Language selection

Corporal (Retired) Clarence W. Grear CD
Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia

Corporal (Retired) Clarence Grear is a Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces, having retired in 2003 after 16 years of service. He is nominated for his support to Veterans through his bait and tackle store, Lures for Vets.

He has used Lures for Vets as an opportunity to connect with Veterans and to engage in conversation in a non-judgmental environment. He has sent out, at his own cost, over 150 outreach packages to serving members, Veterans, and first responders that may have isolated themselves as they deal with mental health issues in an effort to encourage them to connect with nature. Lures for Vets has also partnered with other Veterans’ organizations, such as Rally Point Retreat and Vet II Vet Retreat.

He is currently developing a pilot program for Veterans & First Responders to go on fishing excursions in Nova Scotia, partnering with the Veterans Memorial Medical Centre Society, of which he is the Vice-President.

A portion of all sales from Lures for Vets is donated to Wounded Warriors Weekend Foundation (Nipawan SK), Rally Point Retreat (Sable River NS), & Veterans Memorial Medical Centre Society (Halifax NS).

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Caporal (à la retraite) Clarence W. Grear CD
Lawrencetown (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Le caporal (à la retraite) Clarence Grear est un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes, ayant pris sa retraite en 2003 après 16 ans de service. Il a été mis en nomination pour son soutien aux vétérans par l’intermédiaire de son magasin de matériel de pêche, Lures for Vets.

Il s’est servi de Lures for Vets pour établir des liens avec les vétérans et de s’engager dans des  discutions dans un environnement sans jugement. Il a envoyé, à ses frais, plus de 150 trousses de sensibilisation à des militaires, des vétérans et des premiers intervenants à risque de s’isoler en raison de problèmes de santé mentale, afin de les encourager à se rapprocher de la nature. Lures for Vets s’est également associé à d’autres organisations de vétérans, comme Rally Point Retreat et Vet II Vet Retreat.

Il aide à concevoir un programme pilote permettant aux vétérans et premiers intervenants de faire des excursions de pêche en Nouvelle-Écosse en partenariat avec le Veterans Memorial Medical Centre Society dont il est vice-président

Une partie des ventes de Lures for Vets est versée à la Fondation Wounded Warriors Weekend (Nipawan, SK), Rally Point Retreat (Sable River, NE) et le Veterans Memorial Medical Centre Society (Halifax, NE).

Date de modification :