Language selection

Colonel (Retired) Douglas D. Stinson
Calgary, Alberta

Colonel (Retired) Douglas D. Stinson is a 40-year Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces. He is nominated for his exceptional achievements over the past six years as General Manager of the Military Museums of Canada.

The museum includes seven accredited galleries covering the army, navy, and air force history in Western Canada. Under his leadership, the museum has organized many programs to honour and preserve the stories of Canada’s Veterans and has hosted many important commemorative events. This includes the annual Remembrance Day ceremony, which is the largest in Alberta, for which he is the Master of Ceremonies.

Colonel Stinson was the driving force behind the museum’s lecture series, which showcases authors, historians and experts who present innovative views on Canada’s military history. He has put great effort into providing opportunities for the Canadian public to learn from the Veterans themselves, and this is especially true for Canadian youth. 

He was instrumental in having the museum selected as the future home of the national Afghanistan exhibit.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Colonel (à la retraite) Douglas D. Stinson
Calgary (Alberta)

Le colonel (à la retraite) Douglas D. Stinson est un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes avec 40 ans de service à son nom. M. Stinson est en nomination pour ses réalisations exceptionnelles au cours des six dernières années à titre de directeur général des Musées militaires du Canada.

Le musée comprend sept galeries reconnues couvrant l’histoire de l’armée, de la marine et de l’aviation dans l’Ouest canadien. Sous la gouverne du colonel Stinson, le musée a organisé de nombreux programmes pour honorer et préserver les histoires des vétérans du Canada et tient de nombreuses activités commémoratives importantes, notamment la cérémonie annuelle du jour du Souvenir, la plus importante en Alberta, dont il est le maître de cérémonie.

Il a été le principal instigateur de la série de conférences donnée par le musée, qui présente des auteurs, des historiens et des experts qui ont un point de vue novateur sur l’histoire militaire du Canada. Il a déployé de grands efforts pour offrir au public Canadien, et notamment aux jeunes Canadiens, des occasions d’apprendre des vétérans eux-mêmes.

M. Stinson a joué un rôle déterminant dans la sélection du musée comme futur siège de l’exposition nationale sur l’Afghanistan.

Date de modification :