Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Harold James Carberry
Burgoyne’s Cove, Newfoundland & Labrador

Harold James Carberry is nominated for his dedication and devotion to the commemoration of the Veterans of the community.

He is passionate about honoring local Veterans that fought for our freedom. Due to the aging population in his region, most of the commemorative activities have stopped including Remembrance Day ceremonies at the local cenotaph. In 2008, he started marking Remembrance Day alone and ensured a poppy was placed on each of the graves of the 14 Veterans buried in the local cemetery. He also began personally refurbishing and maintaining those graves and researching the histories of the Veterans therein.

With the help of local volunteers, Burgoyne’s Cove Veterans Commemoration Association (BCVCA) was created with Harold Carberry as a co-founder and Chairperson. The association’s mission is to commemorate and honour Veterans as well as educate and inform the community of their service and sacrifice. He has expanded the reach of the association to include neighbouring communities and has to date collected stories of an additional 50 Veterans with local connections.

Being a gifted carpenter, he has not only built the ceremonial flag boxes and the lectern that displays the growing binder of Veterans’ biographies, but also personally framed the portraits on the Wall of Remembrance that he created.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Harold James Carberry
Burgoyne’s Cove (Terre-Neuve et Labrador)

Harold James Carberry a été mis en nomination pour la Mention élogieuse du ministre des Anciens Combattants en raison de son dévouement et de son engagement envers la commémoration des vétérans de la collectivité.

Il est déterminé à rendre hommage aux vétérans locaux qui ont combattu pour notre liberté. En raison de la population vieillissante de sa région, la plupart des activités commémoratives ont cessé, y compris les cérémonies du jour du Souvenir au cénotaphe local. En 2008, il a commencé à célébrer le jour du Souvenir seul et s’est assuré de placer un coquelicot sur chacune des tombes des 14 vétérans qui reposent dans le cimetière local. De plus, il a personnellement commencé à remettre en état et à entretenir ces tombes ainsi qu’à rechercher l’histoire de ces vétérans.

Grâce à l’aide de bénévoles de la région, la Burgoyne’s Cove Veterans Commemoration Association a été créée avec Harold Carberry comme cofondateur et président. La mission de l’association est de rendre hommage aux vétérans ainsi que de faire connaître leur service et leurs sacrifices aux membres de la collectivité. Il a élargi la portée de l’association pour inclure des collectivités avoisinantes et, jusqu’à maintenant, a recueilli l’histoire de 50 autres vétérans de la région.

Doué en charpenterie, il a lui-même construit les boîtes de drapeau cérémoniales, le lutrin sur lequel se trouve le cartable contenant un nombre grandissant de biographies de vétérans ainsi que les cadres des photos figurant sur le Mur du Souvenir qu’il a créé.

Date de modification :