Language selection


Search veterans.gc.ca

Share this article on:

Always have a backup plan

Major Karen Breeck (Retired) says, “it’s really important for anyone who enlists in the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) to recognize that no one stays in the military forever.” The key takeaway? You should have a “plan B and C” prior to transitioning. These plans should include ways in which your transferable skills can be applied to your post-service life and career.

Get informed

Corporal Alexandra Shaw (Retired) has advice based on her experience as both a Veteran and an employee of Veterans Affairs Canada’s policy department. She wants anyone leaving the Forces to know you can apply your military skills to “many opportunities in the civilian world.” She adds: “Inform yourself about the programs offered by Veterans Affairs Canada. There are many.”

Be positive

For many Veterans, the transition from the CAF to life after service can be challenging. Former Leading Seaman Marie-Claude Gagnon urges her fellow Veterans to adopt a positive outlook even in trying times. The It’s Just 700 founder credits her unwavering optimism for setting her on a transition journey that led to a meaningful post-service career path. “I feel my life got richer in many ways from these experiences,” she says.

Stay connected

After 21 years in the Forces, Major Lee-Anne Quinn (Retired) can’t imagine what her post-service life would be like if she did not continue to engage with the military after release. She shares her advice on how Veterans can avoid isolation based on her experiences. She highlights the importance and benefits of staying connected with local Reserves or Cadet Corps during transition. “If you have any spare time, there are lots of services that you can offer your skills to.”

Date published: 2020-02-04


Articles for Veterans and families

Women Veterans profiled: Marie-Claude Gagnon

Women Veterans profiled: Marie-Claude Gagnon

Former Leading Seaman Marie-Claude Gagnon served in the Naval Reserve for seven years before releasing in 2005.

Veteran success story: Roger Chabot

Veteran success story: Roger Chabot

Retiring from the Canadian Armed Forces allowed Roger Chabot to pursue his lifelong passion full-time, while keeping him connected to his military family.

Goddard Peace Conference

Goddard Peace Conference

“Every year, kids who didn’t know each other in the morning are hugging goodbye at the end of the day. It gives me goosebumps,” says Susan Casey, Principal of East St. Margaret's Elementary School in Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue


Recherche sur veterans.gc.ca

Partager cet article sur:

Ayez toujours un plan de rechange

Le major Karen Breeck (retraitée) estime qu’il est très important pour quiconque s’enrôle dans les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) de reconnaître que personne ne reste militaire toute sa vie. S’il y a une chose importante à retenir, c’est que vous devriez avoir un « plan B et C » avant de vivre la transition. Ces plans devraient comprendre des façons d’appliquer les compétences que vous pouvez transférer à votre vie et à votre carrière après le service.

Soyez informées

Le caporal Alexandra Shaw (retraitée) a des conseils à donner fondés sur son expérience à titre de femme vétéran et d’employée du service des politiques d’ACC. Elle veut que tous ceux et celles qui quittent les Forces sachent que leurs compétences militaires peuvent être mises à profit pour de « nombreuses possibilités dans le monde civil ». Elle ajoute : « Renseignez-vous sur les nombreux programmes offerts par Anciens Combattants Canada ».

Soyez positives

Pour de nombreuses femmes vétérans, la transition des FAC vers la vie après le service militaire peut se révéler difficile. L’ancien matelot de 1re classe Marie-Claude Gagnon exhorte ses camarades femmes vétérans à adopter une attitude positive même dans les moments difficiles. C’est à cette attitude positive que la fondatrice de C’est Juste 700 attribue son optimisme inébranlable qui l’a mise sur la voie de la transition l’ayant menée à un cheminement de carrière significatif à la fin de son service. « J’ai l’impression que ma vie s’est enrichie de bien des façons grâce à ces expériences », affirme-t-elle.

Restez branchées

Après 21 ans dans les Forces, le major Lee-Anne Quinn (retraitée) ne peut imaginer ce que serait sa vie après le service si elle n’avait pas continué à collaborer avec l’armée après son départ des FAC. À la lumière de ses expériences, elle communique ses conseils sur la façon dont les femmes vétérans peuvent éviter l’isolement. Elle souligne l’importance et les avantages de rester en contact avec la Réserve ou les corps de cadets locaux pendant la transition. « Si vous avez du temps libre, vos compétences peuvent servir à une foule de services. »

Date de publication : 2020-02-04


Articles pour les vétérans et leur famille

Catherine Johnston, infirmière de secteur

Catherine Johnston, infirmière de secteur

Je travaille à notre bureau de North Bay depuis 2016. Mon travail vise à m’assurer que les vétérans reçoivent les services médicaux et infirmiers dont ils ont besoin.

Histoire de réussite de vétéran : Roger Chabot

Histoire de réussite de vétéran : Roger Chabot

Prendre sa retraite des Forces armées canadiennes a permis à Roger Chabot d'exercer sa passion à temps plein, tout en demeurant connecté à sa famille militaire.

S’évader de la prison de la douleur

S’évader de la prison de la douleur

Un ancien membre de la GRC aide ses collègues à obtenir de l’aide pour l’ESPT

Date de modification :