Language selection

6.0 Program Overview

Health related travel is a supplementary benefit authorized pursuant to the Veterans Health Care Regulations (VHCR). Only clients who receive treatment benefits referred to in paragraphs 4(a) or (b) of the Regulation are eligible for the supplementary benefits related thereto. The applicable treatment benefits consist of the following:

  1. any medical, surgical, or dental examination or treatment provided by a health professional;
  2. the provision of any surgical or prosthetic device or any aid approved by the Minister, the maintenance of the device or aid and any home adaptation that are necessary to accommodate or facilitate its use;

As stated in Section 6 of the VHCR, the supplementary benefits are comprised of the following:

  • the costs of travel incurred by the client who travels to receive those treatment benefits listed in bullets 1 or 2 above;
  • the costs of travel incurred by an escort, where the client's health needs are such that the client needs to be accompanied by an escort and;
  • the remuneration of this escort if this person is not the spouse or common-law partner or a dependant of the client or any other member of the client's household.

Travel costs for which the client or escort may be reimbursed include the following:

  • transportation by the most convenient and economical means of transportation appropriate to the condition of the client

    • where the client is a resident in Canada, between the client's residence and the appropriate treatment centre nearest to that residence; and
    • where the client is a resident in a country other than Canada, between the client's point of entry into Canada and the appropriate treatment centre nearest to that point;
  • transportation between the treatment centre and the accommodations mentioned below;
  • meals; and
  • standard commercial sleeping accommodations that are conveniently located in respect of the treatment centre, or private accommodations.

Where transportation is a private automobile (other than a taxi), whether belonging to the client or otherwise, the costs of travel are payable at the rate applicable to federal public servants who have requested to use their own cars, plus two cents per kilometer; and include the cost of parking while the client is at the treatment centre. Where transportation is a taxi, $5 will be deducted from the costs of travel for each trip (Pursuant to subsection 34(2) of the VHCR).

These supplementary benefits are provided to clients who have "A" coverage or "B" coverage, defined as follows:

  • "A" Coverage - VAC is the first payer for benefits and services for a client's pensioned condition or disability award with the exception of serving members of the Canadian Forces where treatment benefits for a pensioned condition are available to the extent they are not available to them as members or former members of the Canadian Forces.
  • "B" Coverage - for benefits and services not related to a pension condition, the client is required to access benefits and services from their province of residence or private insurance before accessing benefits and services from VAC.

Program Delivery:

Clients complete a claim for reimbursement of their health related travel costs. This claim is reviewed and approved and submitted for payment (processed) by designated VAC staff in the district and regional offices. Once a claim has been completed and prepared for data entry, the claim is forwarded to a third party contractor, where it is entered into FHCPS and a cheque is issued to the client.

Travel expenses are reimbursed if the travel was necessary for the client to obtain a service provided by a health professional. For the time period of travel, correct frequencies and rates must be entered for kilometers, meal allowances, escort fees. All claimed amounts must be supported by appropriate documentation and receipts, and the health related expense travel claim must be entered in the Client Service Delivery Network (CSDN).

Clients must provide proof of attendance at a medical appointment. If no confirmation of appointment is provided, the claim must be returned to the client with a letter requesting the necessary information. Travel time to and from appointments must be noted to determine entitlement to reimbursement for meal costs.

Travel expenses (supported by receipts where necessary) are paid when transportation is in a mode appropriate to the client's health condition and by the most convenient and economical means and travel is to the nearest appropriate treatment centre in the service area closest to the client. Clients are free to use any health professional they choose, however, their travel expenses will be reimbursed for travel to the nearest appropriate treatment centre. The district office (DO) may be consulted in exceptional circumstances and their decision and rationale must be noted in CSDN Client Notes.

Table 2 : health related travel Summary Totals - FHCPS health related travel Transactions
Trans = Transactions, Exp = Expenditures
Fiscal
Year
Number of
health related travel
Trans
health related travel Exp Average Exp
per Client
Number of Trans
for "A" Clients
Exp
for "A" Clients
Number of Trans
for "B" Clients
Exp
for "B" Clients
2006-2007 482460 $17,924,837 $740.50 261625 $10,049,071 220837 $7,903,540
2007-2008 457239 $16,416,994 $718.06 271840 $10,100,999 185399 $6,315,994
2008-2009 495226 $18,713,344 $847.49 306115 $11,862,074 189110 $6,851,528

SOURCE: VAC Statistics Directorate.

NOTE: This table does not include health related travel processed through Free Balance, hence the discrepancy between dollar values reported in Table 1 versus Table 2. Also, the table represents the transactions, and not the total number of claims. Any given claim can have one or more transactions.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

6.0 Aperçu du programme

Les DFM sont des avantages supplémentaires autorisés en vertu du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants (RSSAC). Seuls les clients qui reçoivent des avantages médicaux tels que décrits aux paragraphes 4(a) et (b) du Règlement sont admissibles à recevoir les avantages supplémentaires qui y sont liés. Les avantages médicaux visés sont les suivants :

  1. tout examen médical, chirurgical ou dentaire ou traitement connexe fourni par un professionnel de la santé;
  2. tout instrument chirurgical ou prothèse ou toute aide approuvée par le ministre et l’entretien de la prothèse ou aide et toute adaptation de domicile nécessaire pour permettre ou faciliter son utilisation;

Comme il est indiqué à l’article 6 du RSSAC, les avantages supplémentaires comprennent :

  • les frais de déplacement engagés par le client à l’égard des prestations de traitement indiquées aux points 1 et 2 ci-dessus;
  • les frais de déplacement engagés par un accompagnateur lorsque les besoins de santé du client sont tels qu’il doit être accompagné dans ses déplacements;
  • la rémunération de cet accompagnateur s’il n’est pas l’époux ou le conjoint de fait ou une personne à charge du client ou tout autre membre de sa famille.

Les frais de déplacement qui pourraient être remboursés au client ou à l’accompagnateur comprennent notamment :

  • le transport par le moyen le plus pratique et économique eu égard à l’état du client

    • dans le cas où le client réside au Canada, entre son lieu de résidence et le centre de traitement adéquat le plus proche;
    • dans le cas où le client réside hors du Canada, entre son point d’entrée au Canada et le centre de traitement adéquat le plus proche;
  • le transport entre le centre de traitement et les logements indiqués ci-dessous;
  • les repas;
  • un logement commercial standard bien situé par rapport au centre de traitement ou un logement privé.

Lorsque le moyen de transport est une automobile privée (autre qu’un taxi), qu’elle appartienne ou non au client, les frais de déplacement sont payables au taux applicable à l’employé de l’administration publique fédérale qui utilise sa propre voiture à sa demande, augmenté par deux cents par kilomètre et comprenant les frais de stationnement engagés pendant la présence du client au centre de traitement. Si le moyen de transport est un taxi, les frais de déplacement pour chaque déplacement sont réduits de 5 $ (en vertu du paragraphe 34(2) du RSSAC).

Ces avantages supplémentaires sont fournis aux clients qui bénéficient de la protection du groupe « A » ou du groupe « B », comme suit : :

  • Protection du groupe « A » – ACC est le premier agent-payeur des avantages et des services pour les clients qui ont une affection ouvrant droit à pension ou une pension d’invalidité, à qui les avantages médicaux pour une affection ouvrant droit à pension peuvent être offerts, à la condition qu’ils ne leur soient pas déjà offerts à titre de membre ou d’ancien membre des Forces canadiennes.
  • Protection du groupe « B » – pour les avantages et les services n’ayant pas trait à une affection ouvrant doit à pension, les clients doivent obtenir les avantages et les services de leur province de résidence ou d’une assurance privée avant d’avoir recours aux avantages et services d’ACC.

Exécution du programme

Le client remplit une demande de remboursement pour ses frais de DFM. La demande est examinée, approuvée puis envoyée aux fins de paiement (traitée) par le personnel d’ACC désigné dans les bureaux de district ou les bureaux régionaux. Une fois que la demande a été traitée et préparée pour la saisie de données, elle est envoyée à un fournisseur de services externes qui la saisit dans le SFTDSS et, par la suite, un chèque est envoyé au client.

Les frais de déplacement sont remboursés si le déplacement était nécessaire pour que le client obtienne un service d’un professionnel de la santé. Lors des déplacements, les fréquences et les taux exacts des frais liés au kilométrage, au repas et aux accompagnateurs doivent être consignés. Toutes les demandes de remboursement doivent être justifiées par les documents et les reçus appropriés puis saisies dans le Réseau de prestation des services aux clients (RPSC).

Le client doit fournir la preuve de son rendez-vous chez le médecin. Si la confirmation du rendez-vous n’est pas incluse, il faut lui faire parvenir une lettre demandant le renseignement nécessaire. Le temps de déplacement pour se rendre à un rendez-vous et pour en revenir doit être inscrit pour déterminer l’admissibilité au remboursement des frais de repas.

Les frais de déplacement (appuyés par des reçus, s’il y a lieu) sont remboursés lorsque le mode transport est approprié compte tenu de l’état de santé du client, qu’il s’agit du plus pratique et économique moyen de transport et que le déplacement est effectué au centre de traitement adéquat le plus proche dans la zone de service. Les clients peuvent choisir leur professionnel de la santé, mais ils seront remboursés pour le déplacement au centre de traitement adéquat le plus proche. Le bureau de district (BD) pourra être consulté dans des circonstances exceptionnelles et il devra inscrire sa décision et sa justification dans les notes sur le client du RPSC.

Tableau 2 : Total récapitulatif des DFM – Transactions liées aux DFM dans le SFTDSS
Exercice Nombre de trans DFM Dépenses
relatives aux DFM
Dépense moyenne par client Nombre de trans par client du groupe
« A »
Dépenses pour les clients du groupe
« A »
Nombre de trans par client du groupe « B » Dépenses pour les clients du groupe
« B »
2006-2007 482460 17 924 837 $ 740,50 $ 261625 10 049 071 $ 220837 7 903 540 $
2007-2008 457239 16 416 994 $ 718,06 $ 271840 10 100 999 $ 185399 6 315 994 $
2008-2009 495226 18 713 344 $ 847,49 $ 306115 11 862 074 $ 189110 6 851 528 $

SOURCE : Direction de la statistique d’ACC

NOTA : Ce tableau ne comprend pas les DFM qui sont traités dans le système FreeBalance, ce qui explique l’écart entre les chiffres indiqués dans le Tableau 1 et ceux du Tableau 2. Également, le tableau représente les transactions et non pas le nombre total de demandes. Une demande peut compter une ou plusieurs transactions.

Date de modification :