Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

3.0 STUDY APPROACH

3.1 Evaluation Context

This is the first evaluation of the NVC. The findings will assist VAC program managers by providing an assessment of the achievement of desired outcomes to improve the design and delivery of the NVC programs. In addition, this evaluation fulfills a departmental commitment to complete a comprehensive evaluation of the NVC by December 2010.

Prior to commencing this evaluation, an evaluation framework and a detailed plan were developed. Given the size and complexity in conducting this comprehensive evaluation, the work was completed in three phases with a report developed for each phase. Phase I, completed in December 2009, focussed on the relevance and rationale of the NVC and its programs. Phase II, completed in September 2010, focussed on the efficiency and effectiveness of VAC’s outreach, application process, and the service delivery framework. This final report, Phase III, focusses on the success in achieving desired outcomes.

An evaluation of disability pensions (DP) and disability awards (DA) was conducted concurrently with the NVC evaluation, and was finalized in August 2010. This report also incorporated elements examined Earnings Loss (EL) and Permanent Impairment Allowance (PIA). EL and PIA are both benefits paid to eligible recipients who are participating in the Rehabilitation Program. The purpose of the Disability Pensions and Awards Evaluation was to assess similarities and differences in program design, delivery, activities, outputs and outcomes. The evaluation also considered relevant elements of other NVC programs in the comparisons, where appropriate. The Evaluation of Disability Pensions and Awards should be read in conjunction with the NVC Evaluation reports. Further information as to the conclusions and recommendations from these reports can be found in appendices B, C and D.

While this is the first evaluation of the NVC, other related work has been completed recently or is currently underway. The Audit and Evaluation Division recently completed a review of the NVC Redress process. Additionally, VAC has completed an internal review of case management and an evaluation of case management is planned for 2011-2012. As a result of the ongoing or planned work, these areas noted above were not included in the scope of this evaluation.

3.2 Scope of Work

The scope of Phase III covers the period from April 1 2006 to 31 March 2010. In addition to information collected from earlier phases, a number of data collection methodologies were utilized.

The core evaluation issues and specific evaluation questions which were covered by the NVC and DA/DP evaluations are presented in Appendix E.

3.3 Methodology

To strengthen the governance of this project, a steering committee consisting of VAC’s senior management was formed to monitor progress and provide strategic direction to the evaluation. An advisory committee was formed consisting of directors from Head Office, regional offices and district offices across the country. The role of the Advisory Committee was to support fieldwork and to provide input into the development of data collection tools and evaluation findings. These two committees supported all three phases of the Evaluation.

Working in collaboration with VAC’s Statistics Directorate, significant data analysis was conducted. Large amounts of data were received across all NVC programs which required Statistics to review available data, and in some cases, perform additional manipulation based on requirements specific to this evaluation.

A file review completed by an external occupational therapist provided an overall assessment of progress for participants in the Rehabilitation Program. The sample population for this file review consisted of individuals who entered the Rehabilitation Program between April 1, 2006 and October 31, 2009, and who had participated in the program for at least six months. A stratified random sample of 350 participants was drawn. This descriptive sample allowed for the analysis of the sample’s characteristics and a comparison among various groups, but did not allow for the results to be generalized for the entire participant population. However, the findings from the File Review remarkably mirror the results and percentages gathered when studying the entire population using departmental statistical information.

Since neither baseline participant information nor control group data was available, Audit and Evaluation Division partnered with VAC’s Research Directorate, DND and Statistics Canada on a multi-year, four-part research study called the Life After Service Study (LASS). The findings from this study will support VAC in meeting its mandate in the care, treatment and reestablishment in civilian life of Veterans, and fill gaps in understanding military to civilian transition in Canada.

This research is composed of four parts. The first part of the LASS is an Income study of CF Members who released over a ten year period from 1998 – 2007. This income study was done longitudinally to collect Veteran income information for the year prior to release, the year of release, and all available post-release years up until 2007. Income information was collected by matching the study population data to the general family file (T1FF) tax records using social insurance numbers contained in both databases. Confidentiality of an individual’s information was maintained by Statistics Canada and only summary results were shared with VAC. VAC’s Research Directorate led the development of this study and wrote a summary report which informed the NVC evaluation.

The second part of the LASS is the Survey on Transition to Civilian Life (STCL). STCL information was drawn from a nationally representative sample of 4,721 of 32,015 Regular Force Veterans released from 1997 to 2008 was contacted by Statistics Canada during February and March 2010. The majority responded to the survey (71 percent), and the great majority of those (94 percent) agreed to share their responses with VAC and DND. The study included Veterans participating under the older Pension Act, and the first of those participating under the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Compensation and Re-establishment Act (CFMVRCA) of 2006. The sample was stratified into three groups: individuals participating in New Veterans Charter programs (NVC participants), Veterans and spouses in receipt of disability pensions but not participating in NVC programs (DP recipients), and Veterans not participating in VAC programs. The information from the STCL report was used to inform the Re-establishment section of this report.

Parts three and four (mortality and cancer) will be the subject of another report on the CF Cancer and Mortality Study and do not inform this analysis.

Additionally, focus groups were utilized as a key source of input for the NVC evaluation. An external consultant was engaged to ensure the confidentially of participant input. A set of twelve focus groups were conducted in four locations across Canada. Details can be found in the Phase II report.

Lastly, key informant interviews and documentation reviews were utilized to provide important context to the information collected from data analysis and other methodologies. A number of interviews were conducted with staff from various levels of the organization. Primary sources for the documentation review included: NVC legislation, VAC policies and business processes, developed frameworks or draft documents, as well as the results of relevant internal reviews.

3.4 Limitations

3.4.1 Performance Measurement and Outcome Information

As described in the Phase I evaluation, VAC was still developing specific program logic models and performance measurement plans for the NVC programs. During the course of this evaluation, Audit and Evaluation Division provided input into these logic models and performance measurement plans which have now been finalized and implemented (for information on data not being reported, please refer to Appendix F). However, limited historical performance information has been collected which could be utilized as part of the analysis.

A key tool developed to collect outcome information was the “Re-establishment Survey.” This tool includes the SF-12 survey (a tool which measures health related quality of life) and was chosen as the best tool to meet the needs of the Department. In addition to the SF-12, the Re-establishment Survey includes other questions developed in collaboration with various areas within VAC. This additional survey content collects data related to economic security, community and family integration, employment status, and perceived recognition. The Re-establishment Survey data is self-reported. VAC does not collect clinical findings on outcomes.

As noted in the Phase I report, the response rate to the Re-establishment Survey was 44 percent in 2007-2008, making the information of limited utility. As a result, it was recommended that opportunities be identified and implemented to improve response rates. Program Management actioned this recommendation by revising the survey and developing a new approach to improve response rates. However, the evaluation was able to utilize some information from the 2008-2009 Re-establishment Survey.

Also, the extent and nature to which performance measures can be defined is limited due to the constraints imposed by VAC’s current Performance Activity Architecture.

3.4.2 Absence of a baseline or comparison group

The Evaluation Plan identified that this was the first evaluation of the NVC and a baseline was not established in advance of implementation. In addition, as mentioned in the evaluation of DA/DP, no comparable suite of programs existed within Canada, and a control group could not be developed as all individuals who apply and are eligible for NVC programs and services generally receive them. Furthermore, VAC serves a group of individuals with very complex needs, not all of whom will be able to successfully re-establish. Where the evaluation team had sufficient evidence to make conclusions on effectiveness and efficiency, they have done so. However, some general conclusions regarding the overall effectiveness were limited given limited baseline or comparison group.

3.4.3 Availability of data

The evaluation team worked closely with the Statistics Directorate to collect and analyze all available information relating to the NVC outcomes. However, there were gaps in the information that was available. One significant gap, as described in Section 4.2, was the inability to identify accurate costs for treatment in the Rehabilitation Program. This limited the evaluation team’s ability to assess the efficiency of the program as specific costs could be isolated only through assumptions.

Another gap is that no barriers (a barrier to re-establishment in civilian life is that which limits or prevents the individual’s reasonable performance of his/her roles in the workplace, home or community), were recorded for medically released Veterans who apply for the Rehabilitation Program within 120 days of release. In total, there were 1,285 Veterans who have accessed the Rehabilitation Program under medical release eligibility so the information relating to their barriers is not documented. This limits the evaluation’s ability to assess health progress for approximately 30 percent of all rehabilitation participants. In April 2010, modifications were made to the Rehabilitation Record of Decision (RROD), allowing data entry concerning barriers to re-establishment for medically releasing Veterans.

VAC has developed an earnings loss benefit to temporarily provide income replacement for individuals while in the Rehabilitation Program and offers vocational or Career Transition Services to enhance employment opportunities. For the period under review, VAC did not have sufficient information regarding post employment income to determine if this employment is providing a level of income deemed to meet basic needs. Recent changes announced by the Minister of Veterans Affairs have rectified this shortcoming for those who are seriously disabled.

The file review noted that in baseline (and subsequent) assessments performed by case managers (CM), the degree of information captured on the extent of community participation is often limited. The individual may be participating, however, it is difficult to capture the degree of participation because the information is not always documented and the relevant information is not captured concisely in one location.

3.4.4 Time period

Many injured CF members require several years of support from VAC to successfully transition and re-establish to civilian life. The NVC was implemented in April 2006 providing only four years of data and only a limited number of Veterans have had enough time to complete the programs. This posed limitations on the assessment of overall program effectiveness over the long term. Future evaluations will have additional information available to analyze the various outcomes over a longer post-program time period.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

3.0 DÉMARCHE

3.1 Contexte de l’évaluation

Ce document se veut une première évaluation de la NCAC, dont les résultats serviront à aider les gestionnaires de programmes d’ACC à améliorer l’élaboration et la prestation des programmes de la NCAC. L’évaluation remplit également un engagement pris par le Ministère de mener une évaluation approfondie de la NCAC avant décembre 2010.

Avant d’entreprendre l’évaluation, il a fallu dresser un cadre d’évaluation et un plan détaillé. Devant la tâche colossale et complexe que nous réservait l’évaluation, nous avons décidé d’effectuer le travail en trois phases et de diffuser un rapport au terme de chacune d’elles. La phase I, achevée en décembre 2009, était axée sur la pertinence et le bien-fondé de la NCAC et de ses programmes. La phase II, achevée en septembre 2010, portait sur l’efficacité et l’efficience des activités de sensibilisation d'ACC, du processus de présentation des demandes et du cadre de prestation des services. Le présent rapport final de la phase III a pour objet l’atteinte des résultats attendus.

Une évaluation du programme des pensions d’invalidité et du programme des indemnités d’invalidité a été menée en parallèle avec l’évaluation de la NCAC et a été achevée en août 2010. Le présent rapport porte également sur l’allocation pour perte de revenus et l’allocation pour déficience permanente. Ces deux allocations sont des prestations versées aux bénéficiaires admissibles qui participent au Programme de réadaptation. L’évaluation de ces deux prestations visait à déterminer les ressemblances et les différences en matière de conception, de prestation, d’activités, de produits et de résultats. L’évaluation a également porté sur des composantes pertinentes d’autres programmes de la NCAC dans le cadre de la comparaison, s’il y avait lieu. L’Évaluation du programme des pensions d’invalidité et du programme des indemnités d’invalidité doit être lue en parallèle avec les rapports sur l’évaluation de la NCAC. D’autres informations sur les conclusions et les recommandations tirées de ces rapports se trouvent aux annexes B, C et D.

Bien qu’il s’agisse de la première évaluation de la NCAC, mentionnons que d’autres travaux connexes ont déjà été réalisés ou sont en voie d’exécution. La Direction générale de la vérification et de l’évaluation a récemment effectué un examen des processus de recours prévus aux termes de la NCAC. De plus, ACC a effectué un examen interne de la gestion de cas, et l’évaluation de la gestion de cas est prévue pour 2011-2012. En raison des travaux continus ou de ceux qui sont envisagés, les domaines susmentionnés ne sont pas visés par la présente évaluation.

3.2 Portée des travaux

La phase III porte sur la période allant du 1er avril 2006 au 31 mars 2010. En plus des méthodes de cueillette des données qui ont servi lors des phases précédentes, d’autres méthodes ont été utilisées pour la phase III.

Les principaux enjeux liés à l’évaluation et les questions précises posées dans le cadre de l’évaluation de la NCAC et de l’évaluation des indemnités d’invalidité et des pensions d’invalidité sont présentés à l’Annexe E.

3.3 Méthode

Pour renforcer la gouvernance de ce projet, un comité directeur composé de membres de la haute direction d’ACC a été formé pour surveiller l’avancement des travaux et offrir une orientation stratégique aux activités d’évaluation. De plus, un comité consultatif a été constitué auquel ont pris part des directeurs de l’Administration centrale, des bureaux régionaux et des bureaux de district des quatre coins du pays. Le rôle du comité consultatif est d’appuyer les travaux en cours et d’offrir une rétroaction sur l’élaboration des outils de collecte des données et les conclusions de l’évaluation. Les deux comités ont été à l’œuvre durant les trois phases du projet d’évaluation.

Une analyse détaillée des données a été menée en collaboration avec la Direction de la statistique d’ACC. Une vaste quantité de données a été obtenue sur tous les programmes de la NCAC, ce qui a obligé la Direction de la statistique à examiner les données disponibles et, dans certains cas, à effectuer des manipulations additionnelles en fonction des exigences propres à l’évaluation.

Un examen des dossiers réalisé par un ergothérapeute externe a permis d’évaluer globalement les progrès des participants au Programme de réadaptation. L’échantillon de l’examen des dossiers portait sur les personnes qui ont commencé le programme de réadaptation entre le 1er avril 2006 et le 31 octobre 2009 et qui ont participé au programme pendant au moins six mois. Un échantillon aléatoire stratifié de 350 participants a été tiré. Cet échantillon descriptif a permis l’analyse des caractéristiques de l’échantillon et la comparaison entre divers groupes, mais n’a pas permis de généraliser les résultats sur la population entière des participants. Les résultats de l’examen des dossiers constituent toutefois une image assez fidèle des résultats et des pourcentages obtenus par l’examen de la population entière au moyen des informations statistiques du Ministère.

Comme ni l’information de référence sur les participants, ni les données sur le groupe n’étaient disponibles, la Direction générale de la vérification et de l’évaluation s’est associée à la Direction de la recherche d’ACC, au MDN et à Statistique Canada pour mener une étude pluriannuelle en quatre volets intitulée La vie après le service militaire. Les constatations tirées de l’étude appuieront l’exécution du mandat d’ACC en matière de soins, de traitement et de réinsertion des vétérans à la vie civile et combleront les lacunes dans la connaissance de la transition de la vie militaire à la vie civile au Canada.

L’Étude sur la vie après le service militaire comprend quatre volets. Le premier volet porte sur l’examen des revenus des militaires des FC qui ont été libérés au cours d’une période de dix ans allant de 1998 à 2007. L’étude sur le revenu, une étude longitudinale, a permis de recueillir des données sur le revenu des vétérans l’année précédant leur libération et toutes les années suivant leur libération jusqu’en 2007. Les données ont été obtenues en associant les données de la population à l’étude aux informations générales sur la famille fournies aux fins d’impôt (T1FF) en utilisant les numéros d’assurance-sociale inscrits dans les deux bases de données. La confidentialité des renseignements personnels a été maintenue par Statistique Canada, et seuls les résultats sommaires ont été divulgués à ACC. La Direction de la recherche d’ACC a mené l’élaboration de l’étude et a rédigé le rapport sommaire nécessaire à l’évaluation de la NCAC.

Le deuxième volet de l’Étude sur la vie après le service militaire est un sondage sur la transition à la vie civile. Les données ont été tirées d’un échantillon représentatif à l’échelle du pays comprenant 4 721 des 32 015 vétérans de la Force régulière qui ont été libérés de 1997 à 2008 avec qui Statistique Canada a communiqué de février à mars 2010. La majorité des personnes appelées ont répondu au sondage (71 p. 100), et la grande majorité de ceux-ci (94 p. 100) ont accepté que leurs réponses soient communiquées à ACC et au MDN. L’étude incluait des vétérans participant dans le cadre de la Loi sur les pensions et également les premiers de ceux qui participaient dans le cadre de Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes (LMRIMVFC) de 2006. L’échantillon a été stratifié en trois groupes : les bénéficiaires des programmes de la Nouvelle Charte des anciens combattants (participants à la NCAC); les vétérans et les époux bénéficiaires d’une pension d’invalidité, mais qui ne participent pas aux programmes de la NCAC (bénéficiaires d’une PI); et les vétérans qui ne participent à aucun programme d’ACC. L’information tirée du sondage a été utilisée dans la section sur la réinsertion du présent rapport.

Les volets trois et quatre (mortalité et cancer) feront l’objet d’un autre rapport portant sur l’étude sur le cancer et la mortalité des FC et ne sont pas inclus dans la présente analyse.

En outre, des groupes de consultation ont fourni de la rétroaction pour l’évaluation de la NCAC. Un expert-conseil a été embauché pour garantir la confidentialité des observations formulées par les clients. Douze groupes de consultation ont participé dans quatre villes du pays. Voir le rapport de la phase II pour obtenir plus de détails.

Enfin, l’évaluation a donné lieu à des entrevues auprès de principaux informateurs et à des examens de la documentation qui ont fourni un important contexte à l’information tirée de l’analyse des données et d’autres méthodes. Certaines entrevues ont été menées auprès du personnel à divers échelons de l’organisation. Parmi les principales sources de l’examen de la documentation, on compte : les textes de loi associés à la NCAC, les politiques et les processus opérationnels d’ACC, les cadres de travail établis ou les documents provisoires et aussi les résultats des examens internes pertinents.

3.4 Limites

3.4.1 Mesure des résultats et information sur les résultats

Comme il a été mentionné lors de l’évaluation de la phase I, ACC était encore à élaborer le modèle logique de programmes précis et les plans de mesure des résultats des programmes de la NCAC. Au cours de l’évaluation, la Direction générale de la vérification et de l’évaluation a contribué à l’élaboration des modèles logiques et des plans de mesure des résultats qui sont maintenant au point et ont été mis en œuvre. (Pour de l’information sur les données qui n’ont pas été incluses dans le rapport, consulter l’Annexe F.) Toutefois, très peu d’information a été recueillie sur les résultats passés et a donc pu servir dans le cadre de l’analyse.

Le « Sondage sur la réinsertion » est un des principaux outils élaborés pour la cueillette d’information sur les résultats. L’outil en question comprend le questionnaire SF-12 (un outil qui mesure la qualité de la vie en matière de santé) et a été sélectionné comme le meilleur outil pour les besoins du Ministère. Outre le questionnaire SF-12, le Sondage sur la réinsertion comprend d’autres questions établies en collaboration avec diverses sections d’ACC. Ces questions supplémentaires permettent de recueillir de l’information sur la sécurité économique, l’intégration dans la collectivité et la famille, l’état d’emploi et la reconnaissance perçue. Les données du Sondage sur la réinsertion sont déclarées volontairement. ACC ne recueille pas des constatations cliniques sur les résultats.

Comme il a été mentionné dans le rapport de la phase I, le taux de réponse au Sondage sur la réinsertion se chiffrait à 44 p. 100 en 2007-2008, ce qui réduisait l’utilité des données. Pour cette raison, il a été recommandé de trouver des façons d’accroître le taux de réponse. La Gestion des programmes a mis en œuvre la recommandation en modifiant le sondage et en mettant en place une nouvelle démarche pour améliorer le taux de réponse. Il a tout de même été possible d’utiliser une partie de l’information obtenue du Sondage sur la réinsertion mené en 2008-2009 dans la présente évaluation.

Enfin, la portée et les caractéristiques des mesures des résultats peuvent être définies de façon limitée seulement en raison des contraintes imposées par l’Architecture des activités de programmes actuelle d’ACC.

3.4.2 Absence d’un groupe de référence ou d’un groupe témoin

Le plan d’évaluation précise qu’il s’agit de la première évaluation de la NCAC, et un groupe de référence n’a pas été établi en prévision de la mise en œuvre. De plus, comme il est mentionné dans l’Évaluation des pensions d’invalidité et des indemnités d’invalidité, aucun éventail comparable de programmes n’existait au Canada, et un groupe témoin n’a pu être établi étant donné que toutes les personnes qui présentent une demande aux programmes et aux services de la NCAC et y sont admissibles voient leur demande approuvée. De plus, ACC offre des services à un groupe de personnes dont les besoins sont très complexes et, parmi eux, certains ne réussiront pas la réinsertion. Lorsque l’équipe chargée de l’évaluation disposait de preuves suffisantes pour tirer une conclusion sur l’efficacité et l’efficience, elle l’a fait. Cependant, certaines conclusions générales sur l’efficacité globale étaient limitées étant donné le manque de groupe de référence ou groupe témoin.

3.4.3 Disponibilité des données

L’équipe chargée de l’évaluation a collaboré étroitement avec la Direction de la statistique pour recueillir et analyser toutes les données disponibles sur les résultats de la NCAC. Malgré cela, il manquait certaines données. Une lacune importante, décrite à la section 4.2, était l’incapacité d’établir les coûts exacts des traitements offerts dans le cadre du Programme de réadaptation. Ce manque a réduit la capacité de l’équipe d’évaluer l’efficacité du Programme puisque certains coûts précis ne pouvaient être déterminés au moyen d’hypothèses.

Une autre lacune cernée concerne l’absence d’obstacle chez les vétérans libérés pour des raisons médicales qui présentent une demande au Programme de réadaptation dans les 120 jours suivant la libération. Au total, 1 285 vétérans ont participé au Programme de réadaptation grâce à leur admissibilité liée à une libération pour raisons médicales, et les obstacles à leur réinsertion ne sont pas rapportés. Il est donc difficile d’évaluer les progrès en matière de santé pour environ 30 p. 100 des participants à la réadaptation. En avril 2010, le Registre de décision de réadaptation (RDR) a été modifié pour qu’on puisse y inscrire les obstacles à la réinsertion des vétérans libérés pour raisons médicales.

Anciens Combattants Canada a établi l’allocation pour perte de revenus afin d’accorder temporairement un revenu de remplacement aux participants du Programme de réadaptation et le Ministère offre également des services d’orientation professionnelle ou des services de transition de carrière pour améliorer les possibilités d’emploi. Pour la période à l’étude, ACC ne disposait pas de données suffisantes sur les revenus après la libération pour déterminer si l’emploi fournit un niveau de revenus jugé suffisant pour satisfaire aux besoins essentiels. De récents changements annoncés par le ministre des Anciens Combattants ont permis de corriger les lacunes touchant les personnes qui souffrent d’invalidités graves.

L’examen des dossiers révèle que dans les évaluations initiales (et celles qui suivent) effectuées par les gestionnaires de cas (GC), le niveau d’information obtenu sur l’importance de la participation dans la collectivité est souvent limité. La personne peut participer, mais il est difficile de déterminer le niveau de participation puisque l’information n’est pas toujours enregistrée, et l’information pertinente n’est pas inscrite de façon concise dans un seul système.

3.4.4 Durée

Nombre de militaires des FC blessés ont besoin de plusieurs années de soutien de la part d’ACC pour réussir la transition et la réinsertion à la vie civile. La NCAC est entrée en vigueur en avril 2006, ce qui ne donne que quatre ans de données, et seulement un nombre limité de vétérans a eu le temps de compléter les programmes. Cela restreint l’évaluation de l’efficacité globale du programme à long terme. Les prochaines évaluations comprendront des données additionnelles pour l’analyse des divers résultats sur une période de temps plus longue après le programme.

Date de modification :