Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

4.0 Background

4.1 The Rise of OSI-related Clinics

In the mid-1990s, the Canadian Forces experienced an increased operational tempo with engagements in the First Gulf War, Bosnia-Croatia, Rwanda and Somalia. This increased operational tempo continues today with the deployment of troops to Afghanistan. The nature of these conflicts however, is different than those in which members of the Canadian Forces (CF) were previously engaged. More than ever CF members are placed in harm's way for longer periods of time, and with less time to recuperate. Anyone who has gone through an event such as combat can develop PTSD or another OSI condition. This increased exposure to conflict and traumatic situations has led to a growing number of OSIs. Although most individuals readjust smoothly upon returning to civilian life, many will benefit from additional mental health support and some will be diagnosed with an OSI. Among the most common mental health problems faced by returning troops are post traumatic stress disorder, depression, addiction/substance abuse and social phobia.

The growing demand for specialized mental health services and the strong public support for assistance for returning soldiers prompted the DND's involvement, in the late 1990's, in the establishment of five Operational Trauma and Stress Support Centres (OTSSCs) at key CF bases across Canada - in Halifax, Valcartier, Ottawa, Edmonton and Esquimalt. These OTSSCs were developed to provide specialized mental health services for CF members and their families dealing with an OSI resulting from military operations. While these clinics helped fill the need for mental health services for CF members, insufficient capacity still remained within the centres and within communities in general, for Veterans who were the responsibility of VAC.

In 2001, VAC opened its first OSI clinic at Ste. Anne's Hospital as a pilot project. By 2002, VAC and the DND had jointly announced a mental health strategy to enhance the services and support provided to the growing number of individuals with an OSI. With demand for treatment and services on the rise, VAC responded by developing four additional clinics in Quebec City, London, Winnipeg and Calgary based on the Ste. Anne's pilot.

With the support of the DND and the RCMP, VAC received federal Treasury Board approval in 2007, to establish an additional five clinics, bringing the total of OSI clinics under VAC's purview to ten. The new clinics were established in Vancouver, Fredericton, Ottawa, Edmonton and an additional clinic was established at Ste. Anne's Hospital. The latter differed from the other clinics - it was established as an inpatient facility for those Veterans, CF and RCMP members suffering from more complex PTSD and co-morbid (in combination with) conditions such as chronic pain, depression, anxiety disorders and addictions/substance abuse.

Eight of the ten OSI clinics operate under the terms of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between VAC and the host health organization from whom VAC purchases services. The OSI clinics are a unique type of external health service provider as the operations of each clinic is fully funded by VAC to provide exclusive service for VAC clients. The two remaining clinics, an OSI outpatient clinic and an inpatient clinic are operated from the federally owned Ste. Anne's Hospital for Veterans in Ste. Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec. All of the OSI clinics serve Veterans, Canadian Forces (CF) members and members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) and their families. In Figure 2 below, VAC's most recent Mental Health Quarterly Statistical Report illustrates the number of active files and new referrals to its network of OSI clinics as of March 31, 2011.

Figure 2: Mental Health Quarterly Statistical Report – OSI clinics March 31, 2011

OSI Clinics – by Referral Agency (Active files)
Number Active files Total West Ont. Que. Atl.
97 Veterans Affairs Canada 1,191 286 338 458 109
98 Department of National Defence 319 122 71 68 58
99 Royal Canadian Mounted Police 79 43 * * 26
100 Family members (VAC,DND,RCMP) 159 57 29 65 8

* Numbers which may permit the identification of individuals are displayed with an asterisk
Source: VAC's Mental Health Directorate

OSI Clinics – by Referral Agency (New Referrals)
Number New Referrals Total
101 Veterans Affairs Canada 190
102 Department of National Defence 51
103 Royal Canadian Mounted Police 17
104 Family members (VAC, DND, RCMP) 34
OSI Clinics – by Referral Agency (Files Closed)
Number Files Closed Total
101 Veterans Affairs Canada 115
102 Department of National Defence 54
103 Royal Canadian Mounted Police 5
104 Family members (VAC, DND, RCMP) 16

Source: VAC’s Mental Health Directorate

Operational Stress Injury Social Support (OSISS) Program

The Operational Stress Injury Social Support (OSISS) program reference appears throughout this report. The OSISS is a joint VAC-DND program that has, as a mission, to establish, develop and improve social support programs for current and former members of the Canadian Forces and their families affected by operational stress; bereaved families of military members and Veterans, as well as to create an atmosphere and environment which leads to a better understanding and acceptance of OSI. After more than a decade in operation, this program continues to make a significant contribution to the recovery process. The role of peer support is briefly discussed in Section 5.3 of this report.

4.2 The Founding of a Residential Treatment Clinic (RTC) for Operational Stress Injuries at Ste. Anne's Hospital

Early Vision

The experience gained from VAC's pilot OSI centre established in 2001 at Ste. Anne's Hospital led to a renewed vision for what was then referred to as the Ste. Anne's Centre. The vision called for a PTSD Residential Rehabilitation Program (PRRP) "to provide a structured 24 hour-a-day supervised therapeutic setting which promotes strong treatment and recovery values. Admissions to the program are to be housed in a separate building from the hospital centre and must be clinically stable to be self-sufficient for their everyday care and safety needs. All members of the PRRP will be required to participate in at least 25 hours per week of specified therapeutic or rehabilitative activities" Footnote3. The vision also included the establishment of a pain management clinic and tele-mental health capability at Ste. Anne's.

Stabilization Program Introduced

Continuing to build on its experience and in line with its vision, Ste. Anne's introduced an Inpatient Stabilization Program in 2002, with four beds allocated for 24/7 care. The medical stabilization of an individual's mental health condition is essential and fundamental for any further therapeutic effects and benefits of ongoing care. "A person living with an operational stress injury (OSI) may experience a period when their ability to face personal, social or work situations is significantly reduced. This can happen if medication needs to be adjusted or if clinical supervision or more intensive psychological support is needed. The Inpatient Stabilization Program for OSI can help individuals develop skills to better manage their symptoms and eventually allow them to continue outpatient treatment in their community.

Clients stay in a structured, clinical environment at Ste. Anne's Hospital while the most immediate difficulties are addressed. Medication is adjusted while multiple therapeutic approaches help rekindle a sense of well-being" Footnote4.

Residential Rehabilitation Program Added

Over the next few years, clinicians, OSISS and VAC administrators identified the need for residential treatment services for Canadian Veterans. The rationale for the inpatient clinic derived, in large part, from the research and experience gained in working with OSI patients in the Ste. Anne's outpatient clinic. Co-morbid conditions had presented significant challenges to treatment protocols given the complexity of the interaction, and as already indicated, outpatient care had either been insufficient or deemed ineffective in dealing with these conditions. The Treasury Board submission for the expansion of the OSI network in 2007 included the request for support to an inpatient clinic at Ste. Anne's Hospital. A full concept paper, prepared in October 2008 by the Clinical Expertise Sector of the National Centre for Operational Stress Injuries (NCOSI), laid the groundwork for the development of the Residential Treatment Clinic for Operational Stress Injuries. The RTC opened its doors in February 2010 with six beds available for inpatient care and dedicated to the provision of rehabilitative services including more intensive group therapy and an increased emphasis on life skills and coping strategies. Within a month of its launch, the stabilization program and its four beds were co-located within the RTC facility thus bringing the two programs under its auspices and raising the total number of beds dedicated to inpatient care to ten.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

4.0 Contexte

4.1 Émergence des cliniques de traitement des TSO

Au milieu des années 1990, la cadence des opérations des Forces canadiennes s’est intensifiée en raison des engagements en Bosnie et en Croatie, au Rwanda, en Somalie et lors de la première guerre du Golfe. Cette intensification de la cadence des opérations se poursuit aujourd’hui avec le déploiement de troupes en Afghanistan. La nature de ces conflits est toutefois différente de celle des conflits auxquels les membres des Forces canadiennes (CF) ont participé antérieurement. Les membres des FC sont plus que jamais placés dans des situations périlleuses, et ce, pendant des périodes plus longues et avec moins de temps pour récupérer. Toute personne ayant vécu un événement comme des opérations de combat peut souffrir d’un SSPT ou d’un autre TSO. Cette exposition accrue à des conflits ou à des situations traumatisantes a contribué à la hausse du nombre de TSO. Bien que la plupart des personnes se réadaptent de façon harmonieuse lors de leur retour à la vie civile, bon nombre d’entre elles bénéficieront d’un soutien supplémentaire en santé mentale et certaines recevront un diagnostic de TSO. Le syndrome de stress post traumatique, la dépression, la toxicomanie et la phobie sociale font partie des problèmes de santé mentale les plus courants auxquels sont confrontés les soldats qui reviennent au pays.

La demande croissante de services de santé mentale spécialisés et l’appui important du public pour ce qui est d’offrir de l’aide aux soldats de retour au pays ont incité le MDN à participer, vers la fin des années 1990, à l’établissement de cinq centres de soutien pour trauma et stress opérationnels (CSTSO) dans les principales bases des FC réparties dans l’ensemble du Canada, soit celles d’Halifax, de Valcartier, d’Ottawa, d’Edmonton et d’Esquimalt. Ces CSTSO ont été mis en place en vue d’offrir des services de santé mentale spécialisés aux membres des FC souffrant d’un TSO subi lors d’une opération militaire, ainsi qu’à leurs familles. Ces cliniques ont aidé à répondre à la demande en matière de services de santé mentale des membres des FC, mais la capacité des centres et des collectivités en général demeurait insuffisante pour répondre aux besoins des anciens combattants qui relevaient d’ACC.

En 2001, ACC a ouvert sa première clinique de traitement des TSO à l’Hôpital Sainte Anne, dans le cadre d’un projet pilote. En 2002, ACC et le MDN ont conjointement annoncé l’adoption d’une stratégie en matière de santé mentale visant à améliorer les services et le soutien offerts aux personnes atteintes d’un TSO, de plus en plus nombreuses. Pour répondre à l’augmentation de la demande de traitements et de services, ACC a mis sur pied quatre nouvelles cliniques à Québec, London, Winnipeg et Calgary, en s’inspirant du projet pilote mise en place à l’Hôpital Sainte Anne.

Épaulé par le MDN et la GRC, ACC a reçu, en 2007, l’approbation du Conseil du Trésor fédéral pour établir cinq nouvelles cliniques, ce qui portait à dix le nombre de cliniques TSO relevant d’ACC. Les nouvelles cliniques ont été mises en place à Vancouver, Fredericton, Ottawa et Edmonton, et une autre clinique a été mise sur pied à l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne. Cette dernière se distinguait des autres cliniques – elle a été établie à titre d’établissement offrant un traitement en résidence aux anciens combattants, membres des FC et membres de la GRC souffrant d’un SSPT plus complexe et de troubles comorbides (concomitants), comme la douleur chronique, la dépression, les troubles anxieux et la toxicomanie/l’abus de substances.

Les activités de huit des dix cliniques sont exercées selon les modalités d’un protocole d’entente conclu entre ACC et l’organisme hôte de la santé auprès de qui ACC achète des services de santé. Les cliniques TSO sont un cas unique de fournisseurs de services de santé externes, en ce sens que les activités de chacune des cliniques sont entièrement financées par ACC dans le but de fournir des services exclusifs à ses clients. Les deux autres cliniques, soit une clinique TSO de consultations externes et une clinique de traitement en résidence, sont administrées par l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne, un hôpital pour anciens combattants de propriété fédérale à Sainte Anne de-Bellevue, au Québec. Toutes les cliniques TSO offrent des services aux anciens combattants, aux membres des Forces canadiennes et aux membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, ainsi qu’aux membres de leur famille. À la figure 2 ci-dessous, le plus récent Rapport statistique trimestriel sur la santé mentale d’ACC illustre le nombre de dossiers actifs et de nouveaux aiguillages vers son réseau de cliniques en date du 31 mars 2011.

Figure 2 : Rapport statistique trimestriel sur la santé mentale – Cliniques TSO, 31 mars 2011

Cliniques TSO – par organisme d’aiguillage (Dossiers actifs)
Numero Dossiers actifs Total Ouest Ontario Québec Atl.
97 Anciens Combattants Canada 1,191 286 338 458 109
98 Ministère de la Défense nationale 319 122 71 68 58
99 Gendarmerie royale du Canada 79 43 * * 26
100 Membres de la famille (ACC, MDN, GRC) 159 57 29 65 8

* Les chiffres qui pourraient permettre l'identification de certaines personnes sont montrés avec un astérisque.

Cliniques TSO – par organisme d’aiguillage (Nouveaux aiguillages)
Numero Nouveaux aiguillages Total
101 Anciens Combattants Canada 190
102 Ministère de la Défense nationale 51
103 Gendarmerie royale du Canada 17
104 Membres de la famille (ACC, MDN, GRC) 34
Cliniques TSO – par organisme d’aiguillage (Dossiers fermés)
Numero Dossiers fermés Total
101 Anciens Combattants Canada 115
102 Ministère de la Défense nationale 54
103 Gendarmerie royale du Canada 5
104 Membres de la famille (ACC, MDN, GRC) 16

Source : Direction des politiques en matière de santé mentale d’ACC

Programme de soutien social aux victimes de stress opérationnel (SSVSO)

Partout dans le présent rapport, il est fait mention du programme Soutien social aux victimes de stress opérationnel (SSVSO). Le programme SSVSO est un programme établi conjointement par le MDN et ACC. La mission du programme SSVSO consiste à élaborer, établir et améliorer les programmes de soutien social destinés aux militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes (FC) aux prises avec un problème de stress opérationnel, ainsi qu’à leurs familles, et aux familles qui ont perdu un être cher, et à créer une atmosphère et un environnement propices à une compréhension et à une acceptation accrues des TSO. Après plus de dix ans d’existence, ce programme continue de contribuer d’une manière significative au processus de rétablissement. Le rôle du soutien par les pairs est brièvement discuté au sein de la section 5.3 du présent rapport.

4.2 Création d’une clinique de traitement en résidence (CTR) des traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel à l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne

Vision initiale

L’expérience acquise dans le cadre du projet pilote d’ACC visant l’établissement, en 2001, du Centre de traitement des TSO à l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne a donné lieu à l’adoption d’une nouvelle vision pour ce qu’on appelait alors le Centre Sainte Anne. Cette vision renouvelée préconisait la mise sur pied d’un programme de réadaptation en résidence pour le SSPT en vue de « fournir des soins 24 heures par jour, selon un cadre thérapeutique structuré et supervisé et visant à promouvoir de solides valeurs en matière de traitement et de rétablissement. Les personnes admises au programme devront suivre un traitement dans un bâtiment distinct du centre hospitalier et être cliniquement stables et suffisamment autonomes pour veiller à leurs soins quotidiens et satisfaire à leurs besoins de sécurité. Tous les participants au programme de réadaptation en résidence pour le SSPT devront consacrer au moins 25 heures par semaine à des activités thérapeutiques et de réadaptation précises [traduction] »Note de bas de page3. La nouvelle vision prévoyait également l’établissement d’une clinique de gestion de la douleur et d’une infrastructure de télésanté mentale à l’Hôpital Sainte Anne.

Lancement du programme de stabilisation

Continuant de faire fond sur son expérience et suivant sa vision, l’Hôpital Sainte Anne a lancé en 2002 un programme interne de stabilisation offrant quatre lits affectés à des soins ininterrompus. La stabilisation médicale de l’affection mentale d’une personne est essentielle pour qu’elle puisse bénéficier des autres effets et avantages des soins continus. « Une personne ayant un traumatisme lié au stress opérationnel (TSO) peut vivre une période où sa capacité de faire face à des situations personnelles, sociales ou de travail se trouve diminuée considérablement. Cette diminution peut survenir par exemple si la médication demande à être ajustée, lorsqu’une supervision clinique ou un soutien psychologique plus intensif est nécessaire. Le Programme interne de stabilisation pour traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel aidera les clients à développer des habiletés pour mieux gérer leurs symptômes; ils pourront ensuite poursuivre leur traitement en consultation externe au sein de leur collectivité.

Les clients séjournent dans un milieu clinique structuré à l'Hôpital Sainte-Anne où sont traitées leurs principales difficultés. La médication est réévaluée, et diverses approches de traitement aident les clients à retrouver un sentiment de mieux-être. » Note de bas de page4

Ajout du programme de réadaptation en résidence

Au cours des années qui ont suivi, le besoin d’offrir des services de traitement en résidence pour continuer de répondre aux besoins des anciens combattants canadiens a aussi été soulevé par les cliniciens, le groupe SSVSO et les administrateurs d’ACC. La justification de l’établissement de la clinique interne provient, en grande partie, de la recherche et de l’expérience acquise en travaillant auprès des patients souffrant de TSO qui sont traités à la clinique de consultation externe, à l’Hôpital Sainte Anne. Les affections comorbides ont soulevé des défis de taille en ce qui a trait aux protocoles de traitement, compte tenu de la complexité de l’interaction de ces affections et, comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, du fait que les soins offerts en consultation externe se sont révélés insuffisants ou ont été jugés inefficaces pour traiter ces affections. La présentation au Conseil du Trésor de 2007 en vue de l’expansion du réseau de cliniques TSO portait notamment sur la demande de soutien pour l’ouverture d’une clinique de traitement en résidence à l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne. Un document de conception détaillé, préparé en octobre 2008 par le Secteur de l’expertise clinique du Centre national pour traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel (CNTSO), a jeté les bases pour l’établissement de la Clinique de traitement en résidence des traumatismes liés au stress opérationnel. La CTR a ouvert ses portes en février 2010 avec six lits disponibles pour les soins en clinique interne et destinés à la prestation de services de réadaptation, notamment en offrant une thérapie de groupe plus intensive et en mettant davantage l’accent sur les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne et les stratégies d’adaptation. Au cours du mois suivant son lancement, le programme de stabilisation et ses quatre lits partageaient des locaux avec le programme de réadaptation au sein de la CTR, les deux programmes devenant ainsi sous les auspices de cette dernière, ce qui portait à dix le nombre de lits consacrés aux soins offerts en clinique interne.

Date de modification :