Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Overpayments – Recovery, Remission and Write Off

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research
Effective Date: April 1, 2019
Document ID: 1600

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction on what constitutes an overpayment for disability benefit programs under the Veterans Well-being Act (VWA) and the Pension Act, and provides a general description of the three methods which may be used to address the overpayment: recovery, remission and write off.

Policy

Definitions

  1. For the purpose of this policy, the following terms are defined as:
    1. Compensation: Compensation means a payment that is made under Part 3 of the Veterans Well-being Act or the Pension Act.
    2. Crown Debt:  A debt due to Her Majesty.
    3. Overpayment: Any compensation amount, or part of it, that is paid to a person, including their estate or succession, to which there is no entitlement, or which exceeds entitlement, is considered an overpayment.
    4. Recovery: Recovery, in this context, is a process whereby Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) recoups monies paid out as overpayments, from recipients, including their estates or successions, from future payments which would have been made.
    5. Remission: Remission means to forgive an otherwise legally enforceable debt. In this context, it is an act of clemency on the part of the Minister and not a right. Once remission has been approved, the Department gives up its right to recover the overpayment at a later date.
    6. Undue Hardship: Undue hardship is deemed to exist when repayment of the overpayment, in whole or in part, would cause the client suffering or deprivation due to the client's limited "household income" and assets. That is, the client is unable to repay any portion of the overpayment, however small, without being deprived of the necessities of life, such as food, shelter, medical attention, clothing and utilities (water, hydro, and heating).
    7. Write Off: Write-off is an accounting action which removes the debt, in whole or in part, from the active accounts receivable records in the Public Accounts. Write-off does not mean that the debt is forgiven.

General

  1. No part of an overpayment may be remitted if the person, or the executor of the estate, or the liquidator of the succession, has been convicted of an offence under the Criminal Code in connection with receiving or obtaining the overpayment.
  2. All overpayment cases which involve suspected fraud or wilful misrepresentation should immediately be referred to the Director General, Finance, for appropriate action (see Financial Policy and Procedure Manual 4 -7 for additional details).
  3. Any overpayment, regardless of the cause, is considered a Crown debt and may be addressed by:
    1. Recovery;
    2. Remission; or
    3. Write-off.
  4. Regardless of whether the overpayment will be recovered, remitted or written-off, the total amount of the overpayment must be recorded on the recipient’s account as soon after discovery as possible.
  5. Centralized Operations Division is responsible for identifying and notifying the Financial Division of any overpayments with a balance of $5,000 or over. The Financial Division is responsible for administering all subsequent activities relating to recovery, remission or write off, including establishing the applicable effective date and, in the case of recovery,  the amount to be released, if any. Overpayments with a balance of less than $5,000 are addressed in Centralized Operations Division.
  6. The recipient must be advised, in writing, of the existence of the overpayment, the amount and proposed start date of recovery deductions, if applicable.

Recovery

  1. All overpayments being considered for recovery over $5,000 must be forwarded to the Program Payments Section - Financial Division for administration.

Recipient Dies before Overpayment is Completely Recovered

  1. In the event of the recipient’s death, the remaining balance of the overpayment becomes recoverable from his/her estate or succession.

Notification of Recipients

  1. All recipients should be advised in writing of the amount of recovery deductions and the future start date. The start date of recoveries should allow time for a recipient to respond, if they feel that the overpayment recovery will cause hardship or if they wish to make alternate repayment arrangements.

Recovery or Set-Off of Overpayments

  1. The recipient should be given the option of repaying the overpayment in a lump sum.
  2. When there are available disability benefit monies that have not been paid out, recovery should be made from that source.
  3. In cases where the recipient has monies due under the Pension Act; or monies due under the Veterans Well-being Act, e.g. retroactive adjustments, a monthly pension, or pain and suffering compensation, either a voluntary or involuntary method of recovery should be set up to set-off the overpayment.
  4. Where there are no available funds, and the recipient requests that the overpayment be handled through monthly payments, the recovery rate should allow that the overpayment be paid back in a maximum of five years, without interest. The overpayment recovery can be extended to 10 years if extenuating circumstances exist. The monthly amount of recovery should not exceed one-half the amount of the monthly pension/compensation/allowances to which the recipient is entitled under the Pension Act or Veterans Well-being Act.
  5. Factors such as the age, financial situation, and individual circumstances (e.g. mental health) of the recipient should be taken into consideration, together with the amount of the overpayment.

Set-off from pension adjustment or monthly monies payable under the Pension Act or the Veterans Well-being Act

  1. The Department will normally apply any retroactive pension adjustment, payable under the Pension Act, in order to set-off an overpayment with respect to a disability award payment.
  2. The Department may also set-off overpayments from disability pensions, pain and suffering compensation and additional pain and suffering compensation payments, and allowances.

Recovery from other Benefits

  1. Overpayments may also be recovered from benefits that are based on income, such as Income Replacement Benefit and Canadian Forces Income Support. The monthly amount of recovery should not exceed one-half the amount of the monthly benefit to which the recipient is entitled under the Veterans Well-being Act.
  2. The Department will not normally recover or set-off disability benefit overpayments from special compensation packages (e.g. ex-gratia payments) made to Veterans.
  3. Funeral and burial grants awarded under the Veterans Burial Regulations, 2005 are based upon the actual funeral and burial expenses as set forth in the invoices. The award is made to reimburse a third party or is paid directly to the appropriate funeral director. The funds awarded do not form part of the estate of the deceased. Therefore, they cannot be set-off against an overpayment within the meaning of Section 155 of the Financial Administration Act.

Remission

  1. Although recovery is normally the first consideration in the overpayment process, there may be instances where such action is not desirable. If a person, including their estate or succession, has received or obtained an overpayment, all, or a portion of the overpayment may be remitted in the following circumstances:
    1. the overpayment cannot be recovered within the reasonably foreseeable future: applicable in those situations where an overpayment is being recovered, but it has not been completely repaid five years after the date the overpayment recovery action began;
    2. the administrative costs of recovering the overpayment are likely to equal or exceed the amount to be recovered: only applicable in those situations where the amount of the overpayment does not exceed $150;
    3. the repayment of the overpayment would cause undue hardship to the person or a beneficiary: applicable in those situations where the recipient is in receipt of income-tested benefits, (i.e., Guaranteed Income Supplement, Canadian Forces Income Support benefit, etc.), and/or if emotional distress caused by the overpayment appears to pose a threat to the recipient’s state of health;
    4. the overpayment is the result of an administrative error, a delay or an oversight on the part of an officer or employee of the federal public administration: applicable in those situations where the overpayment is the result of:
      1. a payment system error;
      2. a misinterpretation of legislation;
      3. a misunderstanding of a decision;
      4. a mistake concerning an effective date; or
      5. a procedural error.

Factors to be Considered for Remission of an Overpayment

  1. The following factors should be considered for remission of an overpayment:
    1. health of the recipient (recipients who are very ill should be given special consideration);
    2. a financial statement should be completed to ascertain if hardship exists;
    3. other government pensions received, in particular, Guaranteed Income Supplement; and
    4. other facts pertinent to the case.

Delegation of Authority - Remission

  1. There is a graduated scheme for authorizing remission where the level of departmental authority increases with respect to the amount of the debt. These levels are outlined in the Departmental Delegation of Authorities Manual.

Write Off Policy

  1. The authority for debt write-off is found in the Financial Administration Act and the Debt Write-off Regulations, 1994.
  2. An overpayment may only be written-off in accordance with the Debt Write-off Regulations, 1994, which list the criteria under which an overpayment is considered uncollectible.
  3. Collection of the debt, presumably, could resume in future if information is received that would appear to make the prospect of recovery likely.
  4. There is a graduated scheme for authorizing write-off where the level of departmental authority increases with respect to the amount of the debt. These levels are outlined in the departmental Delegation of Authorities Manual.

References

Pension Act, section 83

Veterans Well-being Act, section 88

Financial Administration Act

Debt Write-off Regulations, 1994

Veterans Burial Regulations, 2005

Criminal Code

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Trop-payé – Recouvrement, remise et radiation

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1 avril 2019
Numéro du document : 1600

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique fournit une orientation sur ce qui constitue un trop-payé relativement à une prestation d'invalidité payable en vertu de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans (LBV) ou de la Loi sur les pensions, ainsi qu'une description générale des trois méthodes qui peuvent être utilisées pour corriger un trop-payé : le recouvrement, la remise et la radiation.

Politique

Définitions

  1. Voici la définition de termes applicables à la présente politique :
    1. Dette envers l’État : Une dette envers Sa Majesté.
    2. Indemnisation : Indemnisation désigne un paiement versé en vertu de la Partie 3 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans ou de la Loi sur les pensions.
    3. Préjudice injustifé : On présume qu'il y a préjudice injustifié lorsque le remboursement du trop-payé, en tout ou en partie, entraîne pour le client une souffrance ou une privation du fait de son faible « revenu familial » et de ses faibles actifs. Cela signifie que le client ne peut rembourser aucune partie du trop-payé, si petite soit-elle, sans se trouver privé des nécessités de la vie comme la nourriture, un abri, des soins médicaux, des vêtements et des services publics (eau, électricité, chauffage).
    4. Radiation : La radiation est une mesure comptable qui supprime la dette, en tout ou en partie, du registre des comptes actifs dans les comptes publics. La radiation ne signifie pas que l’on renonce à la dette.
    5. Recouvrement : Le recouvrement, dans ce contexte, est le processus par lequel Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) recouvre les trop-payés par les prestataires, y compris leur succession, à partir de paiements futurs qui auraient été faits.
    6. Remise : La remise désigne la renonciation à une dette autrement exécutoire. Dans ce contexte, il s'agit d'une mesure de clémence du ministre, et non d'un droit. Lorsque la remise est approuvée, le Ministère renonce à son droit de recouvrer le trop-payé à une date ultérieure.
    7. Trop-payé : Toute indemnité, ou une partie de ladite indemnité, payée à une personne, y compris la succession, à laquelle elle n’a aucun droit, ou qui excède le droit, est considérée comme un trop-payé.

Généralités

  1. Aucune partie d’un trop-payé ne doit être remise si la personne ou, dans le cas d'une succession, le liquidateur ou l'exécuteur a été déclaré coupable d'une infraction au Code criminel relativement à la réception ou à l'obtention du trop-payé.
  2. Tous les cas de trop-payé pour lesquels on soupçonne une fraude ou une fausse déclaration intentionnelle doivent être envoyés immédiatement au directeur général, Finances, pour que l'on puisse prendre les mesures appropriées (consulter le Manuel sur les politiques et procédures financières 4-7, pour de plus amples renseignements).
  3. Un trop-payé, quelle qu'en soit la cause, est une dette envers l'État qui peut être réglée par voie de:
    1. Recouvrement;
    2. Remise; ou
    3. Radiation.
  4. Que le trop-payé soit recouvré, remis ou radié, son montant total doit être inscrit, dès que possible après sa découverte, dans le compte du prestataire.
  5. La Division des opérations centralisées a la responsabilité de relever les trop-payés dont le solde est d’au moins 5 000 $ et de les signaler à la Division des finances. Celle-ci est responsable l'administration de toutes les activités subséquentes liées au recouvrement, à la remise ou à la radiation, notamment l'établissement de la date d’entrée en vigueur applicable et, dans le cas d'un recouvrement, le montant qui doit être versé s'il y a lieu. Les trop-payés dont le solde est inférieur à 5 000 $ sont la responsabilité de la Division des opérations centralisées.
  6. Le prestataire doit être avisé par écrit de l'existence du trop-payé, du montant des déductions pour recouvrement et de la date de début proposée pour celles-ci, le cas échéant.

Recouvrement

  1. Les trop-payés de plus de 5 000 $ examinés aux fins de recouvrement doivent être acheminés à la Division des finances, aux fins d’administration.

Décès du prestataire avant le recouvrement du trop-payé

  1. En cas de décès du prestataire, le solde résiduel du trop-payé doit être recouvré de la succession.

Avis aux prestataires

  1. Il convient d’informer tous les prestataires, par écrit, du montant qui sera déduit en vue du recouvrement et de la date de début du processus de recouvrement. Cette date doit être suffisamment éloignée pour permettre au prestataire de réagir s’il estime que le recouvrement du trop-payé peut lui causer des difficultés financières ou s’il désire opter pour d’autres modalités de remboursement.

Processus de recouvrement ou de compensation des trop-payés

  1. Le prestataire doit se voir offrir la possibilité de rembourser le trop-payé sous la forme d’un versement unique.
  2. Si certains versements de prestations d’invalidité n’ont pas encore été effectués, le recouvrement doit se faire sur ces sommes.
  3. Dans le cas où des sommes sont dues au prestataire en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions ou de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans (p.ex. un rajustement rétroactif, une pension mensuelle ou une indemnité pour souffrance et douleur), il convient d’établir une méthode de compensation du trop-payé, avec ou sans le consentement du prestataire.
  4. Si l’on ne dispose pas des fonds disponibles et que le prestataire demande de rembourser le trop-payé au moyen de versements mensuels, ces versements doivent permettre le recouvrement du trop-payé dans un délai d’au plus cinq ans, sans intérêt. Ce délai peut être porté à 10 ans s’il y a des circonstances atténuantes. Le montant mensuel du recouvrement ne doit pas dépasser la moitié du montant de prestation/indemnité/allocation à laquelle le prestataire est admissible en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions et de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans.
  5. Il faudrait tenir compte de facteurs comme l’âge, la situation financière et les circonstances particulières du prestataire (p.ex. la santé mentale) ainsi que du montant du trop-payé.

Compensation par des rajustements de pension ou sommes payables mensuellement en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions ou de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans

  1. Le Ministère prélèvera habituellement la dette à partir des rajustements rétroactifs liés à la pension, payables en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions, en compensation du trop-payé relatif à l’indemnité d’invalidité.
  2. Le Ministère peut également procéder à la compensation en utilisant les versements de la pension d’invalidité, de l’indemnité pour souffrance et douleur, de l’indemnité supplémentaire pour souffrance et douleur et des allocations.

Recouvrement prélevé d'autres prestations

  1. On peut procéder au recouvrement du trop-payé sur les prestations calculées en fonction du revenu, comme la prestation de remplacement du revenu et l’allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes. Le montant mensuel du recouvrement ne doit pas dépasser la moitié du montant de prestation à laquelle le prestataire est admissible en vertu de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans.
  2. En général, le Ministère ne procède pas au recouvrement ou à la compensation du trop-payé relatif à une prestation d’invalidité en prélevant des montants des sommes accordés aux vétérans dans le cadre de programmes d’indemnisation particuliers (p. ex., les paiements à titre gracieux).
  3. L’indemnité de funérailles et d’inhumation versée en vertu du Règlement de 2005 sur les sépultures des anciens combattants est calculée en fonction des coûts réels relatifs aux funérailles et à l’inhumation comme en font foi les factures qui s’y rapportent. L’indemnité sert à rembourser un tiers ou elle est versée directement au directeur funéraire approprié. La somme accordée ne constitue pas une part de la succession de la personne décédée. Par conséquent, on ne peut pas utiliser ce montant pour rembourser un trop-payé, au sens de l’article 155 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Remise

  1. Même si le recouvrement est habituellement la première mesure envisagée dans le processus concernant les trop-payés, il pourrait arriver que cette mesure ne soit pas souhaitable dans certains cas. Si une personne, ou sa succession, a reçu ou a obtenu un trop-payé, la totalité ou une partie du trop-payé peut faire l’objet d’une remise dans les circonstances suivantes :
    1. le trop-payé ne peut être récupéré dans un avenir raisonnablement prévisible : s’applique dans les cas où un trop-payé fait l’objet d’un recouvrement, mais n’a pas été entièrement remboursé cinq ans après la date à laquelle la mesure de recouvrement a été entreprise;
    2. les coûts administratifs du recouvrement du trop-payé seront probablement égaux ou supérieurs au montant à recouvrer : s’applique seulement dans les cas où le montant du trop-payé est inférieur à 150 $;
    3. le remboursement du trop-payé causerait un préjudice injustifié à la personne ou au bénéficiaire : s'applique dans les cas où le prestataire reçoit des prestations en fonction de son revenu (c.-à-d. Supplément de revenu garanti, Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes, etc.), ou si l'état de santé du prestataire semble être menacé par un trouble émotionnel qu'entraîne le trop-payé;
    4. le trop-payé résulte d’une erreur administrative, d’un retard ou de la méprise d’un agent ou d’un employé de l’administration publique fédérale : s’applique dans les cas où le trop-payé résulte :
      1. d’une erreur du système de paiement;
      2. d’une fausse interprétation de la législation;
      3. d’un malentendu concernant une décision;
      4. d'une erreur dans la date d’entrée en vigueur; ou
      5. d'une erreur de procédure.

Facteurs à considérer pour la remise d'un trop-payé

  1. Il faut tenir compte des facteurs suivants pour la remise d’un trop-payé :
    1. la santé du prestataire (les prestataires très malades doivent faire l’objet d’une attention particulière);
    2. la préparation d’un état financier pour déterminer s’il y a préjudice;
    3. la réception d’autres pensions gouvernementales, en particulier le Supplément de revenu garanti; et
    4. d’autres faits pertinents.

Délégation des pouvoirs - Remise

  1. Il existe un mécanisme progressif propre à l’autorisation d’une remise où le niveau d’autorisation ministérielle augmente en fonction du montant de la dette. Les différents niveaux sont précisés dans le Guide de délégation des pouvoirs du Ministère.

Politique sur la radiation

  1. Les dispositions relatives à l’autorisation des radiations se trouvent dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et le Règlement sur la radiation des créances (1994).
  2. Un trop-payé peut seulement être radié conformément au Règlement sur la radiation des créances (1994), qui établit les critères selon lesquels un trop payé est jugé non recouvrable.
  3. Le recouvrement de la dette pourrait probablement reprendre à l’avenir si l’on reçoit des renseignements qui donnent à penser que le recouvrement est possible.
  4. Il y a un mécanisme progressif pour autoriser la remise, selon lequel le niveau d’autorisation ministérielle augmente en fonction du montant de la dette. Les différents niveaux sont précisés dans le Guide de délégation des pouvoirs du Ministère.

Références

Loi sur les pensions, article 83

Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, article 88

Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques

Règlement sur la radiation des créances (1994)

Règlement de 2005 sur les sépultures des anciens combattants 

Code criminel

Règlement sur la radiation des créances (1994)

Date de modification :