Language selection

Major (Retired) Michael Thomas Antony Calnan CD
Kars, Ontario

Major (Retired) Michael Calnan is a Veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces, who retired in May 2019 after 43.5 years of service. He is nominated for his work forming the Swords and Ploughshares Museum.

He founded the museum in 1987, using his extensive collection of military vehicles and artifacts. The collection consists of artillery pieces, armoured personnel carriers and trucks from the First World War to present, many of which have been restored to running condition. The museum aims to demonstrate the military use of the equipment, and where possible, their uses in the civilian world. It also has a program to assist local communities to restore their military monuments.

On top of maintaining the museum, he has supported numerous national and local commemorative ceremonies. These historical events in the National Capital Region and throughout Eastern Ontario include ceremonies for National Peacekeepers’ Day, VJ Day, the Battle of Britain and for funerals at the National Military Cemetery.

Maj. Canlan frequently provides museum tours to cadet and youth groups, schools, local charities, and members of the public. He and other museum volunteers often visit local Veterans in their community and offered his museum as a location for Veterans with service-related illnesses or injuries to gather and socialize in a positive manner.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Major (à la retraite), Michael Thomas Antony Calnan CD
Kars (Ontario)

Le major (à la retraite) Michael Calnan est un vétéran des Forces armées canadiennes, qui a pris sa retraite en mai 2019 après 43 ans et demi de service. Il a été mis en nomination pour son travail de création du Swords and Ploughshares Museum.

Il a fondé le musée en 1987, à partir de sa vaste collection de véhicules et d’objets militaires. La collection comprend des pièces d’artillerie, des transports de troupes blindés et des camions de la Première Guerre mondiale et d’aujourd’hui, dont beaucoup ont été remis en état de fonctionnement. Le musée vise à démontrer l’utilisation militaire de l’équipement et, si possible, son utilisation dans le monde civil. Il propose également un programme pour aider les communautés locales à restaurer leurs monuments militaires.

En plus de l’entretien du musée, il offre son appui lors de nombreuses cérémonies commémoratives nationales et locales. Ces événements historiques dans la région de la capitale nationale et dans l’Est de l’Ontario comprennent les cérémonies de la Journée nationale des Gardiens de la paix, les cérémonies commémoratives du jour J et de la Bataille d’Angleterre et les funérailles au Cimetière militaire national.

Le maj. Calnan offre fréquemment des visites du musée pour des groupes de cadets et de jeunes, des écoles, des organisations caritatives locales et aux membres du public. Avec d’autres bénévoles du musée, il rend souvent visite aux vétérans locaux dans leur communauté et il a récemment offert son musée comme lieu de rencontre et de socialisation pour les vétérans souffrant de maladies ou de blessures liées au service.

Date de modification :