Language selection

Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Oversight and Communications

Mrs. Charlotte Bastien is the Assistant Deputy Minister of Strategic Oversight and Communications.

Mrs. Bastien started her federal Public Service career in 1988 at Environment Canada where she held a number of varied positions at the regional and national levels. She worked at the St. Lawrence Centre and at the Canadian Meteorological Centre of Environment Canada. She was a member of the International Joint Commission’s Council of Great Lakes Research Managers.

In 1996, she accepted an assignment as Special Assistant at the United Nations Environment Programme’s Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity. She coordinated the establishment in Montreal of the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity. She provided liaison with the Francophonie and oversaw the organization of international meetings in North America, South America and Africa regions.

Mrs. Bastien joined the Department of Veterans Affairs Canada in July 2003 as the Associate Regional Director General, Quebec Region. In April 2005, she took on the responsibilities of Regional Director General for Quebec Region. She was appointed as Regional Director General for Ontario and Quebec Region in February 2010. Mrs Bastien was Director General, Field Operations for Veterans Affairs Canada from April 2013 until June 2017 when she began her current role as Assistant Deputy Minister of Strategic Oversight and Communications.

Mrs. Bastien is a graduate of McGill University where she obtained a M.Sc. Agricultural Engineering from Macdonald College. She is a member of the Huron-Wendat First Nation. 

Mrs. Bastien received the Canadian Forces Medallion for Distinguished Service in December 2007. The Canadian Forces Medallion for Distinguished Service is awarded by the Chief of the Defence Staff on behalf of the Canadian Forces to recognize outstanding service performed by persons other than active military personnel.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sous-ministre adjointe, Supervision stratégique et Communications

Madame Charlotte Bastien est sous-ministre adjointe du Secteur de la supervision stratégique et des communications.

Mme Bastien a débuté sa carrière dans la fonction publique fédérale en 1988 à Environnement Canada où elle a occupé divers postes à l’échelle régionale et nationale. Elle a travaillé au Centre Saint-Laurent et au Centre météorologique canadien d'Environnement Canada. Elle a aussi été membre du Conseil des gestionnaires de la recherche des Grands Lacs de la Commission mixte internationale.

En 1996, elle a accepté une affectation au Secrétariat de la Convention sur la diversité biologique du Programme des Nations Unies pour l'environnement à titre d’adjointe spéciale. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, elle a coordonné l'établissement à Montréal du Secrétariat de la Convention sur la diversité biologique. Elle a en outre assuré la liaison avec la Francophonie et elle a supervisé l'organisation de réunions internationales en Amérique du Nord, en Amérique du Sud et en Afrique.

Mme Bastien s'est jointe au ministère des Anciens Combattants en juillet 2003 à titre de directrice générale régionale associée pour la région du Québec. En avril 2005, elle a assumé les responsabilités de directrice générale régionale pour la région du Québec. Elle a été nommée directrice générale régionale pour l'Ontario et le Québec en février 2010. Mme Bastien a été directrice générale, Opérations en région, pour Anciens Combattants Canada d'avril 2013 à juin 2017, date à laquelle elle a assumé ses fonctions actuelles de sous-ministre adjointe, Supervision stratégique et Communications.

Mme Bastien est diplômée de l'Université McGill où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en génie agricole du Collège Macdonald. Elle est membre de la Première Nation huronne-wendat.

Mme Bastien a reçu le Médaillon des Forces canadiennes pour service distingué en décembre 2007. Cette distinction est décernée par le Chef d'état-major de la défense au nom des Forces canadiennes en reconnaissance du service exceptionnel rendu par des personnes qui ne font pas partie du personnel militaire actif.

Date de modification :