Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Record of Discussion – Commemoration Advisory Group

May 1, 2020
1330-1430 (EDT)

In Attendance

Commemoration Advisory Group Members

  • Dr. Steve Harris, Directorate of History and Heritage, Department of National Defence, (Co-chair)
  • Derrill Henderson, National Council of Veteran Associations in Canada & Hong Kong Veterans Association of Canada
  • Ray Kokkonen, Canadian Peacekeeping Veterans Association
  • Dion Edmonds and Jessica Kovar for Danny Martin, Royal Canadian Legion
  • Dr. Lee Windsor, University of New Brunswick Gregg Centre

Regrets

  • Lieutenant Colonel Jim Mills, Team Lead National Commemorations, Canadian Joint Operations Command, Canadian Armed Forces
  • Gerry Wharton, Army, Navy, Air Force Veterans in Canada
  • Charles Cue, Office of the Veterans Ombudsman (Observer)

Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs

  • Andrea Waselnuk, Policy Advisor, Stakeholders and Events
  • Benjamin Sparkes, Policy Advisor and Parliamentary Affairs Atlantic

Veterans Affairs Canada Officials

  • Paul Thomson, Director General, Commemoration Division, Veterans Affairs Canada (Co-chair)
  • Shannon Hartigan, Project lead – 2020-2030 Strategic Plan for Communications
  • Trudy Burke, Director, Commemoration Operations
  • John Desrosiers, Director, European Operations
  • Sylvie Thibodeau-Sealy, Director, Stakeholder Engagement and Outreach
  • Karen Rose, Senior Analyst, Stakeholder Engagement and Outreach
  • Kristine Racicot, Director, Public Affairs, Communications Division

Opening Remarks

The VAC and member co-chairs welcomed the members. It was explained that the purpose of the meeting was to update the members on the plans to commemorate the upcoming 75th anniversaries of the Battle of the Atlantic, Liberation of the Netherlands and V-E Day, given the restrictions in place due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It was noted that it will be a good test run for hosting future virtual engagements and a valuable opportunity to observe, learn and build on the various channels to determine what works and what doesn’t with various audiences.

The VAC co-chair provided updates on key files in which the members had been engaged including:

National Monument to Canada’s Mission in Afghanistan –

  • The final report on the consultations on design considerations that were held in the winter, and in which the CAG members participated, will be published soon and posted on VAC’s Afghanistan Monument web page. Members will be advised by email once the report is published.
  • Following the consultations, the design guidelines that will assist finalist teams in developing their concepts for the Monument were approved by the National Capital Commission Board and a seven-person jury for the design competition was finalized.
  • Canadian Heritage, a partner in this project, will send all jury members the 24 submissions received. In late June the jury will decide on up to five finalist design teams who will be invited to develop design concepts or “mock-ups.”
  • The visit of the finalist design teams to the Monument site is now projected to take place in October (instead of May), pending the lifting of restrictions imposed by COVID-19, after which the development of design concepts will begin.
  • Subsequent project milestones may also be pushed out as a result of the circumstances surrounding COVID-19.

European Operations

  • Commemorative sites in Europe are closed, consistent with Canadian and French authorities. Visitor activities, including all guided tours at the Canadian National Vimy Memorial and the Beaumont-Hamel Newfoundland Memorial sites, are suspended until further notice.
  • Student guides were sent home early with a number of students working on commemoration content as we work to boost the self-guided tour tools. All staff in France continue to work and the Commonwealth War Graves Commission is working the best they can on maintaining the sites.
  • A resumption of service plan is in development and there is the potential that we may not have student guides until 2021 – consistent with authorities’ directions and with respect to resumption plans, we continue to follow the French authorities.

Commemoration 10 Year Strategic Plan

  • The plan was part of the discussion with the CAG members at their meeting in July 2019 and February 2020.
  • Consultations are delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The intent was that consultations would begin in the spring and include educators to tailor learning products to their needs. They would consult Veterans and still-serving Canadian Armed Forces to hear their views on the commemoration of the missions they were involved in and how they would like their service recognized.
  • At this time, the timing to restart the consultations is being considered as well as the date to begin outreach that would focus on post-Korea Veterans, Indigenous Veterans and other key cohorts. The members were asked for their thoughts on the timing of these efforts.
  • Work is underway to finish a number of elements of the draft Strategic Plan after which a copy will be provided to the members
  • As part of the discussion, the importance of working with the members and other stakeholders on these consultations and sharing and communicating to the large stakeholder and Veteran communities for their input and feedback was raised.

Plans to commemorate the 75th anniversaries of the Battle of the Atlantic, the Liberation of the Netherlands and V-E Day

The VAC co-chair presented - Plans to commemorate the 75th anniversaries of the Battle of the Atlantic, the Liberation of the Netherlands and V-E Day.

Prior to the teleconference, members were encouraged to visit the Veterans Affairs Canada website 75th anniversary of the Liberation of the Netherlands and the Victory in Europe and take note of the Faces of Freedom podcasts created so that visitors can listen to these heroes firsthand. They were also encouraged to check out the Canada Remembers Facebook and Instagram channels.

The VAC co-chair reviewed the plan and noted that it focused on four themes:

  • Telling our Veterans’ Stories – featuring eight Veterans’ podcasts. He noted that the feedback has been positive and encouraged the members to listen and share.
  • Promoting learning activities - reached out recently to over 52,000 educators and use our learning materials in the lead-up to V-E day. He noted that they are monitoring to see what the update will be from educators.
  • Encouraging Engagement via social media and the hashtag – #Tulipsathome
  • Sharing our partners’ content and encouraging our partners to share VAC material

It was highlighted that this is an opportunity to do things differently, and see what resonates with our key audiences. The analytics gathered from the various virtual channels used will help determine what could be leveraged going forward.

Discussion

  • Members were encouraged to share information on any commemorative event that they are aware of so that VAC can amplify them of their various Commemoration social media channels.
  • It was noted that this virtual model may need to be used for Victory over Japan (VJ Day) on August 15.
  • It was noted that when we are able to return to in-person gatherings, the importance of hosting virtual events will continue in order to reach a broader audience. With more people online it is a great opportunity to increase exposure while learning new and innovate ways to commemorate.
  • Members were asked to promote the virtual ceremony for V-E Day on May 8 on their own channels and to provide feedback after the ceremony.
  • VAC was congratulated for pulling off this virtual commemoration in a short timeframe.

Meeting was adjourned.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Compte rendu des discussions – Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration

1er mai 2020
de 13 h 30 à 14 h 30 (HAE)

Présences

Membres du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration

  • Dr Steve Harris, Direction de l’histoire et du patrimoine, ministère de la Défense nationale (coprésident)
  • Derrill Henderson, Conseil national des associations d’anciens combattants au Canada et Association canadienne des anciens combattants de la bataille de Hong Kong
  • Ray Kokkonen, Association canadienne des vétérans pour le maintien de la paix
  • Dion Edmonds et Jessica Kovar pour Danny Martin, Légion royale canadienne
  • Dr Lee Windsor, Centre Gregg de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick

Absents

  • Lieutenant-colonel Jim Mills, chef d’équipe des Commémorations nationales, Commandement des opérations interarmées du Canada, Forces armées canadiennes
  • Gerry Wharton, Association des anciens combattants de l’armée, de la marine et des forces aériennes au Canada
  • Charles Cue, Bureau de l’ombudsman des vétérans (observateur)

Cabinet du ministre des Anciens Combattants

  • Andrea Waselnuk, Conseillère en politiques, Intervenants et évènements
  • Benjamin Sparkes, Conseiller en politiques, Affaires parlementaires et enjeux Atlantique

Représentants d’Anciens Combattants Canada

  • Paul Thomson, directeur général, Direction générale de la commémoration (coprésident)
  • Shannon Hartigan, directrice par intérim, Politique, apprentissage et reconnaissance
  • Trudy Burke, directrice, Opérations de commémoration
  • John Desrosiers, directeur, Opérations en Europe
  • Sylvie Thibodeau-Sealy, directrice, Mobilisation et sensibilisation des intervenants
  • Karen Rose, analyste principale, Mobilisation et sensibilisation des intervenants
  • Kristine Racicot, directrice, Affaires publiques, Direction générale des communications

Mot d’ouverture

Les coprésidents d’ACC souhaitent la bienvenue aux membres. On explique que l’objectif de la réunion est d’informer les membres sur les projets de commémoration du 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Atlantique, de la libération des Pays-Bas et du jour de la Victoire en Europe, compte tenu des restrictions en vigueur en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. Il est noté qu’il s’agit d’un bon test pour l’organisation de futures activités virtuelles de mobilisation et d’une occasion précieuse d’observer, d’apprendre et de s’appuyer sur les différents canaux pour déterminer ce qui fonctionne et ce qui ne fonctionne pas auprès de différents publics.

Le coprésident d’ACC fournit des mises à jour sur les principaux dossiers dans lesquels les membres ont été impliqués, notamment :

Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan

  • Le rapport final des consultations sur les facteurs de conception qui ont eu lieu durant l’hiver, et auxquelles les membres du GCC ont participé, sera publié prochainement et affiché sur la page Web d’ACC consacrée au Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan. Les membres seront informés par courriel dès que le rapport sera publié.
  • À la suite des consultations, les lignes directrices de conception qui aideront les équipes finalistes à élaborer leurs concepts pour le Monument ont été approuvées par le conseil d’administration de la Commission de la capitale nationale et un jury de sept personnes pour le concours de conception a été constitué.
  • Patrimoine canadien, partenaire de ce projet, enverra à tous les membres du jury les 24 soumissions reçues. À la fin juin, le jury sélectionnera jusqu’à cinq équipes finalistes qui seront invitées à élaborer des concepts ou des « maquettes ».
  • La visite des équipes de conception finalistes sur le site du monument devrait maintenant avoir lieu en octobre (au lieu de mai), en attendant la levée des restrictions entraînées par la COVID-19, après quoi l’élaboration des concepts s’amorcera.
  • Les jalons ultérieurs du projet peuvent également être repoussés en raison des circonstances entourant la COVID-19.

Opérations en Europe

  • Les lieux commémoratifs en Europe sont fermés, conformément aux directives des autorités canadiennes et françaises. Les activités des visiteurs, y compris toutes les visites guidées au Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy et au Mémorial terre-neuvien à Beaumont-Hamel, sont suspendues jusqu’à nouvel ordre.
  • Des guides étudiants ont été envoyés chez eux plus tôt et un certain nombre d’entre eux ont travaillé sur le contenu de la commémoration pendant que nous nous efforçons de renforcer les outils de visite autoguidée. Tout le personnel en France continue de travailler et la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth entretient les sites au meilleur de ses capacités.
  • Un plan de reprise des services est en cours d’élaboration et il est possible que nous n’ayons pas de guides étudiants avant 2021, conformément aux directives des autorités, et en ce qui concerne les plans de reprise, nous continuons à suivre les directives des autorités françaises.

Plan stratégique de commémoration sur dix ans

  • Les membres du GCC ont discuté de ce plan lors de leurs réunions de juillet 2019 et février 2020.
  • Les consultations sont retardées en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. L’objectif était d’entamer les consultations au printemps et d’y inclure des éducateurs afin d’adapter les produits d’apprentissage à leurs besoins. Ils consulteraient les vétérans et les membres encore en service au sein des Forces armées canadiennes pour connaître leur point de vue sur la commémoration des missions auxquelles ils ont participé et sur la manière dont ils souhaiteraient que leur service soit reconnu.
  • À l’heure actuelle, le calendrier de reprise des consultations est à l’étude, ainsi que la date de début des activités de sensibilisation qui se concentreraient sur les vétérans qui ont servi après la guerre de Corée, les vétérans autochtones et d’autres cohortes clés. Les membres sont invités à donner leur avis sur le calendrier de ces activités.
  • Des travaux sont en cours pour finaliser un certain nombre d’éléments de la première version du plan stratégique, après quoi une copie sera fournie aux membres.
  • Dans le cadre de la discussion, on a soulevé l’importance de travailler avec les membres et les autres parties prenantes sur ces consultations et d’échanger et de communiquer avec les grandes collectivités de parties prenantes et de vétérans pour obtenir leurs commentaires et leurs réactions.

Projets de commémoration du 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Atlantique, de la libération des Pays-Bas et du jour de la Victoire en Europe

Le coprésident d’ACC présente les projets de commémoration du 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Atlantique, de la libération des Pays-Bas et du jour de la Victoire en Europe.

Avant la téléconférence, les membres ont été invités à consulter le site Web d’Anciens Combattants Canada sur le 75e anniversaire de la bataille de l’Atlantique, de la libération des Pays-Bas et du jour de la Victoire en Europe et à écouter les Balados Visages de la liberté créés pour que les visiteurs puissent entendre directement ces héros. Ils ont également été encouragés à consulter les pages Le Canada se Souvient sur Facebook et Instagram.

Le coprésident d’ACC examine le plan et remarque qu’il se concentre sur quatre thèmes :

  • Raconter l’histoire de nos vétérans par l’entremise de huit balados qui les mettent en vedette. Il note que les réactions ont été positives et il encourage les membres à les écouter et à les faire connaître.
  • Promouvoir les activités d’apprentissage - en ayant récemment communiqué avec plus de 52 000 éducateurs et en utilisant notre matériel d’apprentissage dans le cadre de la préparation du jour de la Victoire en Europe. Il note que les responsables surveillent la diffusion de la mise à jour des éducateurs.
  • Encourager la participation au moyen des médias sociaux et du mot-clic #TulipesAlaMaison.
  • Diffuser le contenu de nos partenaires et encourager ceux-ci à diffuser le matériel d’ACC.

On souligne qu’il s’agit d’une occasion de faire les choses différemment et de voir ce qui trouve un écho auprès de nos principaux publics. Les analyses recueillies à partir des différents canaux virtuels utilisés nous aideront à déterminer ce qui pourrait être mis à profit à l’avenir.

Discussion

  • Les membres sont encouragés à transmettre les renseignements concernant les activités commémoratives dont ils sont au courant afin qu’ACC puisse les faire connaître davantage au moyen de ses divers médias sociaux consacrés à la commémoration.
  • On note que ce modèle virtuel pourrait devoir être utilisé pour le jour de la Victoire sur le Japon, qui aura lieu le 15 août.
  • On note que lorsque nous serons en mesure de reprendre les rassemblements en personne, l’organisation d’activités virtuelles sera toujours importante afin de joindre un public plus large. Étant donné le nombre croissant de personnes qui utilisent Internet, c’est une excellente occasion d’accroître la visibilité tout en apprenant de nouvelles et novatrices façons de commémorer.
  • Les membres sont invités à promouvoir la cérémonie virtuelle du jour de la Victoire en Europe le 8 mai sur leurs propres canaux et à donner leurs commentaires après la cérémonie.
  • ACC est félicité pour avoir réussi à organiser cette commémoration virtuelle dans un délai très court.

La séance est levée.

Date de modification :