4.5.4 Access to Treatment Benefits

In addition to disability benefits, clients are also eligible for treatment benefits for the disabling condition in relation to which they receive a disability award or disability pension. The effective date for payment of a disability pension is the later of the application date or the date three years prior to the date of the favourable decision. Pursuant to the Veterans Health Care Regulations, the client is eligible for reimbursement of treatment retroactive to the date the pension is payable. Under the NVC, however, the effective date of the disability award is the date of decision and treatment benefits under the Veterans Health Care Regulations can only be paid prospectively from this date.

It should be noted that peacetime clients who are still-serving are not eligible for treatment benefits until release as their health care is covered by DND until that time. For other still–serving members of the Canadian Forces, VAC will provide treatment benefits to “top up” those that DND provides. Between April 2006 and February 2010, approximately 6% (1,078) of CF clients in receipt of a disability award were still serving members. In addition, NVC clients who participate in the Rehabilitation Program are able to receive treatment for their condition(s) through this program regardless of the status of any disability award application. Clients with a condition for which no award is granted may be eligible for the entire suite of medical, psychosocial and vocational rehabilitation. As of February 2010, approximately 7.5% (1,327) of CF clients with a disability award were eligible for or had completed the Rehabilitation Program.

Until such time as a former member receives a favourable decision in respect to their application for a disability award, they are responsible for accessing treatment for the condition and paying the applicable costs to the extent that treatment is not an insured service under a provincial health care system or available to them as a former member of the forces. Also, these persons may not be seeking the treatment they need during this time, and delaying treatment, particularly of mental health conditions, can be very detrimental to their ability to achieve wellness. As discussed in section 4.3.3, in 2008-09, approximately 40% (4,405) of clients were waiting more than 24 weeks from date of application to date of decision. These delays can have a significant impact on the health of clients who are waiting for treatment.

Conclusion

Although both the disability pension and the disability awards allow for payment of treatment benefits related to the assessed condition, the two Acts and their supporting regulations allow for different effective dates for the reimbursement of treatment benefits. Disability award clients are eligible to be reimbursed for treatment benefits from the effective date from which the pension is payable, the later of the application date or three years prior to the date of decision. These persons are not eligible for reimbursement of treatment benefits, in respect to the disabling condition, that they may incur between their application date and the date of their award. Program Management is currently aware of this gap between the programs and will be considering it within the context of future program changes.

R4 It is recommended that the Director General, Policy and Research Division consider an analysis of the need for and feasibility of reimbursing treatment benefits for disability award recipients retroactive to the date of application. (Essential)

Management Response:

Management agrees that concerns have been expressed that CF Veterans eligible for a disability pension have earlier access for the reimbursement of treatment benefits than CF Veterans eligible for a Disability award. A policy analysis is currently underway to examine this issue, including what changes to legislation and/or regulation could be recommended to extend eligibility to treatment benefits to begin at the same time for clients receiving a disability pension or a disability award.

Any proposal for legislative or regulatory change(s) that the Department might develop for Government consideration would need to be costed (on a cash and accrual basis) and considered in light of other priorities. Within this context, management will consider what further action may be appropriate as part of the NVC Review and in relation to the recommendations flowing from the Independent Assessment.

Management Action Plan
Corrective Actions to be taken OPI (Office of Primary Interest) Target Date
4.1 Complete policy analysis. DG P&R July 2010
4.2 Consider whether authority change(s) and costing should be pursued under the NVC Review. DG P&R December 2010
Date modified:

4.5.4 Accès à des avantages médicaux

En plus de toucher des prestations d’invalidité, les clients ont également droit à des avantages médicaux pour traiter une affection pour laquelle ils bénéficient d’une indemnité d’invalidité ou d’une pension d’invalidité. La date à partir de laquelle un client peut commencer à recevoir une pension d’invalidité est la plus récente de la date de la présentation de la demande ou trois ans avant la date de la décision favorable. En vertu du Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants, le client est admissible au remboursement des avantages médicaux de façon rétroactive à la date où la pension est payable. Par contre, en vertu de la nouvelle Charte, la date d’effet de l’indemnité d’invalidité correspond à la date où la décision a été rendue, et les avantages médicaux ne peuvent être payés en vertu du Règlement qu’à partir de cette date.

Il faut préciser que les clients qui ont servis en temps de paix et qui servent encore dans les FC ne sont pas admissibles aux avantages médicaux avant le moment de leur libération puisque le MDN assume les frais liés aux soins de santé jusqu’à ce moment là. Pour les autres militaires encore en service dans les Forces canadiennes, ACC offrira des avantages médicaux pour complémenter ceux que le MDN offre. Entre avril 2006 et février 2010, environ 6 % (1 078) des clients des FC qui touchaient une indemnité d’invalidité étaient encore des militaires actifs. De plus, les clients de la nouvelle Charte qui participent au Programme de réadaptation peuvent faire traiter leurs affections, peu importe le statut de leur demande d’indemnité d’invalidité. Les clients souffrant d’une affection pour laquelle aucune indemnité n’a été accordée peuvent être admissibles à la gamme complète de services de réadaptation médicale, psychosociale et professionnelle. Depuis février 2010, environ 7,5 % (1 327) des clients des FC qui touchaient une indemnité d’invalidité étaient admissibles au Programme de réadaptation ou avaient complété leur programme de réadaptation.

En attendant qu’un ancien militaire reçoive une décision favorable relativement à sa demande d’indemnité d’invalidité, il est responsable d’obtenir les traitements pour l’affection dont il souffre et de payer les coûts applicables dans la mesure où les traitements ne sont pas des services assurés par le régime de soins de santé provincial ou ne lui sont pas offerts à titre d’ancien militaire des Forces. De plus, certains clients pourraient aussi ne pas demander les traitements dont ils ont besoin pendant ce temps. Retarder le traitement des affections – surtout celles liées à la santé mentale – peut nuire considérablement aux efforts de guérison des clients. Comme il fut indiqué à la section 4.3.3, en 2008 2009, environ 40 % (4 405) des clients ont attendu plus de 24 semaines avant qu’une décision soit rendue à l’égard de leur demande. De tels délais peuvent avoir des répercussions importantes sur la santé des clients en attente de traitement.

Conclusion

Bien que le Programme de pension d’invalidité et le Programme d’indemnité d’invalidité prévoient le paiement des avantages médicaux associés aux affections évaluées, les deux lois et leurs règlements applicables prévoient des dates d’entrée en vigueur pour le remboursement des avantages médicaux qui sont différentes. Les bénéficiaires de l’indemnité d’invalidité sont admissibles au remboursement des avantages médicaux à partir de la date d’effet des paiements d’une pension, la plus récente de la date de demande ou trois ans avant la date de décision. Ces personnes ne sont pas admissibles au remboursement d’avantages médicaux concernant une affection entraînant une invalidité si cette dernière survient entre la date de leur demande et la date d’approbation de leur demande d’invalidité. La Gestion des programmes est déjà au courant que les programmes sont différents à cet égard et elle se penchera sur cette question lorsque viendra le temps d’apporter d’autres changements aux programmes.

R4 Il est recommandé que le directeur général, Direction générale des politiques et de la recherche, réalise une analyse pour vérifier s’il est possible et nécessaire de rembourser les avantages médicaux des bénéficiaires d’indemnité d’invalidité rétroactivement à partir de la date de la demande. (Essentiel)

Réponse de la direction

La direction accepte que des inquiétudes ont été exprimées selon lesquelles les vétérans des FC admissibles à une pension d’invalidité obtiennent plus rapidement le remboursement des avantages médicaux que les vétérans des FC admissibles à une indemnité d’invalidité. Une analyse de politiques est en cours à ce sujet, y compris les changements aux lois et aux règlements qui pourraient être recommandés de sorte que l’admissibilité aux avantages médicaux pour les clients bénéficiaires d’une pension d’invalidité soit en même temps que celle de l’indemnité d’invalidité.

Toute proposition de modification des textes de loi que le Ministère pourrait formuler à des fins de considération devra être accompagnée d’une estimation des coûts (coûts de trésorerie et coûts de caisse) et être considérée à la lumière d’autres priorités. Dans ce contexte, la direction considérera quelle action supplémentaire sera pertinente dans le cadre de l’Examen de la nouvelle Charte et en rapport avec les recommandations découlant de l’évaluation indépendante.

Plan d’action de la direction
Mesures correctives à prendre BPR (Bureau de première responsabilité) Date cible
4.1 Achever l’analyse des politiques. DG, PR Juillet 2010
4.2 Déterminer s’il faut poursuivre la possibilité de changements au chapitre des autorisations et de l’établissement des coûts dans le cadre de l’examen de la nouvelle Charte. DG, PR Décembre 2010
Date de modification :