Veterans Emergency Fund

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy and Research Division
Effective Date: April 1, 2018
Document ID: 2690

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Purpose

This policy provides a general description of the Veterans Emergency Fund (VEF) and the provision of funding under the VEF benefit.

Authority

The Order-in-Council #2017-1696 and the VEF Terms and Conditions set out the authority, eligibility and other requirements for the VEF.

General

  1. The objective of the VEF program is to provide prompt monetary assistance to eligible Veterans and their family members, who are facing a financial crisis/emergency, with the intent of resolving the immediate need. Where appropriate, applicants will also be referred to any alternate and/or additional resources for longer-term support. 
  2. The VEF will allow VAC to meet its mandated commitments of assisting Veterans with their care, treatment and re-establishment in civilian life, as well as repaying the nation's debt of gratitude toward those who have sacrificed for our country. 
  3. VEF funds are considered social assistance payments under section 56(1)(u) of the Income Tax Act. Pursuant to section 233(2) of the Income Tax Regulations the recipient is not required to report the funds on their income tax returns as the VEF is not designed to provide funds in the form of a series of payments.

Policy

  1. Applicants are required to fill out the VEF application form. However, the VAC staff member making the VEF decision has the discretion to determine what additional documentation they may need to make the decision. While it is not required, and taking into account the totality of the situation the applicant has presented with, a decision maker has the right to request confirmation which will allow them to validate the attestations made in the application. This could include outstanding bills, quotes, invoices, or bank records to verify financial resources, or documentation to confirm identity or relationship status to a Veteran.
    1. Where it is possible and appropriate to do so, payments are to be made directly to 3rd parties on behalf of applicants.
    2. The costs will be shared with the recipient and/or with other government programs and/or the private sector and/or non-profits in the community, where possible and appropriate.
    3. An applicant will be expected to use the liquid assets at their disposal, in conjunction with funds from the VEF, towards addressing the emergency. There is no standard means test other than an attestation on the application that they do not have access to liquid assets to meet the emergency. 
    4. The maximum amount payable per Veteran per household per fiscal year (April 1 – March 31) will be $2,500. In cases where both spouses are Veterans or where Veterans are otherwise sharing accommodations, each shall be eligible in their own right up to the maximum amount payable per fiscal year. 
    5. Eligible recipients may make application to the VEF more than once a year, but the total annual amount will not exceed the maximum of $2,500. Exceptions[1] may be considered on a case by case basis. 
    6. In order to receive funds under the VEF the applicant must reside in Canada, which means they are absent from Canada for no more than 183 total days between April 1 and March 31 of a given year.
    7. Any issues that arise related to VEF decisions, such as re-considerations, will be dealt with informally and expeditiously at VAC Head Office by a Benefits Program Officer in the Benefits Adjudicating and Processing unit who was not involved in the original decision.
    8. Staff administering the program should discuss with the applicant any other VAC programs for which they may be eligible.
    9. Overpayments[2] will be addressed using VAC’s existing policies and procedures on overpayments.

    Eligibility

    1. Eligibility for this fund is intentionally broad to enable access for those who require immediate financial help and to assist as many people as possible. A Veteran or other applicant does not need to be in receipt of any other benefits from VAC in order to be eligible for the VEF. Eligible recipients for funding include:
      • Veterans
      • Current Spouses/Common-law partners of Veterans
      • Survivors of Veterans or of deceased Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members
      • Orphans of Veterans or CAF members (or the legal guardian if the orphan is under the age of 18 years)

      NOTE: A Dependent of a Veteran or a Dependent of a Current Spouse or Common-law partner of a Veteran is not eligible to apply in their own right to the VEF. However, the Veteran, Current Spouse or Common-law partner may apply for funding to assist with an emergency that is affecting a Dependent.

    Eligible Expenses

    1. The categories listed below describe the types of financial emergencies that are eligible to be funded through the VEF to eligible recipients (or to eligible recipients on behalf of their dependents). The list is not exhaustive and each application should be considered on the merits of the individual’s circumstances and demonstrated need:
      • Food
      • Clothing
      • Shelter
      • Medical care/expenses (not otherwise covered by other programs or insurance)
      • Expenses required to maintain safety and shelter 
    2. Funding through the VEF will not be provided on the basis of the following categories:
      • Funding requests of an ongoing nature (e.g. a series of payments such as rent, mortgage, vehicle payments, etc.)
      • Funding requests of a commercial nature
      • Funding requests to purchase non-essential goods, services or travel
      • Any other expense that is otherwise covered by a Provincial, Federal or an eligible insurance program or benefit.

    Definitions

    For the purpose of administering this policy the following definitions apply.

    1. Veteran: A Veteran is a person with Regular or Reserve Force service (regardless of the amount of time served) in the Canadian Armed Forces or merchant navy, or in the navy, army, air forces or merchant navies of Her Majesty’s allied forces.

      NOTE: A CAF member who has left service and become a Veteran but who then subsequently rejoined the CAF, and is therefore a serving member at the time of application, shall remain eligible for funding under the VEF.

    2. Spouse: A spouse refers to a person who is married to and residing with a Veteran. A spouse and Veteran who are involuntarily or temporarily separated will still be considered spouses for the purposes of the VEF.
    3. Common Law Partner: For the purposes of the VEF, a common-law partner is someone who, at the time of application, is cohabitating with the Veteran in a conjugal relationship and has been doing so for at least the preceding twelve months. In the case of an involuntary or temporary separation at the time of application, they will still be considered a common law partner for the purposes of the VEF.
    4. Involuntary or Temporary Separation: An involuntary or temporary separation includes, but is not limited to, situations such as when one spouse or common-law partner is away for work, school, or health reasons. Cases of temporary separation of Veterans and their common-law partners will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.
    5. Survivor: A survivor, in relation to a deceased Veteran or CAF member, means the spouse or common-law partner who was, at the time of the Veteran’s or CAF member’s death, normally residing with the Veteran. A survivor who was involuntarily or temporarily separated from the Veteran or CAF member at the time of death will be considered to be normally residing with them for the purposes of the VEF.
    6. Orphan: An orphan, in relation to a deceased member or a deceased Veteran, means their child, or a child of their survivor or a child of a former spouse/former common-law partner who was, at the time of the member’s or Veteran’s death, receiving financial support from the Veteran, and who is, at the time of application:
      • under the age of 18 years;
      • under the age of 25 years and following a course of instruction[3]; or
      • over the age of 18 years and prevented by physical or mental incapacity from earning a livelihood, if the incapacity occurred 
        • before the child attained the age of 18 years, or
        • after the age of 18 years and before the age of 25 years while the child was following a course of instruction[3].
    7. Dependent: A dependent is the Veteran’s natural or adopted child or a child of his/her spouse or common-law partner, or a child of the former spouse/former common-law partner to whom the Veteran provides financial support. This includes a child who is:
      • under the age of 18 years;
      • under the age of 25 years and following a course of instruction[3]; or
      • over the age of 18 years and prevented by physical or mental incapacity from earning a livelihood, if the incapacity occurred 
        • before the child attained the age of 18 years, or
        • after the age of 18 years and before the age of 25 years while the child was following a course of instruction[3].
    8. Household: Refers to a person or a group of persons who occupy a collective dwelling and do not have a usual place of residence elsewhere in Canada, and for the purposes of this section includes an Orphan or Dependent, regardless of whether they physically reside with the Veteran.
    9. Financial Support: Refers to money provided to assist and support a child or dependent with the necessities of life, which includes but is not limited to food, shelter, clothing, education, child-care expense or other expenses which are necessary because they are in the best interests of the child.
    10. Liquid Assets: Are assets in the form of cash or easily convertible into cash (e.g. savings or chequing account). A credit card or line of credit is not considered a liquid asset.

    Footnotes

    [1] An example of circumstances where the amount exceeds $2,500 may be the unexpected costs associated with crucial inter-provincial travel to a children’s hospital.

    [2] Overpayments as outlined in the Overpayments – Recovery, Remission and Write Off Policy

    [3] Course of Instruction as outlined in the Children Following a Course of Instruction Policy.

    References

    Children Following a Course of Instruction - Policy

    Order-in-Council #2017-1696

    Overpayments – Recovery, Remission and Write Off - Policy

    Veterans Emergency Fund Terms and Conditions

    Date modified:

Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans

Autorité compétente : Directrice générale, Politique et recherche
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 1 avril 2018
Numéro du document : 2690

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

But

La présente politique fournit une description générale du Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans (FUV) et du versement des fonds dans le cadre du FUV.

Autorisation

Le décret en conseil no 2017-1696 et les modalités du Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans établissent l’autorité, l’admissibilité et les autres exigences pour le FUV.

Généralités

  1. L’objectif du FUV consiste à fournir rapidement une aide financière aux vétérans admissibles et aux membres de leur famille, lorsqu’ils éprouvent des difficultés financières ou se trouvent dans une situation d’urgence, afin de répondre à leurs besoins immédiats. S’il y a lieu, les demandeurs seront aiguillés vers des ressources de rechange et/ou des ressources supplémentaires pour obtenir une aide à plus long terme. 
  2. Le FUV permettra à Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) de respecter les engagements prévus dans son mandat, notamment d’offrir aux vétérans des soins, des traitements et un soutien à leur réinsertion dans la vie civile et de rembourser la dette nationale de gratitude aux hommes et aux femmes qui se sont sacrifiés pour notre pays.
  3. Conformément à l’alinéa 56(1)u) de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, le FUV est considéré comme une prestation d’assistance sociale. En vertu du paragraphe 233(2) du Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu, le bénéficiaire n’a pas à faire état des fonds reçus dans sa déclaration de revenus, étant donné que le FUV ne vise pas à fournir un financement sous la forme d’une série de versements.

Politique

  1. Les demandeurs sont tenus de remplir le formulaire de demande pour le FUV, mais les employés d’ACC chargés de rendre la décision relative à leur demande ont le pouvoir discrétionnaire de déterminer les documents additionnels qui pourraient devoir leur être fournis pour rendre leur décision. Bien que ce ne soit pas nécessaire, un décideur peut, après avoir tenu compte de l’ensemble de la situation présenté par un demandeur, exiger une confirmation lui permettant de valider les déclarations figurant dans la demande. Il peut notamment exiger que le demandeur lui fournisse des factures impayées, des estimations de coût, des reçus ou des relevés bancaires pour vérifier les ressources financières, ou des documents pour confirmer l’identité du vétéran ou le lien avec ce dernier.
  2. Chaque fois que cela est possible et approprié, les paiements doivent être versés directement à la tierce partie au nom du demandeur. 
  3. Chaque fois que cela est possible et approprié, les coûts doivent être partagés entre le bénéficiaire, les autres programmes gouvernementaux, le secteur privé et/ou d’autres organismes sans but lucratif dans la communauté.
  4. Le demandeur doit utiliser les liquidités qui sont à sa disposition conjointement avec le FUV pour répondre à ses besoins urgents. L’évaluation des ressources n’est fondée que sur l’attestation figurant dans la demande et confirmant que le demandeur ne dispose pas des liquidités nécessaires pour répondre à ses besoins urgents. 
  5. Le montant maximal annuel (du 1er avril au 31 mars) pouvant être versé à un vétéran (par ménage) est de 2 500 $. Si les deux conjoints sont des vétérans ou que les vétérans sont des colocataires, chacun est admissible de plein droit au montant maximal annuel établi. 
  6. Les bénéficiaires admissibles peuvent présenter une demande dans le cadre du FUV plus d’une fois au cours d’un exercice financier, mais le montant annuel total ne doit pas dépasser le montant maximal de 2 500 $. Des exceptions[1] peuvent être envisagées au cas par cas. 
  7. Pour recevoir des fonds dans le cadre du FUV, le demandeur doit résider au Canada, ce qui signifie qu’il ne peut s’absenter du Canada pendant plus de 183 jours au total entre le 1er avril et le 31 mars d’un exercice donné.
  8. Toute question soulevée en ce qui concerne les décisions relatives au FUV, comme le réexamen d’une décision, sera traitée de façon non officielle et dans les meilleurs délais à l’Administration centrale d’ACC par un agent de programme de l’unité chargée du règlement et du traitement des demandes de prestations qui n’a pas pris part à la décision initiale.
  9. Le personnel qui administre le programme doit discuter avec les demandeurs des autres programmes d’ACC auxquels ils pourraient être admissibles.
  10. Les trop-payé[2] seront traités conformément aux politiques et procédures existantes d’ACC en matière de trop-perçus.

Admissibilité

  1. L’admissibilité au FUV se veut générale pour favoriser l’accès des personnes qui ont besoin d’une aide financière immédiate et aider le plus de gens possible. Un vétéran ou un autre demandeur n’a pas besoin de recevoir d’autres avantages d’ACC pour être admissible au FUV. Les bénéficiaires admissibles au financement comprennent:
    • les veterans;
    • les conjoints/conjoints de fait actuels des veterans
    • les survivants de veterans ou de membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) décédés;
    • les orphelins de veterans ou fe membres des FAC (ou le tuteur legal si l'orphelin a moins de 18 ans).

    REMARQUE: La personne à charge du vétéran ou du conjoint/conjoint de fait actuel du vétéran ne peut présenter elle-même une demande dans le cadre du FUV. Toutefois, le vétéran ou le conjoint/conjoint de fait actuel du vétéran peut présenter une demande afin d’obtenir une aide pour une situation d’urgence qui affecte la personne à charge.

Dépenses admissibles

  1. Les catégories énumérées ci-dessous décrivent les types d’urgences financières pour lesquelles les bénéficiaires admissibles (ou les bénéficiaires admissibles au nom d’une personne à charge) peuvent obtenir un soutien financier dans le cadre du FUV. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive et chaque demande doit être évaluée en fonction des circonstances particulières et de la démonstration des besoins du demandeur: 
    • Nourriture;
    • Vêtements;
    • Logement;
    • Soins/frais médicaux (qui ne peuvent être couverts par un autre programme ou régime d’assurance);
    • Dépenses requises pour assurer un toit et la sécurité.
  2. Le financement offert dans le cadre du FUV ne peut être fourni en fonction des catégories suivantes: 
    • Demandes de financement à caractère permanent (p. ex. une série de paiements, comme le paiement du loyer, de l’hypothèque, du véhicule, etc.)
    • Demandes de financement de nature commerciale;
    • Demandes de financement pour des biens des services ou des déplacements non essentiels;
    • Toute autre dépense pouvant être couverte par un autre programme ou régime d’assurance provincial ou federal.

Définitions

Les définitions suivantes s'appliquent pour les besions de la présente politique:

  1. Vétéran : Un vétéran est une personne qui a servi dans la Force régulière ou la Force de reserve (peu importe le nombre d’années de service) des Forces armées canadiennes ou de la marine marchande du Canada, ou encore dans la marine, des forces de l'armée, des forces aériennes ou de la marine marchande d'une force allliée de Sa Majesté.

    REMARQUE : Un membre des FAC qui a quitté le service, qui est devenu un vétéran et qui est par la suite retourné dans les FAC, de sorte qu’il est un membre actif au moment de présenter sa demande, demeure admissible au financement offert dans le cadre du FUV.

  2. Conjoint : Le terme « conjoint » désigne la personne qui est mariée et qui réside avec le vétéran ou le membre des FAC. Un conjoint et un vétéran qui sont séparés involontairement ou temporairement au moment de la demande seront considérés comme étant toujours des conjoints pour les fins du FUV.
  3. Conjoint de fait : Le terme « conjoint de fait » désigne la personne qui, au moment de la demande, vit avec le vétéran dans une relation conjugale depuis au moins douze mois. Un conjoint de fait et un vétéran qui sont séparés involontairement ou temporairement au moment de la demande seront considérés comme étant toujours des conjoints de fait pour les fins du FUV.
  4. Séparation involontaire ou temporaire : Une séparation involontaire ou temporaire  comprend, entre autres, les situations où le conjoint ou conjoint de fait est absent pour son travail, ses études ou des raisons de santé. Les cas de séparation temporaire d’un vétéran et de son conjoint de fait seront évalués au cas par cas.
  5. Survivant : Un survivant est le conjoint ou le conjoint de fait qui vivait normalement avec le vétéran ou le membre des FAC au moment du décès de ce dernier. Un survivant qui était séparé involontairement ou temporairement du vétéran ou du membre des FAC au moment du décès sera considéré comme vivant normalement avec lui pour les fins du FUV.
  6. Orphelin : Un orphelin est l’enfant d’un vétéran ou d’un membre des FAC décédé, l’enfant de son survivant, ou encore l’enfant d’un ancien conjoint/conjoint de fait qui, au moment du décès du vétéran ou du membre, recevait un soutien financier de la part de ce dernier et qui, au moment de la demande, répondait à l’un des critères suivants:
    • est age de moins de 18 ans;
    • est age de moins de 25 ans et suit un cours de formation[3];
    • est âgé de plus de 18 ans et ne peut gagner sa vie par suite d’une incapacité physique ou mentale survenue soit:
      • avant l’âge de 18 ans;
      • après l’âge de 18 ans et avant l’âge de 25 ans s'il suivait alors une formation[3].
  7. Personne à charge : Une personne à charge est l’enfant naturel ou adopté d’un vétéran, l’enfant de son conjoint/conjoint de fait ou encore l’enfant d’un ancien conjoint/conjoint de fait, qui reçoit un soutien financier de la part du vétéran et qui répond à l’un des critères suivants:
    • est age de moins de 18 ans;
    • est age de moins de 25 ans et suit un cours de formation[3];
    • est âgé de plus de 18 ans et ne peut gagner sa vie par suite d’une incapacité physique ou mentale survenue soit:
      • avant l'âge de 18 ans;
      • après l'âge de 18 ans et avant l'âge de 25 ans s'il suivait alors une formation[3].
  8. Ménage : Personne ou groupe de personnes qui occupent un même logement et n’ont pas de lieu de résidence habituelle ailleurs au Canada. Aux fins d’application de cette section, cela inclut les orphelins ou les personnes à charge, qu’ils résident physiquement ou non avec le veteran.
  9. Soutien financier : Montant d’argent offert à un enfant ou à une personne à charge à titre d’aide et de soutien pour les biens de première nécessité dont il ou elle a besoin, comme de la nourriture, un toit, des vêtements, des études, des frais de garde d’enfants ou d’autres dépenses nécessaires pour servir au mieux les intérêts de L'Enfant.
  10. Liquidités : Biens en espèces ou pouvant être facilement convertis en espèces (p. ex. (compte d’épargne ou compte chèques). Les cartes de crédit ou les marges de crédit ne sont pas considérées comme des liquidités. 

Notes de bas de pages

[1] Des coûts imprévus liés à un déplacement essentiel dans une autre province pour se rendre à un hôpital pour enfants sont un exemple de situation où le montant peut dépasser 2 500 $.

[2] Politique « Trop-payé : Recouvrement, remise et radiation ». 

[3] Cours de formation tel que décrit dans la politique « Enfants aux études ».

Références

Décret en conseil no 2017-1696

Enfants aux études - Politique

Modalités du Fonds d’urgence pour les veterans

Trop-perçus : Recouvrement, remise et radiation - Politique

Date de modification :