Education and Training Benefit – Overpayments: Recovery, Remission and Write Off

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research Division
Effective Date: April 1, 2018
Document ID: 2689

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides direction to be followed when there is an overpayment to a person with respect to the Education and Training Benefit under the Veterans Well-being Act.

Background

For the purposes of the Education and Training Benefit, the provision of funding is with the agreement that the funding is provided to support the pursuit of post-secondary education. Continued enrollment in the education program is required for the period of study that a payment was made as per the Terms and Conditions for the Education and Training Benefit.

Policy

General

  1. Any compensation amount, or part of it that is paid to a person, including their estate or succession, to which there is no entitlement, or which exceeds entitlement, is considered an overpayment under section 88 of the Veterans Well-being Act
  2. All overpayment cases which involve suspected fraud or willful misrepresentation should immediately be referred to Veterans Affairs Canada’s (VAC’s) Director General, Finance, for appropriate action.
  3. Any overpayment, regardless of the cause, is a Crown debt and must be addressed by:
    1. Recovery;
    2. Remission; or
    3. Write-off.
  4. Regardless of whether the overpayment will be recovered, remitted or written-off, the total amount of the overpayment must be recorded on the person’s account as soon after discovery as possible.
  5. An overpayment and the decisions relating to recovery, remission and write off are recorded in the system of record for the individual.
  6. The person must be advised, in writing, of the existence of the overpayment and associated redress rights, if applicable.

Recovery

  1. Recovery is normally the first course of action in the overpayment process. Every effort must be made to recover the overpayment debt from the recipient. 
  2. An overpayment may be recovered by way of: payment-in-full by accepting a payment or payments representing the present value of the overpayment, by deduction from any future payments made under the Veterans Well-being Act, or by set-off from any payment due to the recipient from the Crown, in accordance with Section 155 of the Financial Administration Act.
  3. Exceptions for Recovery and Set-off:
    1. The Department will not recover or set-off Education and Training Benefit overpayments from any ex-gratia payments made to Veterans.
    2. Funeral and burial grants awarded under the Veterans Burial Regulations 2005 do not form part of the estate of the deceased. Therefore, they cannot be set-off against an overpayment within the meaning of Section 155 of the Financial Administration Act.
  4. In the event of the person’s death, the remaining balance of the overpayment becomes recoverable from his/her estate or succession.

Remission

  1. Remission means to forgive an otherwise legally enforceable debt. In this context, it is an act of clemency on the part of the Minister and not a right. Once remission has been approved, the Department gives up its right to recover the overpayment at a later date.
  2. Although recovery is normally the first consideration in the overpayment process, there may be instances where such action is not desirable. According to section 88 of the Veterans Well-being Act, if a person, including their estate or succession, has received or obtained an overpayment, all, or a portion of the overpayment may be remitted in the following circumstances:
    1. the overpayment cannot be recovered within the reasonably foreseeable future;
    2. the administrative costs of recovering the overpayment are likely to equal or exceed the amount to be recovered - only applicable in those situations where the amount of the overpayment does not exceed $150;
    3. the repayment of the overpayment would cause undue hardship to the person - applicable in those situations where the person does not have financial capacity to repay and/or if emotional distress caused by the overpayment appears to pose a threat to the person’s state of health;
    4. the overpayment is the result of an administrative error, a delay or an oversight on the part of an officer or employee of the federal public administration -applicable in those situations where the overpayment is the result of:
      1. a payment system error;
      2. a misinterpretation of legislation;
      3. a misunderstanding of a decision;
      4. a mistake concerning an effective date; or
      5. a procedural error.
  3. No part of an overpayment may be remitted if the person, or the executor of the estate, or the liquidator of the succession, has been convicted of an offence under the Criminal Code in connection with receiving or obtaining the overpayment.
  4. There is a graduated scheme for authorizing remission where the level of departmental authority increases with respect to the amount of the debt. These levels are outlined in the Delegated Authorities Manual.

Write Off

  1. There are no debt write off provisions in the Veterans’ Well-being Act. The authority for debt write-off is found in the Financial Administration Act and the Debt Write-off Regulations, 1994.
  2. An overpayment may only be written-off in accordance with the Debt Write-off Regulations, 1994, which list the criteria under which an overpayment is considered uncollectible. Write-off is an accounting action which removes the debt, in whole or in part, from the active accounts receivable records in the Public Accounts. Write-off does not mean that the debt is forgiven. Collection of the debt, presumably, could resume in future if information is received that would appear to make the prospect of recovery likely. Authority for write-off is contained under section 25 of the Financial Administration Act. There is a graduated scheme for authorizing write-off where the level of departmental authority increases with respect to the amount of the debt. These levels are outlined in the Delegated Authorities Manual.

Erroneous Award

  1. The Minister may continue the payment of an Education and Training benefit, in whole or in part, to a person who is not entitled to it, or not entitled to a portion of it, if:
    1. the amount paid to the person to which the person was not entitled is the result of an administrative error, or a delay or an oversight on the part of an officer or employee of the federal public administration and has been remitted under the Veterans Well-being Act;
    2. no part of the amount paid to the person to which the person was not entitled was the result of a misrepresentation or of concealment of a material fact on the part of the person;
    3. the cancellation or reduction of the benefit or allowance would cause undue hardship to the person; and
    4. the benefit had been paid to the person for three years or more.

References

Veterans Well-being Act

Financial Administration Act

Criminal Code

Veterans' Well-being Regulations

Veterans Burial Regulations, 2005 

Debt Write-off Regulations, 1994

Date modified:

Allocation pour études et formation – Trop-perçus : recouvrement, remise et radiation

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques et Recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1 avril 2018
Numéro du document : 2689

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Objet

La présente politique fournit les directives à suivre lorsqu’un paiement est versé en trop à une personne relativement à l’allocation pour études et formation accordée en vertu de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans.

Contexte

L’allocation pour études et formation est versée à condition que les fonds soient utilisés pour poursuivre des études de niveau postsecondaire. Le bénéficiaire doit maintenir son inscription à un programme d’études pour la période visée par le paiement conformément aux exigences qui s’appliquent à l’allocation pour études et formation.

Politique

Généralités

  1. Toute indemnité, ou portion de ladite indemnité, payée à une personne, y compris la succession, pour laquelle elle n’a aucun droit, ou qui excède le droit, est considérée comme un trop-perçu en vertu de l'article 88 de la Loi sur le bien-être des veterans
  2. Tous les cas de trop-perçu pour lesquels on soupçonne une fraude ou une fausse déclaration intentionnelle doivent être envoyés immédiatement au directeur général, Finances, d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), pour que l'on puisse prendre les mesures appropriées.
  3. Un trop-perçu, quelle qu'en soit la cause, est une dette envers l'État qui doit être réglée par une des voies suivantes :
    1. Recouvrement;
    2. Remise;
    3. Radiation.
  4. Que le trop-perçu soit recouvré, remis ou radié, son montant total doit être inscrit, dès que possible après sa découverte, dans le compte de la personne.
  5. Un trop-perçu et les décisions relatives au recouvrement, à la remise ou à la radiation sont inscrits dans le système au dossier de la personne.
  6. La personne doit être informée, par écrit, de l’existence du trop-perçu et des droits de recours qui existent, s’il y a lieu.

    Recouvrement

    1. Le recouvrement est habituellement la première mesure dans le processus lié à un trop-perçu. Tout doit être mis en œuvre pour recouvrer le trop-perçu exigible du bénéficiaire. 
    2. Un trop-perçu peut être recouvré selon les méthodes suivantes : un paiement complet fait en acceptant un ou des paiements représentant la valeur actualisée du trop-perçu, la réduction de tout paiement futur versé en vertu de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, ou la compensation de toute somme due au bénéficiaire de la part de la Couronne, au sens de l’article 155 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.
    3. Autres exceptions relatives au recouvrement et à la compensation :
      1. Le Ministère ne procédera pas au recouvrement ou à la compensation du trop-perçu relatif à l'allocation pour études et formation en prélevant des montants des sommes accordés aux vétérans dans le cadre de paiements à titre gracieux.
      2. Les subventions de funérailles et d’inhumation accordées en vertu du Règlement sur l’inhumation des anciens combattants 2005 ne font pas partie de la succession du défunt. Par conséquent, on ne peut pas utiliser ce montant pour compenser un trop-perçu, au sens de l’article 155 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.
    4. En cas de décès du client, le solde résiduel du trop-perçu doit être recouvré de la succession.

    Remise

    1. La remise consiste à faire grâce d’une dette qui, sinon, serait légalement exigible. Dans ce contexte, il s’agit d’une mesure de clémence du ministre, et non d’un droit. Lorsque la remise est approuvée, le Ministère renonce à son droit de recouvrer le trop-perçu à une date ultérieure.
    2. Même si le recouvrement est habituellement la première mesure envisagée dans le processus concernant les trop-perçus, il pourrait arriver que cette mesure ne soit pas souhaitable dans certains cas. Conformément à l’article 88 de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans, si une personne ou sa succession a reçu ou obtenu un trop-perçu, une partie ou la totalité de ce trop-perçu peut lui être remise dans les circonstances suivantes :
      1. le trop-perçu ne pourra être recouvré dans un avenir suffisamment rapproché.
      2. les coûts administratifs du recouvrement du trop-perçu seront probablement égaux ou supérieurs au montant à recouvrer : s’applique seulement dans les cas où le montant du trop-perçu est inférieur à 150 $;
      3. le remboursement du trop-perçu causerait un préjudice injustifié à la personne ou au bénéficiaire – s’applique dans les cas où la personne n'a pas la capacité financière de remboursement ou si l’état de santé de la personne semble être menacé par un trouble émotionnel qu’entraîne le trop-perçu;
      4. le trop-perçu résulte d’une erreur administrative, d’un retard ou de la méprise d’un agent ou d’un employé de l’administration publique fédérale : s’applique dans les cas où le trop-perçu résulte :
        1. d’une erreur du système de paiement;
        2. d’une fausse interprétation de la législation;
        3. d’un malentendu concernant une décision;
        4. d'une erreur dans la date de prise d'effet;
        5. d’une erreur de procédure.
    3. Aucune portion d’un trop-perçu ne doit être versée si la personne ou, dans le cas d'une succession, le liquidateur ou l'exécuteur a été déclaré coupable d'une infraction au Code criminel relativement à la réception ou à l'obtention du trop-perçu.
    4. Il existe un mécanisme progressif propre à l’autorisation d’une remise où le niveau d’autorisation ministérielle augmente selon le montant de la dette. Les différents niveaux sont précisés dans le Manuel de la délégation des pouvoirs.

    Radiation

    1. Il n’existe aucune disposition de radiation dans la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans. Les dispositions relatives à l’autorisation des radiations se trouvent dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et le Règlement sur la radiation des créances (1994).
    2. Un trop-perçu peut seulement être soumis à une radiation conformément au Règlement sur la radiation des créances (1994), qui établit les critères en vertu desquels un trop-perçu est jugé non recouvrable. La radiation est une mesure comptable qui supprime la totalité ou une partie de la dette des comptes débiteurs associés aux comptes actifs dans les Comptes publics. La radiation ne signifie pas qu’on a fait grâce de la dette. Le recouvrement de la dette pourrait probablement reprendre à l’avenir si l’on reçoit des renseignements qui donnent à penser que le recouvrement est possible. L’autorisation à l’égard de la radiation est prévue par l’article 25 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Il existe un mécanisme progressif d’autorisation de la radiation où le niveau d’autorisation ministérielle augmente selon le montant de la dette. Les différents niveaux sont précisés dans le Manuel de la délégation des pouvoirs.

    Versement par erreur

    1. Le ministre peut continuer à verser une allocation pour études et formation, en partie ou en totalité, à une personne qui n’y est pas admissible ou qui n'est pas admissible à une portion de l'allocation si :
      1. le montant versé à cette personne est dû à une erreur administrative, à un retard ou à la méprise d’un agent ou d’un employé de l’administration publique fédérale et a été remis en vertu de la Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans;
      2. aucune partie de la somme versée à cette personne ne résultait d’une fausse déclaration ou de la dissimulation d’un fait important par la personne concernée;
      3. l’annulation ou la réduction de la prestation ou de l’allocation risque de causer un préjudice injustifié à la personne concernée;
      4. l’allocation était versée à la personne depuis trois ans ou plus.

    Références

    Loi sur le bien-être des vétérans

    Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques

    Code criminel 

    Règlement sur le bien-être des vétérans

    Règlement sur les sépultures des anciens combattants (2005)

    Règlement sur la radiation des créances (1994)

    Date de modification :