Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Bomber Command Web Portal

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) summary

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

André Levesque
A/DG Commemoration

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Shawn MacDougall
ATIP Coordinator

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Bomber Command Web Portal

Description of Program or Activity

A new Bomber Command honour has been created. The honour is in the form of a bar to be worn on the ribbon of the Canadian Volunteer Service Medal (CVSM). With this bar, Canada is honouring those Canadians who fought for peace, freedom and democracy through their service in Bomber Command, and in particular the approximately 10,000 who made the ultimate sacrifice.

The existing Order-in-Council governing the Canadian Volunteer Service Medal has been amended to include the eligibility criteria and the description of the new Bomber Command honour. All Canadian Veterans who were awarded the CVSM and served a minimum of one day with Bomber Command, regardless of rank or role, are eligible for this new bar. Loved ones of a deceased Canadian Bomber Command Veteran who hold the Veteran’s CVSM may also apply to receive this bar.

For more information on Canada’s role in Bomber Command, to apply online for the honour, or to download a hardcopy of the application form, please visit Veterans Affairs Canada.

VAC’s Privacy Impact Assessment explored the initiative to assess the privacy impacts. The PIA for this initiative has been submitted to Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) and the Office of the Privacy Commissioner (OPC).

Description of the Class of Record and Personal Information Bank associated with the program or activity

Ceremonies and Events: Class of Record

Honours and Awards: Personal Information Bank

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

Personal information is collected in accordance with Order in Council (OIC) 1965-688. The Canadian Volunteer Service Medal Order governs the administration of the Bomber Command bar, including the eligibility criteria.

Award Regulations

An applicant for an award shall provide the Minister with (a) any documentation necessary to substantiate the applicant's claim; (b) information on the applicant's domestic status; (c) any other relevant information; and (d) an affidavit or statutory declaration attesting to the truth of the information provided.

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Administration of Programs / Activity and Services
    • Personal information is used to make decisions that directly affect the individual (i.e. determining eligibility for programs including authentication for accessing programs/services, administering program payments, overpayments, or support to clients, issuing or denial of permits/licenses, processing appeals, etc.).

      Level of risk to privacy – 2

  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Only personal information provided by the individual – at the time of collection – relating to an authorized program & collected directly from the individual or with the consent of the individual for this disclosure / with no contextual sensitivities. The context in which the personal information is collected is not particularly sensitive.

      Level of risk to privacy – 1

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Within the institution (amongst one or more programs within the same institution)

      Level of risk to privacy – 1

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program - Existing program that has been modified or is established with no clear "sunset".

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain employees for internal administrative purposes.

      Level of risk to privacy – 1

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy - Yes

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and / or services?

      Risk to privacy - Yes

    3. Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc.) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – No

    4. Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance etc.

      Risk to privacy – No

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institution are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – No

  7. Personal Information Transmission
    • The personal information is used in system that has connections to at least one other system.

      Level of risk to privacy – 2

  8. Risk Impact to the Institution
    • Managerial harm - Processes must be reviewed, tools must be changed, change in provider / partner.

      Level of risk to privacy – 1

  9. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee
    • Inconvenience
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1
Date modified:

Portail Web du Bomber Command

Sommaire de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

André Levesque
DG p.i., Commémoration

Chef de l'institution fédérale ou son délégué pour l'application de l'article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Shawn MacDougall
Coordonateur de l'AIPRP

Nom du programme ou de l'activité de l'institution fédérale

Portail Web du Bomber Command

Description du programme ou de l'activité

Une distinction honorifique a été créée en hommage aux anciens combattants canadiens du Bomber Command. Il s’agit d’une barrette qui se porte sur le ruban de la Médaille canadienne du volontaire. Grâce à cette distinction, le gouvernement du Canada rend hommage aux Canadiens qui ont combattu à la défense de la paix, de la liberté et de la démocratie, en particulier les quelque 10 000 personnes qui ont fait le sacrifice ultime lors de leur service pendant les opérations du Bomber Command.

Le décret régissant la Médaille canadienne du volontaire a été modifié et prévoit maintenant des critères d’admissibilité et la description de la nouvelle distinction en hommage au Bomber Command. Tous les anciens combattants canadiens qui ont reçu la Médaille canadienne du volontaire et qui ont servi pendant au moins une journée au sein du Bomber Command, indépendamment de leur grade ou de leur rôle, sont admissibles à cette nouvelle décoration. Les proches qui détiennent la Médaille canadienne du volontaire au nom d’un ancien combattant canadien décédé ayant servi au sein du Bomber Command peuvent également solliciter la barrette.

Pour en savoir plus sur le rôle du Canada auprès du Bomber Command, ou pour télécharger une copie papier du formulaire de demande, visitez Anciens Combattants Canada.

Anciens Combattants Canada a examiné cette initiative et évalué les répercussions sur la vie privée. L’EFVP pour cette initiative a été présentée au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée.

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels associées au programme ou à l'activité

Cérémonies et activités : Catégorie de documents

Distinctions et décorations : Fichiers de renseignements personnels

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l'activité

Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis conformément au Décret 1965-688. La barrette du Bomber Command est régie par le Décret sur la Médaille canadienne des Volontaires, de même que les critères d'admissibilité.

Règlement sur les demandes de distinction

Le demandeur doit fournir au ministre : (a) tout document nécessaire à l'appui de sa demande; (b) information on the applicant's domestic status; (c) des renseignements sur sa situation de famille; (d) un affidavit ou une déclaration solennelle attestant la véracité des renseignements fournis.

Détermination et catégorisation des facteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l'EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. L'échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants. L'échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur. Veuillez consulter l'annexe C de la Directive sur l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du SCT pour en savoir davantage sur l'échelle de risques.

  1. Type de programme ou d'activité
    • Administration de programmes/activités et de services
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés pour prendre des décisions qui touchent directement la personne concernée (p. ex., la détermination de l'admissibilité à certains programmes, y compris l'authentification en vue d'accorder l'accès aux programmes ou aux services, l'administration des paiements effectués en vertu d'un programme, l'administration des trop-perçus, le soutien à la clientèle ou la délivrance ou le refus de permis et de licences, le traitement des appels, etc.)

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 2

  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Seuls les renseignements personnels fournis par la personne visée – au moment de la collecte – se rapportant à un programme autorisé et recueillis directement auprès de la personne visée ou avec le consentement de cette personne à la divulgation, sans sensibilité contextuelle.
      Le contexte dans lequel les renseignements personnels sont recueillis n'est pas particulièrement sensible.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 1

  3. Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l'activité
    • Au sein de l'institution (dans le cadre d'un seul programme ou de plusieurs programmes au sein de la même institution)

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 1

  4. Durée du programme ou de l'activité
    • Programme à long terme - Programme établi qui a été modifié ou qui est établi sans date de péremption claire

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 3

  5. Population visée par le programme
    • Le programme touche certains individus à des fins administratives externes.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 1

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. L'activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) comporte-t-il l'implantation d'un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d'application, y compris un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe) qui est implanté pour soutenir le programme ou l'activité eu égard à la création, la collecte ou la manipulation de renseignements personnels?

      Risque pour la vie privée - Oui

    2. L'activité ou le programme nouveau ou modifié exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

      Risque pour la vie privée - Oui

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique (comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, la lecture ou le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, la signature ou empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence (IRF), etc.) ainsi que la technologie des laissez passer facilités (Easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identification comportant des bandes magnétiques, comme les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée - Non

    4. Recours à la surveillance - Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance tels que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissances, l’IRF, la surveillance/interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée - Non

    5. Utilisation de l’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, du couplage de renseignements personnels et des techniques de découverte/acquisition de connaissances – Aux fins de la directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent préciser quelles activités comportent le recours à des technologies d’analyse, de création, de comparaison, de tri, d’identification ou d’extraction automatiques, d’éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités comprendraient le couplage (ou appariement) de renseignements personnels, le couplage de dossiers, l’exploration de renseignements personnels, la comparaison de renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances et le filtrage ou l’analyse d’informations. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée - Non

  7. Transmission des renseignements personnels
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système qui comporte des connexions à au moins un autre système.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 2

  8. Incidences des risques pour l'institution
    • Répercussions négatives au niveau de la direction/gestion - Les procédures/processus doivent être revus, les outils doivent être changés, il faut changer de fournisseur/partenaire.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 1

  9. Incidences des risques pour l'individu ou l'employé
    • Inconvénient

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée - 1

Date de modification :