Language selection

Allan “Dinger” Bell
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Allan “Dinger” Bell is a 15 year Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces. He is nominated for his tireless work and dedication on behalf of those involved in the HMCS KOOTENAY disaster.

He was severely injured aboard the KOOTENAY on October 23, 1969. Since then, he has fought tirelessly to ensure the Kootenay story is remembered and that those Veterans and families involved receive the benefits and recognition they deserve.

Over the past 20 years, he has tried to contact all 240 servicemen who were aboard HMCS KOOTENAY or their families, spending “hundreds of hours” on the phone. He has advised and assisted “dozens” of survivors and their family members in dealing with Veterans Affairs Canada and applying for benefits.

As a result of his work, the Royal Canadian Navy now conducts an annual ceremony to commemorate the disaster. He also helped organize a 40th anniversary trip to England to honour the eight crew members who are buried there, as well as various events to commemorate the recent 50th anniversary memorial.

He was instrumental in having every October 23rd proclaimed as KOOTENAY Day in the Halifax Regional Municipality and within the Province of Nova Scotia. He inspired the Royal Canadian Navy to present HMCS KOOTENAY survivors with the Merit Award and the Unit Commendation Award.

Additionally, he has worked to ensure that the BONAVENTURE Anchor Memorial in Halifax is restored.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Allan « Dinger » Bell
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)

M. Allan « Dinger » Bell est un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes. Il a été mis en nomination pour son travail inlassable et son dévouement envers les victimes du désastre du NCSM Kootenay.

Il fut gravement blessé à bord du Kootenay le 23 octobre 1969. Depuis, il se bat sans relâche pour que l’histoire du Kootenay ne soit pas oubliée et pour que les vétérans et les familles concernés reçoivent les prestations et la reconnaissance qu’ils méritent.

Pendant les vingt dernières  années, il a essayé de communiqué avec les 240 militaires qui se trouvaient à bord du NCSM Kootenay ou leurs familles, passant « des centaines d’heures » au téléphone. Il a conseillé et aidé des « dizaines » de survivants et de membres de leur famille à traiter avec Anciens Combattants Canada et à appliquer pour des prestations.

Grâce à son travail, la Marine royale canadienne organise désormais une cérémonie annuelle pour commémorer la tragédie. Il a également organisé un voyage en Angleterre à l’occasion du 40e anniversaire pour honorer les huit membres d’équipage qui y sont enterrés, ainsi que divers événements pour souligner le 50e anniversaire.

Il a contribué à faire proclamer le 23 octobre Jour du Kootenay dans la municipalité régionale de Halifax et dans la Province de la Nouvelle-Ecosse. Il a inspiré la Marine royale canadienne à décerner aux survivants du Kootenay le Prix du mérite et la Mention élogieuse à l’intention des unités.

M. Bell a aussi travaillé pour que le monument Bonaventure Anchor Memorial à Halifax soit restauré.

Date de modification :