Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Canadian Forces Income Support Benefit - Suspension and Cancellation

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: April 1, 2019
Document ID: 1247

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction in respect to suspension and cancellation of the Canadian Forces Income Support (CFIS) Benefit.

Policy

General

  1. Section 36 of the Veterans Well-being Act and sections 34 and 35 of the Veterans Well-being Regulations authorize the suspension and/or cancellation a CFIS benefit payment, if the Veteran, survivor or orphan fails to provide information needed to properly administer the CFIS benefit program.
  2. Required information to administer the CFIS program:
    1. All eligible individuals must provide continually updated, accurate, forecasted income information (i.e. any temporary or permanent changes in hourly, weekly, monthly or yearly income amounts from Canadian or foreign sources) or any change in current monthly benefits. In the case of a Veteran, this information will also include his/her spouse’s or common-law partner’s income information;
    2. All recipients must notify the Department when they intend to be absent from Canada for more than 183 days in a given year or when they plan to permanently reside outside of Canada;
    3. Veterans and survivors, who are required to meet Employment and Career Transition Criteria (see policy, CFIS – Eligibility), must continuously provide information to demonstrate that they meet this Criteria;
    4. Veterans must notify the Department of any change in his/her family or marital status and/or the number of dependent children, including, if applicable, the children’s progress in school and/or when a child becomes incapacitated;
    5. A survivor of a member or Veteran, who died of a service-related death, and any orphan must provide past income information, when required, to determine if a retroactive CFIS benefit payment should be made.
    6. An orphan, between the ages of 18 to 25, must notify the Department of any changes in his/her educational or incapacity status.
    7. All recipients must provide any other information that is necessary to assess initial or ongoing eligibility or determine the amount of CFIS benefit payable.

Suspension

  1. Failure to provide the information under paragraph 2 will result in suspension of the CFIS benefit payment.
  2. For a Veteran or a survivor of a member or Veteran who died of a service-related injury or disease, or of a non service-related injury or disease which was aggravated by service, whose CFIS payment is suspended, Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) may:
    1. continue eligibility for VAC’s Career Transition Services Program; and / or,
    2. cancel the CFIS benefit after 6 consecutive months of suspension.

Cancellation

  1. For Veterans and survivors of Veterans, who die of a non service-related death, whose CFIS has been cancelled:
    1. The CFIS benefit can no longer be re-instated and no new subsequent application will succeed.
    2. The Veteran will need to re-establish his/her eligibility to VAC’s Rehabilitation and Vocational Assistance Program and his/her eligibility to receive an income replacement benefit. Thereafter, and once entitlement to the income replacement benefit successfully ends, if the need exists, access to the CFIS benefit may be possible, once again.
  2. VAC may cancel the CFIS benefit to an orphan who had his/her CFIS benefit suspended for 6 months.
  3. For survivors of Veterans, whose death was service-related, or orphans, whose CFIS has been cancelled, may re-apply for and receive the CFIS benefit providing they meet the eligibility requirements. Because there is no prescribed time limit in which an application must be made for individuals in these circumstances, the CFIS benefit may be re-instated.
  4. Where the eligibility or ongoing entitlement of the Veteran, survivor, or orphan is based on a misrepresentation or the concealment of a material fact, the Department will cancel the CFIS benefit. The effective date of the cancellation decision, in this instance, will be the first day of the month the misrepresentation or concealment commenced.
  5. The cancellation decision conveyed to the Veteran, survivor, or orphan must include the reason(s) involved, the effective date, and the applicable redress rights.

References

Veterans Well-being Act, sections 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, and 36

Veterans Well-being Regulations, sections, 34 and 35

Canadian Forces Income Supplement – Eligibility

Review of Part 1, Part 1.1, Part 2 and Part 3.1 Decisions under the Veterans Well-being Act

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes – Suspension et annulation

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1 avril 2019
Numéro du document : 1247

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

Cette politique donne des directives sur la suspension et l’annulation de l’Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes (ASRFC).

Politique

Généralités

  1. L’article 36 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans et les articles 34 et 35 du Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans autorisent la suspension et/ou l’annulation du versement des prestations prévues par l’ASRFC si le vétéran, le survivant ou l’orphelin ne fournit pas les renseignements nécessaires à la bonne administration de l’ASRFC.
  2. Renseignements exigés pour l’administration du programme d’ASRFC :
    1. Toute personne admissible aux prestations de l’ASRFC doit fournir des renseignements toujours exacts et constamment actualisés sur son revenu prévu (c.-à-d. sur tout changement temporaire ou permanent apporté aux sommes déclarées comme revenu horaire, hebdomadaire, mensuel ou annuel, qui proviennent de sources canadiennes ou étrangères), ou sur tout changement apporté à ses prestations mensuelles courantes. Dans le cas d’un vétéran, ces renseignements concernent également le revenu de l’époux ou de l’épouse ou du conjoint ou de la conjointe de fait.
    2. Tous les bénéficiaires doivent aviser le Ministère de la date à laquelle ils comptent s’absenter du Canada pendant plus de 183 jours au cours d’une année donnée, ou de la date à partir de laquelle ils comptent résider en permanence à l’extérieur du Canada;
    3. Les vétérans et les survivants qui sont tenus de répondre aux critères d’emploi et de réorientation professionnelle (voir la politique ASRFC – Admissibilité) doivent continuellement fournir sur demande des renseignements pour prouver qu’ils répondent à ces critères;
    4. Les vétérans doivent fournir au Ministère les renseignements suivants : tout changement apporté à leur situation familiale, au nombre de leurs enfants à charge, et, s’il y a lieu, les progrès scolaires de ces enfants et/ou le cas échéant, toute incapacité ayant frappé l’un ou l’autre de leurs enfants.
    5. Le survivant d’un militaire ou d’un vétéran dont le décès est lié au service, ainsi que tout orphelin, doit fournir, s’il y a lieu, des renseignements sur leurs revenus antérieurs, pour permettre d’établir si une prestation rétroactive de l’ASRFC devrait être versée..
    6. Un orphelin âgé de 18 à 25 ans doit aviser le Ministère de tout changement éventuel de sa situation scolaire ou de l’état de son incapacité.
    7. Tout bénéficiaire doit fournir les autres renseignements nécessaires à l’évaluation de son admissibilité initiale ou courante, ou à l’établissement du montant de la prestation à verser au titre de l’ASRFC.

Suspension

  1. Tout manquement à l’obligation de fournir les renseignements demandés en vertu du paragraphe 2 entraînera la suspension du versement des prestations prévues par l’ASRFC.
  2. Dans le cas du vétéran ou du survivant d’un militaire ou d’un vétéran décédé par suite d’une blessure ou d’une maladie liée au service, ou d’une blessure ou d’une maladie aggravée par le service, dont les versements de l’ASRFC sont suspendus, Anciens combattants Canada (ACC) peut :
    1. maintenir l’admissibilité au Programme de services de réorientation professionnelle (SRP) d’ACC;
    2. annuler les prestations de l’ASRFC après six (6) mois de suspension consécutifs.

Annulation

  1. Dans le cas des vétérans et des survivants de vétérans dont le décès n’est pas lié au service et dont l’ASRFC a été annulée :
    1. les prestations de l’ASRFC ne peuvent plus être rétablies, et toute nouvelle demande sera refusée;
    2. le vétéran devra rétablir son admissibilité au Programme de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle d’ACC et son admissibilité à l’allocation d’une prestation de remplacement du revenu. Ensuite, une fois le droit à l’allocation de remplacement du revenu expiré, il pourra de nouveau, au besoin, bénéficier des prestations de l’ASRFC.
  2. ACC peut annuler les prestations de l'ASRFC versées à un orphelin dont les prestations ont été suspendues pendant six (6) mois.
  3. Les survivants de vétérans dont le décès est lié au service, ou les orphelins dont l’ASRFC a été annulée, peuvent redemander et recevoir les prestations prévues par l’ASRFC s’ils répondent aux conditions d’admissibilité. Puisqu’aucun délai n’est établi pour la présentation d’une demande visant les personnes concernées, ces prestations peuvent être rétablies.
  4. Si l’admissibilité ou le droit courant du vétéran, du survivant ou de l’orphelin sont fondés sur une fausse déclaration ou sur la dissimulation d’un fait important, le Ministère annulera les prestations de l’ASRFC. Dans ce cas, la date d’annulation prendra effet le premier jour du mois marqué par cette fausse déclaration ou cette dissimulation.
  5. L’énoncé de la décision d’annulation transmise au vétéran, au survivant ou à l’orphelin doit comprendre le ou les motifs de la décision, la date d’entrée en vigueur et les droits de recours applicables.

Références

Articles 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 et 36 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans

Articles 34 et 35 Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans

Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes – Admissibilité

Révision des décisions rendues en vertu de la Partie 1, de la Partie 1.1, de la Partie 2 et de la Partie 3.1 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans

Date de modification :