Summary of Activity – Mental Health Advisory Group

May to September 2016

Background

The Mental Health Advisory Group (MHAG) is one of the most recently formed of the six Ministerial Advisory Groups tasked to provide advice to the Minister of Veterans Affairs. The MHAG is to provide advice to the Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of National Defence to ensure that Veterans, Canadian Armed Forces and Royal Canadian Mounted Police members, and their families receive the care, compassion, respect, support, and economic opportunities they deserve.

To this end, and within its particular mandate to provide advice, the Mental Health Advisory Group will:

  • examine gaps and weaknesses in the support and services to Veterans, and their families that are related to the mental health of Veterans, CAF and RCMP members, including post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other operational stress injuries (OSI).
  • provide the Minister with advice that prioritizes and addresses the significant gaps and weaknesses in the support and services related to mental health.
  • contribute timely input to Veterans Affairs Canada to ensure stronger, more responsive policy and program development.

Members

The MHAG members are drawn from a cross-section of Veterans and mental health professionals:

  • Sapper (Retired) Aaron Bedard
  • Michael Blais, Canadian Veterans Advocacy
  • Louise Bradley, Mental Health Commission of Canada
  • Dr. Karen Cohen, Canadian Psychological Association
  • Dave Gallson, Mood Disorders Society of Canada
  • Sergeant Brian Harding
  • Major General (retired) Glynne Hines
  • Dr. Ruth Lanius, Western University
  • Warrant Officer (Retired) Brian McKenna
  • Colonel Scott McLeod, Deputy Surgeon General, Canadian Armed Forces
  • Robert O’Brien, Canadian Association of Veterans in UN Peacekeeping
  • Dr. Don Richardson, Canadian Psychiatric Association
  • Dr. Patrick Smith, Canadian Mental Health Association
  • Robert Thibeau, Aboriginal Veterans Autochtones

The Group is co-chaired by Joel Fillion (VAC Director Mental Health) and Glynne Hines (Veteran).

Mandate

As with the other Ministerial Advisory Groups, the MHAG is focused on providing advice relevant to the Minister’s Mandate Letter. Although other advice may be provided if deemed relevant to the members, the Group is focused on informing the Minister’s decision-making process with respect to mental health issues facing veterans and their families.

While there is clearly an overarching need to ensure that VAC implements all of the Auditor General’s recommendations on enhancing mental health service delivery to veterans, there are specific areas that need priority attention. As such, the MHAG agreed on three priority areas (no specific order) on which to provide advice:

  • Create a new centre of excellence in Veterans’ care with a specialization in mental health, post-traumatic stress disorder and related issues for both Veterans and first responders.
  • Provide greater education, counseling, and training for families who are providing care and support to Veterans living with physical and/or mental health issues as a result of their service.
  • Work with the Minister of National Defence to develop a suicide prevention strategy for Canadian Armed Forces personnel and Veterans.

Other areas of focus could be to provide advice on education, counseling or training for Veterans providing peer support to other Veterans, and to provide advice on the ways to de-stigmatize and remove the barriers to care associated with mental health.

The scope of the Mental Health Advisory Group includes the consideration of medical and ethical evidence to support the development of policies and programs and the provision of services and benefits associated with the mental health of Veterans, CAF and RCMP members and their families. The MHAG is aware that VAC has previously submitted its Mental Health Strategy for approval and anxiously awaits its release for review. This strategy should inform the policies and programs being considered by VAC. It should also be informed by the work of the advisory groups, particularly the MHAG.

Activity Summary

Since its establishment 10 May 2016, the MHAG has met three times: twice in person in Ottawa and once by teleconference. Additionally, a sub-group to address the Centre of Excellence for Mental Health was created. This sub-group also met on numerous occasions both by videoconference and in Ottawa. The following summarizes the activities of the MHAG to date:

Centre of Excellence for Mental Health

The Centre of Excellence for Mental Health or CoE has been the primary focus of the MHAG. This was a conscious decision taken by the MHAG because it was seen as potentially the most capital-intensive of the three priorities and in part, it could overlap with part or all of the two other priorities, thus addressing them concurrently. Considerable discussion has taken place both within the sub-group and within the greater MHAG itself. The sub-group went outside the membership of the MHAG to solicit input and advice from other Veterans who had successfully completed programs and from other mental health professionals with extensive experience treating Veterans and first-responders. The sub-group is in the process of developing a Mental Wellness Framework/Model based on the attributes and criteria that have been ascribed by the MHAG. This framework will further inform the recommendations for the CoE.

The Centre of Excellence for Mental Health must:

  • Include an in-patient/residential care facility
  • Include an outpatient component
  • Be focused on recovery
  • Include a comprehensive research capability (including evidence-based research)
  • Be scalable to meet the needs of the Veteran community
  • Include complementary, non-traditional treatment alternatives
  • Be culturally relevant and sensitive
  • Have reach into other disciplines (i.e. pain management, addiction, physical injury) as well as mental health through formal agreements
  • Be innovative in its approach to research and services
  • Be accessible to all Veterans, their families, and support network
  • Be Veteran-centric and integrate families into every aspect of care
  • Conduct education and training for Veterans, families, care providers/peer supporters, and the public (through educators and the media)
  • Be under a strict governance model that includes at least 1/3 Veterans
  • Be subject to rigorous performance standards and standards of care

Education, Counseling and Training

While not addressed as a discrete topic, education, counseling and training were discussed in the context of the Centre of Excellence for Mental Health. It is the assertion of the MHAG that a key component of the CoE must be education, counseling and training, not only for Veterans but also equally for their families and peer-supporters/caregivers. Education, counseling and training do not stop at the doors of the CoE. These must also be made available to CAF and RCMP members and their families throughout the member’s careers, to those providing care to these members, and to the general public. One of the roles of the MHAG is to provide advice on the ways to de-stigmatize and remove the barriers to care associated with mental health. This can only be done through greater awareness of the public and health care providers in general.

Suicide Prevention Strategy

It was disturbing to learn that Canada was the only G-7 Nation without a National Suicide Prevention Strategy. This does not excuse DND or VAC however from having such a strategy. Although there may not have been clear strategies, VAC has indicated that about 1/3 of identified action plan interventions have been completed. It was also disturbing to learn that there are no definitive statistics available on Veteran suicide in Canada. While it was often heard that “one is too many” and we were questioned on what would be different if we knew the numbers of Veteran suicides, the point stressed by the Veterans was that the number is important if we are to bring awareness to the problem and therefore address it head on. There are dissenting views as to whether the availability of accurate statistics would change priorities and action plans, with the disagreement generally along the lines of Veterans and mental health professionals. The Minister’s Mandate Letter calls for him to work with the Minister of National Defence on a collective suicide prevention strategy however, no information is forthcoming on that strategy and it is unclear how VAC is influencing that strategy. While the MHAG has been assured that information is continually provided to Deputy Minister office, and VAC has taken the lead to ensure momentum, concern has been expressed that there is no visibility into the strategy that the MHAG is meant to influence. It is also contended that a Veteran suicide prevention strategy has to be more closely aligned to the national strategy than does a CAF strategy, hence the urgent need for a National Suicide Prevention Strategy.

Advice to the Minister

The MHAG will continue its work refining recommendations for the CoE; education, counseling, and training; and suicide prevention with a view to providing this advice in the Spring of 2017 or sooner should the opportunity present itself or should advice be requested by the Minister.

Based on the above details, the following would comprise the advice as of September 2017 (in no particular order):

  • The attributes and criteria outlined for the CoE represent the minimum expected by the Veteran community. A recommendation of geographic location(s) and numbers (although “centre” implies one, it could be the centre of a network of service locations) was discussed but not debated or agreed, nor is it considered relevant to the advice as long as the attributes and criteria are satisfied. Therefore, the resulting CoE must satisfy all of the attributes and criteria listed above.
  • Education, counseling and training are considered an integral part of the CoE. However, work on those can continue or be accelerated and rolled into the CoE when it is operational.
  • Collect and analyze data pertaining to Veteran suicides as a matter of priority.
  • If the Suicide Prevention Strategy is to be a joint DND/VAC strategy, share the draft currently being developed by DND/CAF with VAC in order to have retired Veteran input.
  • VAC and DND must encourage the lead government department, Health Canada, to finalize a National Suicide Prevention Strategy that will be relevant to all Canadians, including Veterans.
  • Expedite the release of the VAC Mental Health Strategy.

Clearly, more detailed advice could be provided at a later date or as further information becomes available.

Next Steps

The MHAG will continue to refine the vision for the CoE and will finalize the Mental Wellness Framework/Model as an adjunct to the CoE. The MHAG will also continue to improve the advice relevant to the other two priorities (education, counseling and training, and suicide prevention).

Additionally, the MHAG is considering what else can be done to de-stigmatize mental health issues and remove barriers to care within the Veteran community. This includes more robust preventive measures, increased public awareness, closer ties with health care organizations, and increased outreach to remote and under-serviced areas and above all, closer work with the CAF to enable smooth transition and minimize triggers.

Date modified:

Sommaire des activités – Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale

Mai à septembre 2016

Contexte

Le Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale (GCSM) est l’un des groupes les plus récemment formés parmi les six groupes consultatifs ministériels chargés de formuler des avis à l’intention d’Anciens Combattants Canada. Le GCSM a pour mandat de formuler des avis au ministre des Anciens Combattants et ministre associé de la Défense nationale pour assurer que les vétérans, les membres des FAC et de la GRC ainsi que leur famille reçoivent les soins, la compassion, le respect, le soutien et les occasions économiques qu’ils méritent.

À cette fin, et dans le cadre de son mandat particulier de formulation d’avis, le Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale :

  • examinera les lacunes et les faiblesses du soutien et des services aux vétérans et à leur famille liés à la santé mentale des vétérans, des membres des FAC et de la GRC, y compris l’état de stress post-traumatique (ESPT) et à d’autres traumatismes de stress opérationnel (TSO);
  • fournira au ministre des avis pour établir l’ordre de priorité et traiter des importantes lacunes et faiblesses du soutien et des services liés à la santé mentale;
  • fournira en temps opportun des opinions à l’intention d’Anciens Combattants Canada pour assurer l’élaboration d’une politique et d’un programme plus solides et réactifs.

Membres

Les membres du GCSM représentent la communauté des vétérans ainsi que celle des professionnels en santé mentale :

  • Sapeur (à la retraite) Aaron Bedard
  • Michael Blais, Groupe de défense des intérêts des anciens combattants
  • Louise Bradley, Commission de la santé mentale du Canada
  • Dre Karen Cohen, Société canadienne de psychologie
  • Dave Gallson, Société pour les troubles de l’humeur du Canada
  • Sergent Brian Harding
  • Major général (à la retraite) Glynne Hines
  • Dre Ruth Lanius, Université Western
  • Adjudant (à la retraite) Brian McKenna
  • Colonel Scott McLeod, médecin-chef adjoint, Forces armées canadiennes
  • Robert O’Brien, Association canadienne de vétérans des forces de la paix des Nations Unies
  • Dr Don Richardson, Association des psychiatres du Canada
  • Dr Patrick Smith, Association canadienne pour la santé mentale
  • Robert Thibeau, Vétérans autochtones

Le Groupe est coprésidé par Joël Fillion (Directeur de la santé mentale à ACC) et Glynne Hines (vétéran).

Mandat

Tout comme pour les autres groupes consultatifs ministériels, le GCSM est axé sur la formulation d’avis qui tiennent compte de la lettre de mandat du ministre. Bien que d’autres conseils puissent être prodigués s’ils sont jugés pertinents par les membres, le Groupe a pour objectif d’éclairer le processus de prise de décisions par le ministre relativement aux problèmes de santé mentale auxquels les vétérans et leur famille sont confrontés.

S’il est clair qu’il faut absolument veiller à ce que ACC mette en œuvre la totalité des recommandations du vérificateur général en vue d’améliorer la prestation de services de santé mentale auprès des vétérans, il y a des domaines précis qui nécessitent une attention prioritaire. À ce titre, le GCSM s’est entendu sur trois domaines prioritaires (non dans un ordre précis) sur lesquels se prononcer :

  • Créer un nouveau centre d’excellence en matière de soins pour vétérans spécialisé dans la santé mentale, l’état de stress post-traumatique et d’autres questions connexes touchant les vétérans et les premiers intervenants.
  • Fournir de meilleurs services d’éducation, de counseling et de formation aux familles qui donnent soins et soutien aux vétérans ayant des problèmes de santé physique ou mentale liés à leurs états de service.
  • Collaborer avec le ministre de la Défense nationale en vue d’élaborer une stratégie de prévention du suicide chez le personnel des Forces armées canadiennes et les vétérans.

D’autres domaines d’intérêt pourraient comprendre la prestation de conseils sur l’éducation, le counseling ou la formation pour les vétérans qui offrent un soutien de pair à d’autres vétérans et sur les façons de lutter contre la stigmatisation et de lever les barrières aux soins liés à la santé mentale.

La portée du Groupe consultatif sur la santé mentale comprend l’examen des éléments de preuve de nature médicale et éthique pour soutenir l’élaboration des politiques et des programmes et la prestation des services et des avantages associés à la santé mentale des vétérans, des membres des FAC et de la GRC et de leur famille. Le GCSM est au fait qu‘ACC a antérieurement soumis sa stratégie en santé mentale pour approbation et attend sa publication avec impatience afin de l’examiner. Cette stratégie devrait éclairer les politiques et les programmes envisagés par ACC. Elle devrait également être fondée sur les travaux des groupes consultatifs, particulièrement de ceux du GCSM.

Sommaire des activités

Depuis sa formation le 10 mai 2016, le GCSM s’est réuni trois fois : deux fois en personne à Ottawa, et une fois par téléconférence. En outre, un sous-groupe formé pour examiner le Centre d’excellence en santé mentale a été créé. Ce sous-groupe s’est également réuni à de nombreuses reprises tant par vidéoconférence qu’à Ottawa. Ce qui suit présente un sommaire des activités du GCSM à ce jour :

Centre d’excellence en santé mentale

Le Centre d’excellence en santé mentale, ou CE, a été le principal sujet d’étude du GCSM. Il s’agissait d’une décision réfléchie prise par le GCSM puisqu’il a été vu comme étant potentiellement le plus exigeant en matière de capital des trois priorités et, en partie, comme pouvant chevaucher une partie ou la totalité des deux autres priorités, permettant ainsi de traiter concurremment de ces dernières. Beaucoup de discussions ont eu lieu tant au sein du sous-groupe qu’au sein du GCSM lui-même. Le sous groupe est allé au-delà du GCSM pour solliciter des opinions et des conseils auprès d’autres vétérans ayant suivi des programmes avec succès ainsi que d’autres professionnels en santé mentale ayant une vaste expérience dans le traitement de vétérans et de premiers intervenants. Le sous-groupe procède actuellement à l’élaboration d’un cadre ou modèle de bien-être en santé mentale fondé sur les attributs et les critères ayant été prescrits par le GCSM. Ce cadre éclairera encore davantage les recommandations à l’égard du CE.

Le Centre d’excellence en santé mentale doit :

  • Comprendre un établissement de soins aux patients hospitalisés
  • Comprendre une composante pour patients externes
  • Être axé sur le rétablissement
  • Comprendre une capacité de recherche exhaustive (y compris la recherche fondée sur des données probantes)
  • Être en mesure d’évoluer pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté des vétérans
  • Comprendre des options complémentaires de traitement non traditionnel
  • Être pertinent et sensible d’un point de vue culturel
  • Toucher à d’autres disciplines (c.-à-d., la gestion de la douleur, les dépendances, les blessures physiques) ainsi qu’à la santé mentale par l’intermédiaire d’ententes officielles
  • Être novateur dans son approche à l’égard de la recherche et des services
  • Être accessible à tous les vétérans, à leur famille et à un réseau de soutien
  • Être axé sur les vétérans et intégrer les familles dans tous les aspects des soins
  • Offrir une éducation et de la formation aux vétérans, aux familles, aux prestataires de soins et aux pairs offrant un soutien, et au public (par l’intermédiaire d’éducateurs et des médias)
  • Être soumis à un modèle de gouvernance strict qui inclut au moins un tiers de vétérans
  • Être assujetti à des normes de rendement et de soins rigoureuses

Éducation, counseling et formation

Bien qu’ils ne soient pas traités comme des sujets précis, l’éducation, le counseling et la formation ont été abordés dans le contexte du Centre d’excellence en santé mentale. Le GCSM a déclaré qu’une composante clés du CE doit être l’éducation, le counseling et la formation, non seulement pour les vétérans, mais également pour leur famille et les pairs offrant un soutien et pour les soignants. L’éducation, le counseling et la formation ne s’arrêtent pas au CE. Ils doivent également être mis à la disposition des membres des FAC et de la GRC et de leur famille tout au long de la carrière des membres, à ceux qui fournissent des soins à ces membres et au grand public. Un des rôles du GCSM est de formuler des avis sur les façons de lutter contre la stigmatisation et de lever les barrières aux soins liées à la santé mentale. Cela ne peut être accompli qu’au moyen d’une plus grande sensibilisation du public et des prestataires de soins de santé en général.

Stratégie de prévention du suicide

Il a été troublant d’apprendre que le Canada est la seule nation membre du G7 ne disposant pas d’une stratégie nationale de prévention du suicide. Cela n’empêche toutefois pas le MDN ou ACC d’en avoir une. Bien qu’il n’y ait pas eu de stratégie claire, ACC a mentionné qu’environ un tiers des interventions prévues dans les plans d’d’action ont été menées à bien. Il a également été troublant d’apprendre qu’il n’y a pas de statistiques finales disponibles sur le suicides chez les vétérans au Canada. Bien que nous ayons souvent entendu « qu’un est un de trop » et qu’on nous demande ce qui serait différent si nous étions au fait du nombre de suicides chez les vétérans, le point sur lequel les vétérans ont insisté est que le nombre est important si nous voulons rehausser la sensibilisation au problème et donc l’attaquer de front. Différents points de vue s’affrontent quant à savoir si la disponibilité de statistiques exactes changerait les priorités et les plans d’action, la dissension s’affichant habituellement entre les vétérans et les professionnels en santé mentale. La lettre de mandat du ministre demande à ce dernier de collaborer avec le ministre de la Défense nationale à l’élaboration d’une stratégie collective de prévention du suicide; toutefois, aucun renseignement n’est attendu à l’égard de cette stratégie, et la façon dont ACC influence cette stratégie n’est pas claire. Alors que le GCSM a été assuré que l’information est constamment communiquée au bureau du sous-ministre, et qu‘ACC a pris les devants pour en maintenir l’élan, des préoccupations ont été exprimées quant à l’absence de visibilité de cette stratégie que le GCSM est censé influencer. Il est également soutenu qu’une stratégie de prévention du suicide chez les vétérans doit être plus étroitement harmonisée à la stratégie nationale qu’une stratégie des FAC; justifiant donc le besoin urgent pour une stratégie nationale de prévention du suicide.

Avis au ministre

Le GCSM poursuivra ses travaux en vue d’affiner ses recommandations pour le CE, l’éducation, le counseling et la formation, et la prévention du suicide avec l’objectif de formuler ces avis au printemps de 2017 ou plus tôt, si l’occasion se présente ou si des tels avis sont demandés par le ministre.

Selon les détails susmentionnés, ce qui suit composera les avis en date de septembre 2017 (sans ordre préétabli) :

  • Les attributs et les critères précisés pour le CE représentent le minimum attendu par la communauté des vétérans. Une recommandation quant aux emplacements géographiques et au nombre (bien que le terme « centre » suppose un seul emplacement, il pourrait être le centre d’un réseau de points de services) a été discutée, mais non débattue ni convenue, et elle n’est pas jugée pertinente pour les avis tant que les attributs et critères sont respectés. Par conséquent, le CE qui en résultera doit respecter tous les attributs et critères énumérés plus haut.
  • L’éducation, le counseling et la formation sont jugés faire partie intégrante du CE. Toutefois, les travaux à ces égards peuvent se poursuivre ou être accélérés et lancés avec le CE lorsqu’il sera opérationnel.
  • La cueillette et l’analyse de données relatives au suicide chez les vétérans constituent une priorité.
  • Si la Stratégie de prévention du suicide doit être une stratégie conjointe entre le MDN et ACC, il conviendrait de communiquer l’ébauche en cours d’élaboration par le MDN et les FAC à ACC afin de connaître les opinions des vétérans retraités.
  • ACC et le MDN doivent encourager le ministère gouvernemental responsable, Santé Canada, à finaliser une stratégie nationale de prévention du suicide qui sera pertinente pour tous les Canadiens, y compris les vétérans.
  • Accélérer la publication de la stratégie d’ACC en matière de santé mentale.

Il est clair que des avis plus détaillés pourrait être fournis à une date ultérieure ou lorsque des renseignements additionnels deviendront disponibles.

Prochaines étapes

Le GCSM continuera d’affiner sa vision du CE et finalisera le cadre ou modèle en santé mentale à titre de composante auxiliaire du CE. Le GCSM continuera également d’améliorer les avis qui s’appliquent aux deux autres priorités (éducation, counseling et formation, et prévention du suicide).

En outre, le GCSM envisage les autres mesures qui pourraient être prises pour lutter contre la stigmatisation des problèmes de santé mentale et retirer les barrières envers les soins au sein de la communauté des vétérans. Cela comprend des mesures préventives plus robustes, une sensibilisation accrue du public, des liens plus étroits avec les organisations de soins de santé, et un meilleur accès aux régions éloignées et insuffisamment servies et, par-dessus tout, une collaboration plus étroite avec les FAC pour permettre une transition plus harmonieuse et l’atténuation des effets déclencheurs.

Date de modification :