Language selection

Building communities

Research, reference tools and resources to help us stay connected. Working together, we can help influence research, develop ideas and solutions to challenges and promote collaboration among Veterans and stakeholder groups.

Research

Less is known about the well-being of LGBTQ2 Veterans in Canada, but researchers have begun to work with LGBTQ2 Veterans to better understand their needs and experiences.

Veterans Affairs Canada

Life After Service Survey 2016
Designed to help us further understand the experiences of Veterans as they transition to life after service.

Female and male Veterans in Canada
Many Veterans share common experiences and similar needs, however women Veterans differ in some indicators of health, purpose, finances and other domains of well-being.

Veterans Suicide Mortality Study
The 2019 study help us understand the reality of suicide within the Veteran community and develop prevention activities.

Veteran well-being
A document on well-being designed for Veterans and their families.

Veterans in Canada released since 1998: A Sex-disaggregated profile
Separate profiles of the male and female Veteran populations captured in the Life After Service Studies.

Other government departments

Sexual orientation and complete mental health
Provides insight into the negative effect of prejudice and discrimination on the mental health of sexual minority Canadians.

Women in Canada: a gender-based statistical report
A key source of data by gender on subjects, such as financial security, violence, access to education and career opportunities.

Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada regularly publishes research on women in Canada, which allows for comparisons between military and civilian populations.

Veterans’ health research

Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research (CIMVHR)
As the Canadian hub for military, Veteran and family health research, CIMVHR allows more VAC research requirements to be met.

Journal of Military, Veteran and Family Health (JMVFH)
The JMVFH is the official scholarly journal of the CIMVHR. It is published twice a year.

Centre of Excellence on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and related mental health conditions
The Centre has been established to provide better access to information, research, tools and expertise on PTSD and related mental health conditions.


What others are doing

Canadian Women’s Wellness Initiative
Based in Seabright, NS, the initiative offers stress reduction training to Veterans and their families suffering from toxic stress injuries, occupational stress injuries, and PTSD-related symptoms.

Women Warriors’ Healing Garden
The Ottawa-based group will establish a permanent therapy program for women and LGBTQ2 Veterans, recruit and train one peer support worker on an annual basis and expand its model to other communities across Canada.

A New Dynamic Enterprise Inc.
A New Dynamic Enterprise, Inc. (ANDE), based in Edmonton, offers Transitions Lifeshops seminars across Canada. These seminars help women Veterans and wives or partners of Veterans to map out a successful transition to post-service life while creating a women’s support network aimed at personal and professional growth.

Rainbow Veterans (RVC)
A Veterans group that provides support for those who suffered discrimination in the Canadian Armed Forces because of their sexual orientation. You can contact the RVC at rainbowvetscanada@outlook.com.

It’s just 700
Provides confidential peer support for current and past service members of the Canadian military who survived a work related sexual trauma.

True Patriot Love podcast series “For Her Country”
This podcast series explores lessons in leadership from inspirational female leaders in Canada’s military. It is in honour of fallen military hero Captain Nichola Goddard, an inspiring young artillery officer who became the first female Canadian soldier to die in combat.

True Patriot Love Virtual Fireside Chat
Peter Mansbridge moderates a discussion with an esteemed group of Veterans gathered to mark the 75th anniversary of VE Day, including former Chief of the Defence Staff General (Retired) Rick Hillier, decorated WWII Veteran Captain (Retired) Martin Maxwell and former Invictus Games athlete Corporal (Retired) Kelly Scanlan.

Servicewomen’s Salute Canada
Join us in our mission to Know, Honour and Strengthen the continuing contribution of servicewomen to Canada.

Women Veterans Research Network (WREN)
WREN's mission is to ensure equitable lifetime outcomes for women and men veterans in all the seven domains of well-being as defined by the Government of Canada. Members of WREN support and promote the government's use of sex- and gender-informed, evidence-based policies and practices in defence and security.

Quebec Veterans Foundation and the BFLF Women Veterans Program
The Barry F. Lorenzetti Foundation and the Quebec Veterans Foundation have joined forces to empower women veterans to live in dignity. BFLF Women Veterans Program encourages the development and offering of wellness activities specifically designed to meet the unique needs of Quebec women veterans, as they experience the challenges of the transition from military to life after service.

LifeSpeak
LifeSpeak is a total well-being platform that helps organizations keep employees present, productive and thriving. There is a series of videos and blogs that deal with gender equality, diversity and inclusion. Access this content by clicking on “Group Account sign-in” and use the password “canada”.


Funding

Veteran and Family Well-Being Fund
Provides grants and contributions to private, public or academic organizations to conduct research and implement initiatives and projects that support the well-being of Veterans and their families. Some organizations are creating new and innovative ways to improve the well-being of women and LGBTQ2 Veterans. Learn more about past and current recipients of the fund.

Women’s Program
The objective of the Women's Program is to achieve the full participation of women in the economic, social and democratic life of Canada. Funding is provided to eligible organizations in support of projects at the local, regional and national levels that address ending violence against women and girls, improving women's and girls' economic security and prosperity, or encouraging women and girls in leadership and decision-making roles.

Gender-based Violence Program
The Gender-Based Violence program takes action to support survivors and their families.

LGBTQ2 Capacity Fund
Invests in projects that increase the capacity of eligible LGBTQ2 organizations whose initiatives advance equality for all people.


Legal resources

LGBT purge class action
The campaign to identify and purge LGBT Federal Public Servants on the basis of their sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression in the federal public service and military began in the 1950s and continued for decades. The class action seeks justice for those who were harmed during this period.

CAF/DND Sexual Misconduct Class Action
If you experienced sexual harassment, sexual assault or discrimination based on your sex, gender, gender identity or sexual orientation while serving in the Canadian Armed Forces or while employed for the Department of National Defence or for the Staff of the Non-Public Funds, Canadian Forces, you may be eligible for a compensation from this class action settlement.


Related information

Office of Women and LGBTQ2 Veterans

Working with Veterans and stakeholders to identify and address systemic issues or barriers specific to women and LGBTQ2 Veterans.

Your stories, your voice

Listen and read about Veterans like you, sharing their military and post-service experiences.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Bâtir des communautés

Recherches, outils de référence et ressources pour nous aider à rester branchés. En travaillant ensemble, nous pouvons contribuer à influencer la recherche, à élaborer des idées et des solutions aux défis et à promouvoir la collaboration entre les vétérans et les groupes d’intervenants.

Recherche

On en sait peu sur le bien-être des vétérans LGBTQ2 au Canada, mais des chercheurs ont commencé à travailler avec les vétérans LGBTQ2 pour mieux comprendre leurs besoins et leurs expériences.

Anciens Combattants Canada

Sondage sur la vie après le service militaire 2016
Conçu pour nous aider à mieux comprendre l’expérience des vétérans lors de leur transition vers la vie civile.

Les hommes et les femmes vétérans au Canada
De nombreux vétérans ont des expériences communes et des besoins similaires, mais les femmes vétérans diffèrent des hommes pour ce qui est de certains indicateurs de santé, de but, de finances et d’autres aspects du bien-être.

Étude sur la mortalité par suicide chez les vétérans
L’étude de 2019 nous aide à comprendre la réalité du suicide au sein de la communauté des vétérans et à créer des activités de prévention.

Bien-être des vétérans
Un document sur le bien-être destiné aux vétérans et à leur famille.

Veterans in Canada released since 1998: A Sex-disaggregated Profile
(en anglais seulement)
Profils distincts des populations masculines et féminines de vétérans saisies dans les études sur la vie après le service.

Autres ministères

Orientation sexuelle et santé mentale complète
Donne un aperçu de l’effet négatif des préjugés et de la discrimination sur la santé mentale des Canadiens appartenant à une minorité sexuelle.

Femmes au Canada : rapport statistique fondé sur le sexe
Une source essentielle de données ventilées par sexe sur des sujets comme la sécurité financière, la violence, l’accès à l’éducation et les possibilités de carrière.

Statistique Canada
Statistique Canada publie régulièrement des recherches sur les femmes au Canada, ce qui permet de comparer les populations militaires et civiles.

Recherches en santé des vétérans

Institut canadien de recherche sur la santé des militaires et des vétérans (ICRSMV)
En tant que centre canadien de recherche sur la santé des militaires, des vétérans et des familles, l’ICRSMV permet de mieux répondre aux besoins de recherche d’ACC.

Journal of Military, Veteran and Family Health (JMVFH)
(en anglais seulement)
Le JMVFH est la revue scientifique officielle de l’ICRSMV. Elle est publiée deux fois par année.

Centre d’excellence sur le trouble de stress post traumatique (TSPT) et les états de santé mentale connexes
Le centre a été créé pour fournir un meilleur accès à l’information, à la recherche, aux outils et à l’expertise sur le TSPT et les problèmes de santé mentale connexes.


Ce qui se fait ailleurs

Initiative pour le bien-être des femmes canadiennes
(en anglais seulement)
Mise en œuvre à Seabright (Nouvelle-Écosse), l’initiative offre une formation sur la réduction du stress aux vétérans et à leur famille souffrant de traumatismes liés au stress toxique ou au stress professionnel et aux symptômes liés au TSPT.

Women Warriors’ Healing Garden
(en anglais seulement)
Le groupe basé à Ottawa offrira un programme continu de thérapie pour les femmes vétérans et les vétérans LGBTQ2. Le groupe recrutera et formera un préposé au soutien par les pairs chaque année et élargira ses initiatives actuelles à l’échelle nationale.

A New Dynamic Enterprise Inc.
(en anglais seulement)
A New Dynamic Enterprise, Inc. (ANDE), basée à Edmonton, offre des ateliers sur la transition partout au Canada. Ces ateliers aident les femmes vétérans et les conjoints ou partenaires de vétérans à planifier une transition réussie vers la vie après le service militaire, tout en créant un réseau de soutien pour les femmes visant leur épanouissement personnel et professionnel.

Rainbow Veterans (RVC)
Est un groupe de vétérans qui apporte son soutien à ceux qui ont souffert de discrimination dans les Forces armées canadiennes en raison de leur orientation sexuelle. On peut communiquer avec RVC à l’adresse suivante : rainbowvetscanada@outlook.com.

It’s just 700
(en anglais seulement)
Offre un soutien confidentiel par les pairs aux membres actuels et passés des Forces canadiennes qui ont survécu à un traumatisme sexuel lié au travail.

Série de balados“For Her Country” de La patrie gravée sur le cœur
(en anglais seulement)
Cette série de balados explore les leçons de leadership tirées de dirigeantes inspirantes dans l’Armée canadienne. C’est en l’honneur de l’héroïne militaire décédée, le capitaine Nichola Goddard, une jeune officier d’artillerie inspirante qui est devenue la première militaire canadienne à mourir au combat.

Causerie virtuelle de La patrie gravée sur le cœur
(en anglais seulement)
Peter Mansbridge anime une discussion avec un groupe de vétérans respectés qui s’est réuni pour souligner le 75e anniversaire du jour de la Victoire en Europe. Parmi les membres du groupe figurent l’ancien chef d’état‑major de la Défense – le général (à la retraite) Rick Hillier, le vétéran de la Seconde Guerre mondiale décoré – le capitaine (à la retraite) Martin Maxwell et l’ancien athlète des Jeux Invictus – le caporal (à la retraite) Kelly Scanlan.

Hommage aux femmes militaires
(en anglais seulement)
A débuté en 2017 avec la campagne Canada 150, qui a été menée par des citoyens pour honorer la contribution des femmes militaires des Forces armées canadiennes.

Réseau de recherche et d’engagement des vétérans (RREV)
La mission du RREV est d’assurer des résultats équitables pour les vétérans dans les sept domaines du bien-être, selon la définition du gouvernement du Canada. Les membres du RREV soutiennent et encouragent l’utilisation, de la part du gouvernement, de politiques et de pratiques de défense et de sécurité fondées sur le sexe, le genre et des preuves tangibles.

Fondation québécoise des vétérans et le programme des femmes vétérans de la FBFL
La Fondation Barry F. Lorenzetti et la Fondation québécoise des vétérans unissent leurs forces pour permettre aux femmes vétérans de vivre dans la dignité. Le programme des femmes vétérans de la FBFL encourage l’élaboration et la prestation d’activités de mieux être spécifiquement conçues pour répondre aux besoins uniques des femmes vétérans du Québec lors de leur transition vers la vie civile.

LifeSpeak
LifeSpeak est une plate-forme de bien-être global qui aide les organisations à faire en sorte que leurs employés soient présents, productifs et dynamiques. Elle renferme une série de vidéos et de blogues qui portent sur l’égalité entre les sexes, la diversité et l’inclusion. Accédez à ce contenu en cliquant sur « Ouverture de session avec compte de groupe. » et utilisez le mot de passe « canada ».


Possibilités de financement

Fonds pour le bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille
Accorde des subventions et des contributions à des organismes privés, publics ou universitaires pour mener des recherches et mettre en œuvre des initiatives et des projets qui favorisent le bien‑être des vétérans et de leur famille. Certaines organisations créent de nouvelles façons novatrices d’améliorer le bien‑être des femmes vétérans et des vétérans LGBTQ2. En savoir plus sur les récipiendaires passés et actuels du fonds..

Programme de promotion de la femme
L’objectif du Programme de promotion de la femme est d’atteindre la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale et démocratique du Canada. Il finance les projets locaux, régionaux ou nationaux d’organismes admissibles pour éliminer la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles, améliorer la sécurité et la prospérité économiques des femmes et des filles, ou permettre aux femmes et aux filles d’accéder à des postes de responsabilité et de décision.

Programme de financement de la lutte contre la violence fondée sur le sexe
Le Programme de financement de la lutte contre la violence fondée sur le sexe contribue au soutien des personnes survivantes et de leur famille.

Fonds de développement des capacités communautaires LGBTQ2
Investit dans des projets qui accroîtront la capacité d’organismes LGBTQ2 admissibles dont les initiatives contribuent à la vigueur du mouvement LGBTQ2 au Canada afin de faire avancer l’égalité pour toutes et tous.


Ressources juridiques

Recours collectif concernant la purge LGBT
La campagne visant à trouver et à purger les fonctionnaires fédéraux LGBT sur la base de leur orientation sexuelle, de leur identité de genre ou de leur expression de genre dans la fonction publique fédérale et l’armée a commencé dans les années 1950 et s’est poursuivie pendant des décennies. Le recours collectif vise à obtenir justice pour les personnes qui ont été lésées pendant cette période.

Recours collectif FAC-MDN pour inconduite sexuelle
Si vous avez été victime de harcèlement sexuel, d’agression sexuelle ou de discrimination fondée sur le sexe, le genre, l’identité de genre ou l’orientation sexuelle pendant que vous serviez dans les Forces armées canadiennes ou que vous étiez employé par le ministère de la Défense nationale ou par le Personnel des fonds non publics des Forces canadiennes, vous pourriez avoir droit à une indemnisation en vertu de ce règlement de recours collectif.


Renseignements connexes

Bureau de la condition féminine et des vétérans LGBTQ2

Le Bureau travaille avec les vétérans et les intervenants pour cerner et régler les problèmes ou les obstacles propres aux femmes vétérans et aux vétérans LGBTQ2.

Vos histoires, votre voix

Écoutez et lisez des articles sur des vétérans comme vous, qui racontent leur expérience militaire et leur vie après le service.

Date de modification :