Rehabilitation Related Expenses - Other Than Training

Issuing Authority: Director General Policy
Effective Date: May 18, 2012
Document ID: 1199

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction for primary decision makers for the pre-authorization and reimbursement of expenses, other than training, incurred by individuals when accessing rehabilitation and vocational assistance services.

Policy

Context

  1. The pre-authorization of expenses is a two-step process when developing rehabilitation plans. The first step is the identification of the services necessary to address barriers to re-establishment and to achieve the plan's outcomes (see Rehabilitation Program Plan).  The second step is to determine if the participant's ability to achieve the rehabilitation plan's outcomes will be impeded if the participant must assume the associated rehabilitation related expenses.

    Rehabilitation services are broad and flexible in scope with plans designed to actively address barriers to re-establishment. Similarly, reimbursement decisions need to be broad and flexible to facilitate the individual's access to these services. Reimbursement decisions need to balance the individual's needs, given his or her unique circumstances, with the principles and objectives of the associated rehabilitation service. These decisions may require consultation with other individuals or groups (e.g., but not limited to, Client Service Team, Regional Rehabilitation Officer, interdisciplinary team members, or other subject matter experts).

    Ultimately, decision makers have the flexibility and discretion to determine the need to pre-authorize reimbursement of any rehabilitation related expenses to facilitate the participant's access to services in order to achieve his or her plan's outcomes.

Definitions

  1. Rehabilitation related expenses: for the purpose of this policy, are the costs listed under paragraph 15(1)(b) and subsection 15(2) of the Veterans Well-being Regulations (VWR) identified as transportation, accommodations, meals, travel outside the country, health needs/escort, and additional dependent care. These expenses may be incurred by the participant in accessing departmentally authorized rehabilitation or vocational assistance services, other than training related expenses

General

  1. As per paragraph 15(1)(b) and subsection 15(2) of the Veterans Well-being Regulations, the Department may authorize the reimbursement of rehabilitation related expenses to facilitate a participant’s participation in medical, psycho-social, vocational rehabilitation or vocational assistance services approved under a rehabilitation or vocational assistance plan.
  2. Decisions to authorize rehabilitation related expenses are to be based on the participant’s unique needs and are to be documented with a supporting rationale.  The authorization decision is not to be an arduous process and is made in collaboration with the participant.
  3. The same decision making approach as used in authorizing the rehabilitation service is applied when authorizing the payment or reimbursement of rehabilitation related expenses. Decisions should be holistic and reasonable resulting in the participant achieving the desired outcomes.
  4. Reimbursement of rehabilitation related expenses may be authorized in order to facilitate the participant’s participation in authorized rehabilitation or vocational assistance services that are covered or paid through other plans or programs. (e.g., but not limited to, travel to psycho-social services paid through provincial/territorial health care plans)
  5. The decision to pre-authorize payment must be supported by a rationale explaining the need to reimburse or pay the related rehabilitation expenses. The rationale will also be documented in the rehabilitation or vocational assistance plan.

Rehabilitation Related Costs of Transportation, Accommodations and Meals

  1. The Department will reimburse transportation, accommodation or meal costs, when failure to do so by the Department, will impede the participant’s ability to achieve their rehabilitation or vocational assistance plan’s objectives. This approach is different than that used to reimburse transportation costs under the authority of the Veterans Health Care Regulations (VHCR). The VHCR specify the terms and conditions under which transportation costs are reimbursed, whereas the Veterans Well-being Regulations are less specific and broader in scope as to when reimbursements may be paid. The needs-based approach is intended to provide decision makers discretion and flexibility to address participants’ unique circumstances, as well as, have participants assume some responsibility in meeting objectives identified under a rehabilitation plan.
  2. Transportation costs must be verifiable in order to meet the Department’s requirements in satisfying section 34 of the Financial Administration Act.

Basis of Payment

  1. As stated in subparagraph 15(1)(b)(i) of the Veterans Well-being Regulations, transportation, accommodation and meal costs will be reimbursed in accordance with the rates set out in the Treasury Board Travel Directive, as amended from time to time.
  2. Transportation costs will be based on the most economical or reasonable means of transportation between the participant’s residence and the place where the rehabilitation services are provided. These costs are subject to the following conditions as per clauses 15(1)(b)(i)(A) and 15(1)(b)(i)(B) of the Veterans Well-being Regulations:
    1. if the means of transportation is a taxi, $5.00 shall be deducted from the cost of each trip unless the person’s mobility or cognition is severely impaired or the deduction would severely impede the person’s ability to access the services. If the five dollar deduction is waived, the reason(s) and decision will be documented, or
    2. if the means of transportation is an automobile other than a taxi, the costs of transportation shall be paid at the rate applicable to employees of the public service of Canada who have requested the use of their own automobile plus 2 cents per kilometer and shall include the costs of parking. Parking will only be paid with respect to the time that the participant is at the facility providing the service.

Travel Outside of Canada

  1. In accordance with subsection 15(2) of the Veterans Well-being Regulations, if a person receives rehabilitation services or vocational assistance in a country other than Canada, the costs set out in paragraph 15(1)(b) of the Regulations, "are payable at the same rate and are subject to the same conditions as the rates and conditions established for former members of the armed forces of that country for similar costs, or, if no such rates are established, at rates that would be payable if the person were a resident in Canada."

Health Needs/Escort

  1. When a participant is unable to drive or take public transit alone due to physical, psychological or cognitive problems, the participant may be accompanied by an escort. The costs of the escort's meals, transportation and accommodations will be covered if pre-authorized.
  2. The payment of an escort fee is considered an eligible expense when the escort is not a spouse, common-law partner, dependent or any other member of the participant's household.

Additional Dependant Care

  1. A maximum of $75 per day for additional dependent care, as per subclauses 15(1)(b)(i)(A)(iv) of the Veterans Well-being Regulations, is an eligible expense where the following conditions apply:
    1. the Rehabilitation/Vocational Assistance Program participant normally provides unpaid care to a minor child, disabled adult or elderly person on a regular basis;
    2. the care is essential to ensure the personal safety or health of the individual for whom the care is provided or to maintain their activities of daily living;
    3. the substitute care is required when the client or spouse is participating in the Program;
    4. the participant has the responsibility for arranging for paid temporary substitute care;
    5. the cost incurred is additional to the cost of any paid care that is already provided to the dependent. For example, the participant may already be paying for full day child care program and be able to participate in rehabilitation services while a child attends that program so that no additional costs are incurred.
  2. Dependent care may be provided by friends, relatives or a professional provider as the circumstances require.

Completion of Rehabilitation or Vocational Assistance Service

  1. When the authorized rehabilitation or vocational assistance service is completed, no additional rehabilitation related expense will be authorized for reimbursement or payment.

Reimbursement Period

  1. A claim for reimbursement must be made in writing within one year after the day on which the expenditure is incurred and must include proof of the expenditure.

References

Veterans Well-being Act, sections 6 to 17

Veterans Well-being Regulations, paragraph 15(1)(b) and subsection 15(2)

Financial Administration Act, section 34.

Veterans Health Care Regulations

Treasury Board Travel Directive

Rehabilitation and Vocational Assistance Services - General

Date modified:

Dépenses liées à la réadaptation - Autres que celles liées à la formation

Autorité compétente : Directeur générale, Politiques
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 18 mai 2012
Numéro du document : 1199

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique fournit des directives aux décideurs de première ligne concernant l’autorisation préalable et le remboursement des dépenses, autres que celles liées à la formation, engagées par des clients lorsqu’ils se prévalent de services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle.

Politique

Contexte

  1. L’autorisation préalable des dépenses est un processus en deux étapes qui se déroule lors de l’élaboration des plans de réadaptation. La première étape est l’identification des services nécessaires afin de surmonter les obstacles liés à la réinsertion et d’atteindre les objectifs du plan (voir la politique - Plan du programme de réadaptation). La seconde étape est de déterminer si la capacité du participant à atteindre les objectifs de son plan de réadaptation sera diminuée s’il doit couvrir les dépenses connexes liées à la réadaptation.

    Les services de réadaptation ont une portée vaste et souple; ils comprennent des plans conçus afin de surmonter les obstacles liés à la réinsertion. De façon similaire, les décisions en matière de remboursement doivent être vastes et souples afin de favoriser l’accès des participants à ces services. Les décisions en matière de remboursement doivent correspondre aux besoins du client, compte tenu de ses circonstances particulières, selon les principes et les objectifs du service de réadaptation connexe. Ces décisions pourraient nécessiter des consultations avec d’autres personnes ou groupes (p. ex., sans s’y limiter, l’équipe des services aux clients, l’agent régional en   réadaptation, les membres de l’équipe interdisciplinaire ou d’autres experts en la matière).

    Enfin, les preneurs de décision disposent de la souplesse et de la latitude nécessaires pour déterminer la nécessité d’autoriser préalablement le remboursement de toute dépense liée à la réadaptation afin de faciliter l’accès du participant aux services dans le but qu’il atteigne les objectifs de son plan.

Définitions

  1. Dépenses liées à la réadaptation : aux fins de la présente politique, ces dépenses comprennent les frais contenus dans l’alinéa 15(1)(b) et le paragraphe 15(2) du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans (RBV) liés au transport, à l’hébergement, aux repas, aux voyages hors du Canada, aux besoins de santé et d’un accompagnateur et aux frais de garde supplémentaires. Ces dépenses, autres que celles liées à la formation, peuvent être engagées par le participant dans le cadre de son accès aux services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle autorisés par le Ministère.

Généralités

  1. Conformément à l’alinéa 15(1)(b) et au paragraphe 15(2) du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans, le Ministère peut autoriser le remboursement des dépenses liées à la réadaptation afin de faciliter la participation du client à des services médicaux, psychosociaux, de réadaptation ou d’assistance professionnelle approuvés dans le cadre d’un plan de réadaptation ou d’assistance professionnelle.
  2. Les décisions relatives à l’autorisation des dépenses liées à la réadaptation doivent se fonder sur les besoins uniques du client et doivent être accompagnées d’une justification à l’appui. La décision liée à l’autorisation n’a pas à être un processus ardu et elle doit être prise en collaboration avec le participant.
  3. Le même processus décisionnel que celui utilisé pour l’autorisation des services de réadaptation est employé lors de l’autorisation du paiement ou du remboursement de dépenses liées à la réadaptation. Les décisions doivent être globales et raisonnables et doivent permettre au participant d’atteindre les résultats souhaités.
  4. Le remboursement des dépenses liées à la réadaptation peut être autorisé afin de faciliter la participation du client à des services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle autorisés qui sont couverts ou payés par l’entremise d’autres plans ou programmes (p. ex, sans s’y limiter, le transport vers des services psychosociaux payé par l’entremise de régimes d’assurance-maladie provinciaux ou territoriaux).
  5. La décision liée à l’autorisation préalable du paiement doit être accompagnée d’une justification à l’appui expliquant le besoin de rembourser ou de couvrir les dépenses liées à la réadaptation. La justification sera également comprise dans le plan de réadaptation ou d’assistance professionnelle.

Frais de déplacement, d’hébergement et de repas liés à la réadaptation

  1. Le Ministère remboursera les frais de déplacement, d’hébergement et de repas si le non-paiement de ceux-ci par le Ministère empêchait le client d’atteindre les objectifs de son plan de réadaptation ou d’assistance professionnelle. Cette approche diffère de celle utilisée pour rembourser les frais de déplacement en vertu du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants (RSSAC). Le RSSAC précise les conditions selon lesquelles les frais de déplacement seront remboursés alors que le Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans est moins précis et a une portée plus large en ce qui a trait aux dépenses remboursables. L’intention de cette approche fondée sur les besoins est de fournir aux preneurs de décision la latitude et la souplesse nécessaires pour répondre aux circonstances particulières de chaque participant et de permettre à chaque participant d’assumer sa part de responsabilité quant à la réalisation des objectifs du plan de réadaptation.
  2. Les frais de déplacement doivent être vérifiables afin de répondre aux exigences du Ministère liées au respect de l’article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Base de paiement

  1. Comme l’indique le sous alinéa 15(1)(b)(i) du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans, les frais de déplacement, d’hébergement et de repas seront remboursés conformément aux taux précisés dans la Directive du Conseil du Trésor sur les voyages qui sont modifiés de temps en temps.
  2. Les frais de déplacement seront calculés en fonction des moyens les plus économiques et raisonnables de déplacement entre le domicile du client et l’endroit où sont offerts les services de réadaptation. Ces coûts sont assujettis aux conditions suivantes, conformément aux divisions 15(1)(b)(i)(A) et 15(1)(b)(i)(B) du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans:
    1. Lorsque le moyen de transport utilisé est un taxi, les frais de déplacement remboursés sont réduits de 5 $ par voyage à moins que le bénéficiaire ne soit une personne à mobilité réduite ou souffrant de troubles cognitifs graves ou que la réduction ne compromette gravement son accès aux services. Si la déduction de 5 $ n’est pas appliquée, les raisons et les décisions connexes seront étayées; ou
    2. Lorsque le moyen de transport est un véhicule particulier autre qu’un taxi, les frais de déplacement applicables sont ceux accordés à tout employé de l’administration publique fédérale qui utilise son propre véhicule, à sa demande, majorés de 2 cents le kilomètre, et comprennent les frais de stationnement. Les frais de stationnement ne sont remboursés qu’ à concurrence de ceux qui correspondent au temps que le client doit passer au centre qui fournit le service.

Déplacement à l’extérieur du Canada

  1. En vertu du paragraphe 15(2) du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans, dans le cas où un bénéficiaire participe à un programme de réadaptation ou d’assistance professionnelle dans un pays étranger, les frais visés à l’alinéa 15(1)(b) du Règlement «sont remboursés aux conditions et aux taux applicables aux vétérans des forces armées du pays où il se trouve ou, à défaut de ces conditions et taux, à ceux prévus pour les résidents canadiens.»

Besoins médicaux et d’un accompagnateur

  1. Lorsqu’un client est incapable de conduire ou de prendre seul les moyens de transport public en raison de problèmes physiques, psychologiques ou cognitifs, il peut se faire accompagner. Les frais de repas, de déplacement et l’hébergement de l’accompagnateur seront remboursés s’ils sont autorisés au préalable.
  2. Les frais d’accompagnement sont considérés admissibles lorsque l’accompagnateur n’est pas l’époux, le conjoint de fait ou une personne à charge du participant ou une personne habitant avec celui-ci. 

Frais de garde supplémentaires des personnes à charge

  1. Conformément à la subdivision 15(1)(b)(i)(A)(iv) du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans, les frais de garde supplémentaires des personnes à charge d’un montant maximum de 75 $ par jour sont admissibles lorsque les conditions suivantes sont réunies : 
    1. Le client qui participe au Programme de réadaptation ou au Programme d’assistance professionnelle prodigue habituellement et régulièrement des soins non rémunérés à un enfant mineur, un adulte handicapé ou une personne âgée;
    2. Le service de garde est essentiel pour assurer la sécurité ou la santé personnelle de la personne à charge ou pour lui permettre de continuer à accomplir ses activités quotidiennes;
    3. Le service de garde temporaire est requis lorsque le client ou l’époux participe au programme;
    4. Le participant a la responsabilité de prendre des dispositions pour organiser des services de garde temporaires rémunérés;
    5. Les frais engagés s’ajoutent aux frais déjà déboursés par le client pour assurer la garde de la personne à charge. Par exemple, avant le début de sa participation au programme, le client bénéficiait d’un service de garderie à temps complet pour les enfants à sa charge et en payait les frais; par conséquent, le client est en mesure de participer aux services de réadaptation sans avoir à engager des frais supplémentaires.
  2. La garde de la personne à charge peut être assurée, selon les circonstances, par des amis, des parents ou un fournisseur de services professionnel.

Achèvement du service de réadaptation ou d’assistance professionnelle

  1. Lorsque le service de réadaptation ou d’assistance professionnelle autorisé est jugé achevé, aucune autre dépense relative à la réadaptation ne peut être approuvée à des fins de remboursement ou de paiement.

Période de remboursement

  1. La demande de remboursement des dépenses doit être présentée par écrit dans l’année suivant la date où celles-ci ont été engagées, et elle doit être accompagnée de toutes les pièces justificatives.

Références

Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, articles 6 à 17.

Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans, alinéa 5(1)(b) et paragraphe15(2).

Loi sur la gestion des finances publique, article 34.

Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants

Directive du Conseil du Trésor sur les voyages

Services de réadaptation d’assistance professionnelle - Généralités

Date de modification :