Terms of reference – Commemoration advisory group

1. MANDATE AND SCOPE

  1. 1.1 The mandate of the Commemoration Advisory Group is to provide advice to the Minister of Veterans Affairs on how Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC), through its Canada Remembers Program, can engage Canadians in paying tribute to all those who have served Canada since Confederation, including those who died in service, Veterans who are no longer with us and today’s Veterans.

    The scope of the Commemoration Advisory Group includes activities that typically fall under VAC’s Canada Remembers Program, such as:

    • commemorative events
    • funding for commemorative initiatives led by communities
    • learning resources to engage educators and youth
    • public information
    • memorials and cemeteries
    • financial assistance for funeral and burial
    • honours and awards
  2. 1.2 The Commemoration Advisory Group will collaborate and share information with the other advisory groups to ensure consistency and continuity between the groups’ work.

2. ADVISORY GROUP COMPOSITION

  1. 2.1 For effectiveness, the membership should be limited to ten members, with a broad range of expertise or experience related to commemoration. Members will be named by the Minister of Veterans Affairs. Members will serve for a period of up to two years, with the possibility of renewal at the discretion of the Minister. Members may resign at any time. The Minister holds the right to appoint or dismiss a member at any time.

  2. 2.2 Members

    The Commemoration Advisory Group may include Veterans, members of Veterans' families, representatives of Veterans’ organizations and the Canadian Armed Forces/Department of National Defence, as well as subject-matter experts.

  3. 2.2.1 Co-chairs

    A co-chair will be selected from and by the members of the Commemoration Advisory Group.

    The VAC Director General, Commemoration will serve as the other co-chair.

  4. 2.3 Officials (attendance may vary, depending on availability)
    • Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence
    • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    • Chief of Staff, Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    • Director of Policy, Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    • Director of Parliamentary Affairs, Office of the Minister of Veterans Affairs
    • Deputy Minister, Veterans Affairs Canada
    • Associate Deputy Minister, Veterans Affairs Canada
    • Director, Stakeholder Engagement and Outreach Directorate
  5. 2.4 Observer

    Office of the Veterans Ombudsman representative.

  6. 2.5 Veterans, representatives from Veterans’ organizations, other representatives from VAC ministerial advisory groups, subject-matter experts and other Government of Canada officials may be invited to participate in the Commemoration Advisory Group meetings, as required.

3. CODE OF CONDUCT, APPOINTMENT, DISMISSAL

  1. 3.1 Members will be required to sign a Code of Conduct, attached as Annex A to these Terms of Reference.

  2. 3.2 Appointment and Dismissal of member

    3.2.1 The Minister holds the right to appoint and dismiss a member at any time.

    3.2.2 If a member does not meet the expectations outlined by these Terms of Reference, specifically sub-sections 4.3, 5.2, 5.3 and 7.2, or by the Code of Conduct, the Group may provide the member with a warning, followed by counseling from the member co-chair. If the situation remains unresolved to the Group’s satisfaction, the Minister may proceed with the dismissal of the individual from the membership.

4. MEETINGS

  1. 4.1 The Commemoration Advisory Group will meet in person two to three times per year. If required, members may meet more frequently by teleconference.

  2. 4.2 A quorum of 66% of Commemoration Advisory Group members is required for meetings. No decisions or recommendations can be made without a quorum. Co-chairs’ approval is required for substitution if a member cannot attend.

  3. 4.3 The work of the Commemoration Advisory Group will be conducted in a manner that fosters openness, communication, fairness and respect.

  4. 4.4 The co-chairs and/or members may be invited to attend additional meetings with other advisory groups, stakeholder organizations and others, as appropriate.

  5. 4.5 Media will not be invited to Commemoration Advisory Group meetings without prior approval of the Minister.

5. RESPONSIBILITIES AND DELIVERABLES

  1. 5.1 The Commemoration Advisory Group is expected to:

    • provide advice and recommendations to the Minister, either through written reports or in-person meetings
    • achieve consensus wherever possible in making recommendations and presenting advice; however, if there is a dissenting opinion, it may be recorded
    • develop advice and recommendations supported by perspectives gathered from stakeholder consultation and engagement activities, from meetings such as summits as well as through presentations and input from subject-matter experts and others, as deemed appropriate
    • provide progress reports at stakeholder summits
  2. 5.2 All members and other participants are expected:

    • to be respectful;
    • to maintain the confidentiality of deliberations at all times;
    • not to disclose privileged or protected information or information of a personal nature; and
    • not to disclose the Group’s recommendations until the Minister approves the sharing of information beyond VAC; inform the co-chair(s) of any potential or perceived conflict of interest.
    • to inform the co-chair(s) of any potential or perceived conflict of interest.
  3. 5.3 Commemoration Advisory Group members belonging to advocacy organizations will retain their right to advocate on behalf of their constituents without compromising the work of the Commemoration Advisory Group.

  4. 5.4 As detailed below, the Department will support the Commemoration Advisory Group by preparing documents, keeping relevant records, web publishing, facilitating meetings and taking into consideration the Commemoration Advisory Group’s recommendations and advice.

6. DOCUMENTATION, RECORD KEEPING AND PUBLICATION

  1. 6.1 Meeting agendas, terms of reference, records of discussions and any supporting documents prepared by or for the Government of Canada, will be provided to members in both official languages. Other documents may be provided in the language in which they were created.

  2. 6.2 Records of Discussion (RoD) will be prepared for all meetings, and circulated to the co-chairs for review within 15 working days after the meeting by the Stakeholder Engagement and Outreach (SEO) Directorate. No comments will be attributed to a particular individual. Following the Minister’s approval, the RoD will be disseminated to meeting participants and will be posted on the VAC website.

  3. 6.3 Commemoration Advisory Group members also agree to the publication of their names on the VAC website.

  4. 6.4 The Terms of Reference of the Commemoration Advisory Group will be posted on the VAC website.

7. COMMUNICATIONS

  1. 7.1 At the conclusion of each meeting, members may agree on prepared lines to be shared with Veterans, Veteran stakeholder organizations and other stakeholders as needed.

  2. 7.2 It is recognized that Commemoration Advisory Group participants may need to report and disseminate information to their membership, whether in writing, by e-mail, in person or on the Internet (Web page/Facebook). However, members are reminded of the expectations set out in clause 5.2 and in the Code of Conduct with respect to the treatment of information of a confidential, privileged and personal nature.

8. MANAGEMENT AND SUPPORT

  1. 8.1 The management responsibility to assist and support the Commemoration Advisory Group lies with the SEO Directorate.

  2. 8.2 The SEO Directorate will arrange meetings and facility accommodations, provide translation, obtain ministerial approvals and organize travel and accommodations for members as required. It will also provide meeting note-taking and preparation of Records of Discussion. In consultation with the co-chairs and with approval of the Minister, the SEO Directorate will also prepare and disseminate the agenda and supporting documentation within three to five working days prior to a Commemoration Advisory Group meeting.

9. COSTS

  1. 9.1 VAC will cover meeting costs, including facility rental and associated costs, travel as per the Treasury Board of Canada Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures and the translation, printing and distribution of the Commemoration Advisory Groups’ reports and publications.

  2. 9.2 All travel must be pre-authorized by VAC. Members will provide their travel and transportation receipts, to be reimbursed, in accordance with the Treasury Board of Canada Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, to SEO’s office. All receipts for reimbursement should be submitted within ten days following the completion of a trip.

  3. 9.3 All Commemoration Advisory Group members agree and confirm that membership in this group is voluntary and unpaid. While VAC reimburses reasonable travel, meeting and other pre-approved costs, there is no other compensation for membership. Membership does not create an employee/employer relationship and membership does not preclude the members from otherwise contracting or engaging with the Crown.

10. AGREEMENT

  1. 10.1 These Terms of Reference have been discussed and agreed to by the Commemoration Advisory Group members.

  2. 10.2 Newly appointed members will be informed of members’ responsibilities by the co-chairs, and asked to agree to the Terms of Reference and sign the Code of Conduct.

ANNEX A CODE OF CONDUCT

  1. In an effort to promote a culture of mutual trust, respect, professionalism, integrity and accountability amongst members of the Policy Advisory Group, members are expected to adhere to the following:

    1. Members shall attend and actively participate in all meetings.
    2. Members undertake to treat as confidential all information, identified as such, that is disclosed or discussed during a meeting or provided to support the work of the Policy Advisory Group.
    3. Members undertake not to disclose to any person any privileged or personal information received in preparation for, during or emanating from the discussions of the Policy Advisory Group, whether orally or in writing, except to other members of the Policy Advisory Group, unless authorized by the Group’s co-chairs.
    4. Members shall not disclose the Group’s recommendations until the Minister approves the sharing of information beyond VAC;
    5. Members shall inform the co-chair(s) of any potential or perceived conflict of interest.
    6. Members shall refrain from engaging in conduct that would discredit or compromise the integrity of the Policy Advisory Group, the Minister, or his office.
  2. Acknowledgement

  3. I, the undersigned, _______________, acknowledge that I have read and understand the Terms of Reference of the Policy Advisory Group and this Code of Conduct. I hereby confirm my commitment to fulfilling my duties as a member of the Group in accordance with the Terms of Reference and this Code of Conduct.

  4. I understand that by signing this, I am bound by this Code and by the Terms of Reference. I also understand that if I do not act in accordance with either of these, I could be dismissed from the Policy Advisory Group.

  5. Printed Name: __________________________
    Signature: __________________________
    Date: _____________

Date modified:

Mandat – Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration

1. MANDAT ET PORTÉE

  1. 1.1 Le mandat du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration consiste à fournir des conseils au ministre des Anciens Combattants sur la façon dont Anciens Combattants Canada, au moyen de son Programme Le Canada se souvient, peut mobiliser les Canadiens pour rendre hommage à tous ceux et celles qui ont servi le Canada depuis la Confédération, y compris ceux et celles qui sont morts au service de leur pays, aux vétérans qui ne sont plus parmi nous et aux vétérans d’aujourd’hui.

    La portée du Groupe consultatif inclut les activités qui relèvent typiquement du Programme Le Canada se souvient d’ACC, à savoir :

    • Activités commémoratives
    • Financement pour des initiatives commémoratives menées par des collectivités
    • Ressources d’apprentissage visant à favoriser la participation des éducateurs et des jeunes
    • Information publique
    • Monuments commémoratifs et cimetières
    • Aide financière pour les funérailles et l’inhumation
    • Décorations et citations
  2. 1.2 Le Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration collaborera et échangera des renseignements avec les autres groupes consultatifs pour assurer une cohérence et une continuité entre le travail des groupes.

2. COMPOSITION

  1. 2.1 Pour assurer son efficacité, le Groupe consultatif limitera à 10 le nombre de ses membres; ceux-ci posséderont une vaste expertise ou expérience associée à la commémoration. Les membres seront désignés par le ministre des Anciens Combattants. Les membres serviront pendant une période d’au plus deux ans, avec la possibilité d’un renouvellement de mandat à la discrétion du ministre. Les membres peuvent démissionner en tout temps. Le ministre conserve le droit de nommer ou de rayer un membre en tout temps.

  2. 2.2 Membres

    Le Groupe consultatif sera composé de membres représentant les vétérans des FAC, de membres de la famille de vétérans, de représentants des FAC/MDN, de représentants d’organismes de vétérans et d’experts en la matière.

  3. 2.2.1 Coprésidents

    Un coprésident sera choisi par et parmi les membres du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration.

    Le directeur général, Commémoration, ACC, sera l’autre coprésident.

  4. 2.3 Représentants du ministère (leur présence peut varier selon leur disponibilité)
    • Le ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale
    • Le secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Anciens Combattants
    • Le chef de cabinet, Cabinet du ministre des Anciens Combattants
    • Le directeur, Politiques, Cabinet du ministre des Anciens Combattants
    • Le directeur des Affaires parlementaires, Cabinet du ministre des Anciens Combattants
    • Le sous-ministre, Anciens Combattants Canada
    • Le sous-ministre délégué, Anciens Combattants Canada
    • Le directeur, Mobilisation et sensibilisation des intervenants
  5. 2.4 Observateur

    Un représentant/une représentante du Bureau de l’ombudsman des vétérans.

  6. 2.5 Des vétérans, des représentants des organismes de vétérans, d’autres groupes consultatifs ministériels d’ACC, des experts en la matière et d’autres représentants du Ministère peuvent être invités à participer aux réunions du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration, s’il y a lieu.

3. CODE DE CONDUITE, NOMINATION, DESTITUTION

  1. 3.1 Les membres devront signer un code de conduite, qui figure à l’annexe A des présents paramètres.

  2. 3.2 Nomination et destitution d’un membre

    3.2.1 Le ministre peut nommer et destituer un membre en tout temps.

    3.2.2 Si un membre ne satisfait pas aux attentes énoncées dans les présents paramètres, notamment aux paragraphes 4.3, 5.2, 5.3 et 7.2, ou dans le code de conduite, le Groupe peut donner un avertissement au membre, suivi par une rencontre avec le coprésident des membres. Si la situation ne se règle pas à la satisfaction du Groupe, le ministre peut destituer le membre.

4. RÉUNIONS

  1. 4.1 Le Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration se réunira en personne deux ou trois fois par année. S’il y a lieu, il pourra se réunir plus souvent par téléconférence.

  2. 4.2 Un quorum de 66 % des membres du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration devra assister aux réunions. Aucune décision ou recommandation ne pourra être faite sans quorum. Le remplacement d’un membre ne pouvant pas participer à une réunion doit être approuvé par les coprésidents.

  3. 4.3 Les travaux du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration se dérouleront dans un cadre favorisant l’ouverture, la communication, l’équité et le respect.

  4. 4.4 Les coprésidents ou les membres pourraient être invités à participer à d’autres réunions avec d’autres groupes consultatifs, organismes d’intervenants et autres personnes, au besoin.

  5. 4.5 Les médias ne seront pas invités aux réunions sans l’approbation préalable du ministre.

5. RESPONSABILITÉS ET PRODUITS LIVRABLES

  1. 5.1 Les responsabilités du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration sont les suivantes :

    • Fournir conseils et recommandations au ministre, sous forme de rapports écrits ou de réunions en personne
    • Tenter autant que possible d’obtenir un consensus lors de la formulation de recommandations et de la prestation de conseils; cependant, les différences d’avis pourront être consignées
    • Formuler des conseils et des recommandations guidées par les perspectives obtenues lors des activités de consultation et de mobilisation des intervenants, des réunions telles que les forums, et également des présentations et observations faites par les experts en la matière et d’autres personnes, le cas échéant
    • Fournir des rapports d’étape lors des sommets avec les intervenants
  2. 5.2 Tous les membres et les autres participants sont tenus :

    • de faire preuve de respect;
    • d’assurer en tout temps la confidentialité des délibérations;
    • de ne pas divulguer de renseignements privilégiés, protégés ou de nature personnelle;
    • de ne pas divulguer les recommandations du Groupe jusqu’à ce que le ministre ait approuvé la diffusion de l’information au-delà d’ACC;
    • d’informer le ou les coprésidents de tout conflit d’intérêts potentiel ou apparent.
  3. 5.3 Les membres du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration qui sont également membres d’organismes de défense d’intérêts conserveront leur droit de défense des intérêts de leurs constituants sans compromettre les travaux du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration.

  4. 5.4 Comme il est énoncé ci-dessous, le Ministère assistera le Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration en préparant des documents, en mettant à jour les dossiers pertinents, en publiant les documents sur le Web, en facilitant les réunions et considérant les recommandations et les conseils du Groupe.

6. DOCUMENTATION, TENUE DES DOSSIERS ET PUBLICATION

  1. 6.1 Les ordres du jour des réunions, les paramètres, les comptes rendus des discussions et tout document à l’appui préparé par le gouvernement du Canada ou pour lui seront fournis aux membres dans les deux langues officielles. Les autres documents seront fournis dans la langue de leur rédaction.

  2. 6.2 Les comptes rendus de discussion seront rédigés pour toutes les réunions et ils seront communiqués aux coprésidents aux fins d’observations par la Direction de la mobilisation et de la sensibilisation des intervenants dans les 15 jours qui suivront la réunion. Les observations ne seront pas attribuées à leurs auteurs. À la suite de leur approbation par le ministre, les comptes rendus seront diffusés aux participants de la réunion et seront affichés sur le site Web d’ACC.

  3. 6.3 Les membres du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration acceptent que leurs noms et photos soient publiés sur le site Web d’ACC.

  4. 6.4 Les paramètres du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration seront également affichés sur le site Web d’ACC.

7. COMMUNICATIONS

  1. 7.1 À la conclusion de chaque réunion, les membres conviendront des messages préparés à l’intention des vétérans, d’organismes d’intervenants auprès des vétérans et d’autres intervenants le cas échéant.

  2. 7.2 Il va de soi que les participants au Groupe consultatif pourraient avoir besoin de communiquer de l’information à leur groupe d’attache, que ce soit par écrit, par courriel, en personne ou sur Internet (page Web, Facebook). Cependant, les membres doivent s’assurer de respecter les attentes qui sont énoncées dans le paragraphe 5.2 et dans le code de conduite en ce qui a trait au traitement des renseignements confidentiels ou protégés, ou des renseignements de nature personnelle.

8. GESTION ET SOUTIEN

  1. 8.1 La responsabilité de gestion d’aider et d’appuyer le Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration revient à la Direction de la mobilisation et de la sensibilisation des intervenants.

  2. 8.2 La Direction de la mobilisation et de la sensibilisation des intervenants organisera les réunions et réservera les locaux, verra à la traduction, obtiendra l’approbation ministérielle et organisera les déplacements et l’hébergement des membres le cas échéant. Elle remplira également les fonctions de prise de notes et de rédaction des comptes rendus. En consultation avec les coprésidents et avec l’approbation du ministre, la Direction de la mobilisation et de la sensibilisation des intervenants préparera et diffusera également l’ordre du jour et les documents à l’appui dans les trois à cinq jours qui précéderont une réunion du Groupe consultatif sur la commémoration.

9. FRAIS

  1. 9.1 Anciens Combattants Canada assumera les frais associés aux réunions, y compris la location de salles et les frais connexes, les déplacements conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, et la traduction, l’impression et la distribution des rapports et des publications du Groupe consultatif.

  2. 9.2 Tous les déplacements doivent être approuvés au préalable par ACC. Les membres remettront les reçus de leurs déplacements, qui leur seront remboursés conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, au bureau de la Direction de la mobilisation et de la sensibilisation des intervenants. Tous les reçus doivent être présentés aux fins de remboursement dans les 10 jours suivant la fin du déplacement.

  3. 9.3 Tous les membres du Groupe consultatif conviennent que la participation au Groupe consultatif est volontaire et non rémunérée. Bien qu’Anciens Combattants Canada rembourse les frais raisonnables de déplacement, de rencontre et autres frais approuvés au préalable, les membres du Groupe consultatif ne seront pas autrement indemnisés de leurs efforts. La participation au Groupe consultatif n’engendre pas de relation employé-employeur ni n’empêche les membres de s’engager autrement auprès de l’État.

10. ENTENTE

  1. 10.1 Les présents paramètres ont fait l’objet de discussions et sont convenus par les membres du Groupe consultatifs sur la commémoration.

  2. 10.2 Les nouveaux membres seront informés de leurs responsabilités par les coprésidents, et seront invités à accepter les paramètres et à signer le code de conduite.

ANNEXE A CODE DE CONDUITE

  1. Dans le souci de favoriser une culture de confiance mutuelle, de respect, de professionnalisme, d’intégrité et de responsabilisation parmi les membres du Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale, les membres sont tenus de se conformer aux directives suivantes :

    1. Les membres doivent assister à toutes les réunions et y participer activement.
    2. Les membres s’engagent à traiter confidentiellement toute information de cette nature divulguée ou traitée lors d’une réunion ou fournie en appui au travail du Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale.
    3. Les membres s’engagent à ne pas divulguer à qui que ce soit les renseignements privilégiés ou personnels reçus aux fins, au cours ou à la suite des discussions du Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale, de vive voix ou par écrit, à l’exception des autres membres du Groupe sur la santé mentale, à moins qu’ils n’y soient autorisés par les coprésidents du Groupe consultatif.
    4. Les membres ne doivent pas divulguer les recommandations du Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale jusqu’à ce que le ministre approuve la communication de ces renseignements au-delà d’ACC;
    5. Les membres doivent informer le(s) coprésident(s) des conflits d’intérêts potentiels ou présumés.
    6. Les membres doivent s’abstenir de se comporter d’une manière qui discréditerait le Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale, le ministre ou son cabinet, ou en compromettrait l’intégrité.
  2. Reconnaissance

  3. Je, soussigné(e), _______________, reconnais avoir lu et compris les paramètres du Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale et le présent code de conduite. Je confirme par la présente que je m’engage à exécuter mes fonctions en tant que membre du Groupe consultatif conformément aux paramètres et au présent code de conduite.

  4. En signant cette déclaration, je suis lié(e) par ce code et par les paramètres. Je comprends aussi que si je néglige de m’y conformer, je pourrais être destitué(e) du Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale.

  5. Nom en lettres moulées : __________________________
    Signature : __________________________
    Date : _____________

Date de modification :