Language selection

Office of Women and LGBTQ2 Veterans

The office was established to contribute to advancing gender equality, diversity and inclusion for women and LGBTQ2 Veterans.

Who we are

The Office

The Office of Women and LGBTQ2 Veterans was created by Veterans Affairs Canada in July 2019 to support these under-represented groups of Veterans. We work collaboratively with these communities and others to identify and address systemic barriers and inequities.

Our Mandate

We work within Veteran Affairs Canada and with Veterans and stakeholder groups to identify and address systemic issues specific to sex, gender identity, gender expression and sexual orientation of under-represented sub-groups within the Veteran population. We also seek to integrate Gender-Based Analysis Plus (GBA+) into the work of the Department and to advance gender equality, respect diversity, and promote inclusion for all Veteran by recognizing the different impacts of policies, programs and services based on gender identity and expression, biological sex, and/or sexual orientation, as well as intersecting identity factors, such as age, disability, indigeneity, race/ethnicity, religion, and language.

Our Vision

Working together towards the achievement of equitable access to programs and services that advance equality for all Veterans.

Purpose

By acting as a central coordination hub, we intend to:

  • influence research as well as policy and program development and implementation,
  • sensitize and prepare staff for the equitable delivery of gender-inclusive programs and services, and
  • to provide ongoing advice to advance equal outcomes for all Veterans.

As the GBA+ lead for the Veteran Affairs Canada, we will support the shared responsibility of implementing GBA+ across the Department to achieve these goals.


About gender and diversity

Sex
Sex is the various physical and biological characteristics (chromosomes, genitals, and hormones, etc.) that distinguish individuals as male, female or intersex.

Gender
Gender is a social and personal identity (male, female, two-spirit, non-binary, etc.) influenced by several factors, including biological features, cultural and behavioural norms and self-identity. Gender identity is diverse and fluid. Individuals might identify as female, male, a combination of feminine and masculine traits, or another gender.

Sexual Orientation
Several concepts can be used to measure sexual orientation. These include behavior (whether a person's partner or partners are of the same or the opposite sex) and identity (whether a person considers themselves to be heterosexual, homosexual or bisexual.)

Sexual and gender diversity
Sexual diversity includes sexual attraction, behaviour, identity and orientation while gender diversity refers to gender plurality. The term " sexual and gender diversity" is considered to be more inclusive than "LGBT" because it does not specify gender identity or sexual orientation.

Modernizing sex and gender information practices
In September 2018, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat and the Department of Justice Canada presented a report to the Clerk of the Privy Council with recommendations on ways to modernize how the Government of Canada handles information on sex and gender. Read more about how the Government of Canada is modernizing sex and gender information practices.

Gender, diversity and inclusion statistics
Statistics Canada regularly publishes research that allows for comparisons between military and civilian populations.

In 2021, the National Census will directly ask Canadians “Has this person ever served in the Canadian military?” This more precise information will provide an accurate count and demographic information about the Veteran population.

Here are quick facts from Statistics Canada on gender, diversity and inclusion.

Gender and sexual diversity glossary
This Government of Canada glossary provides the English and French equivalents to 193 concepts on gender and sexual diversity.

Gender-inclusive writing
Gender-inclusive writing, which avoids references to gender whenever possible, is increasingly becoming standard practice in correspondence. Read the recommendations of the Government of Canada’s translation bureau on gender-inclusive writing.


LGBTQ2 resources

LGBTQ2 Veterans hotline
Did you serve in the Canadian Armed Forces or the RCMP? Are you also part of the LGBTQ2 community? Do you have a service-related injury and previously did not apply or were not aware of benefits for which you may have been entitled? Please contact VAC toll-free at 1-800-487-7797 for more information.

LGBTQ2 Secretariat
Information and resources related to the Government of Canada's work to improve equality for LGBTQ2 communities through the promotion of human rights and the development of inclusive federal policies, programs and laws.


Women Veterans Forum

The Women Veterans Forum was the first of its kind in Canada to discuss specific challenges women face in their lives after service. Held in Charlottetown in May 2019, the forum brought together Veterans, researchers, experts and organizational leaders.

Read a summary of the forum.

The second Women Veterans Forum was to be held during the spring of 2020, but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. An in-person event may be planned when public health guidelines permit.


2020 Veterans Affairs Canada Virtual Series: Women Veterans Forum Update and LGBTQ2+ Roundtable

The Veterans Affairs Canada's virtual series: Women Veterans Forum Update and LGBTQ2+ Roundtable held in August and September 2020 included panel discussions with senior officials from Veterans Affairs Canada, the Department of Women and Gender Equality and the Canadian Armed Forces / Department of National Defence. Topics addressed included Women and LGBTQ2+ Veterans, Women Veterans Research and Data and Policy, Services and Program initiatives impacting Women Veterans.

The Roundtable discussion with Veterans and stakeholders from the LGBTQ2+ community sharing experiences and perspectives with senior officials from Veterans Affairs Canada was held on October 21.

The recordings of the three sessions and the Roundtable are available through the Veterans Affairs Canada website at Women and LGBTQ2+ Veteran Engagement.


Contact us

Have questions? Want to share your story? Email us at: vac.womenlgbtq2veterans-femmeslgbtq2veterans.acc@canada.ca.


Related information

Building communities

Research, funding opportunities, news and resources to stay informed and connected.

Your stories, your voice

Listen and read about Veterans like you, sharing their military and post-service experiences.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Bureau de la condition féminine et des vétérans LGBTQ2

Le Bureau a été créé pour aider à faire progresser l’égalité des sexes, la diversité et l’inclusion pour les femmes vétérans et les vétérans LGBTQ2.

Qui nous sommes

Le Bureau

Anciens Combattants Canada a créé le Bureau de la condition féminine et des vétérans LGBTQ2 en juillet 2019 pour aider ces groupes de vétérans sous représentés. Nous collaborons avec ces communautés et d’autres pour cerner et éliminer les inégalités et les obstacles systémiques.

Notre mandat

Nous travaillons au sein d’Anciens Combattants Canada ainsi qu’avec les vétérans et les groupes d’intervenants afin de cerner et de régler les problèmes systémiques liés au sexe, à l’identité de genre, à l’expression de genre et à l’orientation sexuelle des sous groupes sous représentés au sein de la population des vétérans. Nous cherchons également à intégrer l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) au travail du Ministère et la progression de l’égalité des sexes, de la diversité et de l’inclusion pour tous les vétérans en reconnaissant les différentes répercussions des politiques, des programmes et des services en fonction de l’identité de genre, de l’expression de genre, du sexe biologique et/ou de l’orientation sexuelle, de même que de facteurs identitaires croisés comme l’âge, l’identité autochtone, la race/l’origine ethnique, la religion et la langue.

Notre vision

Travailler ensemble à l’obtention d’un accès équitable aux programmes et aux services qui font progresser l’égalité pour tous les vétérans.

Objectif

En agissant à titre de centre de coordination, le Bureau entend :

  • influer sur la recherche ainsi que sur l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des politiques et des programmes;
  • sensibiliser et préparer le personnel à l’équité dans l’exécution de programmes et la prestation de services inclusifs;
  • formuler des conseils de façon continue pour faire progresser l’égalité des résultats pour tous les vétérans.

En tant que responsable de l’ACS+ d’Anciens Combattants Canada, le Bureau soutiendra la responsabilité partagée de la mise en œuvre de l’ACS+ dans l’ensemble du Ministère aux fins de l’atteinte de ces objectifs.


À propos du genre et de la diversité

Sexe
Le sexe est l’ensemble des caractéristiques physiques et biologiques (chromosomes, organes génitaux et hormones, etc.) qui distinguent les personnes en tant qu’hommes, femmes ou personnes intersexuées.

Genre
Le genre est une identité sociale et personnelle (masculin, féminin, bispirituel, non binaire, etc.) influencée par plusieurs facteurs, dont les caractéristiques biologiques, les normes culturelles et comportementales et l’identité personnelle. Les identités de genre sont diverses et fluides. Les individus peuvent s’identifier comme étant de sexe féminin, masculin ou autre, ou comme ayant une combinaison de traits féminins et masculins.

Orientation sexuelle
Plusieurs concepts peuvent être utilisés pour établir l’orientation sexuelle. Ces concepts comprennent le comportement (si le ou les partenaires d’une personne sont du même sexe ou du sexe opposé) et l’identité (si une personne se considère comme hétérosexuelle, homosexuelle ou bisexuelle).

Diversité sexuelle et de genre
La diversité sexuelle comprend l’attraction, le comportement, l’identité et l’orientation sexuelle, tandis que la diversité de genre fait référence à la pluralité des genres. L’expression « diversité sexuelle et de genre » est considérée comme étant plus inclusive que « LGBT », car elle ne précise aucune identité de genre ou orientation sexuelle.

Moderniser les pratiques en matière d’information relative au sexe et au genre
En septembre 2018, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et le ministère de la Justice Canada ont présenté un rapport au greffier du Conseil privé contenant des recommandations sur les façons de moderniser la façon dont le gouvernement du Canada traite les renseignements relatifs au sexe et au genre. Apprenez‑en davantage sur la façon dont le gouvernement du Canada modernise les pratiques d’information sur le sexe et le genre.

Statistiques sur le genre, la diversité et l’inclusion
Statistique Canada publie régulièrement des recherches qui permettent de comparer les populations militaires et civiles.

En 2021, dans le cadre du recensement national, les Canadiens se verront poser la question suivante : « Avez-vous déjà servi dans l’armée canadienne? » Ces données plus précises fourniront un décompte exact et des données démographiques sur la population des vétérans.

Here are Voici des faits saillants de Statistique Canada sur le genre, la diversité et l’inclusion..

Lexique sur la diversité sexuelle et de genre
Ce lexique du gouvernement du Canada fournit l’équivalent en français et en anglais de 193 notions portant sur la diversité sexuelle et de genre.

Écriture inclusive
L'écriture inclusive, qui évite autant que possible les références au genre, devient de plus en plus une pratique courante dans la correspondance. Lisez les recommandations du bureau de traduction du gouvernement du Canada sur l’écriture inclusive.


Ressources LGBTQ2

Ligne d’assistance téléphonique pour les vétérans LGBTQ2
Avez-vous servi dans les Forces armées canadiennes ou la GRC? Faites-vous également partie de la communauté LGBTQ2? Vous avez eu un accident lié au service et n’avez pas fait de demande liée à cet accident ou ne connaissiez pas les prestations auxquelles vous auriez pu avoir droit? Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter ACC au numéro sans frais suivant : 1-800-487-7797.

Secrétariat LGBTQ2
Information et ressources concernant le travail que fait le gouvernement du Canada pour améliorer l’égalité pour les membres de la communauté LGBTQ2 en faisant la promotion des droits de la personne et en élaborant des lois, des politiques et des programmes inclusifs.


Forum des femmes vétérans

Le Forum des femmes vétérans, premier du genre au Canada pour discuter des défis particuliers auxquels les femmes doivent faire face dans leur vie après le service militaire. Tenu à Charlottetown en mai 2019, le forum a réuni des vétérans, des chercheurs, des experts et des dirigeants d’organisations.

Lire le sommaire du forum.

Le deuxième Forum des femmes vétérans devait avoir lieu au cours du printemps 2020, mais il a été reporté en raison de la pandémie de COVID 19. Une activité en personne pourrait être organisée lorsque les directives de la santé publique le permettront.


La série de rencontres virtuelles d'Anciens Combattants Canada 2020 : Le point sur le Forum des femmes vétérans et table ronde de la communauté LGBTQ2+

La série de rencontres virtuelles d'Anciens Combattants Canada : Le point sur le Forum des femmes vétérans et table ronde sur la communauté LGBTQ2+ qui a eu lieu en août et septembre 2020, comportait des discussions en groupe avec de hauts fonctionnaires d'Anciens Combattants Canada, de Femmes et Égalité des genres Canada et des Forces armées canadiennes/du ministère de la Défense nationale. Parmi les sujets abordés figuraient les femmes vétérans et les vétérans LGBTQ2+, les recherches et les données sur les femmes vétérans, ainsi que les initiatives en matière de politiques, de services et de programmes qui touchent les femmes vétérans.

La discussion table ronde avec des vétérans et des intervenants de la communauté LGBTQ2+ qui ont partagé leur expérience et leurs points de vue avec des hauts fonctionnaires d'Anciens Combattants Canada, a eu lieu le 21 octobre.

Les enregistrements de la série complète et la discussion table ronde se trouvent sur notre site Web à la page Engagement des femmes vétérans et des vétérans LGBTQ2+.


Communiquez avec nous

Des questions? Vous souhaitez partager votre histoire? Écrivez-nous à : vac.womenlgbtq2veterans-femmeslgbtq2veterans.acc@canada.ca.


Renseignements connexes

Bâtir des communautés

Recherche, possibilités de financement, actualité et ressources pour rester informé et connecté.

Vos histoires, votre voix

Écoutez et lisez des articles sur des vétérans comme vous, qui racontent leur expérience militaire et leur vie après le service.

Date de modification :