Language selection

Sheila Sparks
Jacksonville, New Brunswick

Sheila Sparks

Sheila Sparks was nominated for her dedication to ensuring that the grave markers of Veterans interred in local cemeteries are always in perfect condition.

On Canada Day 2020, in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, she noticed that several grave markers in local cemeteries were in need of repair. She decided then and there to take on the task of bringing these markers back to mint condition. On that day, she brought home 18 crosses from her local cemetery and proceeded to pressure wash and paint them as necessary. She then replaced them and also placed a small Canadian flag on them.

Following this, she visited other local cemeteries and discovered more faded crosses and decided to refurbish these as well. She brought home 629 crosses from 32 cemeteries and she did it all on her own and at her own expense. At one cemetery, she also spent time cleaning the Veterans’ monument by removing the moss from the wording, scrubbing the stone and placing four Canadian flags and solar lights at each corner of the base of the monument.

She has also taken the time to help Veterans in her community by driving them to medical appointments and has helped them with errands to reduce their potential exposure to the virus during the pandemic.

 

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Sheila Sparks
Jacksonville (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Sheila Sparks

Sheila Sparks a été mise en candidature pour le dévouement dont elle fait preuve en veillant à ce que les pierres tombales des vétérans inhumés dans les cimetières locaux demeurent en parfait état.

Le jour de la fête du Canada 2020, en pleine pandémie de COVID-19, elle a remarqué que plusieurs pierres tombales de cimetières locaux avaient besoin d'être réparées et a alors décidé sans délai de les remettre en parfait état. Ce jour-là, elle a ramené chez elle 18 croix d’un cimetière local pour les nettoyer à la pression et les peindre, au besoin. Elle les a ensuite replacées au cimetière en prenant soin d’ajouter un petit drapeau canadien.

Elle a ensuite visité d'autres cimetières locaux et découvert d'autres croix défraîchies, qu'elle a aussi décidé de remettre en état. Elle a ramené chez elle un total de 629 croix provenant de 32 cimetières, et elle a exécuté le travail toute seule et à ses frais. Dans un des cimetières, elle a même passé du temps à nettoyer le monument des vétérans en enlevant la mousse du libellé et en frottant la pierre, et placé quatre drapeaux canadiens et des lampes solaires à chaque coin de la base du monument.

Elle a également pris le temps d'aider les vétérans de sa communauté en les conduisant à leurs rendez-vous médicaux et en les aidant à faire leurs courses afin de réduire les risques d'exposition à la pandémie.

Date de modification :