Language selection

Executive Summary

Background

This Rehabilitation Services Evaluation was conducted in accordance with Veterans Affairs Canada's (VAC) approved Multi-year Risk Based Evaluation Plan 2013-2018.

Established in 2006, the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act (hereinafter referred to as the New Veterans Charter or NVC)Footnote 1, shifts the Department's focus from one of disability to one of wellness and responds to Canada's commitment to injured Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members and Veterans. As part of the NVC, the Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program (hereinafter referred to as the Program) provides eligible Veteran recipients and their spouse/survivor(s) with one or more of the following types of rehabilitation services: medical, psychosocial, or vocational. In fiscal year 2012-13, the Program funded $18.4 million in benefits and services.

The intent of the Program is to support the reasonable restoration of functioning in the following five major areas: mental and physical functioning; social adjustment; family relationships; financial security, employment and personal productivity; and community participation. Recipients are primarily Veterans who were recently medically-released from the CAF, or CAF Veterans who have a health problem resulting primarily from service which is creating a barrier to their re-establishment in civilian life. Veterans often present with complex co-morbidFootnote 2 conditions which require the use of the various available medical and psychosocial rehabilitation benefits and services.

The evaluation examined the relevance and performance of the Program and was conducted in accordance with Treasury Board (TB) requirements and TB Secretariat guidance material. The evaluation findings and conclusions are based on the analysis of multiple lines of evidence.

Overall Results

Relevance

The evaluation confirms a continuing need for the Program as the number of eligible recipients is increasing annually, the usage of benefits and services are increasing, and forecasts indicate this trend will continue. In addition, a need for the Program has been indicated by various Veteran groups and studies. The Program is aligned with the priorities of the Government of Canada, as well as the strategic plans of the Department.

Performance - Achievement of Expected Outcomes

More appropriate health, functional capacity and vocational performance measures would allow for better measurement of the participant's success in the Program. In addition, the assessment process would benefit by having earlier and more holistic consultation with health and rehabilitation professionals to promote the success of participants in the Program.

For the past three fiscal years, more than 95% of those who apply to the Program became eligible. The evaluation team noted that eligible Veterans:

  • received an assessment of need following determination of eligibility;
  • received access to funding for rehabilitation services but it was not always timely (within 90 days of eligibility);
  • acquired the knowledge, skills, and abilities to achieve their occupational goal; and
  • experienced positive family relationships but limited integration within their communities; yet
  • were not achieving their employment goals at a high rate.

Data gathered since the Program's inception shows that a participant may remain in the Program for a long period of time. For example, of the participants who entered the Program in 2006-2007, approximately 33% (324 of 989) are still in the Program. As of March 31, 2013, 2,342 recipients have completed the Program since its inception.

The success of the Program is dependent on recipients completing the Program and this is not occurring at the rate expected. The Financial Benefits Program has a range of monetary benefits which may be deterring Veterans from participating in the vocational aspects of the Program and the labour force. These issues may be addressed in the context of the current NVC Review or in response to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs (ACVA) report, The New Veterans Charter: Moving Forward and may be part of an upcoming NVC Financial Benefits Evaluation which the Audit and Evaluation Division plans to begin in 2015-16.

Performance - Demonstration of Economy and Efficiency

Original forecasts for the Program displayed an expected rapid increase and corresponding decrease in expenditures before fiscal year 2010-11. In actuality, the Program experienced a steady growth in expenditures since inception and those expenditures are forecast to continue to increase. As of September 2013, the Department forecasts a 97% increase ($18.4 million to $36.2 million) in expenditures between 2012-13 and 2017-18.

Program resource utilization costs are those costs associated with delivering a program and include salaries, operating and maintenance, employee benefits, and contract administration costs. These costs could not be estimated with an acceptable level of confidence. The allocation method for the Program needs to be revised to more accurately reflect the Program's costs.

Recent initiatives have improved efficiency within the Program such as increased decision-making authority for front-line workers and streamlined policies. Also, a recent legislative amendment has streamlined the process for approving education/training expenses for vocational rehabilitation.

The evaluation findings resulted in the following recommendations:

Recommendation 1

It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery, develops:

  • measurable program-specific performance indicators to assess "improved health and functional capacity" for the intermediate outcome; and
  • more appropriate vocational indicators to assess program success.
Recommendation 2

It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery, reviews the Program's assessment process to facilitate earlier consultation with health and rehabilitation professionals.

Recommendation 3

It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources and Corporate Services Branch, in collaboration with the Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery, develops an appropriate methodology to accurately calculate the costs of the Program.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sommaire

Contexte

Le présent rapport est le fruit d'une évaluation des services de réadaptation menée conformément au Plan d'évaluation pluriannuel axé sur les risques 2013-2018 approuvé par Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC).

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur, en 2006, de la Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d'indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes (appelée ci-après « la Nouvelle Charte des anciens combattants » ou « la NCAC »)Note de bas de page 1, le Ministère met désormais l'accent sur le mieux-être plutôt que sur l'invalidité et concrétise l'engagement du Canada envers les membres et les vétérans blessés des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC). Le Programme de services de réadaptation et d'assistance professionnelle (appelé ci-après « le Programme »), qui fait partie de la NCAC, offre aux vétérans admissibles, ainsi qu'à leur conjoint et à leurs survivants, des services de réadaptation médicale, psychosociale et professionnelle. Au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013, des avantages et des services ont été financés pour 18,4 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Programme.

Le Programme vise à faciliter le retour des participants à un degré de fonctionnement raisonnable dans les cinq grands domaines suivants : le fonctionnement mental et physique; l'adaptation sociale; les relations familiales; la sécurité financière, l'emploi et la productivité personnelle; et la participation à la vie de la collectivité. Les participants sont surtout des vétérans qui ont récemment été libérés des FAC pour des raisons médicales ou encore des vétérans des FAC qui souffrent d'un problème de santé, principalement attribuable à leur service militaire, les empêchant de réintégrer la vie civile. Souvent, les vétérans souffrent de troubles concomitantsNote de bas de page 2 complexes nécessitant le recours aux divers avantages et services de réadaptation médicale et psychosociale offerts dans le cadre du Programme.

L'évaluation a porté sur la pertinence et le rendement du Programme, et elle a été menée conformément aux exigences du Conseil du Trésor et aux documents de référence du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Les constatations et les conclusions découlant de l'évaluation sont fondées sur l'analyse de multiples sources de données.

Résultats globaux

Pertinence

Selon les résultats de l'évaluation, il y a un besoin continu pour le Programme, puisque le nombre de participants admissibles augmente d'année en année, puisque le recours aux avantages et aux services est à la hausse et, enfin, puisque, d'après les prévisions, cette tendance se maintiendra. De plus, divers groupes de vétérans ont fait savoir que le Programme demeure pertinent, et les résultats de plusieurs études abondent dans ce sens. Le Programme est conforme aux priorités du gouvernement du Canada ainsi qu'aux plans stratégiques du Ministère.

Rendement – Réalisation des résultats escomptés

Des mesures de rendement plus adéquates en matière de santé, de capacité fonctionnelle et de réadaptation professionnelle permettraient de mieux évaluer la réussite des participants au Programme. D'ailleurs, le processus d'évaluation des besoins serait amélioré si on consultait davantage les professionnels de la santé et de la réadaptation, et ce, plus tôt dans le processus, en vue de favoriser la réussite des participants.

Au cours des trois derniers exercices, plus de 95 % des personnes qui ont demandé de participer au Programme ont été jugés admissibles. L'équipe d'évaluation a fait les constatations suivantes :

  • Après avoir établi l'admissibilité des vétérans, on a évalué leurs besoins.
  • Les vétérans ont bénéficié d'une aide financière pour l'obtention de services réadaptation, mais pas toujours rapidement (dans les 90 jours après avoir été jugés admissibles).
  • Ils ont acquis les connaissances, les compétences et les capacités requises pour atteindre leur objectif professionnel.
  • Ils entretiennent des relations positives avec leur famille, quoiqu'ils ne participent que de façon limitée à la vie de leur collectivité.
  • Pourtant, ils ne sont pas aussi nombreux que cela à atteindre leur objectif d'emploi.

Selon les données recueillies depuis la création du Programme, certains vétérans demeurent dans le Programme pendant une longue période. Par exemple, des 989 participants qui se sont inscrits au Programme en 2006-2007, environ 33 % (324) y sont toujours inscrits. Au 31 mars 2013, 2 342 clients avaient suivi le Programme jusqu'au bout.

La réussite du Programme dépend du nombre de participants qui suivent le Programme jusqu'au bout. Or, ce nombre n'est pas aussi élevé que prévu. Il se peut que l'éventail d'avantages financiers prévu par le Programme d'avantages financiers dissuade les vétérans de participer au volet de réadaptation professionnelle du Programme et au marché du travail. Ces questions, qui pourraient être abordées dans le cadre de l'examen de la NCAC actuellement en cours ou en réponse au rapport du Comité permanent des anciens combattants (CPAC) de la Chambre des communes, intitulé La Nouvelle Charte des anciens combattants : Allons de l'avant, pourraient également être visées par l'évaluation des avantages financiers prévus par la NCAC que compte amorcer la Direction générale de la vérification et de l'évaluation en 2015-2016.

Rendement – Démonstration d'efficience et d'économie

Selon les prévisions originales du Programme, les dépenses liées au Programme devaient augmenter rapidement et diminuer rapidement avant l'exercice 2010-2011. En réalité, elles se sont accrues progressivement depuis la création du Programme, et elles devraient continuer d'augmenter dans les années à venir. En septembre 2013, le Ministère prévoyait une augmentation des dépenses de l'ordre de 97 % entre 2012-2013 et 2017-2018 (passant de 18,4 à 36,2 millions de dollars).

Les coûts liés à l'utilisation des ressources d'un programme correspondent aux coûts associés à l'exécution du programme, notamment les salaires, les dépenses de fonctionnement et d'entretien, les avantages sociaux et les coûts d'administration des marchés. L'équipe d'évaluation n'a pas pu estimer ces coûts avec un degré de confiance acceptable. La méthode de répartition des ressources du Programme doit être révisée afin de mieux refléter les coûts du Programme.

Des initiatives récentes ont amélioré l'efficience du Programme, par exemple, la délégation de pouvoirs décisionnels accrus aux employés de première ligne et la simplification des politiques. En outre, une modification législative adoptée récemment a permis de simplifier le processus d'approbation des dépenses d'études ou de formation liées à la réadaptation professionnelle.

Compte tenu de ses constatations, l'équipe d'évaluation fait les recommandations suivantes :

Recommandation 1

Il est recommandé que le sous-ministre adjoint de la Prestation des services conçoive :

  • des indicateurs de rendement mesurables, propres au Programme, afin qu'on puisse évaluer l'amélioration de l'état de santé et de la capacité fonctionnelle des vétérans (résultat intermédiaire);
  • de meilleurs indicateurs pour la réadaptation professionnelle, afin qu'on puisse évaluer la réussite du Programme.
Recommendation 2

Il est recommandé que le sous-ministre adjoint de la Prestation des services révise le processus d'évaluation des besoins employé pour le Programme afin de permettre la consultation hâtive des professionnels de la santé et de la réadaptation.

Recommendation 3

Il est recommandé que la sous-ministre adjointe des Ressources humaines et des Services ministériels, en collaboration avec le sous-ministre adjoint de la Prestation des services, élabore une méthode efficace de calculer avec exactitude les coûts du Programme.

Date de modification :