Language selection

Sex, Gender and Diversity Glossary

Agreeing on gender terminology is essential to building gender inclusive services and respectful, compassionate client service interactions.

The following definitions are adapted from the Government of Canada’s Gender and sexual diversity glossary for the Women, Gender and Equality Virtual Panel.

Veteran
Any former member of the Canadian Armed Forces who releases with an honorable discharge and who successfully underwent basic training.
Gender Based Analysis Plus (GBA+)
An analytical process that provides a rigorous method for the assessment of systemic inequalities, as well as a means to assess how diverse groups of women, men, and gender diverse people may experience policies, programs and initiatives. The “plus” in GBA+ acknowledges that GBA+ is not just about differences between biological (sexes) and socio-cultural (genders). We all have multiple characteristics that intersect and contribute to who we are. GBA+ considers many other identity factors such as race, ethnicity, religion, age, and mental or physical disability, and how the interaction between these factors influences the way we might experience government policies and initiatives.
Intersectionality
The complex, cumulative way in which the effects of multiple forms of discrimination (such as racism, classism and sexism) combine, overlap, or intersect especially in the experiences of marginalized individuals or groups.
Gender equality
The concept that all human beings, regardless of their gender, are free to develop their personal abilities and make choices without the limitations set by stereotypes, rigid gender roles and prejudices, and that the different behaviours, aspirations and needs of people of all genders are considered, valued and favoured equally.
Gender equity
The fair treatment of people of all genders, according to their respective needs. This treatment can be different, but must be equivalent in terms of rights, benefits, obligations and opportunities.
Sex assigned at birth
The sex of a person based on their primary sexual characteristics at birth. This is also referred to as sex.
Intersex
A term that describes a person whose primary sexual characteristics at birth do not meet the medical criteria of the male or female sex.The term “intersex” refers to biological sex features. It does not refer to sexual orientation or gender identity.
Gender
A person’s status in society as a man, woman or non-binary person. While sex is understood only in terms of biological features (ex. Sex assigned at birth), conceptions of gender are influenced by several factors including biological features, cultural and behavioural norms and individual experience.
Gender identity
A person’s internal and deeply-felt sense of being man or woman, both, neither, or somewhere along the gender spectrum. A person’s gender identity may or may not align with the gender typically associated with the sex they were assigned at birth. Gender identity is not necessarily visible and is not related to sexual orientation.
Gender expression
The appearance usually associated with a gender. Gender can be expressed, for example, through behaviour, clothing, hairstyle, voice inflections and body language. A person’s gender expression is not necessarily associated with their gender identity.
Sexual Orientation
Includes, for example, asexuality, bisexuality, heterosexuality, homosexuality and pansexuality
LGBTQ2
An acronym standing for the categories of lesbian, gay, bisexual (those who are attracted to both men and women), transgender, intersex, queer (a self-identifying term used in some gay communities), questioning, and two-spirit. There are many different acronyms that may be used by various communities. It should be noted that acronyms like these may combine sex, gender, and sexual orientation attributes into one. This combination may or may not be appropriate in all circumstances, and GBA+ analysis should be specific where appropriate.
Gender and sexual diversity
A phrase that is considered to be more inclusive that “LGBT” because it does not specify any gender identity or sexual orientation whatsoever.
Cisgender
A person whose gender identity aligns with their sex assigned at birth.
Non-Binary (also ‘nonbinary’)
A person whose gender identity does not align with a binary understanding of gender such as man or woman. Non-binary people may redefine gender or decline to define themselves as gendered altogether.
Transgender
A person whose gender does not align with their gender assigned at birth.
Two-spirit (also 2-spirit)
A North American Indigenous person who embodies both female and male spirits or whose gender identity, sexual orientation or spiritual identity is not limited by the male/female dichotomy. This term is used to reflect the complex Indigenous understanding of gender and sexuality and the history of sexual and gender diversity in Indigenous cultures. Therefore, a person who is not of Indigenous descent should not self-identify as a two-spirit person.
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Lexique sur le sexe, genre et diversité

Il est essentiel de s’accorder sur la terminologie relative au genre pour mettre en place des services incluant tous les genres et assurer des interactions avec les clients qui soient respectueuses et empreintes de compassion.

Les définitions suivantes sont adaptées du Lexique sur la diversité sexuelle et de genre du gouvernement du Canada dans le cadre du groupe d’experts virtuel « Femmes, genre et égalité ».

Vétéran
Tout ancien membre des Forces armées canadiennes qui a réussi son entraînement de base et a été libéré avec mention honorable.
Analyse Comparative Entre Les Sexes Plus (ACS+)
Un processus analytique qui fournit une méthode rigoureuse pour évaluer les inégalités systémiques, ainsi qu’un moyen de déterminer comment différents groupes de femmes, d’hommes et de personnes de diverses identités de genre peuvent vivre les politiques, programmes et initiatives. Le signe « plus » dans ACS+ reconnait que l’ACS+ ne se limite pas aux différences biologiques (sexe) et socioculturelles (genre). Nous avons tous de multiples facteurs identitaires qui se recoupent et contribuent à faire de nous ce que nous sommes. L’ACS+ examine de nombreux autres facteurs identitaires comme la race, l’origine ethnique, la religion, l’âge, et les handicaps de nature physique ou mentale, et la façon dont leur interaction influence la manière dont nous pouvons ressentir les politiques et les initiatives gouvernementales.
Intersectionnalité
La manière complexe et cumulative dont les effets des multiples formes de discrimination (telles que le racisme, le classisme et le sexisme) se combinent, se superposent ou se recoupent, en particulier dans les expériences de personnes ou de groupes marginalisés
Égalité entre les genres
Le concept signifiant, d’une part, que tous les êtres humains, peu importe leur genre, sont libres de développer leurs aptitudes personnelles et de faire leurs propres choix, sans être bridés par les stéréotypes, la division rigide des rôles et les préjugés et, d’autre part, que les comportements, les aspirations et les besoins différents des personnes de tous les genres sont, de manière égale, pris en compte, valorisés et encouragés.
Équité entre les genres
Le traitement juste accordé aux personnes de tous les genres, en fonction de leurs besoins respectifs. Ce traitement peut être différent, mais il doit être équivalent sur le plan des droits, des avantages, des obligations et des possibilités.
Sexe assigné à la naissance
La sexe d’une personne déterminé d’après ses caractères sexuels primaires à la naissance.
Intersexué
Un terme qui qualifie une personne dont les caractères sexuels primaires à la naissance ne répondent pas aux critères médicaux du sexe féminin ou masculin. Les termes « intersexué », « intersexuée » et « intersexe » se rapportent aux caractères du sexe biologique. Ils ne désignent ni l’orientation sexuelle ni l’identité de genre.
Genre
Le statut d’une personne en société en tant qu’homme, femme ou personne non binaire Si le sexe d’une personne est considéré uniquement sous l’angle biologique (p. ex. sexe assigné à la naissance), le genre d’une personne est pour sa part influencé par de nombreux facteurs, dont les caractéristiques biologiques, les normes culturelles et comportementales et l’expérience personnelle.
Identité de genre
La sensation intérieure et profonde d’être homme ou femme, d’être homme et femme, ni l’un ni l’autre, ou encore de se situer quelque part le long du spectre du genre. L’identité de genre d’une personne peut correspondre ou non au genre habituellement associé au sexe qui lui a été assigné à la naissance. L’identité de genre n’est pas nécessairement apparente et elle n’est pas liée à l’orientation sexuelle.
Expression de genre
L'apparence habituellement associée à un genre. Le genre peut être exprimé, par exemple, par le comportement, l’habillement, la coiffure, les inflexions de la voix et le langage corporel. L’expression de genre d’une personne n’est pas nécessairement liée à son identité de genre.
Orientation sexuelle
Comprend, par exemple, l’asexualité, la bisexualité, l’hétérosexualité, l’homosexualité et la pansexualité.
LGBTQ2
Un acronyme qui désigne les personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles (attirées autant par les hommes que par les femmes), transgenres, transsexuelles, intersexuées, « queers » (identité revendiquée par une partie de la communauté allosexuelle), bispirituelles et en questionnement. Il existe de nombreux acronymes qui peuvent être utilisés par diverses communautés. Il convient de préciser que de tels acronymes peuvent combiner des caractéristiques liées au sexe, au genre et à l’orientation sexuelle en une seule communauté. Cette combinaison peut être ou ne pas être appropriée dans toutes les circonstances, et l’ACS+ devrait être plus spécifique au besoin.
Diversité sexuelle et de genre
Une expression qui est considérée comme étant plus inclusive que le terme « LGBT », puisqu’elle ne spécifie aucune identité de genre ou orientation sexuelle.
Cisgenre
Une personne dont l’identité de genre correspond à son sexe assigné à la naissance.
Non binaire
Une personne dont l’identité de genre se situe en dehors du modèle de genre binaire homme ou femme. Non-binary people may redefine gender or decline to define themselves as gendered altogether
Transgenre
Une personne dont le genre ne correspond pas à celui qui lui a été assigné à la naissance.
Bispirituel
Une personne autochtone d’Amérique du Nord qui incarne à la fois un esprit féminin et un esprit masculin ou dont l’identité de genre, l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité spirituelle n’est pas limitée par la dichotomie masculin/féminin. Ce terme est utilisé pour refléter la compréhension complexe du genre et de la sexualité par les Autochtones ainsi que la tradition de diversité sexuelle et de genre dans les cultures autochtones. Par conséquent, une personne qui n’est pas d’origine autochtone ne devrait pas utiliser ce terme pour s’auto-identifier.
Date de modification :