Language selection

Lori Atkinson Smith
Sherkston, Ontario

Lori Smith is nominated for her many years of service with the Hong Kong Veterans Commemorative Association (HKVCA).

Ms. Smith is the daughter of a Veteran of the Battle of Hong Kong. As the southwestern Ontario “area rep” for the HKVCA, she ensured that Veterans and widows in her area received the assistance they needed. She also organized a number of commemorative events.

Since the early 2000’s, she has been the Ontario Membership Coordinator and is responsible for maintaining the contact list for all HKVCA members in Ontario. Around the same time, she became the inaugural Editor and Publisher of the HKVCA Ontario Newsletter, which was distributed to all members in the province.

Recently, She has taken responsibility for the HKVCA Commemorative Plaque and the Gravestone Marker program. The plaque outlines the story of the Battle of Hong Kong and is offered to Veterans’ organizations free of charge. To date, 53 plaques have been installed across Canada, each with a ceremony helping to educate and raise awareness to the sacrifices made during the Battle of Hong Kong.  The Gravestone Marker program is offered to families of deceased Battle of Hong Kong Veterans for display on the Veteran’s gravestone.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Lori Atkinson Smith
Sherkston (Ontario)

Lori Smith a été mise en nomination pour ses nombreuses années de service au sein de l’Association commémorative des vétérans de Hong Kong (HKVCA).

Mme Smith est la fille d’un vétéran de la bataille de Hong Kong. Lorsque Mme Smith a commencé à participer aux activités de la HKVCA, elle était la « représentante régionale » du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario. Dans ce rôle, elle a veillé à ce que les vétérans et les veuves de sa région reçoivent l’aide dont ils avaient besoin. Elle a également organisé un certain nombre d’événements commémoratifs.

Depuis le début des années 2000, elle est la coordonnatrice de l’adhésion pour l’Ontario et est responsable de tenir à jour la liste des coordonnées de tous les membres de la HKVCA en Ontario. À peu près en même temps, elle est devenue la première rédactrice en chef et éditrice du bulletin de la HKVCA pour l’Ontario, qui a été distribué à tous les membres de la province.

Récemment, elle a assumé la responsabilité des programmes de la plaque commémorative de la HKVCA et d’insignes pour stèles funéraires. La plaque retrace l’histoire de la bataille de Hong Kong et elle est offerte gratuitement aux organisations de vétérans. À ce jour, 53 plaques ont été installées dans l’ensemble du Canada, chacune lors d’une cérémonie contribuant à l’éducation et à la sensibilisation aux sacrifices réalisés lors de la bataille de Hong Kong. Des insignes pour stèles funéraires sont offerts aux familles des vétérans de la bataille de Hong Kong décédés pour qu’elles les exposent sur la pierre tombale du vétéran.

Date de modification :