Language selection

Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Delivery, Steven Harris

Steven Harris

As the Assistant Deputy Minister of Service Delivery, I am proud to lead the branch of Veterans Affairs Canada that is responsible for providing direct service to Veterans, Canadian Armed Forces members, RCMP members, certain civilians and their families.

In partnership with Veterans, other federal government departments, stakeholder organizations, and with provinces and communities across the country, the Service Delivery branch focused on ensuring that services and benefits address the needs of the Veteran community and support successful outcomes in all areas of well-being, including employment or other meaningful activity, housing and physical environment, finances and social integration.

Throughout my career I have seen the benefits of partnership and engagement, of continuous improvement through asking questions, and the value of understanding how all of the pieces fit together. I have worked in multiple departments such as Treasury Board Secretariat, Social Development Canada, and Canadian Heritage in addition to almost ten years with Veterans Affairs Canada. My experience has included policy, communications, parliamentary and cabinet affairs, procurement and security, and service delivery. All of these roles have combined to shape my perspective and approach, and in each position I been fortunate to have worked with dedicated, smart professionals who always want to make things better for those we serve. This is the same approach we will take in our branch. We will achieve our goals by working together with our partners and stakeholders, focusing on evidence and clear outcomes, and preparing for future needs. I am also the champion of the National Employee Council.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sous-ministre adjoint, Prestation des services - Steven Harris

Steven Harris

En tant que sous-ministre adjoint du Secteur de la prestation des services à Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), je suis extrêmement fier de diriger ce secteur, qui est responsable des services directs aux vétérans, aux membres des Forces armées Canadiennes, aux membres de la GRC, à certains civils ainsi qu'à leurs familles.

Le Secteur de la prestation des services fonctionne en partenariat avec les vétérans, d'autres ministères fédéraux, ministères provinciaux et organismes communautaires à travers le Canada. Le Secteur vise à s'assurer que les services et les avantages répondent aux besoins de la communauté des vétérans. De plus, il s'assure de résultats fructueux dans tous les domaines du bien-être, y compris l'emploi ou toute autre activité significative, le logement et l'environnement physique, les finances et l'intégration sociale.

Tout au long de ma carrière, j'ai été témoin des avantages du partenariat et de l'engagement, de l'amélioration continue en posant des questions, et de la valeur de comprendre comment toutes les pièces s'assemblent. J'ai travaillé dans plusieurs ministères notamment le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Emploi et Développement social Canada, Patrimoine canadien, en plus de près de dix ans à Anciens Combattants Canada. Mon expérience comprend les politiques, les communications, les affaires parlementaires et ministérielles, l'approvisionnement et la sécurité, et la prestation de services. Tous ces rôles se sont combinés pour façonner ma perspective et mon approche. Dans chacun de ces postes, j'ai eu la chance de travailler avec des professionnels dévoués et intelligents qui ont toujours le désir d'améliorer les choses pour ceux que nous servons. C'est la même approche que nous adopterons dans notre Secteur. Nous atteindrons nos objectifs en travaillant avec les partenaires et intervenants, en nous concentrant sur des faits et des résultats clairs, et en nous préparant aux besoins futurs. Je suis également le champion du Conseil national des employés.

Date de modification :