Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) summary

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Mary Nicholson
Director, Re-establishment, Financial Well-being and Business Intelligence Directorate

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Crystal Garret-Baird
Director, Privacy and Information Management

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program

Description of Program or Activity

The Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program (Rehabilitation Program) is one of a suite of wellness programs designed to help modern-day Veterans and their families make and maintain the transition to civilian life. The Program offers comprehensive services, as part of an individualized rehabilitation plan, that can help restore their ability to function at home, and in their community and workplace. Eligible clients include Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) Veterans and, in certain cases, their spouses, common-law partners or survivors. The VAC Rehabilitation Program offers: medical rehabilitation services; psycho-social rehabilitation services; vocational rehabilitation services; and vocational assistance services.

The Rehabilitation Program is accessed through one of VAC's case managers located in local field offices across the country, or from VAC staff located on major CAF bases and wings. Rehabilitation services are usually provided through a network of local experts and based on the Veteran’s or other program participant’s provider of choice.

After the completion of the 2007 PIA for Rehabilitation Services, the business process was changed to include a third party contractor in the delivery model. While the decisions regarding eligibility are always made by VAC, some assessments and the delivery of vocational rehabilitation services is delivered, in part, by an external service provider under contract with VAC.

In 2015, two addendums to the Rehabilitation and Vocational Assistance PIA were completed. In April 2015, an addendum was completed to reflect a change to the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment Regulations (CFMVRCR), now Veterans Well-being Regulations, effective April 1, 2015. In May 2015, an addendum was completed to assess the awarding of a contract to a new external service provider for rehabilitation and vocational assistance services, effective June 5, 2015.

In March 2019 an addendum was completed to assess changes in the program eligibility, which will be phased in over time beginning April 1, 2019.

Description of the class of record and the Personal Information Bank

Rehabilitation – Class of Record VAC MVA 830

Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program – Personal Information Bank VAC PPU 300

Classes of Records and Personal Information Banks can be reviewed at: Information about Programs and Information Holdings.

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

The authority for VAC to collect and use the personal information for the Rehabilitation Services and Vocational Assistance Program is established under the Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment Act and related Regulations. Specifically, sections eight, nine, eleven and twelve of the legislation.

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Administration of Programs / Activity and Services

      Level of risk to privacy – 2

  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Social Insurance Number, medical, financial or other sensitive personal information and/or the context surrounding the personal information is sensitive. Personal information of minors or incompetent individuals or involving a representative acting on behalf of the individual.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Private sector organizations or international organizations or foreign governments.

      Level of risk to privacy – 4

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy – No

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and / or services?

      Risk to privacy – No

    3. Enhanced identification methods – This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc.) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – No

    4. Use of Surveillance – This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance etc.

      Risk to privacy – No

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques – For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institution are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – No

  7. Personal Information Transmission
    • The personal information is used in a system that has connections to at least one other system.

      Level of risk to privacy – 2

  8. Risk Impact to the Institution
    • Managerial harm
    • Financial harm
    • Reputational harm, embarrassment, loss of credibility.

      Level of risk to privacy – 1, 3 and 4

  9. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee
    • Inconvenience
    • Reputational harm, embarrassment
    • Financial harm

      Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2 and 3

Date modified:

Programme de services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle

Sommaire de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP)

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC)

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’EFVP

Mary Nicholson
Directrice, Direction de la réadaptation, du bien-être financier et des renseignements opérationnels

Chef de l’institution fédérale ou délégué pour l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Crystal Garret-Baird
Directrice, Protection des renseignements personnels et gestion de l’information

Nom du programme ou de l’activité de l’institution fédérale

Programme de services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle

Description du programme ou de l’activité

Le Programme de services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle (Programme de réadaptation) d’ACC fait partie d’une série de programmes de bien-être conçus pour aider les vétérans et leur famille à préparer et à réussir leur retour à la vie civile. Le programme offre des services complets, dans le cadre d’un plan de réadaptation personnalisé, pour les aider à retrouver un fonctionnement normal dans leur foyer, leur communauté et à leur travail. Les clients admissibles sont les vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et, dans certains cas, l’époux, le conjoint de fait ou les survivants. Le Programme de réadaptation d’ACC offre : des services de réadaptation médicale, des services de réadaptation psychosociale et des services de réadaptation professionnelle.

Il est possible d’accéder au Programme de réadaptation par l’intermédiaire des gestionnaires de cas d’ACC situés dans les bureaux locaux du Ministère partout au pays, ou du personnel d’ACC qui se trouve dans les principales bases et escadres des FAC. Les services de réadaptation sont habituellement fournis par l’entremise d’un réseau local d’experts et fondés sur le fournisseur de choix du vétéran ou de tout autre participant au programme.

Après l’EFVP de 2007 pour les services de réadaptation, le processus opérationnel a été modifié afin d’inclure un entrepreneur tiers dans le modèle de prestation. Bien que les décisions concernant l’admissibilité soient toujours prises par ACC, certaines évaluations et la prestation des services de réadaptation sont confiées à un fournisseur de services indépendant sous contrat avec ACC.

En 2015, deux addendas ont été établis à l’EFVP du programme de services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle. Le premier, établi en avril 2015, visait à refléter les changements apportés au Règlement sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes, maintenant le Réglement sur le bien-être des vétérans , en vigueur le 1er avril 2015. Le deuxième, établi en mai 2015, visait à évaluer l’attribution d’un contrat à un nouveau fournisseur de service externe pour les services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle, en vigueur le 5 juin 2015.

En mars 2019, un addenda a été établi pour évaluer les changements apportés aux critères d’admissibilité du programme, qui seront mis en œuvre progressivement à partir du 1er avril 2019.

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels

Réadaptation – Catégorie de documents ACC MAC 830

Programme de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle – Fichier de renseignements personnels ACC PPU 300

Les catégories de documents et de fichiers de renseignements personnels peuvent être examinées à l’adresse : Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements d’ACC.

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité

L’autorisation accordée à ACC de recueillir et d’utiliser des renseignements personnels pour le programme de services de réadaptation et d’assistance professionnelle est établie dans la Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes et le règlement connexe, plus particulièrement aux articles 8, 9, 11 et 12.

Détermination et catégorisation des facteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l’EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. Une échelle de risques est incluse. L’échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce facteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce facteur. Veuillez consulter l’annexe C de la Directive sur l’EFVP du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor pour en savoir davantage sur l’échelle de risques. to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type de programme ou d’activité
    • Administration des programmes, des activités et des services

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Numéro d’assurance sociale, renseignements médicaux ou financiers ou autres renseignements personnels délicats ou éléments contextuels de nature délicate entourant les renseignements personnels. Renseignements personnels sur des mineurs ou des personnes inaptes ou encore concernant une personne ayant qualité pour agir au nom de l’intéressé.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  3. Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité
    • Organisations du secteur privé ou organisations internationales ou gouvernements étrangers

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 4

  4. Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    • Programme à long terme

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  5. Population visée par le programme
    • Le programme touche certains individus à des fins administratives externes.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. L’activité ou le programme, nouveau ou modifié, comprend-il la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, dont un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe), dont l’objectif est de créer, de recueillir ou de traiter des renseignements personnels dans le but de faciliter l’exécution du programme ou de l’activité?

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

    2. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique (comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, la lecture ou le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, la signature ou empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence [IRF], etc.) ainsi que la technologie des laissez-passer facilités (Easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identité comportant des bandes magnétiques, comme les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

    4. Recours à la surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance telles que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissances, l’IRF, la surveillance/interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

    5. Recours à des techniques d’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, de comparaison des renseignements personnels et de découverte de connaissances – Aux fins de la Directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent relever les activités qui comportent l’utilisation de la technologie automatisée afin d’analyser, créer, comparer, recueillir, identifier ou extraire des éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités pourraient comprendre la mise en concordance des renseignements personnels, le couplage des dossiers, l’exploration des renseignements personnels, la comparaison des renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances, le filtrage ou l’analyse des données. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée – non

  7. Transmission des renseignements personnels
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système qui est connecté à au moins un autre système.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

  8. Incidence des risques pour l’institution
    • Répercussions négatives au niveau de la direction/gestion
    • préjudice financier
    • tort à la réputation, embarras, perte de crédibilité.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 3 et 4

  9. Incidence des risques pour l’individu ou l’employé
    • Inconvénient
    • tort à la réputation, embarras,
    • préjudice financier.

      Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2 et 3

Date de modification :