Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Donald Graydon Foster
North Vancouver, British Columbia

Donald Foster

Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Donald Graydon Foster is nominated for his work in commemorating the service of Canadian Veterans and for his support of Veterans’ well-being. For more than 12 years, he has been volunteering his time and his philanthropic fundraising expertise to preserve the memory of Veterans.

His efforts to preserve Veterans’ and military heritage is exemplified through the creation, the funding and the promotion of the Juno Beach Centre Legacy of Honour Veteran Video program. He has helped facilitate the 75th anniversary of D-Day, the 100th anniversary of the 15th Field Artillery Regiment, poster unveilings, book launches and many local initiatives celebrating resident Veterans.

On his own initiative, he helped facilitate the creation of the Private Ernest David Harrison Monument in Leuth, Netherlands. The monument is dedicated to Pte Ernest David Harrison’s memory and provides a formal marker for his final resting place. 

His notable contributions to Veterans’ well-being include coordinating information sessions regarding the Canadian Defense Community Banking Program, hosting 39 Brigade members and their families to movie nights, mess dinners and other activities. He has taken particular interest in helping the few remaining D-Day Veterans in his community. He visits them on a regular basis, ensures they attend commemorative events and ceremonies and has even agreed to help with funeral arrangements.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Le lieutenant¬colonel Donald Graydon Foster
North Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Donald Foster

Le lieutenant­-colonel honoraire Donald Graydon Foster est sélectionné pour sa participation à la commémoration du service des vétérans canadiens, et pour sa contribution au bien­être des vétérans. Depuis plus de 12 ans, il donne bénévolement de son temps et offre son expertise en matière de collectes de fonds philanthropiques dans le but de perpétuer le souvenir des vétérans.

Ses efforts pour préserver l’héritage des vétérans et de l’armée sont illustrés par la création, le financement et la promotion du programme de vidéos « L’honneur en héritage » du Centre Juno Beach. Il a aidé à organiser le 75e anniversaire du jour J, le 100e anniversaire du 15e Régiment d’artillerie de campagne, des dévoilements d’affiches, des lancements de livres et de nombreuses initiatives locales célébrant les vétérans locaux.

De sa propre initiative, il a contribué à faciliter la création du monument au soldat Ernest David Harrison à Leuth, aux Pays-Bas. Le monument est dédié à la mémoire du soldat Ernest David Harrison et constitue une marque officielle de son lieu de repos final.

Parmi ses contributions notables au bien-être des vétérans, mentionnons la coordination de séances d’information sur le Programme de services bancaires pour la communauté de la Défense canadienne, l’accueil de membres de la 39e Brigade et de leur famille pour des soirées cinéma, des dîners militaires et d’autres activités. Il s’est particulièrement intéressé à aider les quelques vétérans du Jour J encore vivants dans sa communauté. Il leur rend régulièrement visite, s’assure qu’ils assistent aux activités et aux cérémonies commémoratives et a même accepté de les aider à organiser leurs funérailles.

Date de modification :