Language selection

Executive Summary

Since 1981, Veterans Affairs Canada has administered a community-based, national program to eligible Veterans, their families, and other primary care-givers. These services include home care, home adaptations, ambulatory health care, and intermediate nursing home care. Now known as the Veterans Independence Program, it offers self-managed care in co-operation with provinces and regional health authorities. The program allows eligible Veterans, their families, and other primary care-givers to focus on maintaining their health, independence, and their quality of life. Every effort is being made to integrate the Veterans Independence Program administration with provincial and local resources to ensure a cost-efficient choice of service is available and to avoid duplication of service delivery. As of March 31, 2011, there were 108,000 participants in the Veterans Independence Program and the total Veterans Independence Program expenditure for the fiscal year 2010-2011 was $338 million.

Veterans Affairs Canada is responsible for setting up and amending the contribution arrangements while an external Contractor, Medavie Blue Cross, is responsible for processing the claims. There were 475,060 transactions processed between December 2010 and April 2011. The expected turnaround time to process a claim is ten business days.

In the Spring of 2011, Senior Management requested an audit of the Veterans Independence Program reimbursement process to identify opportunities to further improve the process. This audit builds off the results of a 2010 audit of Veterans Independence Program and is focused on a single objective to assess the efficiency and effectiveness of the reimbursement process. The scope covered the period from November 2010 to April 2011.

Audit Opinion

In the opinion of the audit team, the Veterans Independence Program reimbursement process was determined to be generally acceptable. One issue with compliance was identified as well, there is a need to establish and communicate a service standard for claims referred to Veterans Affairs Canada for action. However, the audit results indicated that the reimbursement process was reasonably efficient and effective with 97% of transactions processed within 10 business days and there was an appropriate monitoring system in place.

Recommendations

Recommendation 1

It is recommended that the Director General, Service Delivery Management Division, ensure that staff processing Veterans Independence Program reimbursement claims understand what is required with regard to the documentation of decision making; as well as provide training on the functionalities of the Federal Health Claims Processing System. (Essential)

  1. Corrective action to be taken

    Complete the development of training materials on the process to document decision making and on the functionalities of the Federal Health Claims Processing System.

    OPI (Office of Primary Interest)

    Service Delivery Management

    Target date

    December 2011

  2. Corrective action to be taken

    Deliver training

    OPI (Office of Primary Interest)

    Service Delivery Management

    Target date

    March 2012

Recommendation 2

It is recommended that the Director General, Policy and Research Division, ensure that Veterans who receive the Veterans Independence Program benefits meet legislative eligibility requirements. (Critical)

  1. Corrective action to be taken

    Implement the new policy

    OPI (Office of Primary Interest)

    Program Policy

    Target date

    March 2012

Recommendation 3

It is recommended that the Director General, Service Delivery Management Division, clearly establish, document and communicate the service standards for claims referred to Veterans Affairs Canada for action. (Essential)

  1. Corrective action to be taken

    Review and ensure appropriate service standards are in place for the Veterans Independence Program

    OPI (Office of Primary Interest)

    Service Delivery Management

    Target date

    January 2012

  2. Corrective action to be taken

    Communicate service standards to staff

    OPI (Office of Primary Interest)

    Service Delivery Management

    Target date

    March 2012

Statement of Assurance

In the professional judgment of the Chief Audit Executive, sufficient and appropriate audit procedures have been conducted and evidence gathered to support with a high level of assurance the accuracy of the audit opinion provided in this report. This audit opinion is based on a comparison of the situation at the time of the audit and the pre-established audit criteria that were agreed on with management. The audit opinion is only applicable to the entity, process and system examined. The evidence was gathered in compliance with Treasury Board policy, directives, and standards on internal audit and the procedures used meet the professional standards of the Institute of Internal Auditors. The evidence gathered is sufficient to provide senior management with a high level of assurance on the audit opinion.

Orignal Signed By
Don Love
Chief Audit Executive

Date
October 3, 2011

  • The Audit Team consisted of:
  • Jonathan Adams, Audit & Evaluation Director
  • Bob Parsons, Audit & Evaluation Manager
  • Shoba W. Hariharan, Audit & Evaluation Officer
  • Jodi Shea, Project Officer
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sommaire

Depuis 1981, Anciens Combattants Canada administre un programme communautaire à l’échelle nationale destiné aux anciens combattants, aux familles et aux autres principaux dispensateurs de soins admissibles. Les services offerts comprennent les soins à domicile, les adaptations au domicile, les soins ambulatoires et les soins intermédiaires en maison de repos. Ce programme, maintenant connu sous le nom de Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants, offre l’autogestion des soins en collaboration avec les provinces et les régies régionales de la santé. Il permet aux anciens combattants, aux familles et aux autres dispensateurs de soins admissibles de se concentrer sur leur santé, leur autonomie et leur qualité de vie. Tout est mis en œuvre pour intégrer la gestion du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants à des ressources provinciales et locales afin d’assurer un choix de services rentables et d’éviter les chevauchements. En date du 31 mars 2011, le Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants comptait 108 000 bénéficiaires, et les dépenses totales du programme pour l’exercice 2010-2011 s’élevaient à 338 millions de dollars.

Il incombe à Anciens Combattants Canada d’établir et de modifier les ententes de contribution, alors qu’un entrepreneur externe, Croix Bleue Medavie, est chargé du traitement des demandes. Entre décembre 2010 et avril 2011, 475 060 transactions ont été traitées. Le délai prévu pour traiter une demande est de dix jours ouvrables.

Au printemps 2011, la haute direction a demandé une vérification du processus de remboursement du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants afin de cerner les possibilités d’améliorer davantage le processus. Cette vérification, qui prendra appui sur les résultats d’une vérification du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants réalisée en 2010, est axée en grande partie sur un seul objectif : évaluer l’efficience et l’efficacité du processus de remboursement. La vérification a porté sur la période allant de novembre 2010 à avril 2011.

Opinion de vérification

Selon l’équipe de vérification, le processus de remboursement du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants a été classé comme étant généralement acceptable. Par ailleurs, une question d’observation a été soulevée, d’où la nécessité d’établir et de communiquer une norme de service pour les demandes renvoyées à Anciens Combattants Canada pour intervention. Cependant, les résultats de la vérification ont montré que le processus de remboursement est raisonnablement efficient et efficace, compte tenu que 97 pour cent des transactions ont été traitées dans un délai de 10 jours ouvrables et qu’un système de surveillance adéquat est en place.

Recommandations

Recommandation 1

Il est recommandé que la directrice générale, Direction générale de la gestion des programmes et de la prestation des services, voit à ce que les employés qui traitent les demandes de remboursement du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants comprennent ce qui est requis relativement à la documentation pour la prise de décision et à ce qu’une formation soit donnée sur les fonctionnalités du Système fédéral de traitement des demandes de soins de santé. (Essentiel)

  1. Mesure corrective à prendre

    Mettre la dernière main à l’élaboration du matériel de formation sur le processus relatif à la documentation de la prise de décision et sur les fonctionnalités du Système fédéral de traitement des demandes de soins de santé.

    BPR (Bureau de première responsabilité)

    Gestion de la prestation des services

    Date cible

    Décembre 2011

  2. Mesure corrective à prendre

    Dispenser la formation

    OPI (Office of Primary Interest)

    Gestion de la prestation des services

    Target date

    Mars 2012

Recommendation 2

Il est recommandé que le directeur général, Direction générale des politiques et de la recherche, voit à ce que les anciens combattants qui reçoivent des avantages du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants satisfassent aux conditions d’admissibilité prévues par la loi. (Critique)

  1. Mesure corrective à prendre

    Mettre en application la nouvelle politique

    BPR (Bureau de première responsabilité)

    Politiques en matière de programmes

    Target date

    Mars 2012

Recommandation 3

Il est recommandé que la directrice générale, Direction générale de la gestion des programmes et de la prestation des services, établisse clairement, documente et communique les normes de service pour les demandes renvoyées à Anciens Combattants Canada pour intervention. (Essentiel)

  1. Mesure corrective à prendre

    Revoir les normes de service existantes et veiller à ce que des normes de service adéquates soient en place pour le Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants

    BPR (Bureau de première responsabilité)

    Gestion de la prestation des services

    Date cible

    Janvier 2012

  2. Mesure corrective à prendre

    Communiquer les normes de service au personnel

    BPR (Bureau de première responsabilité)

    Gestion de la prestation des services

    Date cible

    Mars 2012

Énoncé d’assurance

Selon le jugement professionnel du dirigeant principal de la vérification, les procédures de vérification et les preuves recueillies étaient suffisantes et appropriées pour appuyer un niveau d’assurance élevé quant au caractère adéquat de l’opinion fournie dans le présent rapport. Cette opinion est fondée sur une comparaison entre la situation au moment de la vérification et les critères de vérification préétablis et convenus avec la direction et ne s’applique qu’à l’entité, au processus et au système examinés. Les éléments de preuve ont été recueillis conformément aux politiques, directives et normes du Conseil du Trésor en ce qui concerne la vérification interne, et les procédures utilisées satisfont aux normes professionnelles de l’Institut des vérificateurs internes. Les éléments de preuve recueillis étaient suffisants pour offrir à la haute direction un niveau d’assurance élevé quant à l’opinion formulée dans le présent rapport.

L’original a été signé par
Don Love
Dirigeant principal de la vérification

Date
3 octobre 2011

  • L’équipe d’évaluation était constituée des personnes suivantes :
  • Jonathan Adams, directeur de la vérification et de l’évaluation
  • Bob Parsons, gestionnaire de la vérification et de l’évaluation
  • Shoba W. Hariharan, agente de vérification et d’évaluation
  • Jodi Shea, agente de projet
Date de modification :