Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Eligibility for Health Care Programs - Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Issuing Authority: Senior Director, Program Policy Directorate
Effective Date: July 22, 2020
Document ID: 2056

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides guidance on Veterans Affairs Canada’s (VAC) administration of health care benefits for Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) pensioned discharged regular members, including pensioned discharged special constable members, as well as pensioned serving or pensioned retired civilian members, through VAC-RCMP Memoranda of Understanding.

Policy

Eligible RCMP Personnel

  1. The RCMP has three categories of members covered by this policy:
    1. Pensioned Discharged Regular Members:

      Regular members have peace officer status.

    2. Pensioned Serving or Pensioned Retired Civilian Members:

      Civilian members are not delegated the powers of a peace officer and do not have peace officer status. Civilian members have specialized qualifications or training, primarily in the application of technical, scientific or law-enforcement expertise in direct support of law-enforcement activities and in developing and interpreting law-enforcement policies. They may be accountants, forensic scientists, computer analysts, lab technicians, amongst other specialized positions. Civilian members have regimental numbers commencing with the letter "C" or “B”.

    3. Pensioned Discharged Special Constable Members:

      Special Constable members, designated under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, perform police-like duties and are eligible for a pension (receive same treatment as regular members for the purpose of this policy).

General

  1. The RCMP sets the direction and has the authority over what benefits and services are available to its serving and discharged members under the authority of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Regulations 2014. The RCMP are not included in the Department of Veterans Affairs Act, and therefore do not fall under the mandate of the Minister of Veterans Affairs.
  2. The administration of disability pension-related health care for pensioned serving or retired RCMP civilian members and pensioned discharged RCMP regular members or pensioned discharged special constable members is provided by VAC.
  3. RCMP members receiving a disability pension in accordance with the Pension Act (for more information, see the policy entitled Royal Canadian Mounted Police Disability Pension Claims) may also access treatment benefits (Programs of Choice 1-14) related to their pensioned condition(s)..
  4. The RCMP is responsible for the provision of health care benefits for all serving regular members and special constable members when the need for health care relates to RCMP service.
  5. The RCMP also employs civilians who are members of the Federal Public Service, but they are not covered by this policy.

Health Care Benefits - Pensioned Condition

  1. VAC may cover the cost of health care required in respect of a pensioned condition for eligible RCMP personnel described in paragraph 1 (see the the Treatment for a Disability Benefits Entitled Condition policy for more information).
  2. Health care benefits consist of treatment benefits and supplementary benefits (e.g. Health-related Travel). See the Health-related Travel policy for more information.

Treatment Allowances - Pensioned Condition

  1. Health care benefits also include in-patient treatment allowances for discharged or retired RCMP members. VAC administers treatment allowances for the following groups of RCMP members if they receive in-patient acute hospital care related to their pensioned condition:
    1. pensioned discharged RCMP regular members,
    2. pensioned discharged special constable members, and
    3. pensioned retired civilian members.
  2. Serving RCMP members are not eligible for in-patient treatment allowances; as such, pensioned serving civilian members are excluded from receiving this benefit. RCMP members are not eligible for treatment allowances for any out-patient treatment from VAC (see Treatment Allowances policy).

Excluded Health Benefits

  1. RCMP members (serving or discharged) are not eligible for other VAC programs such as: Veterans Independence Program, including intermediate care; Long Term Care; Veterans Well-being Act services and benefits; and Last Post Fund.

RCMP Members with Canadian Armed Forces Service

  1. RCMP members who also have VAC disability benefits entitlement related to service with Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) can receive from VAC all of the benefits to which they may be entitled as a former member of the CAF, including access to health care for their disability benefits entitled condition related to the CAF.

References

Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation Act

Pension Act

Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act

Department of Veterans Affairs Act

Public Service Superannuation Act

Royal Canadian Mounted Police Disability Pension Claims

Treatment In Respect of a Pensioned or Awarded Condition

Health-related Travel

Treatment Allowances

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Admissibilité aux programmes de soins de santé - Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Autorité compétente : Directeur principe, Direction de politiques sur les programmes
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 22 juillet 2020
Numéro du document : 2056

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objectif

La présente politique a pour but de fournir une orientation sur l'administration des avantages pour soins de santé d'Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) aux membres réguliers libérés pensionnés de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), ce qui comprend les gendarmes spéciaux libérés pensionnés, de même que les membres civils actifs pensionnés et les membres civils retraités pensionnés, dans le cadre du protocole d’entente entre ACC et la GRC.

Politique

Personnel admissible de la GRC

  1. La GRC compte trois catégories de membres qui sont visés par la présente politique :
    1. Membres réguliers libérés pensionnés

      Les membres réguliers ont le statut d’agent de la paix.

    2. Membres civils actifs pensionnés ou membres civils retraités pensionnés

      Les membres civils n’ont pas les mêmes pouvoirs que ceux délégués aux agents de la paix et n’ont pas le statut d'agent de la paix. Les membres civils ont une formation ou des compétences spécialisées, principalement en ce qui a trait à l’expertise sur le plan technique, scientifique et d’application de la loi, en vue d’assurer un soutien direct aux activités d’application de la loi et d’élaborer et d’interpréter les politiques relatives à l’application de la loi, à savoir avocats, comptables, experts judiciaires, informaticiens, etc. Les membres civils ont un numéro matricule, lequel débute par la lettre « C » ou « B ».

    3. Gendarmes spéciaux libérés pensionnés

      Les gendarmes spéciaux désignés en vertu de la Loi sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, exercent des fonctions semblables à celles des agents de police et sont admissibles à une pension. (Ils sont traités comme membres réguliers aux fins de la présente politique.)

Général

  1. C’est la GRC qui établit l’orientation et qui a la compétence relativement aux avantages et aux services qui sont offerts à ses membres actifs et à ses membres libérés en vertu de la Règlement de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (2014). Les GRC n’est pas visée par la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants et, par conséquent, la GRC ne relève pas du mandat du ministre des Anciens Combattants.
  2. Anciens Combattants Canada assure la prestation de avantages pour soins de santé liés à la pension aux pensionnés civils actifs ou retraités de la GRC et aux pensionnés réguliers de la GRC libérés ou aux pensionnés gendarmes spéciaux en raison d’une invalidité.
  3. Les membres de la GRC qui sont bénéficiaires d’une pension d’invalidité en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions (Pour plus d’information, consulter la politique Demandes de pension d’invalidité de la Gendarmerie royale canadienne) peuvent aussi avoir accès aux avantages médicaux (Programmes de choix 1 à 14) pour une affection ou des affections ouvrant droit à pension.
  4. La GRC est responsable de la prestation des avantages pour soins de santé de tous les membres actifs réguliers de la GRC et gendarmes spéciaux lorsque le besoin est lié au service dans la GRC.
  5. La GRC emploie aussi des civils qui sont membres de la fonction publique fédérale, mais ils ne sont pas visés par cette politique.

Avantages pour soins de santé - Affection ouvrant droit à pension

  1. ACC peut assumer les frais liés aux soins de santé requis à l’égard d’une affection ouvrant droit à une pension du personnel de la GRC, tel qu'il est décrit au paragraphe 1 (consulter la politique Traitement à l’égard d’une affection ouvrant droit à des prestations d’invalidité).
  2. Les avantages pour soins de santé comprennent les avantages médicaux et les avantages supplémentaires (p. ex. les déplacements à des fins médicales). Voir la politique Déplacement à des fins médicales pour obtenir plus d'information.

Allocations de traitement - Affection ouvrant droit à pension

  1. Les avantages pour soins de santé incluent aussi les allocations de traitement pour malades hospitalisés pour les membres libérés ou retraités de la GRC. ACC administre les allocations de traitement versées aux groupes suivants de membres de la GRC s'ils reçoivent des soins hospitaliers actifs en établissement pour leur affection ouvrant droit à pension :
    1. membres réguliers libérés pensionnés de la GRC;
    2. gendarmes spéciaux libérés pensionnés; et
    3. membres civils retraités pensionnés.
  2. Les membres actifs de la GRC ne sont pas admissibles aux allocations de traitement pour malades hospitalisés; par conséquent, les membres civils actifs pensionnés ne sont pas admissibles à cet avantage. Les membres de la GRC ne sont pas admissibles à l'allocation de traitement peu importe le traitement en clinique externe d'ACC. (Voir la politique Allocations de traitement.)

Avantages pour soins de santé - Exclusions

  1. Les membres de la GRC (actifs ou libérés) ne sont pas admissibles aux autres programmes d’ACC, notamment le Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants, ce qui comprend les soins intermédiaires; les Soins de longue durée; les services et avantages de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans et le Fonds du Souvenir.

Membres de la GRC ayant servi dans les Forces armées canadiennes

  1. Les membres de la GRC qui ont également droit à des prestations d'invalidité d'ACC en lien avec le service dans les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) peuvent recevoir d'ACC tous les avantages auxquels ils seraient admissibles à titre d'ancien membre des FAC, y compris l'accès à des soins de santé pour leur affection ouvrant droit à des prestations d’invalidité liée aux FAC.

Références

Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Loi sur les pensions

Loi sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants

Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique

Demandes de pension d’invalidité de la Gendarmerie royale canadienne

Traitement à l’égard d’une affection ouvrant droit à une pension ou à indemnité

Déplacement à des fins médicales

Allocations de traitement

Date de modification :