Language selection

Warrant Officer (Retired) Douglas John Damude
Petawawa, Ontario

Douglas John Damude is a Veteran, who retired after 25 years of service. He is nominated for his service with The Royal Canadian Legion Branch 116, Strathroy where he has been a member for 16 years. During this time, he has held numerous chairman positions, predominantly as Sergeant-at-Arms and Service Officer.

As Sergeant-at-Arms, he is responsible for organizing all Legion parades, including on Remembrance Day. He has ensured the accuracy of colour party rituals and his professionalism has inspired a growth of pride and respect within the branch and community. He also spent a few years as Sergeant-at-Arms at the zone level.

He has been the Veterans Service Officer for 11 years. He shows great patience and understanding in helping Veterans initiate claims and complete the sometimes complicated process of submitting paperwork. He has made himself readily available to travel in order to assist Veterans and has often driven individuals to medical appointments to complete their claims.

As Service Officer, he is a member of the Poppy Committee. With his wife as Poppy Chairman, they ensure Veterans and their loved ones are taken care of. On top of these things, he works with the Meals on Wheels program and was heavily involved in the cenotaph enhancement project in his area. 

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Adjudant (à la retraite) Douglas John Damude
Petawawa (Ontario)

Douglas John Damude est un vétéran qui a pris sa retraite après 25 ans de service. Il a été mis en nomination pour son service au sein de la filiale no 116 de la Légion royale canadienne de Strathroy ou il est membre depuis 16 ans. Au cours de cette période, il a occupé de nombreux postes de présidence, principalement en tant que sergent d’armes et agent d’entraide.

En tant que sergent d’armes, il est responsable de l’organisation de tous les défilés de la Légion, y compris celui du jour du Souvenir. Il a veillé à l’exactitude des rituels de la garde de drapeau et son professionnalisme a donné lieu à une fierté et un respect accrus au sein de la filiale et de la communauté. Il a également passé quelques années en tant que sergent d’armes à l’échelle de la zone.

Il est agent d’entraide pour les vétérans depuis 11 ans. Il fait preuve d’une grande patience et de compassion en aidant les vétérans à présenter leurs demandes et à remplir les formalités administratives parfois compliquées. Il est prêt à se déplacer pour aider des vétérans et en conduit souvent à leurs rendez-vous médicaux nécessaires pour la présentation de leurs demandes.

En tant qu’agent d’entraide, il est membre du Comité du coquelicot. Avec sa conjointe comme présidente du Comité du coquelicot, ils veillent au bien être des vétérans et leurs proches. En plus, l’adj. Damude travaille avec le programme de popote roulante et a été très actif dans le projet de mise en valeur des cénotaphes dans sa région.

Date de modification :