Executive Summary

Prior to the introduction of the Marihuana for Medical Purposes Regulations (MMPR), the Medical Marihuana Access Regulations (MMARs) extremely limited access to cannabis to a small number of conditions and circumstances and only when authorized by a specialist. Since 2008, Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) has provided coverage for the cost of marijuana for medical purposes (MMP) to Veterans who obtained the product in accordance with Health Canada regulations. Under the MMARs , access was in limited circumstances and the number of Veterans receiving MMP were appropriately low.

On April 1st, 2014, Health Canada released new regulations which eliminated the need to meet certain health criteria before obtaining MMP. The new regulations allow private producers, licensed by Health Canada, to supply MMP to Canadians who have authorization from a physician to access the product. The licensed producers determine the price to charge their recipients. The number of recipients with active authorizations for MMP has been increasing every year. Expenditures for MMP have increased from approximately $416,000 in fiscal year 2013-14 to $20,538,153 in fiscal year 2015-16.

In March 2016, the Minister of Veterans Affairs, the Honourable Kent Hehr, announced a comprehensive review of MMP in response to observations from the Auditor General of Canada.

The scope of the review included background data analysis and information from 2008 until March 31, 2016 and MMP authorization file review population from April 1, 2015 until March 31, 2016. Data and file review populations excluded Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) members.

Objectives of the review included the development of a recipient profile, assessment of VAC's internal governance and compliance, identification of gaps in Veteran health, safety and well-being; and, a review of other benefits, services and programs that the Department is providing to Veterans in receipt of MMP.

Recommendations

It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Commemoration and the Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery develop and implement a policy concerning marijuana for medical purposes. The policy to include:

  1. Lower gram limits for new authorizations;
  2. Review of current authorized amounts for existing beneficiaries; and
  3. Cannabis oil and fresh marijuana.

It is recommended that the Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery determine training gaps and deliver training to VAC staff in relation to marijuana for medical purposes.

Chief Audit Executive's Signature

Sheri Ostridge
Chief Audit Executive

Date: November 15, 2016

Date modified:

Sommaire

Avant l’adoption du Règlement sur la marihuana à des fins médicales (RMFM), le Règlement sur l’accès à la marihuana à des fins médicales (RAMFM) était extrêmement restrictif. En effet, il prévoyait l’accès au cannabis que dans des circonstances limitées, et cet accès devait être autorisé par un spécialiste. Depuis 2008, Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) remboursait le coût lié à la marijuana à des fins médicales (MFM) aux vétérans qui se procuraient le produit conformément aux règlements de Santé Canada. Lorsque le RAMFM était en vigueur, l’accès à la MFM était limité et, par conséquent, le nombre de vétérans recevant de la MFM était faible.

Le 1er avril 2014, Santé Canada a diffusé de nouveaux règlements. Dorénavant, il n’est plus nécessaire de répondre à certains critères de santé pour se procurer de la MFM. Les nouveaux règlements permettent aux producteurs privés autorisés par Santé Canada de fournir de la MFM aux Canadiens ayant reçu l’autorisation d’un médecin. Les producteurs autorisés déterminent le prix à facturer à leurs clients. Le nombre de personnes autorisées à recevoir de la MFM augmente d’année en année. Entre l’exercice 2013-2014 et l’exercice 2015-2016, les dépenses liées à la MFM sont passées d’environ 416 000 $ à 20 538 153 $.

En réponse aux observations du vérificateur général du Canada, le ministre des Anciens Combattants, l’honorable Kent Hehr, a annoncé en mars 2016 que les coûts liés à la MFM feraient l’objet d’un examen approfondi.

Dans le cadre de l’examen interne, l’équipe a analysé des données de base et d’autres renseignements couvrant la période de 2008 au 31 mars 2016. En outre, elle a examiné un échantillon de demandes de remboursement liées à la MFM ayant été approuvées entre le 1er avril 2015 et le 31 mars 2016. Les membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) ont été exclus de l’examen.

Les objectifs de l’examen étaient d’établir le profil des vétérans recevant de la MFM; d’évaluer la gouvernance interne et le degré de conformité d’ACC; de cerner les lacunes dans la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être des vétérans; ainsi que d’examiner les autres avantages, services et programmes offerts par le Ministère aux vétérans recevant de la MFM.

Recommandations

Il est recommandé que le sous-ministre adjoint, Politiques et Commémoration et le sous ministre adjoint, Prestation des services élaborent et mettent en œuvre une politique sur la marijuana à des fins médicales. La politique inclura notamment :

  1. des limites en grammes inférieures pour les nouvelles autorisations;
  2. l’examen des quantités auxquelles ont droit les vétérans recevant actuellement de la MFM;
  3. des dispositions concernant l’huile de cannabis et la marijuana fraîche.

Il est recommandé que le sous ministre adjoint, Prestation des services détermine les besoins de formation du personnel en matière de marijuana à des fins médicales et qu’il lui offre cette formation.

Signature de la dirigeante de la vérification

Sheri Ostridge
Dirigeante de la vérification

Date : le 15 Novembre 2016

Date de modification :