance plans, based on guidelines set out in the benefit grids and/or other Departmental guidelines/directives. 

References

Veterans Health Care Regulations, paragraphs 4(a) and (b)

Eligibility for Health Care Programs - Eligible Client Groups

Eligibility for Health Care Programs - Canada Service Veteran

Health Care Professionals

Date modified:

Soins de la vue (PDC nº 14)

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politique et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 5 juillet 2019
Numéro du document : 1056

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique a pour objectif d’orienter la prestation des avantages pour soins de la vue convenables aux clients admissibles. Les avantages et les services de soins de la vue visent à préserver, à maintenir et à corriger la vision et à aider les clients à satisfaire à leurs besoins en matière de soins de la vue.

Politique

Admissibilité

  1. Les avantages sont accessibles conformément aux critères d’admissibilité exposés dans le document intitulé « Admissibilité aux programmes de soins de santé - Groupes de clients admissibles », et aux conditions indiquées dans les tableaux des avantages d’ACC et autres directives ou orientations ministérielles.
  2. Les avantages sont regroupés selon les catégories suivantes :
    1. Examens de la vue
    2. Examens et procédures ophtalmologiques
    3. Lentilles intraoculaires
    4. Lunettes, lentilles cornéennes, teinte et revêtement de lentilles
    5. Chirurgie au laser
    6. Lunettes de soleil
    7. Équipement spécial pour personne ayant une basse vision
    8. Aides aux personnes de basse vision
    9. Autres avantages et services de soins de la vue

Fournisseurs

  1. Les services pour les soins de la vue sont offerts par des fournisseurs autorisés afin de prodiguer les soins de la vue requis dans la province où le client reçoit le traitement. 

Santé holistique

  1. Si un client a droit à des prestations d’invalidité en raison de la perte d’un œil ou la perte de vision dans un œil, ACC accordera l’entière protection du PDC 14 pour les deux yeux. Le Ministère reconnaît que la perte d’un œil représente un désavantage important pour le client. Par conséquent, il est fondamental que le client maintienne la santé et la vision dans l’œil qui lui reste.

Tableaux des avantages

  1. Les lignes directrices sur les services de soins de la vue (y compris les limites de fréquence approuvées et les exigences relatives à l’autorisation préalable s’il y a lieu) se trouvent dans les tableaux des avantages sur les soins de la vue.

Examens de la vue, et tests et procédures ophtalmologiques

  1. ACC assume les frais des examens majeurs et routiniers de la vue, des examens mineurs de la vue et des tests ophtalmologiques prescrits par des professionnels de la santé autorisés, et fondés sur les critères établis dans les tableaux des avantages ou autres lignes directrices ou directives du Ministère.
  2. Les tests ophtalmologiques peuvent comprendre un éventail d’examens ophtalmologiques, notamment la biomicroscopie, l’ophtalmoscopie, la tonométrie et la vérification du champ visuel.

Lentilles intraoculaires

  1. Les lentilles intraoculaires sont offertes aux clients admissibles qui doivent subir une chirurgie en raison de cataracte, lorsqu’elles sont prescrites par un professionnel de la santé compétent (habituellement un ophtalmologue). Les lentilles remplacent les cristallins détériorés par une cataracte, améliorant ainsi la vision dans l’oeil touché.
  2. ACC assumera le coût des lentilles intraoculaires prescrites par un professionnel de la santé compétent. Le Ministère peut également assumer le coût de lentilles intraoculaires souples et le coût de leur insertion, dans les cas où de tels frais ne sont pas couverts dans la province de résidence du client.

Lunettes, lentilles cornéennes, chirurgie au laser

  1. ACC assumera le coût des lunettes ou des lentilles cornéennes qui sont nécessaires à la correction de la vision et qui sont prescrites par un professionnel de la santé autorisé, conformément aux tableaux des avantages ou aux autres lignes directrices et directives du Ministère.
  2. Dans les cas où le Ministère assume le coût des lentilles cornéennes, la couverture s’appliquera aux procédures nécessaires, aux articles et aux frais associés au port des lentilles cornéennes.
  3. La limite de fréquence relative aux lunettes s’applique à chaque affection du client. Par conséquent, le Ministère peut autoriser plus d’une paire de lunettes pour un client qui, par exemple, a besoin d’une paire de lunettes pour lire et d’une seconde paire pour voir à distance si les lunettes bifocales ne sont pas perçues comme une option pratique par le professionnel de la santé prescripteur.
  4. La chirurgie au laser peut être envisagée considérée au cas par cas si elle est appuyée à titre d’intervention la plus adéquate, au lieu de lunettes ou de lentilles cornéennes, par exemple si des lunettes ordinaires ne constituent sont pas une intervention adéquate, étant donné l’occupation ou les activités essentielles du client.

Teinte et revêtement pour lentilles

  1. ACC autorisera le paiement de la teinte et du revêtement des lentilles lorsque les procédures sont précisées dans l’ordonnance, comme il est indiqué dans les Tableaux des avantages ou autres lignes directrices ou directives du Ministère.

Protection contre le soleil

  1. Les clients peuvent être admissibles à une deuxième paire de lunettes de soleil vendues sans ordonnance ou à des teintes par ordonnance si elles sont requises pour la protection contre le soleil, en raison d’une affection qui a fait l’objet d’un diagnostic par un professionnel de la santé autorisé. De telles affections comprennent notamment l’albinisme, les cataractes, les dystrophies cornéennes ou les cicatrices cornéennes sévères. 
  2. Si le prescripteur indique qu’un client qui porte des lentilles correctrices a également besoin d’une protection contre le soleil, on peut alors avoir recours à un revêtement sur les lentilles ou à des clips solaires. Aux clients qui portent des lentilles cornéennes, il est possible de fournir soit des lunettes de soleil vendues sans ordonnance à porter avec les lentilles cornéennes, soit le revêtement déterminé et appliqué sur les lunettes, soit une paire de clips solaires portés sur une paire de lunettes d’appoint.

Équipement spécial pour soins de la vue

  1. ACC peut autoriser de l’équipement spécial pour soins de la vue prescrit par des professionnels de la santé autorisés, conformément aux Tableaux des avantages ou à d’autres lignes directrices et directives du Ministère.

Aides aux personnes de basse vision

  1. Les personnes qui ont une basse vision ont une vision moins que normale même à l’aide de la prescription conventionnelle la plus précise. Il est reconnu qu’il est très important que les clients souffrant d’une perte de vision reçoivent un équipement spécialisé et l’aide nécessaire à son utilisation afin de mener une vie pleine et autonome.
  2. Les aides à la basse vision doivent être prescrites par des professionnels de la santé autorisés, des cliniques traitant la basse vision ou l’INCA.

Autres avantages et services de soins de la vue

  1. Les organismes comme l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles (INCA) offrent des services tels que les évaluations au domicile afin de déterminer le niveau d’autonomie fonctionnelle du client. Ils offrent également le counselling spécialisé, l’orientation à la cécité, l’apprentissage d’aptitudes à la communication, l’entretien des aides, et le paiement de certains frais associés à l’utilisation de chiens-guides (comprenant l’alimentation et les traitements vétérinaires). 
  2. L’organisme fournisseur déterminera si le client peut tirer profit de ses services. Dans les cas où les services sont recommandés, le Ministère peut se charger des coûts des services non couverts par les régimes provinciaux d'assurance-maladie, selon les lignes directrices précisées dans les Tableaux des avantages ou d’autres lignes directrices et directives du Ministère.

Référence

Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants, alinéas 4a) et 4b)

Admissibilité aux programmes de soins de santé – Groupes de clients admissibles

Admissibilité aux programmes de soins de santé - Anciens Combattants ayant servi au Canada

Groupes de professions de la santé reconnus par le ministre

Date de modification :