Prescribers for Treatment Benefits

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy
Effective Date: May 18, 2012
Document ID: 1202

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy outlines who can prescribe treatment benefits.

Policy

Definitions

  1. A prescription, for purposes of this policy, is a written order, by a physician or other appropriate health care provider, for the preparation and administration of a medicine, therapeutic regimen, assistive or corrective device, or other treatment.
  2. “Health professional” is defined in section 2 of the Veterans Health Care Regulations as a “physician, dentist, nurse or other health care practitioner approved by the Minister”.

General

  1. Prescribers may be internal or external to the Department.
  2. Treatment benefits can be prescribed by a member of a regulated health profession in good standing with the corresponding regulatory body. Additionally, the Minister must approve the health care provider. Departmental benefit grids identify who may be recognized as a prescriber.
  3. A prescription for benefits may only be issued by a health professional who has personally assessed the client. The health professional must meet the prescriber requirements on the benefit grids for that benefit.
  4. Departmental health professionals who, during the course of their Departmental duties, personally assess or evaluate Veterans/clients, may prescribe benefits in accordance with the benefit grids, excluding the drug benefits provided under the POC 10 Prescription Drug Program.
  5. Prior to prescribing a benefit, the Departmental health professional must verify that the client is eligible for the benefit. This must include both the client’s basic eligibility for the program and specific eligibility, including frequency and dollar limits, for the benefit.
  6. Departmental employees who are not employed by the Department to provide health professional services may not prescribe benefits, regardless of their professional background or qualifications.

References

Veterans Health Care Regulations, sections 2 and 4

Benefit Grids

Date modified:

Prescripteurs d’avantages médicaux

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 18 mai 2012
Numéro du document : 1202

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique porte sur les personnes qui sont autorisées à prescrire des avantages médicaux.

Politique

Définitions

  1. Une ordonnance aux fins de la présente politique s’entend d’un ordre écrit donné par un médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé compétent en vue de la préparation et de l’administration d’un médicament, d’un régime de traitement, d’un appareil fonctionnel ou de correction, ou de tout autre traitement.
  2. L’expression « professionnel de la santé » est définie ainsi à l’article 2 du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants : « Médecin, dentiste, infirmière, infirmier ou tout autre praticien de soins approuvé par le ministre ».

Généralités

  1. Un prescripteur peut être une personne à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur du Ministère.
  2. Les avantages médicaux peuvent être prescrits par un membre en règle de l’organisme de réglementation d’une profession de la santé réglementée. Le ministre doit en outre approuver le professionnel de la santé; Les Tableaux des avantages médicaux du Ministère indiquent qui peut être reconnu à titre de prescripteur.
  3. Une ordonnance concernant un avantage ne peut être délivrée que par un professionnel de la santé qui a personnellement évalué le client. Le professionnel de la santé doit respecter les exigences des Tableaux des avantages médicaux concernant le prescripteur pour l’avantage en question.
  4. Un professionnel de la santé du Ministère qui, dans le cadre de ses fonctions ministérielles, évalue personnellement un ancien combattant/client peut prescrire des avantages conformément aux exigences des Tableaux des avantages médicaux, à l’exclusion des avantages offerts dans le cadre du PDC 10 – Programme de médicaments sur ordonnance.
  5. Avant de prescrire un avantage, le professionnel de la santé du Ministère doit vérifier si le client y est admissible. Cela consiste à déterminer si le client répond aux critères de base d’admissibilité au programme et aux critères d’admissibilité précis qui sont établis à l’égard de l’avantage, y compris la limite de fréquence et la limite financière.
  6. Les employés du Ministère qui n’ont pas été embauchés pour fournir les services des professionnels de la santé ne sont pas autorisés à prescrire des avantages, quels que soient leurs antécédents professionnels ou leurs qualifications.

Références

Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants, articles 2 et 4

Tableaux des avantages médicaux

Date de modification :