Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Income Data Exchange (VAC and CRA) for Long Term Care Program and Veterans Independence Program – Intermediate Care

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Summary

Government Institution

Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC)

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Sandra Williamson
Director, Long Term Care and Disability Benefits

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Crystal Garrett-Baird
A/Director, Access to Information and Privacy

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Long Term Care Program and Veterans Independence Program – Intermediate Care

Description of Program or Activity:

Every year on October 1, as stipulated in the Veterans Health Care Regulations (VHCRs), Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) adjusts the monthly amount that Veterans in long term care facilities must contribute to their accommodation and meals (A&M) costs. Recipients of support through the Long Term Care (LTC) program and the Veterans Independence Program – Intermediate Care (VIP-IC) may be required to pay for the cost of accommodation and meals (A&M) up to a maximum amount. The amount of A&M that an individual contributes is based on an analysis of their income. An income analysis will also determine if the individual is eligible for long term care as income-qualified. As a result, VAC has entered into an agreement with Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) by way of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) which enables VAC to obtain income information directly from CRA. Obtaining the income data in this manner, with the individual’s consent, will ensure accurate income amounts are available and will result in a reduction of administrative burden on eligible Veterans and civilians and will result in significantly less processing time for VAC staff.

Description of the class of record and the Personal Information Bank

The Class of Record: Intermediate and Long Term Care (VAC MVA 880) Personal Information Banks: Non-departmental Institutions – Long Term Care (VAC PPU 619) and Non-departmental institutions - VIP (VAC PPU 618). These can be viewed at: VAC's Info Source Chapter.

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

Non-departmental Institutions – Long Term Care - VAC has authority to collect the information as it relates directly to and is required for the administration of VAC’s legislatively mandated program, the Long Term Care program. The information is specifically related to the determination of income-based eligibility for this program and the amount of Accommodation and Meals contributions under the VHCRs made under the Department of Veterans Affairs Act. Long Term Care (Non-departmental Institutions - LTC) is administered under Part III and IV of the VHCRs made under the Department of Veterans Affairs Act and is a VAC health care program which has income-based components.

Non-departmental institutions - VIP - VAC has authority to collect the information as it relates directly to and is required for the administration of VAC’s legislatively mandated program, the Veterans Independence Program. The information is specifically related to the determination of Accommodation and Meals contributions under the VHCRs made under the Department of Veterans Affairs Act. The Veterans Independence Program (Non-departmental Institutions - VIP) is administered under Part II and IV of the VHCRs made under the Department of Veterans Affairs Act and is a VAC health care program which has income-based components.

SIN Collection
Non-departmental Institutions -Long Term Care and Non-departmental Institutions – VIP VAC has authority to collect information, including SINs, that relates directly to and is required for the administration of the LTC Program and VIP in accordance with the Department of Veterans Affairs Act and the VHCRs. SIN's are required to obtain income information necessary for the administration of these programs. The LTC and VIP programs are Income and Health Care Programs of VAC which are authorized to collect SINs under the Treasury Board Directive on Social Insurance Numbers.

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level (1) represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Administration of Programs / Activity and Services.

      Level of risk to privacy – 2

  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Social Insurance Number, medical, financial or other sensitive personal information and/or the context surrounding the personal information is sensitive. Personal information of minors or incompetent individuals or involving a representative acting on behalf of the individual.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Within the institution (amongst one or more programs within the same institution)

      With other federal institutions

      Level of risk to privacy – 1&2

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy – No

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and / or services?

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    3. Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc.) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, "smart cards" (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – No

    4. Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance, etc.

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institution are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – Yes

  7. Personal Information Transmission

    Level of risk to privacy – 2

  8. Risk Impact to the Institution

    Potential for managerial harm (processes must be reviewed, tools must be changed, change in provider / partner); financial harm (lawsuit, additional moneys required, reallocation of financial resources); and reputational harm, embarrassment, loss of credibility (decrease confidence by the public, elected officials under the spotlight, institution strategic outcome compromised, government priority compromised, impact on the Government of Canada Outcome areas.)

    Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2, 3 & 4

  9. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee

    Potential for inconvenience, reputational harm, embarrassment and financial harm.

    Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2, & 3

Date modified:

Échange d’information (ACC et ARC) pour Programme de soins de longue durée et Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants – Soins intermédiaires

Sommaire de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP)

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Sandra Williamson
Directrice, Soins de longue durée et prestations d’invalidité

Responsable de l’institution fédérale ou son délégué pour l’application de l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Crystal Garrett-Baird
Directrice par intérim, Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels

Nom du programme ou de l’activité de l’institution gouvernementale

Programmes de soins de longue durée et Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants – Soins intermédiaires

Description du programme ou de l’activité

Le 1er octobre de chaque année, comme il est stipulé dans le Règlement sur les soins de santé pour anciens combattants (RSSAC), Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) rajuste le montant mensuel que les vétérans admis dans les établissements de soins de longue durée doivent payer pour les frais d’hébergement et de repas. Les bénéficiaires de soutien dans le cadre du Programme de soins de longue durée et du Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants – Soins intermédiaires pourraient être obligés de payer les frais d’hébergement et de repas jusqu’à un montant maximal. Le montant qu’un vétéran doit payer pour les frais d’hébergement et de repas est établi à la suite de l’analyse de son revenu. Cette analyse permet de déterminer si le vétéran est admissible aux soins de longue durée à titre de vétéran au revenu admissible. Pour faire cette détermination, ACC a conclu une entente avec l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) sous la forme d’un protocole d’entente qui permet à ACC d’obtenir des renseignements sur le revenu des vétérans directement de l’ARC. En obtenant les renseignements de cette façon, avec le consentement du vétéran, ACC a l’assurance qu’il a des montants exacts du revenu, ce qui réduira le fardeau administratif des vétérans et civils admissibles et diminuera grandement les délais de traitement par le personnel d’ACC.

Description de la catégorie de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels

Soins intermédiaires et de longue durée – Catégorie de document (ACC MAC 880) - catégorie de documents Établissements non ministériels – Soins de longue durée – Fichier de renseignements personnels (ACC PPU 619) et Établissements non ministériels – PAAC – Fichier de renseignements personnels (ACC PPU 618) La catégorie de documents et les fichiers de renseignements personnels peuvent être examinés à l’adresse : Chapitre Info Source d’ACC.

Fondement juridique du programme ou de l’activité

Établissements non ministériels – Soins de longue durée - ACC est autorisé à recueillir des renseignements dans la mesure où ceux-ci sont nécessaires et directement liés à la gestion du programme d’ACC dont le mandat est prescrit par la loi, soit le Programme des soins de longue durée. Ces renseignements sont directement liés à la détermination de l’admissibilité à ce programme qui est fondée sur le revenu et le montant à payer pour les frais d’hébergement et de repas prévu au RSSAC pris en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants. Le Programme des soins de longue durée (établissements non ministériels – SLD) est géré en vertu des parties III et IV du RSSAC pris en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants et est un programme de soins de santé d’ACC dont l’admissibilité à certaines composantes est fondée sur le revenu.

Établissements non ministériels - PAAC - ACC est autorisé à recueillir des renseignements dans la mesure où ceux-ci sont nécessaires et directement liés à la gestion du programme d’ACC dont le mandat est prescrit par la loi, soit le Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants. Ces renseignements sont directement liés à la détermination du montant à payer pour les frais d’hébergement et de repas prévu au RSSAC pris en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants. Le Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants (établissements non ministériels – PAAC) est géré en vertu des parties II et IV du RSSAC pris en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants et est un programme de soins de santé d’ACC dont l’admissibilité à certaines composantes est fondée sur le revenu.

Collecte du NAS
Établissements non ministériels – Soins de longue durée et établissements non ministériels – PAAC ACC est autorisé à recueillir des renseignements, y compris les NAS, dans la mesure où ceux-ci sont nécessaires et directement liés à l’administration du Programme de soins de longue durée et du PAAC en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants et du RSSAC. Il faut les NAS afin d’obtenir des renseignements sur le revenu qui sont nécessaires à l’administration de ces deux programmes. Le Programme de soins de longue durée et le Programme pour l’autonomie des anciens combattants sont des programmes de soutien du revenu et de soins de santé d’ACC dont les responsables sont autorisés à obtenir les NAS en vertu de la Directive du Conseil du Trésor sur le numéro d’assurance sociale.

Détermination et catégorisation des facteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l’EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. Une échelle de risques est incluse. L’échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur. Veuillez consulter l'annexe C de la Directive sur l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du SCT pour en savoir davantage sur l'échelle de risques.

  1. Type de programme ou d’activité
    • Administration de programmes/d’activités et de services

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Numéro d’assurance sociale, renseignements médicaux ou financiers ou autres renseignements personnels sensibles et/ou éléments contextuels sensibles entourant les renseignements personnels. Renseignements personnels sur les mineurs, les personnes inaptes ou un représentant agissant au nom de l'individu concerné.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  3. Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité
    • Au sein de l’institution (un ou plusieurs programmes de la même institution)

      Avec d’autres institutions fédérales.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1 et 2

  4. Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    • Programme de longue durée

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  5. Population visée par le programme
    • Le programme touche certains individus à des fins administratives externes.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. a) L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) comporte-t-il l’implantation d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, y compris un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe) qui est implanté pour soutenir le programme ou l’activité eu égard à la création, la collecte ou la manipulation de renseignements personnels?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    2. b) L’activité ou le programme nouveau ou modifié exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique (comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, l’empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence (IRF) etc.) ainsi que la technologie des laissez-passer facilités (Easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identification comportant des bandes magnétiques, comme les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    4. Recours à la surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance telles que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissance, l’IRF, la surveillance/interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    5. e) Utilisation de l’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, du couplage de renseignements personnels et des techniques de découverte de connaissances – Aux fins de la directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent préciser quelles activités comportent le recours à des technologies d’analyse, de création, de comparaison, de tri, d’identification ou d’extraction automatiques d’éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités comprendraient le couplage de renseignements personnels, le couplage de dossiers, l’exploration de renseignements personnels, la comparaison de renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances et le filtrage ou l’analyse d’informations. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

  7. Transmission de renseignements personnels

    Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système qui est connecté à au moins un autre système.

    Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

  8. Incidences des risques pour l’institution

    Répercussions négatives éventuelles au chapitre de la direction/gestion (les processus doivent être revus, les outils doivent être changés, il faut changer de fournisseur/partenaire); préjudice financier (poursuites, sommes supplémentaires requises, réaffectation des ressources financières); et atteinte à la réputation, embarras, perte de crédibilité (diminution de la confiance du public, élus placés sous les projecteurs, résultats stratégiques de l’institution compromis, priorité gouvernementale compromise, répercussions sur les secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada).

    Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2, 3 et 4

  9. Incidences des risques pour l’individu ou l’employé

    Possibilité d’inconvénients, d’atteinte à la réputation, d’embarras et de préjudice financier

    Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2 et 3

Date de modification :