Canadian Forces Income Support Benefit - Application and Effective Date

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: April 1, 2019
Document ID: 1243

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction in respect to applications and the effective date of the Canadian Forces Income Support (CFIS) Benefit.

Policy

General

  1. For Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) to determine an individual’s eligibility for the CFIS benefit, a Veteran, survivor, or orphan must submit an application to VAC.
  2. Applications for the CFIS benefit will be in writing and be accompanied by:
    1. the Veteran’s, survivor’s or orphan’s statement of income and, if applicable, his/her spouse’s or common- law partner’s statement of income;
    2. a declaration attesting to the truth of the information provided;
    3. in the case of a survivor’s or orphan’s application, if the information is currently unavailable to the Department (e.g., not on file),
      1. a copy of the Veteran’s or Canadian Force (CF) member’s death certificate; and,
      2. medical reports or other records that document the CF member’s or Veteran’s injury or disease, diagnosis and cause of death; and,
    4. any other information or documents requested by the Department in order to determine eligibility to the CFIS benefit.
  3. The date of when an “application is made” is either the date stamp by Canada Post, or, if the application was received other than via the postal system, VAC’s date stamp of receipt.
  4. Information regarding the importance of timeliness of filing an initial, or subsequent, CFIS application will be available to prospective recipients as part of general VAC literature available from the district offices; the VAC Internet site; etc. This information is also referenced as part of the CFIS application guide.
  5. In circumstances where an applicant fails to apply within a prescribed time period, the Department may accept the application, if there are reasonable grounds as to why the application was delayed (e.g., serious illness or injury of applicant or family member) as per section 76(3) of the Veterans Well-being Act.
  6. When an application is not made within the prescribed time, the application will be declined and redress rights given (see policy, Review of Part 1, Part 1.1, Part 2 and Part 3.1 Decisions under the Veterans Well-being Act).
  7. CFIS recipients are required to regularly provide information relevant to determining his/her ongoing entitlement to the benefit (for example, supply income information including that of a spouse or common-law partner, if applicable). Where the recipient fails to provide the required information in a timely manner, the CFIS benefit may be suspended, and, possibly, cancelled. (see policy, CFIS – Suspension and Cancellation)

Application: Veteran

  1. A Veteran’s initial application must be made within 6-months following the last day of the month that the Veteran was last entitled to an Earnings Loss (EL) benefit or the Income Replacement Benefit (IRB).
  2. The Department will advise the Veteran that once eligibility for the CFIS benefit has ended, the Veteran is entitled to submit a subsequent application within 6 months after the last month in which he/she was entitled to receive a CFIS payment. If an application is submitted within this 6-month time period, the Department will accept the application to determine the Veteran’s continued eligibility for the CFIS benefit (see policy, CFIS – Eligibility).
  3. If ELB and IRB has ended for those who do not have immediate work, information about the CFIS benefit will be provided. General information dealing with the importance of timeliness of filing an initial or subsequent CFIS application will be restated as part of the CFIS application guide. In addition, prospective clients will be advised of this fact as part of general VAC literature available at the district offices; the VAC Internet site; etc.
  4. When a Veteran exceeds the 6-month application filing time period and no exceptional reasons exist for the delay, it will be necessary for him/her to establish that a new mental or physical problem is now creating a barrier to re-establishment and, with that, he/she is successful in accessing the VAC rehabilitation program. If so, the broader process takes over - i.e. the Veteran will first qualify for IRB, and, at the conclusion of this entitlement, the possibility of applying for the CFIS benefit can be considered.

Application: Survivor

  1. There is no prescribed time limit upon which an application must be submitted from a survivor if:
    1. the member or Veteran died of a service-related injury or disease, or of a non service-related injury or disease which was aggravated by service; and,
    2. on the day the CFIS application is approved, the member or Veteran, if alive, would be at least 65 years of age.
  2. In circumstances where the Veteran died of a non service-related injury or disease, the survivor’s initial application must be made within six months following the last day of the month in which the Veteran died.
  3. Allowing for the possibility that a subsequent application may become necessary, survivors will also be advised of the rules surrounding the timeliness factor. The time period for filing a subsequent application also entails a 6-month period, which follows the last day of the last month in which the CFIS payment ceases to be made. If, within this 6-month time period, the survivor’s income is reduced, such that the CFIS benefit can be paid, the subsequent application will be approved.

Application: Orphan

  1. There is no prescribed time limit for an orphan to apply for the CFIS Benefit.
  2. An orphan of a Veteran, who died of a service-related injury or disease or of a non service-related injury or disease which was aggravated by service, is eligible to receive the CFIS benefit if on the day the CFIS application is approved, the member or Veteran, if alive, would be at least 65 years of age.  

Effective Date

  1. In respect to a Veteran or a survivor of a Veteran who died of a non service-related death, once eligibility for the CFIS benefits has been established (see policy – CFIS Eligibility), the benefit will be payable as of the first day of the month in which eligibility was determined or in which the benefit continues to be payable.
  2. If the Veteran or survivor under paragraph 17 makes an initial application within the 6-month time period but fails to provide an essential piece of information (e.g. income), the application may proceed with no change in the original effective month provided that the information is provided without excessive delay (i.e. does not extend into several months). If the delay is considered excessive, the survivor will be asked to provide reasons why the delay occurred (e.g., circumstances beyond the survivor’s control), before a decision on acceptance of the original effective date can be made.  If no acceptable reason for the delay exists, the effective date will be the month the information is received.
  3. In respect to a survivor of a Veteran who died of a service related-death and/or in respect to any orphan, once an initial application has been made and once eligibility for the CFIS benefit has been established (see policy – CFIS Eligibility), the effective date of the CFIS benefit will be the later of either:
    1. the first day of the month after the month in which the member or Veteran died; and,
    2. the first day of the month that is one year prior to the month in which the application for the benefit is approved.
  4. Paragraph 19(b) allows for the CFIS benefit to be awarded retroactively for those recipients identified in paragraph 19. However, for survivors and orphans of a Veteran who dies of a service related death, retroactivity can go no further than the date of eligibility for the CFIS benefits. In these instances, CFIS eligibility cannot begin any earlier than the date from when the member or Veteran, if alive, would have turned age 65.
  5. Where the service-related death of the member or Veteran occurred after reaching age 65, the survivor and/or orphan would not be entitled to receive IRB. In this scenario, the CFIS benefit could not be payable any earlier then the month following the month the member or Veteran died. Once the application is approved, the same rules governing retroactivity, as indicated in paragraph 19 apply.
  6. When the CFIS recipient loses eligibility to receive the benefit (e.g., excessive income, no longer meets Canadian residency requirement and/or does not satisfy the Employment and Career Transition Criteria, if required to do so), the respective decision letter will give the reason why no benefit is payable. The decision letter will also speak to what is required in order for a subsequent application to succeed. (See policy, CFIS – Eligibility)
  7. When the CFIS benefit ceases to be payable due to “excess income”, the applicable decision letter will indicate why no benefit is payable for the month in question, and instruct the recipient to advise VAC immediately if his/her income or family situation should change at any time. If the recipient is a Veteran or a survivor of a Veteran who died of a non service related death, he/she must notify the Department within the 6 months after the last day of the month in which the benefit is payable in order to re-establish his/her claim.
  8. If circumstances change, and the recipient later re-qualifies for the CFIS benefit, the only limitation in establishing the effective date is in accordance with the rules set out in paragraphs 17 and 19.

References

Veterans Well-being Act, sections 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 35, and 76

Veterans Well-being Regulations, sections, 30, 31

Canadian Forces Income Supplement – Eligibility

Canadian Forces Income Supplement – Suspension and Cancellation

Review of Part 1, Part 1.1, Part 2 and Part 3.1 Decisions under the Veterans Well-being Act

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Allocation de soutien de revenu des Forces canadiennes - Demande et date d’entrée en vigueur

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1 avril 2019
Numéro du document : 1243

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique vise à fournir une orientation sur les demandes et la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes (ASRFC).

Politique

Généralités

  1. Pour permettre à Anciens Combattants Canada de déterminer l’admissibilité d’un client à une ASRFC, un vétéran, un survivant, ou un orphelin doivent soumettre une demande au Ministère.
  2. Les demandes d’ASRFC doivent être présentées par écrit et être accompagnées des documents suivants :
    1. la déclaration de revenus du vétéran, du survivant ou de l’orphelin ainsi que, le cas échéant, la déclaration de revenus de l’époux ou du conjoint de fait;
    2. une attestation de la véracité des renseignements fournis;
    3. dans le cas d’une demande faite par un survivant ou un orphelin, si le Ministère n’a pas en main les renseignements suivants (s’ils ne figurent pas déjà au dossier) :
      1. une copie du certificat de décès du vétéran ou du militaire;
      2. les rapports médicaux ou les autres rapports qui décrivent la blessure, la maladie, le diagnostic et la cause du décès du militaire ou du vétéran;
    4. tout autre renseignement ou document que le Ministère exige afin de déterminer l’admissibilité à l’ASRFC.
  3. La date de « présentation de la demande » est la date du tampon postal apposé par Postes Canada ou la date du timbre-dateur de réception d’ACC lorsque la demande n’a pas été expédiée par la poste.
  4. Les précisions sur l’importance de présenter une première demande ou une nouvelle demande d’ASRFC en temps opportun seront fournies aux bénéficiaires potentiels dans les documents d’information généraux d’ACC disponibles dans les bureaux de district, sur le site Web du Ministère, etc. Ces précisions figureront également dans le guide de demande d’ASRFC.
  5. Lorsqu’un demandeur omet de présenter sa demande dans le délai imparti, le Ministère peut accepter la demande si des motifs raisonnables justifient le retard (p. ex. maladie grave, blessure grave du demandeur ou d’un membre de la famille), comme le stipule le paragraphe 76(3) de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans.
  6. Lorsqu’une demande n’est pas soumise dans le délai imparti, elle est rejetée et des droits de recours sont accordés (voir la politique, Révision des décisions prises en vertu de la Partie 1, de la Partie 1.1 de la Partie 2 et de la Partie 3.1 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans)).
  7. Les bénéficiaires d’une ASRFC sont tenus de fournir régulièrement des renseignements permettant de déterminer le maintien de leur droit à l’allocation (par exemple, les renseignements sur leur revenu ou celui de leur époux ou de leur conjoint de fait, le cas échéant). Si le bénéficiaire omet de fournir à temps les renseignements exigés, le versement de l’ASRFC peut être suspendu ou l’ASRFC peut même être annulée (voir la politique – ASRFC – Suspension et annulation).

Demande : Vétéran

  1. La première demande faite par un vétéran doit être présentée dans les six mois suivant le dernier jour du mois auquel le vétéran était admissible à une allocation pour perte de revenus ou à une prestation de remplacement du revenu (PRR).
  2. Le Ministère informera le vétéran à la fin de sa période d’admissibilité à une ASRFC qu’il a le droit de présenter une nouvelle demande dans les six mois suivant le dernier mois au cours duquel il pouvait toucher une ASRFC. Si une demande est présentée dans ce délai de six mois, le Ministère acceptera la demande de détermination du maintien de l’admissibilité du vétéran à une ASRFC (voir la politique – ASRFC – Admissibilité).
  3. Si le versement de l’APR ou de la PRR est terminé, des renseignements sur les ASRFC seront fournis à ceux qui n’ont pas d’emploi immédiat. Les renseignements généraux sur l’importance du respect des délais de présentation d’une première demande et d’une demande subséquente seront répétés dans le guide de demande d’une ASRFC. En outre, les clients potentiels seront informés de ce point dans les documents généraux d’ACC disponibles dans les bureaux de district, sur le site Web du Ministère, etc.
  4. Lorsqu’un vétéran dépasse le délai de présentation de six mois sans motif exceptionnel, il lui incombe de prouver qu’un nouveau problème physique ou mental crée un nouvel obstacle à sa réinsertion et qu’il a été admis à un programme de réadaptation d’ACC. Le cas échéant, le processus complet est repris, c.-à-d. que le vétéran aura droit dans un premier temps à une PRR. À la fin de la période d’admissibilité, le Ministère examinera la possibilité pour le vétéran de présenter une demande d’ASRFC.

Demande : Survivant

  1. Il n’existe pas de délai prescrit pour présenter une demande dans le cas d’un survivant lorsque :
    1. le militaire ou le vétéran décède des suites d’une blessure ou d’une maladie liée à son service, ou d’une blessure ou d’une maladie non liée à son service, mais aggravée par celui-ci;
    2. le jour où la demande d’ASRFC est approuvée, le militaire ou le vétéran, s’il était vivant, aurait au moins 65 ans.
  2. Lorsqu’un vétéran décède des suites d’une maladie ou d’une blessure non liée à son service, la demande initiale du survivant doit être présentée dans les six mois suivant le dernier jour du mois au cours duquel est décédé le vétéran.
  3. En prévision de la possibilité qu’il devienne nécessaire de produire une demande subséquente, les survivants seront informés des règles régissant les délais de présentation. Le délai de présentation d’une demande subséquente est également de six mois après le dernier jour du dernier mois où cessent d’être versés les paiements d’ASRFC. Si, dans les six mois, le revenu du survivant est réduit à un seuil où une ASRFC peut être versée, la demande subséquente sera approuvée.

Demande : Orphelin

  1. Il n’existe pas de délai prescrit pour présenter une demande d’ASRFC dans le cas d’un orphelin.
  2. Un orphelin d’un militaire ou d’un vétéran décédé des suites d’une blessure ou d’une maladie liée à son service, ou d’une blessure ou d’une maladie non liée à son service, mais aggravée par celui-ci, peut toucher une ASRFC si, au jour où la demande d’ASRFC est approuvée, le militaire ou le vétéran, s’il était vivant, aurait au moins 65 ans.

Date d’entrée en vigueur

  1. Dans le cas d’un vétéran ou du survivant d’un vétéran décédé des suites d’une blessure ou d’une maladie non liée à son service, mais aggravée par celui-ci, lorsque l’admissibilité aura été établie (voir la politique – ASRFC – Admissibilité), l’allocation sera payable le premier jour du mois au cours duquel l’admissibilité a été établie ou du mois au cours duquel l’allocation continue d’être payable.
  2. Si, aux termes de l’article 17, un vétéran ou un survivant présente une demande initiale dans le délai de six mois, mais omet de fournir un document justificatif essentiel (p. ex. une déclaration de revenus), la demande peut être traitée sans que le mois d’entrée en vigueur soit modifié, à condition que les renseignements manquants soient fournis sans délai excessif (p. ex. ne dépasse pas plusieurs mois). Si le délai est jugé excessif, le Ministère demandera au survivant de justifier son retard (p. ex. circonstances indépendantes de la volonté du survivant) avant de rendre une décision sur l’acceptation de la date d’entrée en vigueur originale. En l’absence de motif raisonnable, la date d’entrée en vigueur sera le mois au cours duquel les renseignements auront été fournis.
  3. En ce qui a trait à un survivant ou aux orphelins d’un vétéran décédé du fait de son service, lorsque la demande initiale a été produite et que l’admissibilité à une ASRFC a été établie (voir la politique – ASRFC – Admissibilité), la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’ASRFC sera la plus tardive des deux dates suivantes :
    1. le premier jour du mois après celui au cours duquel le militaire ou le vétéran est décédé;
    2. le premier jour du mois qui tombe un an avant le mois au cours duquel la demande d’allocation est approuvée.
  4. Le paragraphe 19(b) autorise l’attribution rétroactive d’une ASRFC aux clients visés à l’article 19. Toutefois, dans le cas des survivants et des orphelins de vétérans décédés du fait de leur service, la rétroactivité ne peut pas dépasser la date d’admissibilité à une ASRFC. Dans ces cas, l’admissibilité à une ASRFC ne peut pas commencer à une date antérieure à celle où le militaire ou le vétéran aurait eu 65 ans s’il avait été vivant.
  5. En cas de décès du fait du service d’un militaire ou d’un vétéran qui a atteint l’âge de 65 ans, le survivant ou un orphelin n’est pas admissible à la PRR. Dans ce cas, l’ASRFC ne serait pas payable avant le mois suivant celui du militaire ou du vétéran. Une fois la demande approuvée, les mêmes règles applicables à la rétroactivité précisées à l’article 19 s’appliquent.
  6. Lorsqu’un bénéficiaire d’une ASRFC cesse d’être admissible (p. ex. parce que son revenu est trop élevé, qu’il ne respecte plus les exigences de résidence au Canada ou qu’il ne respecte pas les critères d’emploi et de transition de carrière, s’il y a lieu), la lettre d’avis de la décision donnera les raisons pour lesquelles aucune allocation n’est payable. La lettre d’avis indiquera également les démarches à suivre pour faire une nouvelle demande acceptable. (voir la politique, ASRFC – Admissibilité)
  7. Lorsque l’ASRFC cesse d’être payable du fait que le bénéficiaire a un « revenu trop élevé », la lettre d’avis de la décision précisera le motif pour lequel aucune allocation n’est versée pour le mois visé et avisera le bénéficiaire d’informer immédiatement ACC de tout changement de son revenu ou de sa situation familiale. Si le bénéficiaire est un vétéran ou le survivant d’un vétéran décédé des suites d’une blessure ou d’une maladie non liée à son service, il doit aviser le Ministère dans les six mois suivant le dernier jour du mois auquel l’allocation était payable pour rétablir sa demande.
  8. Si la situation change et que le bénéficiaire redevient admissible à une ASRFC, les seules limites applicables à la détermination de la date d’entrée en vigueur sont les règles exposées aux paragraphes 17 et 19.

Références

 

Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, articles 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 35 et 76

Règlements sur le bien-être des vétérans, articles 30 et 31

Allocation de soutien de revenu des Forces canadiennes – Admissibilité

Allocation de soutien de revenu des Forces canadiennes – Suspension et annulation

Examen des décisions rendues en vertu de la Partie 1, de la Partie 1.1, de la Partie 2 et de la Partie 3.1 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans

Date de modification :