Language selection

Backgrounder

In April, 2001 Her Majesty the Queen approved the design of a special bar to be worn with decorations to be known as the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation.

The Governor General has issued a Warrant creating this award, and the governing policies call for it to be "...awarded to individuals who have performed commendable service to the Veteran community and /or individuals who represent commendable role models for their fellow Veterans." The Commendation is intended primarily for Veterans, but may be awarded to non-Veterans.

Insignia and Wear

The Commendation consists of a certificate, a lapel pin for civilian wear and a bar for wear with decorations. The design is a gold maple leaf resting on a red poppy—a flower long associated with the sacrifices of war—and the Royal Crown on the top of the pin.

A recipient may wear the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation bar on their blazer, formal wear, etc., on occasions appropriate for wearing medals. A recipient should wear the bar below their official decorations.

A recipient may wear the Commendation lapel pin on civilian dress at any time.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Fiche d’information

En avril 2001, Sa Majesté la reine a approuvé la conception d’une barrette spéciale qui se porte au-dessous des décorations. Il s’agit de la Mention élogieuse du ministre des Anciens Combattants.

La Gouverneure générale a autorisé la création de cette décoration qui sera décernée aux personnes qui ont servi la communauté des anciens combattants de façon exceptionnelle et/ou aux personnes qui constituent des modèles pour leurs camarades anciens combattants. Bien que cette mention s’adresse d’abord à des anciens combattants, il arrive qu’elle soit décernée à des personnes autres que des anciens combattants.

Insigne et port

La Mention élogieuse comprend un certificat, un insigne pour les tenues civiles et une barrette qui se porte avec les décorations officielles. Il s’agit d’une feuille d’érable or placée sur un coquelicot rouge, une fleur depuis longtemps associée aux sacrifices de guerre. La Couronne royale orne le sommet de l’insigne.

La Mention élogieuse du ministre des Anciens Combattants se porte au-dessous des décorations officielles, sur la barrette or. Elle peut être portée sur un blazer du récipiendaire, une tenue de soirée, etc., et dans les occasions où il convient de porter des médailles. L’insigne peut être porté sur une tenue civile.

Date de modification :