Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Veterans Emergency Fund

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) summary

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Mary Nicholson
Director, Health Care and Rehabilitation Programs

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Crystal Garret-Baird
Director, Privacy and Information Management

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Veterans Emergency Fund

Description of Program or Activity

The Veterans Emergency Fund (VEF) provides funding to assist Veterans and their families when facing emergency financial situations that threaten their health and well-being. Expenses in the event of an emergency that may be approved for funding could include (but are not limited to) food, clothing, shelter, medical care and expenses required to maintain safety and shelter. Information related to the administration of the VEF, which provides prompt monetary assistance to eligible Veterans and their family members who are facing financial crisis/emergency with the intent of resolving the immediate need. The VEF assists VAC in meeting its mandated commitments of assisting Veterans with the care, treatment and re-establishment in civilian life, as well as repaying the nation's debt of gratitude toward those who have sacrificed for our country. VEF payments will be paid as a grant.

Description of the class of record and the Personal Information Bank

  • Veterans Emergency Fund – Class of Record VAC TBD
  • Veterans Emergency Fund – Personal Information Bank VAC TBD
  • Classes of Records and Personal Information Banks can be reviewed at: VAC's Info Source Chapter

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

Personal information is collected pursuant to Order-in-Council # 2017-1696.

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Administration of Programs / Activity and Services
    • Level of risk to privacy – 2
  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Social Insurance Number, medical, financial or other sensitive personal information and/or the context surrounding the personal information is sensitive. Personal information of minors or incompetent individuals or involving a representative acting on behalf of the individual.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Private sector organizations or international organizations or foreign governments.

      Level of risk to privacy – 1 and 2

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.

      Level of risk to privacy – 3

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy - No

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and / or services?

      Risk to privacy - Yes

    3. Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc.) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – No

    4. Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance etc.

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institution are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – Yes

  7. Personal Information Transmission
    • The personal information is used in a system that has connections to at least one other system.
      The personal information is transferred to a portable device or is printed.

      Level of risk to privacy – 2, 3, 4

  8. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee
    • Inconvenience,
    • Reputational harm,
    • embarrassment,
    • Financial harm.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2, 3 and 4
  9. Risk Impact to the Institution
    • Managerial harm,
    • Organizational harm,
    • Financial harm,
    • Reputational harm,
    • embarrassment,
    • loss of credibility.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2, 3 and 4
Date modified:

Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans

Sommaire de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP)

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Mary Nicholson
Directrice, Programmes de soins de santé et de réadaptation

Chef de l'institution fédérale ou son délégué pour l'application de l'article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Crystal Garret-Baird
Directrice, Protection des renseignements personnels et gestion de l’information

Directrice, Protection des renseignements personnels et gestion de l’information

Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans

Description du programme ou de l’activité

Le Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans (FUV) offre une aide financière aux vétérans et à leur famille en vue de les soutenir lors de situations d’urgence financière qui menacent leur santé et leur bien-être. Les dépenses susceptibles d’être approuvées et couvertes dans le cadre d’une urgence incluent notamment les frais liés à la nourriture, l’habillement, le logement et les soins médicaux, ainsi que les dépenses engagées pour assurer un toit et la sécurité. Information liée à l’administration du FUV, lequel fournit rapidement une aide financière aux vétérans admissibles et aux membres de leur famille, lorsqu’ils doivent faire face à une situation d’urgence/une crise financière, afin de répondre à leurs besoins immédiats. Le FUV aide ACC à s’acquitter des engagements prévus dans son mandat, qui consistent notamment à offrir aux vétérans des soins, des traitements et un soutien pour leur réinsertion dans la vie civile, et à rembourser la dette nationale de gratitude aux hommes et aux femmes qui se sont sacrifiés pour notre pays. Les paiements du FUV seront versés sous la forme d’une subvention.

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels

  • Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans – Catégorie de document ACC – à déterminer
  • Fonds d’urgence pour les vétérans – Fichier de renseignements personnels ACC – à déterminer
  • On présente les catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels à l’adresse : Chapitre Info Source d’ACC

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité

Les renseignements personnels sont recueillis conformément au décret no 2017-1696.

Identification et catégorisation des secteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques identifiés dans l’EFVP relativement à un programme nouveau ou modifié. Une échelle de risques est incluse. L’échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur. Veuillez consulter l’annexe C de la Directive sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) pour en apprendre davantage sur l’échelle de risques.

  1. Type de programme ou d’activité
    • Administration des programmes/activités et services.
    • Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 2
  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Numéro d’assurance sociale, renseignements médicaux ou financiers ou autres renseignements personnels délicats ou éléments contextuels de nature délicate entourant les renseignements personnels. Renseignements personnels sur des mineurs ou des personnes inaptes ou encore concernant une personne ayant qualité pour agir au nom de l’intéressé.

      Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 3

  3. Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité
    • Organisations du secteur privé, organisations internationales ou gouvernements étrangers.

      Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 1 et 2

  4. Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    • Programme à long terme.

      Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 3

  5. Population visée par le programme
    • Le programme touche certaines personnes à des fins administratives externes.

      Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 3

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) comporte-t-il l’implantation d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, y compris un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe) qui est mis en place afin de créer, collecter ou traiter des renseignements personnels dans le but de soutenir le programme ou l’activité?

      Risque pour la vie privée - Non

    2. Est-ce que le nouveau programme ou la nouvelle activité, ou le programme ou l’activité ayant subi des modifications, nécessite qu’on modifie les systèmes ou les services de technologie de l’information (TI) en place?

      Risque pour la vie privée - Oui

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique (comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, la lecture de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, l’empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence [IRF], etc.), la technologie des laissez-passer facilités (Easy pass) et les nouvelles cartes d’identité, y compris les cartes à bande magnétique et les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne, soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    4. Recours à des moyens de surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance telles que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissance, l’IRF, la surveillance/l’interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    5. e) Recours à des techniques d’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, de comparaison des renseignements personnels et de découverte de connaissances – Aux fins de la Directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent relever les activités qui comportent l’utilisation de la technologie automatisée afin d’analyser, créer, comparer, recueillir, identifier ou extraire des éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités pourraient comprendre la mise en concordance des renseignements personnels, le couplage des dossiers, l’exploration des renseignements personnels, la comparaison des renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances, le filtrage ou l’analyse des données. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage automatique pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

  7. Transmission des renseignements personnels
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés au sein d’un système qui est branché à au moins un autre système.
      Les renseignements personnels sont transférés à un appareil portable ou sont imprimés.

      Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 2, 3 et 4

  8. Incidence des risques pour la personne ou l’employé
    • Inconvénient,
    • tort à la réputation,
    • embarras,
    • préjudice financier.
    • Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 1, 2, 3 et 4
  9. Incidence des risques pour l’institution
    • Répercussions négatives sur le plan de la gestion,
    • répercussions sur le plan organisationnel,
    • préjudice financier,
    • atteinte à la réputation,
    • embarras,
    • perte de crédibilité.
    • Niveau de risque relatif à la vie privée – 1, 2, 3 et 4
Date de modification :