Residence Requirement - War Veterans Allowance Program

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy
Effective Date: May 18, 2012
Document ID: 1101

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction on the residence requirements under the War Veterans Allowance (WVA) Act.

Policy

General

  1. War Veterans Allowance (WVA) may only be awarded to a qualified applicant who resides in Canada.
  2. The following individuals are permitted to assume residence in another country and continue to receive the Allowance if, on the day of departure, the individual is a recipient of the Allowance and has been resident in Canada for twelve months immediately before the day of departure:
    1. Canadian Armed Forces Veterans;
    2. Merchant Navy Veterans;
    3. Civilians;
    4. Allied Veterans of World War II who were domiciled in Canada either at the time of joining the Allied Force or at any time while a member of that Force.

Establishing Post-war Residence for Allied Veterans

  1. Unless an Allied Veteran was domiciled in Canada at the time they joined the Allied Force or at any time while a member of that Force, the Allied Veteran must demonstrate that they have resided in Canada for a period of at least ten years post-war to satisfy the residency requirements of the WVA Act.  The post-war period of residence does not need to be of a consecutive nature.
  2. Section 8 of the Veterans Allowance Regulations stipulates that “a person resides in Canada if the person makes their home and ordinarily lives in Canada.”
  3. Time spent in Canada on “tourist” or “visitor” status is not normally counted towards satisfying the ten-year residency requirement of the WVA Act.  However, if an individual demonstrated a continuing intention to make Canada their home, as evidenced by ultimately receiving landed immigrant status or Canadian Citizenship, the time counted toward residency in such cases may be considered retroactive to the date of entry to Canada as a non-immigrant.

Allowable Temporary Absences

  1. A person is considered to reside in Canada if they make their home and ordinarily live in Canada.  There can be only one place of residence at a time.
  2. Individuals not identified in paragraph 2 are required to reside in Canada in order to receive WVA.  These individuals are not permitted to assume residence in another country and continue to receive the Allowance.  However, they are permitted to be temporarily absent from Canada without affecting their Allowance payment for intervals of no more than 183 consecutive days, or 183 cumulative days between July 1 of one year and June 30 of the next year.
  3. Notwithstanding the above, absences of any length of time should be examined to determine whether the individual has ceased to be a resident of Canada within the meaning of the legislation.
    1. Example:  A person who travelled abroad for seven months and exceeded the 183 days, only because they became too ill to return to Canada, could still be considered a resident of Canada as long as evidence indicates a continuing intention to return.
  4. Where the individual has no intention of returning to Canada, payment of the Allowance shall cease effective the first day of the month following their departure.
  5. Unusual situations could occur such as where a person leaves Canada intending to take up residence elsewhere, but returns to Canada five months later.  Given that their intention to reside elsewhere did not materialize and the absence was within the 183-day time period, the Allowance may be reinstated retroactively.
  6. Where the individual has exceeded the permissible period of temporary absences and the specific circumstances are unknown, payment shall be suspended the first day of the month following the period(s) of temporary absence which total 183 days.
  7. Where the period of absence is significant and the payment has been cancelled, clients may re-apply for the Allowance should they subsequently return to Canada.  Providing all other conditions of eligibility are met, benefits may be resumed with effect from the first day of the month in which Canadian residence is restored.

References

War Veterans Allowance Act

Veterans Allowance Regulations

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Critère de résidence - Programme des allocations aux anciens combattants

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 18 mai 2012
Numéro du document : 1101

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique fournit des directives sur le critère de résidence énoncé dans la Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants.

Politique

Général

  1. On peut seulement accorder une allocation aux anciens combattants (AAC) à un demandeur admissible qui réside au Canada.
  2. Les personnes suivantes sont autorisées à s’établir dans un autre pays tout en continuant de recevoir l’allocation si, le jour de leur départ, elles sont bénéficiaires de l’allocation et sont résidentes du Canada depuis au moins douze mois :
    1. les anciens combattants des Forces armées canadiennes;
    2. les anciens combattants de la marine marchande;
    3. certains civils;
    4. les anciens combattants alliés de la Seconde Guerre mondiale domiciliés au Canada au moment de se joindre à une force alliée ou à tout moment pendant qu’ils étaient membres de cette force.

Détermination de la résidence des anciens combattants alliés après la guerre

  1. À moins qu’il ait été résident du Canada au moment de se joindre à la force alliée ou à un moment pendant qu’il était membre de cette force, l’ancien combattant allié doit prouver qu’il a habité au Canada pendant au moins dix ans après la guerre pour satisfaire au critère de résidence énoncé dans la Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants. Il n’est pas nécessaire que ces dix ans de résidence soient consécutifs.
  2. L’article 8 du Règlement sur les allocations aux anciens combattants indique qu’une personne réside au Canada si elle s’y est établie et y vit de façon habituelle.
  3. Le temps passé au Canada à titre de « touriste » ou de « visiteur » n’est habituellement pas pris en compte pour satisfaire au critère de résidence de dix ans énoncé dans la Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants. Toutefois, si la personne a démontré une intention soutenue de s’établir au Canada, comme pouvait en témoigner par exemple un statut d’immigrant admis ou un certificat de citoyenneté canadienne, le calcul de la période de résidence peut être rétroactif à la date d’entrée au Canada en tant que non-immigrant.

Absences temporaires permises

  1. On considère qu’une personne réside au Canada si elle s’y est établie et y vit de façon habituelle. Il ne peut y avoir qu’un lieu de résidence à la fois.
  2. Les personnes qui ne sont pas mentionnées à l’alinéa 2 ci-dessus doivent résider au Canada pour avoir droit à l’AAC. Ces personnes ne peuvent pas s’établir dans un autre pays et continuer de recevoir l’AAC. Toutefois, elles peuvent s’absenter du Canada de façon temporaire, sans que cela affecte leur paiement d’AAC, pendant des intervalles d’au plus 183 jours consécutifs, ou 183 jours cumulatifs entre le 1er juillet d’une année et le 30 juin de l’année suivante.
  3. Malgré ce qui précède, on devrait examiner les absences, peu importe leur durée, afin de déterminer si la personne a cessé d’être un résident du Canada au sens de la loi.
    1. Exemple : Une personne ayant voyagé à l’étranger pendant sept mois et ayant dépassé la limite de 183 jours parce qu’elle était trop malade pour retourner au Canada pourrait continuer d’être considérée comme résidente du Canada, tant qu’elle peut prouver son intention soutenue d’y retourner.
  4. Quand la personne n’a pas l’intention de retourner au Canada, le paiement de l’AAC doit prendre fin le premier jour du mois suivant son départ.
  5. Des situations inhabituelles peuvent se produire. Par exemple, quand une personne quitte le Canada dans l’intention de s’établir ailleurs, mais y revient cinq mois plus tard. Puisque son intention de s’établir ailleurs ne s’est pas concrétisée et que son absence n’a pas dépassé la limite de 183 jours, l’allocation peut être rétablie de façon rétroactive.
  6. Quand l’absence temporaire dépasse la période admissible et qu’on ne connaît pas les circonstances particulières, le paiement doit être suspendu le premier jour du mois suivant le dépassement des 183 jours.
  7. Quand la période d’absence est importante et que le paiement a pris fin, les clients peuvent présenter une nouvelle demande d’AAC s’ils reviennent au Canada. Pourvu que toutes les autres conditions d’admissibilité soient remplies, les prestations peuvent reprendre à partir du premier jour du mois où la résidence canadienne est restituée.

Références

Loi sur les allocations aux anciens combattants

Règlement sur les allocations aux anciens combattants

Date de modification :