Language selection

Lieutenant-Colonel (Honorary) Yves Desjardins-Siciliano
Montréal , Quebec

Mr. Yves Desjardins-Siciliano is a first generation Canadian,  joined Via Rail Canada in 2010, and was theChief Executive Officer from May 2014 to May2019. He is a proud supporter of Veterans and Canadian Armed Forces members. One of his first initiatives as Chief Executive Officer to help Canadian troops, Veterans and their families was to institute a 25% rebate on all travel across VIA Rail Canada’s network. Since 2010, over 250,000 trips have been made by members of the military and Veteran community.

Mr. Desjardins-Siciliano’s biggest commitment, however, is advancing employment opportunities for Veterans and reservists. This initiative has impacted the quality of life of Veterans, providing them with greater employment opportunities resulting in a better transition to civilian life. With a starting point of only six military personnel and Veterans as part of VIA Rail’s workforce in 2014, he set out to recruit 7% of all new employees from Veteran and reservist communities. He educated his own civilian staff on the importance and benefits of recruiting Veterans and directed that better employee benefits and leave packages be provided to reservists. As a result of his hard work, leadership and dedication, the number of employees from the military and Veteran community has grown tenfold, reaching 70 employees in less than three years.

Mr. Desjardins-Siciliano has also instituted a partnership program to help Veteran organizations that require transport services. To date, VIA has partnered with over 40 organizations, such as Wounded Warriors Canada, Prince’s Operation Entrepreneur and the Canadian Institute of Military and Veterans Health Research, that have benefited from VIA transport to help Veterans to attend a multitude of services whether for health, professional training, support or commemorative services.

He also partnered with the Invictus Games Toronto 2017, providing transportation for the Canadian athletes, games staff and their families. During the same time period, he personally presided the Montréal 375th Anniversary Military Ball, which raised more than $200,000 for the Montréal Region Military Family Resource Centre.

Since 2014 Mr. Desjardins-Siciliano has also partnered with the Royal Canadian Legion by including his committed staff in distributing 30,000 poppies on board trains during Veterans’ Week, helping raise much needed funds for the Royal Canadian Legion’s Poppy Campaign

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Lieutenant-Colonel (honorifique) Yves Desjardins-Siciliano
Montréal (Québec)

Yves Desjardins-Siciliano est un Canadien de première génération. Après s’être joint à VIA Rail Canada en 2010, il a agit de mai 2014 à mai 2019, à titre de chef de la direction. Il soutient ardemment les vétérans et les membres des Forces armées canadiennes.

L’une des premières initiatives qu’il a prises en tant que chef de la direction pour aider les troupes canadiennes, les vétérans et leur famille a été d’instaurer une réduction de 25 % pour tous les trajets qu’ils effectuent sur le réseau de VIA Rail Canada. Depuis 2010, plus de 250 000 voyages ont été effectués par des militaires ou des membres de la communauté des vétérans.

L’engagement le plus fort de M. Desjardins-Siciliano consiste cependant à accroître les possibilités d’emploi pour les vétérans et les réserviste. Cette initiative a eu une incidence sur la qualité de la vie des vétérans en leur offrant davantage de possibilités d’emploi, ce qui facilite leur transition vers la vie civile. Au départ en 2014, seuls six militaires et vétérans travaillaient à VIA Rail. M. Desjardins-Siciliano a fixé l’objectif de recruter 7 % des nouveaux employés parmi les communautés de vétérans et de réservistes. Il a informé son personnel civil de l’importance et des avantages que représentait le recrutement de vétérans. Il a exigé que de meilleurs régimes d’avantages sociaux et de congés soient offerts aux réservistes. Ce travail rigoureux, cette exigence et ce dévouement ont eu comme résultat que le nombre d’employés provenant de la communauté des militaires et des vétérans est passé de 6 à 70 employés en moins de trois ans.

Desjardins-Siciliano a également instauré un programme de partenariat visant à aider les organismes de vétérans qui ont besoin de services de transport. À ce jour, VIA a conclu des partenariats avec plus de 40 organismes, tels que Wounded Warriors Canada, Prince’s Operation Entrepreneur et l’Institut canadien de recherche sur la santé des militaires et des vétérans. Ces organismes ont tiré parti du transport par VIA Rail pour aider les vétérans à utiliser toute une gamme de services de santé, de formation professionnelle, de soutien ou de commémoration.

Desjardins-Siciliano s’est aussi associé aux Jeux Invictus de Toronto en 2017 en offrant le transport aux athlètes canadiens, aux membres du personnel des jeux et à leur famille. Au cours de la même période, il a lui-même présidé le bal militaire pour le 375eanniversaire de Montréal. Cet événement a permis de récolter plus de 200 000 $ pour le Centre de ressources pour les familles des militaires de la région de Montréal.

Depuis 2014, M. Desjardins-Siciliano s’est par ailleurs associé à la Légion royale canadienne en faisant distribuer par son personnel dévoué 30 000 coquelicots à bord des trains au cours de la Semaine des vétérans. Cela a permis de récolter au cours de la Campagne du coquelicot des fonds dont la Légion royale canadienne a tant besoin.

Date de modification :