Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

1.0 DESCRIPTION OF THE NEW VETERANS CHARTER

The New Veterans Charter (NVC) represents the most sweeping change to Veterans’ benefits and services in the past 60 years. The intent of the NVC was to shift the focus from one of disability to one of wellness, and to respond to Canada’s commitment to injured Canadian Forces (CF) members and Veterans. The suite of services and benefits available under the NVC includes a lump-sum disability award, rehabilitation services, financial benefits, health benefits, and career transition assistance.

There are five expected outcomes from Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC’s) modernized programs. The outcomes state that CF members, Veterans and their families:

  1. feel recognized for their contribution;
  2. experience improved health status and functional capacity as a result of access to treatment benefits and rehabilitation services;
  3. actively participate in and integrate into their communities;
  4. actively participate in the civilian workforce (unless totally disabled or retired) as a result of access to employment-related supports in the form of vocational assistance, training and job placement assistance; and
  5. have a level of income adequate to meet basic needs as a result of enhanced employment opportunities provided by job placement assistance, and access to employment enhancement supports such as re-training opportunities as part of vocational rehabilitation.

Table 1 provides a snapshot of participants who were eligible for the various NVC programs from April 1, 2006 until March 31, 2010. It should be noted that the total number of participants is not intended to be the summation of the participants in each program, as individuals can access multiple programs at the same time or various programs separately, based on their needs.

Table 1 – NVC Participants from April 1, 2006 - March 31, 2010
Participants Individuals who received a Disability Award Individuals eligible for the Rehabilitation Program Individuals eligible for Financial Benefits Individuals eligible for Health Benefits Individuals who participated in the Career Transition Services Program* Total Number of NVC Participants
Veterans 18,568 4,106 3,748 960 878 20,907
Survivors / Spouses 386 91 38 14 2 510
Total 18,954 4,197 3,786 974 880 21,417

* Numbers represent participants who applied for the Career Transition Services Program (i.e. career counselling or job finding assistance). This does not include the 2,217 Veterans who attended a workshop.

Still–serving members are eligible for a disability award and components of the Career Transition Services (CTS) Program, but they are not eligible for the Rehabilitation, Financial Benefits or Health Benefits programs. Also, individuals must apply within two years of release from service; there are no individuals actively participating in the Career Transition Services Program who released prior to 2006.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

1.0 DESCRIPTION DE LA NOUVELLE CHARTE DES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS

La Nouvelle Charte des anciens combattants (NCAC) représente le remaniement le plus important apporté aux avantages et aux services offerts aux anciens combattants au cours des 60 dernières années. La NCAC n’est plus axée sur l’invalidité, mais sur le mieux-être et répond à l’engagement du Canada à l’égard des militaires et des vétérans blessés des Forces canadiennes (FC). La gamme des services et avantages offerts en vertu de la NCAC comprend une indemnité d’invalidité forfaitaire, des services de réadaptation, des avantages financiers, des soins de santé et les services de transition de carrière.

Cinq résultats attendus sont associés aux programmes modernisés d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC). Les résultats précisent que les militaires des FC, les vétérans et leurs familles :

  1. sentent qu’on reconnaît leur contribution;
  2. ont à un état de santé et une capacité fonctionnelle améliorés parce qu’ils ont accès aux avantages médicaux et aux services de réadaptation;
  3. jouent un rôle actif ou sont intégrés dans leur collectivité;
  4. participent activement au marché du travail civil (à moins d’être atteints d’une invalidité totale ou d’être retraités) parce qu’ils ont accès à des services d’aide à l’emploi sous forme d’assistance professionnelle, de formation et d’aide au placement;
  5. affichent un niveau de revenu adéquat qui leur permet de satisfaire à leurs besoins essentiels parce qu’ils ont accès à davantage d’occasions d’emploi grâce à l’aide au placement, et à du soutien qui améliore les chances de trouver un emploi comme les possibilités de se recycler offertes dans le cadre de la réadaptation professionnelle.

Le tableau 1 donne un aperçu des participants qui étaient admissibles aux divers programmes de la NCAC du 1er avril 2006 au 31 mars 2010. Il faut prendre note que le nombre total de participants ne se veut pas la somme des participants de chaque programme puisque chaque personne peut participer à plusieurs programmes en même temps ou à divers programmes séparément, selon leurs besoins.

Tableau 1 – Participants à la NCAC du 1er avril 2006 au 31 mars 2010
Participants Bénéficiaires d’une indemnité d’invalidité Personnes admissibles au Programme de réadaptation Personnes admissibles aux avantages financiers Personnes admissibles aux avantages médicaux Participants au programme de Services de transition de carrière* Nombre total de participants à la NCAC
Vétérans 18 568 4 106 3 748 960 878 20 907
Survivants / Époux 386 91 38 14 2 510
Total 18 954 4 197 3 786 974 880 21 417

* Les données représentent les participants qui ont présenté une demande au programme de services de transition de carrière (c.-à-d. orientation professionnelle ou aide à la recherche d’emploi). Elles n’incluent pas les 2 217 vétérans qui ont participé à un atelier.

Les militaires encore en service sont admissibles à l’indemnité d’invalidité et aux volets du programme de Services de transition de carrière, mais ils ne sont pas admissibles à la réadaptation, aux avantages financiers ou au programme de soins de santé. De plus, les personnes intéressées doivent présenter leur demande dans les deux ans qui suivent la libération. Aucun militaire libéré avant 2006 ne participe activement au programme de Services de transition de carrière.

Date de modification :