Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Captain (Retired) Rodney Holowaty, CD
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Rod Holowaty

Captain (Ret’d) Rodney Holowaty, CD, a career educator and member of The Royal Canadian Legion, is nominated for his work honouring and commemorating his fellow Veterans.

As a member of the RCL, he has held several leadership positions and is currently First Vice President of Branch #63 Saskatoon. He is involved in several committees including the organizing committee for the annual Remembrance Day service. He is also part of the Poppy Campaign in Saskatoon.

As an educator, he has made it his priority to instill an appreciation and understanding of the importance of Remembrance in his students. He engages students in the RCL’s annual poster, poem and essay contests. He mentors the grade 11 students as they take on the planning of the school’s Remembrance Day ceremony. Every year, with the help of Army cadets and a group of RCL volunteers, he places crosses on Veterans’ graves a week ahead of the annual service. He has also volunteered as a chaperone with Encounters with Canada during their annual Remembrance-themed week in Ottawa.

He engaged his students in a project to research the names of local war dead listed on the Kipling cenotaph. Students wrote biographies of those who died in the First and Second World Wars. Students were then encouraged to read these biographies at Remembrance Day ceremonies in their community.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Capitaine (retraité) Rodney Holowaty, CD
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Rod Holowaty

Le capitaine (retraité) Rodney Holowaty, CD, éducateur de carrière et membre de la Légion royale canadienne, est mis en candidature pour son travail visant à honorer et à commémorer ses camarades vétérans.

En tant que membre de la LRC, il a occupé plusieurs postes de direction et est actuellement premier vice-président de la filiale 63 de Saskatoon. Il participe à plusieurs comités, dont le comité d’organisation de la cérémonie annuelle du jour du Souvenir. Il participe également à la Campagne du coquelicot à Saskatoon.

En tant qu’éducateur, il s’est fixé comme priorité d’inculquer à ses élèves une appréciation et une compréhension de l’importance du Souvenir. Il fait participer les élèves aux concours annuels d’affiches, de poèmes et d’essais de la LRC. Il encadre les élèves de 11e année dans la planification de la cérémonie du jour du Souvenir de l’école. Chaque année, avec l’aide de cadets de l’armée et d’un groupe de bénévoles de la LRC, il place des croix sur les tombes des vétérans une semaine avant la cérémonie annuelle. Il s’est également porté volontaire en tant que chaperon pour Rencontres du Canada lors de leur semaine annuelle sur le thème du souvenir à Ottawa.

Il a fait participer ses élèves à un projet de recherche des noms des morts à la guerre locaux figurant sur le cénotaphe de Kipling. Les élèves ont rédigé les biographies des personnes décédées au cours de la Première Guerre et de la Seconde Guerre mondiales. Les élèves ont ensuite été encouragés à lire ces biographies lors des cérémonies du jour du Souvenir dans leur communauté.

Date de modification :