Language selection

Record of Discussion – Commemoration Advisory Group Teleconference

May 22, 2019
09:30-11:30 (EDT)

Participant List

Commemoration Advisory Group (CAG) Members

  • Steven Clark, Royal Canadian Legion (RCL)
  • Dr. Steve Harris, Directorate of History and Heritage, Department of National Defence, (member Co-chair)
  • Derrill Henderson, National Council of Veteran Associations in Canada & Hong Kong Veterans Association of Canada
  • Ray Kokkonen, Canadian Peacekeeping Veterans Association
  • Gerry Wharton, Army, Navy, Air Force Veterans in Canada
  • Lieutenant Colonel Jim Mills, Team Lead National Commemorations, Canadian Joint Operations Command, Canadian Armed Forces (CAF)
  • Dr. Lee Windsor, University of New Brunswick Gregg Centre

Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs

  • Minister Lawrence MacAulay
  • John Embury, Director of Communications

Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) Officials

  • W.J. Natynczyk, General (Retired), Deputy Minister, Veterans Affairs Canada
  • Paul Thomson, Director General, Commemoration Division
  • Patsy Bolger-Gallant, Director, Policy, Learning and Recognition, Commemoration Division
  • Cindy MacEwen, A/Director, Policy and Planning, Commemoration Division
  • Karen Rose, Senior Analyst, Stakeholder Engagement and Outreach, Policy and Research Division

Observer

  • Charles Cue, Office of the Veterans Ombudsman

Opening Remarks

The Veterans Affairs Canada Co-chair welcomed the members and introduced the new Director General of Commemoration, Paul Thomson, who will be the VAC Co-chair for the Commemoration Advisory Group going forward. The VAC Co-chair noted that a package of promotional items commemorating the 75th Anniversary of D-Day and the Battle of Normandy had been sent to each member.

The VAC Co-chair briefly reviewed the Terms of Reference and surveyed the members on an outstanding question related to the percentage of members required to form a quorum. It was agreed to amend the Terms of Reference to set the quorum percentage at 50% of members.

The VAC Co-chair reviewed the Work Plan items for the Commemoration Advisory Group in the short term and over the next 6–18 months, noting that input from members regarding potential topics would be welcome.

National Monument to Canada’s Mission to Afghanistan

The members were provided an update on the site selection for the National Monument to Canada’s Mission in Afghanistan. The site that was endorsed by members (i.e. the LeBreton Riverfront east of the Canadian War Museum) at the February 2019 Commemoration Advisory Group meeting was confirmed by the Minister of Veterans Affairs as the preferred site.

Canadian Heritage, as project manager, sought Federal Land Use Approval of the site at the June 20th 2019 meeting of the National Capital Commission Board. The site received unanimous approval. VAC will work closely with Canadian Heritage to proceed with next steps, and will continue to keep the members informed as the project progresses.

It was noted that recent media reports appeared to create some confusion regarding the Kandahar Airfield Memorial and the National Monument to Canada’s Mission in Afghanistan. These are two distinct initiatives; further messaging about the National Monument to Canada’s Mission in Afghanistan will be shared once a site is confirmed.

Budget 2019 – Commemorative Funding Initiatives

The VAC Co-chair provided an update on funding announced in Budget 2019 to support the Juno Beach Centre and the Highway of Heroes Tree Campaign. It was noted $500,000 will be provided to the Juno Beach Centre each year over the next five years, and $970,000 will be provided to the Highway of Heroes Tree Campaign each year over the next three years.

Visit of Minister MacAulay

Minister MacAulay and the Deputy Minister joined the teleconference. The Minister spoke to the importance of all the Advisory Groups and his interest in receiving their feedback and advice going forward.

75th Anniversary Milestones of the Second World War Presentation

The VAC Co-chair gave a presentation on upcoming 75th Anniversary Milestones of the Second World War, highlighting plans to mark D-Day and the Battle of Normandy. The Minister and many of the members spoke regarding their involvement in events and ceremonies commemorating D-Day and the Battle of Normandy.

The importance of proactively sharing details regarding commemorative activities with Veteran organizations and other stakeholders who can help communicate the information was raised. The VAC Calendar of Events was shared as one means to communicate these activities. VAC will look at other opportunities to proactively publicize events, including coordinating promotions via partners and stakeholders.

Closing Remarks

The members were thanked for their participation.

Date modified:

Compte rendu des discussions – Téléconférence du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration

Le 22 mai 2019
de 9 h 30 à 11 h 30 (HAE)

Liste des participants

Membres du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration (GCC)

  • Steven Clark, Légion royale canadienne (LRC)
  • Steve Harris, Direction de l’histoire et du patrimoine, ministère de la Défense nationale (coprésident membre)
  • Derrill Henderson, Conseil national des associations d’anciens combattants au Canada et Association canadienne des anciens combattants de la bataille de Hong Kong
  • Ray Kokkonen, Association canadienne des vétérans pour le maintien de la paix
  • Gerry Wharton, Association des anciens combattants de l’armée, de la marine et des forces aériennes au Canada
  • Lieutenant-colonel Jim Mills, chef d’équipe des Commémorations nationales, Commandement des opérations interarmées du Canada, Forces armées canadiennes (FAC)
  • Lee Windsor, Centre Gregg de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick

Cabinet du ministre des Anciens Combattants

  • Ministre Lawrence MacAulay
  • John Embury, directeur, Communications

Représentants d’Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC)

  • W.J. Natynczyk, général (retraité), sous-ministre, Anciens Combattants Canada
  • Paul Thomson, directeur général, Direction générale de la commémoration
  • Patsy Bolger-Gallant, directrice, Politique, apprentissage et reconnaissance, Direction générale de la commémoration
  • Cindy MacEwen, directrice p.i., Politiques et planification, Direction générale de la commémoration
  • Karen Rose, analyste principale, Mobilisation et sensibilisation des intervenants, Direction générale des politiques et de la recherche

Observateur

  • Charles Cue, Bureau de l’ombudsman des vétérans

Mot d’ouverture

Le coprésident représentant Anciens Combattants Canada souhaite la bienvenue aux membres et présente le nouveau directeur général de la Commémoration, Paul Thomson, qui sera dorénavant le coprésident représentant ACC au Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration. Le coprésident représentant ACC mentionne qu’un ensemble d’articles publicitaires soulignant le 75e anniversaire du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie a été envoyé à chaque membre du Groupe.

Le coprésident représentant ACC passe brièvement en revue les paramètres du Groupe et sonde les membres sur la question non réglée du nombre de membres constituant le quorum. Il est décidé d’établir le quorum à 50 % des membres.

Le coprésident représentant ACC passe en revue les points inscrits au plan de travail du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration à court terme et au cours des 6 à 18 prochains mois, soulignant que les membres sont invités à proposer des sujets.

Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan

On fait le point sur la sélection du terrain où sera érigé le Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan. Le site qui avait été recommandé par les membres (c.-à-d. le parc riverain des Plaines LeBreton à l’est du Musée canadien de la guerre) lors de la réunion en février 2019 du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration a été confirmé par le ministre des Anciens Combattants comme site privilégié.

Patrimoine canadien, à titre de gestionnaire de projet, a sollicité l’approbation fédérale de l’utilisation du site lors de la réunion du conseil d’administration de la Commission de la capitale nationale le 20 juin 2019. Le choix du site a été approuvé à l’unanimité. ACC collaborera de près avec Patrimoine canadien à l’exécution des prochaines étapes et continuera d’informer les membres sur les progrès du projet.

On mentionne que des informations diffusées dans les médias semblent causer une certaine confusion au sujet du monument commémoratif de l’aérodrome de Kandahar et du Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan. Ce sont deux initiatives distinctes; d’autres renseignements sur le Monument commémoratif national de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan seront communiqués dès que le choix du site aura été confirmé.

Budget 2019 – Initiatives de financement de la commémoration

Le coprésident représentant ACC fait le point sur les fonds annoncés dans le Budget de 2019 pour le Centre Juno Beach et pour la campagne de plantation d’arbres le long de l’Autoroute des Héros. On mentionne que 500 000 $ seront accordés chaque année au Centre Juno Beach au cours des cinq prochaines années et que 970 000 $ seront versés chaque année à la campagne de plantation d’arbres le long de l’Autoroute des Héros au cours des trois prochaines années.

Visite du ministre MacAulay

Le ministre MacAulay et le sous-ministre se joignent à la téléconférence. Le ministre parle de l’importance de tous les groupes consultatifs et témoigne de son intérêt à recevoir les observations et les conseils que ces groupes lui transmettront.

Présentation sur les principaux jalons du 75e anniversaire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le coprésident représentant ACC fait une présentation sur les principaux jalons du 75e anniversaire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, soulignant les projets de commémoration du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie. Le ministre et nombre des membres du Groupe mentionnent leur participation aux activités et aux cérémonies commémorant le jour J et la bataille de Normandie.

On souligne l’importance de communiquer de façon proactive l’information sur les activités commémoratives aux organismes de vétérans et à d’autres intervenants qui peuvent aider à transmettre l’information. On mentionne le Calendrier des activités comme source d’information. ACC se penchera sur d’autres moyens pour annoncer de façon proactive les activités, y compris la coordination des annonces avec les partenaires et les intervenants.

Mot de la fin

On remercie les membres de leur participation.

Date de modification :