Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Record of Discussion – Advisory Group on Families

Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Pearson Boardroom, International Development Research Centre (IDRC)
150 Kent Street, Ottawa, Ontario

In Attendance

  • Sergeant (Retired) Alannah Gilmore (co-chair)
  • Namita Joshi, True Patriot Love Foundation
  • Tamara Kleinschmidt, Trenton Military Family Resource Centre
  • Dave LeBlanc, RCMP Veterans Association
  • Amanda Jane, Office of the Veterans Ombudsman (Observer)
  • Lieutenant-Colonel (Retired) Chris Lindford
  • Jenny Migneault
  • Laurie Ogilvie, Military Family Services
  • Brigadier-General (Retired) Bill Richard
  • Nora Spinks, The Vanier Institute of the Family
  • Karine Villeneuve, Operational Stress Injury Social Support, Department of National Defence
  • Faith McIntyre, Director General, Policy and Research (VAC co-chair)

Regrets

  • Yvonne Burke, Canadian Aboriginal Veterans and Serving Members Association
  • Ray McInnis, Royal Canadian Legion

Welcome

The co-chairs of Advisory Group on Families welcomed the members and formally introduced Dave LeBlanc from the RCMP Veterans Association who was attending his first face-to-face meeting. Parliamentary Secretary Karen McCrimmon thanked the members for their hard work and reiterated the importance of families and for the group to identify its priorities that will a positive impact on families for Budget 2017.

Presentations

Priority areas that the group is considering are research and expansion of the pilot project at the Military Family Resource Centre (MFRC). Part of the morning’s agenda was devoted to presentations on these topics.

Research

Briefing on existing research and research in progress on military and Veteran families was delivered by Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) Director, Research and Initiatives Projects Manager, Research. It was noted that high quality research exists on Veterans, however, research on families is limited. Research identifies the importance of families to the well-being of military/Veterans, however, families face challenges as a result of the service-related disabilities of Veterans. The current areas for research at VAC include a qualitative study on the health and well-being of families of Canadian Armed Forces Veterans with mental health problems, and the 2016 Life after Service Study will include content on families.

Highlights of the discussion included:

  • The importance of accessing family member and caregivers directly for studies as their perspective often differs from that of the Veteran or serving member.
  • Spouses may be stigmatized by Veterans’ injury/illness and may not disclose how the Veteran is doing.
  • Recognition that children as young as 15 years may provide care, know about trauma and need to be included in surveys and studies.
  • Reference was made to the Wounded Veterans, Wounded Families report.
  • Ability to access universities’ research on military/Veteran families. The Director, Research confirmed that VAC works with organizations such as the Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research and its affiliated universities and the Vanier Institute on Families.
  • Inclusion of a Veteran identifier with Statistics Canada to improve the ability for researchers and others to access data on Veterans and their families.

Brief from the Military Family Resource Centres

The Executive Director, Valcartier MFRC presented the Brief from the Military Family Resources Centres entitled “Without family, there is no future”, submitted to the Department of National Defence as part of the public consultation on the future of the Canadian Armed Forces, June 2016.

Synopsis - Canadian military families have clearly shown their significant contribution through the past thirty years of military operations. They make a direct contribution to operational efficiency and for this reason must be recognized in the evolving policies of defence as an integral and vital part of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF). Families must be supported by all levels of government through the MFRC governed by and for families. The brief contained four key recommendations: to officially recognize MFRC; to include military families in the next defence policy; to create additional programs and funds; and to develop an intergovernmental strategy to support and to address issues facing military families.

Highlights of discussions included:

  • A need to provide standardized services across all MFRCs, recognizing that the size of the MFRCs vary, core services are part of current programming and services are often adapted to meet needs at the local level.
  • The requirement for improved communications and outreach on MFRC services, including promotion to RCMP members and their families as it is not well known that the RCMP can access MFRC services.

Consultation – Enhanced Support for Caregivers

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) will soon launch an official consultation process on the Government’s commitment in Budget 2016 to make Employment Insurance (EI) Benefits and Job-Protected leaves under the Canada Labour Code (CLC) for Caregivers easier to access, more flexible and more inclusive for workers who care for seriously ill family members. The Senior Director for Special Benefits and Horizontal Policy, Employment Insurance Policy at ESDC joined the meeting to consult with the group and better understand the military/Veteran family caregiving experience and the types of caregiving situations that could benefit from enhanced support.

Highlights of discussion:

  • Government systems that provide programs and services at both the provincial and federal levels do not understand psychological wounds.
  • Special benefits for caregivers provide for income replacement and support labour force attachment. Another consideration will be managing part-time or casual employment.
  • Military could be a group that has special consideration because of its environment, as family members may not have the necessary weeks to quality for the EI.
  • Outside of EI, each region of the country has a different set of support systems, and the resources available in their community often has an impact on whether family caregivers can work.
  • Process - provide criteria that are easy to understand, and simplify approvals, remove the need to have medical certificates signed by a family physician which is not always feasible or appropriate.
  • Standardize processes and forms across Departments, for example one disability certificate shared with Canada Revenue Agency, ESDC and VAC.
  • A balanced approach is required and the employer perspective needs to be a consideration, as there is a cost to getting work done and replacing employees. Incentives for companies to buy into the program may be needed.

Members will be advised when the formal consultation process is launched.

Consultation – Recognize and Compensate

The Acting Manager, Policy Development joined by teleconference to solicit input from the group on recognition and compensation for caregivers.

Highlights of Discussion:

  • Families need to be financially secure with adequate income that is stable and predictable allowing families to plan, access loans, etc.
  • Consider the US model for a caregiver benefit with a needs assessment (high, medium, low) and also the Attendance Allowance in the Pension Act.
  • An educational component should be connected with receiving compensation for caregiving.
  • Recognition is a sense of belonging; for example provide a dependent client number, a dependent identification card, access to My VAC Account, access to case management, a CAF pin tied to years of service for the military member and a similar pin presented to the spouse recognizing his or her years of service.

On-line Caregiver Tool Update

The VAC co-chair verbally updated the group on the on-line caregiver tool that was announced by the Minister in July. She noted that the tool is currently being designed and developed and input from the group will be sought throughout the process. The tool will provide information, access to peer support and interactive discussion boards and is expected to be available in the summer of 2017.

Work Plan Discussion

Three themes were the focus of discussions on recommendations to the Minister that would have a positive impact on families for Budget 2017: 1) Inform and Engage 2) Serve and Support and 3) Recognition and Compensation.

Keys points noted included: access to the Military Family Services Program and the MFRCs, funding for research on families, caregiver benefit paid directly to the caregiver with an education component, recognition in the form of an ID card, access to MY VAC Account and improved communications.

A triage group to include those members who were not available for the face-to-face meeting, will further review the notes and develop potential recommendations to be finalized with the full Advisory Group in a teleconference later in September in advance of the Ministerial Summit being held in Gatineau on October 5 and 6, 2016.

The meeting ended with remarks from the co-chairs and a roundtable. Highlights from the roundtable included:

  • Work is underway to update Compendium 1.0 a reference publication that profiles organizations that are engaged in partnerships and collaborations across the country in supporting Canada’s military and Veteran families. Compendium 2.0 will soon be available on-line.
  • Veterans Ombudsman’s launching via his Blog – Veterans’ Families – Have Your Say! and encouraging Veterans and families to make their views known via the VAC’s online consultation “Have Your Say!”.
  • COPE (Couples Overcoming PTSD Everyday) Program founded by Chris Linford and his wife Kathryn has offered seven sessions to date. (http://copecanada.com)
  • The Military Family Resource Centres with be holding 25th anniversary celebrations on September 10, 2016 on Parliament Hill in Ottawa.
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Compte rendu des discussions – Groupe consultatif sur les familles

Le mardi 16 août 2016
Salle de conférence Pearson, Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI)
150, rue Kent, Ottawa (Ontario)

Présents

  • Sergent (retraité) Alannah Gilmore (coprésidente)
  • Namita Joshi, Fondation La Patrie gravée sur le cœur
  • Tamara Kleinschmidt, Centre de ressources pour les familles des militaires de Trenton
  • Dave LeBlanc, Association des anciens de la GRC
  • Amanda Jane, Bureau de l’ombudsman des vétérans (observatrice)
  • Lieutenant-colonel (retraité) Chris Lindford
  • Jenny Migneault
  • Laurie Ogilvie, Services aux familles des militaires
  • Brigadier-général (retraité) Bill Richard
  • Nora Spinks, L’Institut Vanier de la famille
  • Karine Villeneuve, Soutien social aux victimes de stress opérationnel, ministère de la Défense nationale
  • Faith McIntyre, directrice générale, Politiques et Recherche (coprésidente d’ACC)

Regrets

  • Yvonne Burke, Association canadienne des vétérans et membres actifs autochtones
  • Ray McInnis, Légion royale canadienne

Mot de bienvenue

Les coprésidentes du Groupe consultatif sur les familles souhaitent la bienvenue aux membres et présentent officiellement Dave LeBlanc de l’Association des anciens de la GRC, qui assiste à sa première réunion en personne. Karen McCrimmon, Secrétaire parlementaire, remercie les membres pour leurs efforts soutenus et rappelle l’importance des familles et la nécessité pour le Groupe d’établir ses priorités pour le budget de 2017 en vue d’avoir une incidence positive sur elles.

Présentations

Les secteurs prioritaires examinés sont la recherche et l’élargissement du projet pilote au Centre de ressources pour les familles des militaires (CRFM). Une partie de l’ordre du jour de l’avant-midi est consacrée à des présentations sur ces sujets.

Recherche

Le directeur, gestionnaire de la recherche, des initiatives et des projets, Recherche, à Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) présente un aperçu des études existantes et de la recherche en cours sur les familles des militaires et des vétérans. On souligne qu’il existe des études de grande qualité sur les vétérans, mais que les travaux touchant les familles sont limités. La Direction de la recherche met en évidence l’importance des familles pour le bien-être des militaires et des vétérans. Or, les familles sont aux prises avec des difficultés en raison des invalidités liées au service dont souffrent les vétérans. Les travaux de recherche actuellement en cours à ACC comprennent une étude qualitative sur la santé et le bien-être des familles des vétérans des Forces armées canadiennes aux prises avec des problèmes de santé mentale; l’Étude sur la vie après le service de 2016 inclura un volet sur les familles.

Points principaux des discussions :

  • Dans le cadre des études, il est important d’avoir accès aux membres de la famille et aux dispensateurs de soins directement, puisque leur perspective diffère souvent de celle du vétéran ou du militaire en service.
  • Le conjoint est susceptible d’être stigmatisé en raison de la blessure ou de la maladie du vétéran et risque de ne pas révéler comment se porte le vétéran.
  • Il faut reconnaître que les enfants de 15 ans à peine sont susceptibles de prodiguer des soins et d’avoir des connaissances sur les traumatismes, et qu’il faut les inclure dans les sondages et les études.
  • On fait mention du rapport Wounded Veterans, Wounded Families.
  • On s’interroge sur la capacité d’avoir accès aux travaux de recherche réalisés dans les universités sur les familles des militaires et des vétérans. Le directeur, Recherche, confirme qu’ACC travaille avec des organisations, comme l’Institut canadien de recherche sur la santé des militaires et des vétérans, et les universités qui y sont affiliées, ainsi qu’avec L’Institut Vanier de la famille.
  • Il faudrait ajouter une question d’identification des vétérans dans les études de Statistique Canada, afin de permettre aux chercheurs, entre autres, d’obtenir plus facilement des données sur les vétérans et leur famille.

Exposé des Centres de ressources pour les familles des militaires

Le directeur exécutif du CRFM de Valcartier présente le mémoire des CRFM intitulé « Sans famille, il n’y a pas de futur », présenté au ministère de la Défense nationale dans le cadre de la consultation publique sur l’avenir des Forces armées canadiennes en juin 2016.

Résumé – Les familles des militaires canadiens ont démontré clairement leur importante contribution au cours des trente dernières années d’opérations militaires. Elles contribuent directement à l’efficacité opérationnelle et, de ce fait, doivent être reconnues dans la prochaine politique de la Défense en tant que partie intégrante et essentielle des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et être soutenues par tous les niveaux de gouvernement par l’entremise des CRFM, gouvernés par et pour les familles. Ce mémoire contient quatre recommandations principales : reconnaître officiellement les CRFM; inclure les familles des militaires dans la prochaine politique de la Défense; créer d’autres programmes et injecter de nouveaux fonds; et élaborer une stratégie intergouvernementale pour soutenir les familles des militaires et les aider à surmonter les problèmes qu’elles rencontrent.

Points principaux des discussions :

  • Il faut offrir des services normalisés dans l’ensemble des CRFM et reconnaître que les CRFM n’ont pas tous la même taille, que les services de base font partie des programmes en place, et que les services sont souvent adaptés en fonction des besoins locaux.
  • Il faut améliorer les communications et la sensibilisation sur les services des CRFM, y compris la promotion auprès des membres de la GRC et de leur famille, car peu de gens savent que la GRC peut avoir accès à ces services.

Consultation – Amélioration du soutien aux dispensateurs de soins

Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) lancera bientôt un processus de consultation officiel sur l’engagement pris par le gouvernement dans le budget de 2016 en vue de faciliter l’accès aux prestations d’assurance-emploi (AE) et aux congés avec protection d’emploi aux termes du Code canadien du travail pour les dispensateurs de soins, tout en rendant les modalités de ces programmes plus flexibles et plus inclusifs pour les travailleurs qui prennent soin d’un proche gravement malade. Le directeur principal des prestations spéciales et des politiques horizontales, Direction de la politique d’assurance-emploi, à EDSC, se joint à la réunion pour consulter le Groupe et mieux comprendre l’expérience relative à la prestation de soins dans les familles des militaires et des vétérans et le type de situations de prestation de soins qui pourraient bénéficier d’un soutien accru.

Points principaux des discussions :

  • Les systèmes gouvernementaux qui fournissent les programmes et les services, tant au niveau fédéral qu’au niveau provincial, ne comprennent pas les blessures psychologiques.
  • Les prestations spéciales pour les dispensateurs de soins assurent le remplacement du revenu et favorisent la participation à la population active. Il faudra aussi tenir compte de la gestion des emplois à temps partiel ou occasionnels.
  • Une attention particulière pourrait être accordée aux militaires en raison de leur environnement, puisque les membres de la famille sont susceptibles de ne pas avoir accumulé le nombre de semaines requis pour être admissibles à l’AE.
  • À part l’AE, chaque région du pays dispose d’un ensemble différent de systèmes de soutien, et les ressources accessibles au sein de leur collectivité ont souvent une incidence sur la question de savoir si les dispensateurs de soins peuvent ou non travailler.
  • Processus – établir des critères qui sont faciles à comprendre, et simplifier les approbations, éliminer la nécessité d’avoir un certificat médical signé par un médecin de famille, ce qui n’est pas toujours faisable ou approprié.
  • Normaliser les processus et les formulaires pour l’ensemble des ministères; par exemple, faire en sorte que l’Agence du revenu du Canada, EDSC et ACC partagent le même certificat d’invalidité.
  • Il faut adopter une démarche équilibrée, et le point de vue de l’employeur doit être pris en compte, puisqu’un coût est associé à la réalisation du travail et au remplacement des employés. On risque de devoir proposer des mesures incitatives aux entreprises pour obtenir leur engagement à l’égard du programme.

Les membres seront informés du lancement du processus de consultation officiel.

Consultation – Reconnaître et indemniser

Le gestionnaire intérimaire, Élaboration de politiques, se joint à la réunion par téléconférence pour recueillir les commentaires du Groupe sur la reconnaissance et l’indemnisation des dispensateurs de soins.

Points principaux des discussions :

  • Les familles doivent jouir d’une sécurité financière grâce à un revenu adéquat, stable et prévisible, qui leur permet notamment de planifier et d’emprunter.
  • Il faudrait examiner le modèle américain de prestation pour les dispensateurs de soins, qui repose sur une évaluation des besoins (élevés, moyens, faibles), ainsi que l’allocation pour soins prévue dans la Loi sur les pensions.
  • Le versement d’une prestation pour les dispensateurs de soins devrait être assorti d’un volet éducatif.
  • La reconnaissance crée un sentiment d’appartenance; par exemple, donner un numéro de client ou une carte d’identité aux personnes à charge, un accès à Mon dossier ACC, un accès à la gestion de cas, une épinglette des FAC soulignant les années de service du militaire et une épinglette semblable pour le conjoint.

Le point sur l’outil en ligne pour les dispensateurs de soins

La coprésidente d’ACC fait le point sur l’outil en ligne pour les dispensateurs de soins que le ministre a annoncé en juillet. Elle souligne que la conception et la création de l’outil sont en cours, et que le Groupe sera appelé à contribuer tout au long du processus. Cet outil fournira des renseignements aux dispensateurs de soins et leur donnera accès à un soutien par les pairs et à des groupes de discussions interactifs; il devrait être accessible à l’été 2017.

Plan de travail

Trois thèmes ont été au centre des discussions sur les recommandations au ministre pour le budget de 2017 qui auraient une incidence positive sur les familles : 1) Informer et mobiliser; 2) Servir et soutenir; et 3) Reconnaître et indemniser.

Les principaux points soulevés sont les suivants : l’accès au Programme des services aux familles des militaires et aux CRFM; le financement de la recherche sur les familles; la prestation pour les dispensateurs de soins versée directement aux dispensateurs de soins et comportant un volet éducatif; la reconnaissance sous la forme d’une carte d’identité et d’un accès à Mon dossier ACC; et l’amélioration des communications.

Un groupe chargé de faire le tri et réunissant les membres n’ayant pas pu assister à la réunion en personne examinera plus à fond les notes et formulera des recommandations possibles, lesquelles seront finalisées avec l’ensemble du Groupe consultatif dans le cadre d’une téléconférence plus tard en septembre, avant le Sommet ministériel prévu à Gatineau les 5 et 6 octobre 2016.

La réunion se termine par les observations des coprésidentes et un tour de table. Points principaux des discussions :

  • Des travaux sont en cours en vue de mettre à jour le Recueil 1.0, un document de référence présentant les organismes qui prennent part à des partenariats et à des initiatives de collaboration à l’échelle du pays pour soutenir les familles des militaires et des vétérans du Canada. La version 2.0 du recueil sera bientôt accessible en ligne.
  • L’ombudsman des vétérans lance par l’entremise de son blogue « Familles de vétérans – À vous la parole! » et invite les vétérans et leur famille à faire connaître leur point de vue dans le cadre de la consultation en ligne d’ACC « À vous la parole! ».
  • Sept séances du programme COPE (Couples Overcoming PTSD Every Day), fondé par Chris Linford et son épouse Kathryn, ont été offertes à ce jour. (http://copecanada.com)
  • Le 10 septembre 2016, les Centres de ressources pour les familles des militaires tiendront des célébrations de 25e anniversaire sur la Colline du Parlement, à Ottawa.
Date de modification :