Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Lieutenant Yvonne Melo
Fort Fraser , British Columbia

Yvonne Melo

Lieutenant Yvonne Melo is nominated for her involvement in organizing local Remembrance Day ceremonies as well as her dedication to the local Air Cadets.

For 19 years, Lt Melo has been involved with the local Air Cadet Squadron as a parent volunteer, staff volunteer, civilian instructor and then a Cadet Instructor Cadre Officer. As Squadron Administrator, she is routinely involved in planning activities, however, she goes above and beyond her responsibilities when it comes to organizing the Remembrance Day ceremonies.

Her numerous volunteer hours include planning the event itinerary, booking musicians, speakers and pastors; liaising with the Fraser Lake Legion to acquire wreaths; confirming attendance of VIPs, booking facilities and equipment; coordinating parade participation by local Canadian Rangers, Royal Canadian Air Cadets, an RCMP escort and ensuring logistics run smoothly. She has also engaged with the Girl Guides of Canada and the local minor hockey association to engage them as active participants in the ceremony as wreath-bearers.

She organizes food and refreshments served at the community centre following the ceremony. With few local Veterans and Legion members in the Vanderhoof area, her work is essential to running a successful ceremony. Without a representative Veterans organization, Vanderhoof has successfully executed an indoor and outdoor Remembrance Day ceremony each year, with between 500 and 1,000 attendees at the ceremonies, all due to Lt Melo’s efforts.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Lieutenant Yvonne Melo
Fort Fraser (Colombie-Britannique)

Yvonne Melo

Le lieutenant Yvonne Melo est mise en candidature pour sa participation à l’organisation des cérémonies locales du jour du Souvenir, ainsi que pour son dévouement aux cadets de l’air locaux.

Pendant 19 ans, le lieutenant Melo a participé à l’escadron local des cadets de l’air en tant que parent bénévole, membre du personnel bénévole, instructeur civil, puis officier du Cadre des instructeurs de cadets. En tant qu’administratrice d’escadron, elle participe régulièrement aux activités de planification, mais elle va au-delà de ses responsabilités lorsqu’il s’agit d’organiser les cérémonies du jour du Souvenir.

Ses nombreuses heures de bénévolat comprennent la planification de l’itinéraire de la cérémonie, la réservation de musiciens, de conférenciers et de pasteurs, la liaison avec la Légion de Fraser Lake pour l’acquisition de couronnes, la confirmation de la présence des personnalités, la réservation des installations et de l’équipement, la coordination de la participation au défilé des Rangers canadiens locaux, des Cadets de l’Aviation royale du Canada et d’une escorte de la GRC, et la garantie du bon déroulement de la logistique. Elle a également mobilisé les Guides du Canada et l’association locale de hockey mineur pour les faire participer activement à la cérémonie en tant que porteurs de couronnes.

Elle organise la nourriture et les rafraîchissements servis au centre communautaire après la cérémonie. Comme il y a peu de vétérans et de membres de la Légion dans la région de Vanderhoof, son travail est essentiel au bon déroulement de la cérémonie. Sans organisation représentative des vétérans, Vanderhoof a réussi à organiser chaque année une cérémonie du jour du Souvenir à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur, avec entre 500 et 1 000 participants aux cérémonies, tout cela grâce aux efforts du Lt Melo.

Date de modification :